Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Who2 wrote: »
    She's around the 1700 mark presuming she's close on 700 kilos

About that, she's just under 29 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,816 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Anyone give an estimate of this girlies value? Just noticed kollegeknight ask similar in the chit chat thread so why not :P
    Want to buy her off dad but we're disagreeing in price, as ya do. She's a 5 star pb reg, off CWI, Tarot/Navarin back breeding in dam. I'm about 80% sure she's having a heifer. Quiet enough to scratch and just starting to flag a bit now.
    To a stranger about €1700, to a daughter sure give him €1600.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users Posts: 7,350 ✭✭✭naughto

She should be giving more for her dad having to put up with here for so long.
    Time to move out of the nest.

What's your dad looking for?

Trade includes a cow of my own :P
    naughto wrote: »
    She should be giving more for her dad having to put up with here for so long.
    Time to move out of the nest.

What's your dad looking for?

Here now, I didn't live here from when I was 17 to 23! He can't cook or use a washing machine so he should be damn grateful I'm here :D

He's looking for around 2k, to be fair she'll prob drop that calf within a week and whatever it is will be five stars on both terminal/replacement too so have to factor that in.

Oh didn't realise she was in calf. Make that €2000 so to the hard working daughter.;)

Yep, incalf to KZH, was due the other day. Feck, better smash the piggy bank!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,450 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

And then patsy will swoop in with an offer of 2100 :D

Reggie. wrote: »

Nah, he's too cheap for that. Those mccabes were bred to be stingy like the auld Bull. :D

Reggie. wrote: »

...and the widow will get €50 from me for the Field.The silly woman.The priest will get his Easter Dues and we'll all be happy in Carraig Thomond..."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Dozer1

I don't mean to add insult or question the quality of the heifer Lady Haywire but out of pure curiosity how long would you expect a return on your 2K investment in buying her?
    Yes she seems a real quality animal but 2K is alot to tie up in one animal just wondering that's all.
    hope she's lucky is the main thing

Dozer1 wrote: »
    I don't mean to add insult or question the quality of the heifer Lady Haywire but out of pure curiosity how long would you expect a return on your 2K investment in buying her?
    Yes she seems a real quality animal but 2K is alot to tie up in one animal just wondering that's all.
    hope she's lucky is the main thing

Well the deal is for me to swap a cow with him as well, one that is ok, but not a fantastic breeder, throws grand calves but don't live up to their dams weight. So we're going to factory her next year and whatever the difference is, I pay to him. So sorta 'trading up' in quality if you get me. Plus I have an affinity for the auld limos so it's a genuine hobby for me too.

€2K would be cheap for a good quality PBR animal. She might calve a bull and you might get €2.5k for Him as a yearling.

Dunno, she was only due the other day and already has a pot under her. From the way her Mammy goes with calves, it's likely to be a heifer. Isn't it great to know traits that run in families! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

Anyone else getting big calves from limo bull ZAG??
    3 heifers calved to him and 3 biget calves.

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

I have a few to calf off him. Any assistance needed on the heifers?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭tanko

I used him on young cows this year, in my opinion he's not suitable for heifers and I've heard a few lads say the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

I have a few to calf off him. Any assistance needed on the heifers?

Yeah. 2 heavy enough. Thought I was beat on the 3rd one. Heifers are fit not fat and have good size to them. Just calves came big.
    Was just asking as he has great figures for calving with very high reliability too and a few others around used him with no trouble. Must be just my heifers

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

Yeah. 2 heavy enough. Thought I was beat on the 3rd one. Heifers are fit not fat and have good size to them. Just calves came big.
    Was just asking as he has great figures for calving with very high reliability too and a few others around used him with no trouble. Must be just my heifers

Glad their ok for you. I have a couple of heifers now to watch like a hawk 😟

I've a PB heifer in calf to ZAG and she is very muscley and calving down at 2 years. ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭annubis

EBY a good job for heifers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭limo_100

A neighbor has calved him down to 10-15 heifers in the last 2years no problems he says and all the heifers were dairy crosses and 2years old

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭milligan2

Had 3 heifers that calved him lately,2 heifers that came fine but the bull was touch and go.He was a big solid calf that tested the jack,all are nice shapley animals though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Had about 8 off him in the last month or so.
    All handy enough. Surprised to hear that he's throwing big calves.

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Had about 8 off him in the last month or so.
    All handy enough. Surprised to hear that he's throwing big calves.

+ 1. I've used him for two years and had to assist with none so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭pure breed

Pic 1
    Have 2 ZAG heifers here only able to upload one pic of heifer off good CH cow, easy calved. second heifer came with no bother either.
    Pic2
    Also have a OKH heifer who is off good SI cow. best off our AI this Autumn
    Pic 3
    Is a FSZ heifer with SI cow
    All pics are from day old
    We have a another ZAG calf due this week hoping for another heifer

PB heifer and bull.
    400779.JPG

400780.JPG

What's their breeding Patsy? Have they many stars?:pac:

tanko wrote: »
    What's their breeding Patsy? Have they many stars?:pac:
    Heifer is by Sympa. 5 stars for both maternal and terminal within breed.
    Bull is by Ardlea Dan. 4 stars replacement, 5 stars terminal within breed.

Very good, you must've got a few Sympa straws before they were 185 yoyos a pop. Is that the heifer that's in calf to ZAG?

I bought her early in the year. Ya, she's in calf to ZAG. I bred the bull.