Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vuelta a España Stage 16 – Sep 8th, San Martin - La Farrapona **Unmasked Spoilers**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Contador
    BxBdmg8CAAAisQ3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Valverde
    I do like Contador and I put a tenner on him as well as for the overall so good man Bertie.

Well done Dan for moving on up to 6th. Has to be happy with his Vuelta.

To add, that Aru looks a super rider. Of the young guns, him, Quintana & Majka look the strongest GT young guns, ahead maybe of the French brigade - though obviously with Quintana the star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

That was a fantastic race, great performance from Froome and Contador, who is always, always exciting to watch. Dan must have really dug deep to get over the line only 1:12 down - less than 20 seconds behind the two Spaniards - more great assistance from Ryder too. I don't see why Contador should have been expected to assist Froome, he didn't need to, its as simple as that. I hope Froome takes 2nd in due course but the battle for 6th looks really hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

great stage. Dan dug very deep to finish that close to valverde, j rod and aru. He looked spent when dropped with 3km to go so to hold it together for that far was remarkable.

That is as stacked a top 10 GC in a grand tour as I have ever seen. The Vuelta never fails to entertain, my fav GT every year without fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Has Uran finished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Valverde
    pelevin wrote: »
    I do like Contador and I put a tenner on him as well as for the overall so good man Bertie.

Well done Dan for moving on up to 6th. Has to be happy with his Vuelta.

To add, that Aru looks a super rider. Of the young guns, him, Quintana & Majka look the strongest GT young guns, ahead maybe of the French brigade - though obviously with Quintana the star.

Bert & Froome are a cut above all in GT at the moment ...wt Nibali & Quintana probably up there...would need a GT with all 4 and no crashes/ilness to settle it l

then a step down to riders like Aru , Valverde,Purito, Talansky on good form

then a little below this are climbers like Pinot, Martin , Majka TJ VG, Kelderman

But this is just for GTs and things will no doubt change in due course ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

MPFG wrote: »
    Bert & Froome are a cut above all in GT at the moment ...wt Nibali & Quintana probably up there...would need a GT with all 4 and no crashes/ilness to settle it l

then a little below this are climbers like Pinot, Martin , Majka TJ VG, Kelderman

I'd throw Martin in with Aru and Talansky.

I suppose it's not easy to put them all in distinct strata. Perhaps a top 20 would make more sense.

Valverde

Generous to Talansky? Maybe not, just hadn't maybe noticed him enough to rate him quite so high yet myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Yes!

That was the first proper long mountain stage that wore down the likes of Valverde and Purito. If there was another stage like that tomorrow, they would lose even more time to Contador and Froome.

It will be officially 6 years, next year, since Contador last won the Tour de France. I hope he can get it together again for maybe one last decent crack at the title.

Valverde
    dave2pvd wrote: »
    I'd throw Martin in with Aru and Talansky.

I suppose it's not easy to put them all in distinct strata. Perhaps a top 20 would make more sense.

Dan is defitely below Aru , VV & Purito and Talansky on GT becasue of TT ...needs to improve this

but on a high note he is a better classics rider than all these GT riders except VV & Purito and they are getting old...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Where's your beloved Roche in all this?

Valverde
    Don't know why Brambilla's making any signs at Rovny, he pinched him first and then smacked him first.

You are right ...Brambilla pinched first ...I was listening to Carlton...last time I'll do that :rolleyes:...Saw it on TV just now

Valverde
    Where's your beloved Roche in all this?

Owing to inherent bias I cannot in all honesty rate Roche :D

Contador
    Velonews reporting that a member of la Guardia civil died today in a motorbike crash in the stage. Awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Velonews reporting that a member of la Guardia civil died today in a motorbike crash in the stage. Awful

Might have been where the ambulance was rushing to or from that could be seen a couple of times at one point during the stage. Terrible news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭outfox

Bert & Froome are a cut above all in GT at the moment

Is it a coincidence that they happen to have the 2 ugliest cycling styles you've ever seen. One of them bouncing all over the place, and the other doing his 'look down, look up, shake head side to side, repeat routine'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

don't forget betancur on his day. won paris nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Hesjedal
    outfox wrote: »
    Is it a coincidence that they happen to have the 2 ugliest cycling styles you've ever seen. One of them bouncing all over the place, and the other doing his 'look down, look up, shake head side to side, repeat routine'?

At least Contador is entertaining. As someone said earlier, Froome is like an Agent from The Matrix. :D

Valverde
    Dr. Bre wrote: »
    don't forget betancur on his day. won paris nice

No Betencur spotting here this year ...last year's Vuelta some of you paid great attention ot his progress

I believe he is lying last but on a high note he has been picked for the Worlds for Columbia...they must have faith in him....
    I just see his round bottom and hair blowing in the wind whenever the camera picks up the back of the peloton...not sure the bikini diet is working

Contador
    No Betencur spotting here this year ...last year's Vuelta some of you paid great attention ot his progress

I believe he is lying last but on a high note he has been picked for the Worlds for Columbia...they must have faith in him....
    I just see his round bottom and hair blowing in the wind whenever the camera picks up the back of the peloton...not sure the bikini diet is working

Real pro cyclists definitely do not have curves...At least on their bellies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

D3PO wrote: »

That is as stacked a top 10 GC in a grand tour as I have ever seen.

If only Nibbles and Quintana were there.... but ya, it's been cracking stuff the past few days watching the top boys slug it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Haven't really been following for the past few days. Jaysis I missed it all today though it seems.

Just saw the clip of Brambilla and Rovny. What a pair of tits. :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

outfox wrote: »

I wouldn't say Contador's style is ugly at all. He dances up mountains. His repeated accelerations are brilliant when he's on form.

Yesterday nothing changed when he road away from Froome. Same cadence, same facial expression, just a change of gear and away he went. Fantastic to watch.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

I think Contador's style is fantastic. Dancing on the pedals. It's actually quite telling that during his steak years he repeatedly attacked in big jumps on ridiculous HC climbs but the last couple of years he is way more measured and only attacks and pivotal times. Still one of the best most exiting riders to watch.

Chris Froome on the other hand has all the grace of a wheelchair user falling down a set of stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

I think Contador's style is fantastic. Dancing on the pedals. It's actually quite telling that during his steak years he repeatedly attacked in big jumps on ridiculous HC climbs but the last couple of years he is way more measured and only attacks and pivotal times. Still one of the best most exiting riders to watch.

Chris Froome on the other hand has all the grace of a wheelchair user falling down a set of stairs.

I would agree with you on this. Contador amazes me that he is able to sustain climbing while off the saddle for so long.

Valverde
    Laraghrider, your post is good but just to say as someone who has a sister in a wheelchair, you could do without that analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Valverde
    Maybe he's a Dublin supporter

Ha ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Ultegra wrote: »
    Valverde to cling to Contadors wheel again?

Valverde to cling to everybody's wheel yet again!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Oh dear Joaquim Rodrigquiz

J-Rod needs to go out for a night in Letterkenny to realise the grave situation he could have put himself in.

Edit, I didn't realise Dan had to stop for a puncture on the final climb.

Another edit, I'm a dumb ass. Too early in the morning for me, I read the diary as saying it was Dan Martin who punctured.

Valverde
    logik wrote: »
    I would agree with you on this. Contador amazes me that he is able to sustain climbing while off the saddle for so long.

Contador does sit down periodically
    Chrish Horner never sits down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭oconnpad

ah Peter don't sit on the fence tell us what you really think:)

Valverde
    I don't think riders in the Peloton would want Purito thrown off the race ...he is well liked seemingly...Maybe Kennaugh shouldn't have commented as such ... I don't want it to bounce back onto Deignan

Contador
    I don't think riders in the Peloton would want Purito thrown off the race ...he is well liked seemingly...Maybe Kennaugh shouldn't have commented as such ... I don't want it to bounce back onto Deignan

I'd say the fact that it wasn't caught on camera has a lot to do with it. If there was a video of Rodriguez doing what Deignan says he did, then Rodriguez would surely have to be given his marching orders. In fairness all we have at the moment is one rider's word against another.

Valverde
    I know it's Deignan's diary & so it's certainly what the newspaper would want him to include but to a degree to me it's like a schoolyard incident. Just cos it happened doesn't mean you have to effectively tell the authorities about it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Laraghrider, your post is good but just to say as someone who has a sister in a wheelchair, you could do without that analogy.

Off topic but why?
    Wheelchair users have a sense of humour too.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

I know it's Deignan's diary & so it's certainly what the newspaper would want him to include but to a degree to me it's like a schoolyard incident. Just cos it happened doesn't mean you have to effectively tell the authorities about it.

Except they're not children and this is their workplace.

If you were assaulted by a colleague in work today, would you consider that acceptable?

If you saw a colleague assaulted in work today would you also think that he should keep quiet?

He hasn't even made a formal complaint. I think he's handling it fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

Hermy wrote: »
    Off topic but why?

Indeed. It was actually a wheelchair bound friend of mine who came up with that analogy.

Valverde
    Hermy wrote: »
    Off topic but why?

Because I think it's quite ugly in effect. My sister's a very innocent 11 year old with spina bifida. I imagine if she fully understood the analogy, someone being said to be so ungainly as to resemble her with her useless lower limbs falling down a stairs would be a very hurtful thought.

Valverde
    quozl wrote: »

If you were assaulted by a colleague in work today, would you consider that acceptable?

If you saw a colleague assaulted in work today would you also think that he should keep quiet?

It's not remotely an ordinary workplace. It's a sporting environment where particularly for team stars like Rodriguez on mountain stages, tensions can be felt to a very high degree. It's ludicrous to try to equate to a business environment. Katusha & Rodriguez apologised. In Sky & Deignan accepting this apology, I would say there is a tacit acceptance that this is as far as this will go.

Deignan goes on in his piece about how he wanted to hit him back there & then on the road but wisely held himself back, how he wanted to confront him in the hotel, how he'd give him a right hammering . . . but he wisely didn't stoop to his level. How Rodriguez apologised. And then Deignan relates all this in a newspaper where it will inevitably come to the authorities notice, & as shown by the incident on the last stage, can get a rider thrown off a race.

I think it is very much like a schoolyard incident, & I then would have looked with distaste anyone 'squealing.' I think Deignan has not handled this well at all. He's made himself out as well as he imagines possible in the article - "I would have given him a right beating but I'm not going to stoop to his level. I'll accept his grovelling apology, but then let everyone know what I really think of this little creep, & by obvious extension let the authorites know, putting him in potential hot water & hopefully damaging his reputation." I don't think it's that dignified to tell everyone how dignified you behaved.

Deignan could have earned himself credit with his peers/in the peloton with how he handled this, but if I were a pro-bike rider, regardless of what team I were on, I'd be far from impressed with his relating of the incident.

Also to add, this has obviously & inevitably placed Katusha & Rodriguez in hot water - where to avoid Rodriguez getting thrown off the race they've now had to basically distort or lie, if Deignan's account is correct - & I'm not doubting it is. And then having to go that route, Sky team members like Kennaugh can jump in in the strongest terms saying they're lying. Deignan if he wanted to be honest should have said no, I don't accept your apology, I'm going to disingenuously try to get you thrown off the race by bringing this to the authorities' notice anyway via my newspaper article.

Valverde
    Indeed. It was actually a wheelchair bound friend of mine who came up with that analogy.

No bother, obviously in that case it's an adult man with a developed thick enough skin regarding the chair & all that. I'm coming I suppose emotionally from identifying with my young sister who would feel it differently - not that she's going to be reading this forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Whacking Rodriguez am I right????

I'll get my coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

He's not campaigning to get Purito out of the race he said he accepted him apology. He was using the story as an example of the fiery nature of the sport and compared it to the story of the say ie Rovny and Brambilla. I can't see how he's handled it badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

quozl wrote: »

Couldn't agree more

Valverde
    You must remember Deignan ..who strikes me as very honest and a bit naive, was probably egged on by the paper to reveal this story and it was written in away that makes it newspaper fodder

I guess he was angry and felt all those thoughts as in the paper...who wouldn't...but I doubt he EVER wanted anyone thrown off the race or indeed 'squealed' for that purpose...Its what you get when newspapers take over

I guess you can say if you want a cycling blog in your newspaper you better employ an Irih rider ....they give best copy

Valverde
    Pudsy33 wrote: »
    He's not campaigning to get Purito out of the race he said he accepted him apology. He was using the story as an example of the fiery nature of the sport and compared it to the story of the say ie Rovny and Brambilla. I can't see how he's handled it badly.

I'd say he's very likely not campaigning to get Rodrgiuez thrown off but unless he's very dumb, he knows this is what happens if like with Grozny & Brambillia, you're caught doing what he says Rodriguez did. So he has to accept the consequences of bringing it to the authorities' attention, and can't with any dignity say, Ah but that wasn't my intent. I'm just letting ye know like about an interesting thing that happened.

And if, say, rather than distort, now that it's been brought very much into the public light, Rodriguez said, "Deignan is right about what happened. I won't lie, and so I'll take the awkward position away from the Vuelta organisers and remove myself from the race." That is a pretty fair description of the position Katusha were put in - distort or do the above.

I'd say that'd be an albatross around Deignan's neck for his career he could seriously do without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

balls.ie have given there top cycling fights ha http://balls.ie/cycling/videos-look-back-cyclings-infamous-fights/