Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Yip and yip. Lucky animal :rolleyes:

Jaysus, he'll be put off cows for life. Stick him in a field with a bullock and see if he does a Benji on it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,281 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Yip and yip. Lucky animal :rolleyes:
    Hard luck. Had a bull that "broke" his rod and he never came right. After a few days (when the swelling went down) he was able to retract it but he never worked after. His rod was permanently bent and the front part (1/3 from the tip) was wobbly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Base price wrote: »
    Hard luck. Had a bull that "broke" his rod and he never came right. After a few days (when the swelling went down) he was able to retract it but he never worked after. His rod was permanently bent and the front part (1/3 from the tip) was wobbly.

At this stage I'm not really bothered to be honest. Be a lot worse if it happened to the other bull.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

At this stage I'm not really bothered to be honest. Be a lot worse if it happened to the other bull.

LC I read that quickly and thought it read "if it happened to me" was beginning to wonder what you get up to in your spare time :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Few pics from today.
    DSCN2119.jpg

DSCN2120.jpg

DSCN2121.jpg

Christ, you'd have needed the flash on the camera here today it was so dark with all the black clouds and rain.

Back up in the field with a view today.:)
    The best little country in the world.
    Blackstairs mountain.
    2016_08_04_14.jpg
    Mt Leinster and range.
    2016_08_04_14.jpg
    Looking east towards ballindaggin.
    2016_08_04_14.jpg
    Looking ne towards bunclody
    2016_08_04_14.jpg
    Looking west to the white mountain and rain shower.
    2016_08_04_14.jpg
    Blackstairs mountain from se
    2016_08_04_15.jpg
    Mount Leinster and kiltealy
    2016_08_04_15.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Where abouts in the country is that Ped??

Panch18 wrote: »
    Where abouts in the country is that Ped??

Wexford. The model county.
    I'll edit the places on them when I get back to the laptop.

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭Tyson Lannister

Bull calf pedigree part

• Registered Users Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Bull calf pedigree part

How old is he. Lovely type of calf. Did he suck OK with the awkward bag

a day old, no prob sucking

• Registered Users Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

a day old, no prob sucking

I thought he'd be a fortnight old at least. Do you only keep parts.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,816 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Bull calf pedigree part
    How do you find the parts? Are they quiet? Have they plenty of milk?

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

I have 4 pedigree mixed in with the commercials. I find them very quiet, but I bought the first two off a pedigree breeder that wouldn't raise his voice to his cattle so maybe I got a good start on that front. They have plenty milk as you can see by the cow in the pic.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Other side of the coin from my previous post, this is an aubrac heifer calf out of an angus x fr cow, born in March.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭sonnybill

Big and all as the country is you have to stand on my head!

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭golodge

Have two nice Limox heifers born recently. One is out of Charx heifer, another from the 2nd calver.
    DSCF3026_zpsrmspu27u.jpg
    DSCF3069_zps46eb2pqz.jpg

Sold two bulls to the meat factory. One was 20mo Limox out of BBxdairy cow. 2nd was younger bull's sire- purebred 4,5yo Limousine bull. Younger bull had 65,5% kill-out, his sire - 65,8% kill-out.
    DSCF3152_zpsnyf8siu0.jpg

Just thought people might be interested - Same part calf pictured earlier at 1 day old, now 11 days.

The last one of the year and the luckiest to be alive after the dragging he got trying to pull him. Great to see him over the hump. FAD9ED38-B833-49DC-ABD4-FF8D8AB43B24_zpsmfnc6bn3.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 10,816 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Some photos here from the Irish Limousin Congress visit to the McGee farm in athlone.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/125273411@N08/albums/72157672781236225

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

Quare things made of straw in Kilkenny.:pac:

2016_08_24_16.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

It's milking time says I

Do not disturb say they

2 hrs to clean a paddock to 50 after evening milking then move to new paddock.

Kgs of grub in Kgs of milk out

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Few from this evening while moving them, will ye feckers down south stop praying for rain, it's getting very swampy up here!

Early April born PBNR heifers calf off Towthorpe Dubai.

VO1zElRl.jpg

Late April Maserati heifer and the same lm heifer above again. Late March SFL bull in the background.

phG2mFVl.jpg

Mid May KJB calf, this is that lad that went 309 days so he should have been an April calf.

bf8vPONl.jpg

One of the babies, KOY BA calf born the very end of May.

r9ZJ60Ll.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 817 ✭✭✭ABlur

A bit of long acre grazing in North Clare this afternoon!!

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

Few from this evening while moving them, will ye feckers down south stop praying for rain, it's getting very swampy up here!

Whats the story with the shorthorn in the background of the first pic? Looks like a nice animal

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

rushvalley wrote: »
    Whats the story with the shorthorn in the background of the first pic? Looks like a nice animal

He's a red belgian blue out of SFL, has replacement stars falling out his ears so it's a pity he has a couple of dingle danglies under him :p He wasn't in the mood for photos and ran off down the hill and I wasn't arsed walking after him!

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

ABlur wrote: »
    A bit of long acre grazing in North Clare this afternoon!!

Jesus, that's not too safe.

A bit of this going on