Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Best Irish Slang Phrase You've Ever Heard?

• 11-09-2014 2:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭

What's the craic?

ask the back of me sack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,274 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

JrdanB wrote: »
    What's the craic?

ask the back of me sack!
    Not that anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Up on blocks

*for "period".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

I will in me f**k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

A whores melt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Just watch the committments & and the snapper. the films are littered with great one liners that only the irish would get

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

When hungry:

"I would eat the boll*x off a low flying duck"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Get Real

Catnipped- drunk, inerbriated.

Catnippery- the act of engaging in boisterous behaviour on a night out. "some catnippery last night lads"

Ballbagged- see catnipped.

I admit they're not that common, but makes me smile every time I hear them used :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Be the love of the lord lamp lighting jaysus that was some feed.

The best compliment one can give to a particularly tasty meal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

'Mup outa that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

Langer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Only heard this one recently..... when the missus is 'out of action'....

"Munster are playing at home".

• Registered Users Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

How's she cutting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

I had a mate once that met this girl in a nightclub.

"Just lob it in there, boss"
    entire story may be fabricated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

"A handy hurler" - all the character reference you need to get a job in some parts.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭paulpd

I'll beat you like a red-headed stepchild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I had a mate once that met this girl in a nightclub.

"Just lob it in there, boss"
    entire story may be fabricated

Buddy of mine spotted a cracking girl one day and says to me

"I'd swim through a mile of sh1te to suck the c0ck of the last guy who fu€ked her".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Mere I wan cha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

"That day is so cold it would freeze the balls off a brass monkey."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

"the tide wouldn't take 'er out"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Go and bite the butt end of me bollix"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

I will in me hoop.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭TheJackAttack

"A boy the kidddddddddd!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

''They'd make a tinker out of ye....'' (referring to bold children) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Half of these aren't exclusively Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Hoop66

And the other half are shite!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

That legendary Irish wit.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Hoop66 wrote: »

well, lets have your donation....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

my tongue's as dry as a Zulu's flip-flop.

[o.k. o.k. not technically Irish, Captain Buzzkill]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

When I asked my da about a forty something woman trying to conceive...

"I think the nest has fallen out of that tree".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Hoop66 wrote: »

And the third half are euphemisms.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Dirty Japanese bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭DLMA23

Fookin gobshoite & gickna

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Ge€ / Gowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Hoop66

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    well, lets have your donation....

You've a neck like a jockey's bollocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Get outta dat garden!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

An oul lad pontificating about the local guard not catching any of the lads breaking into houses:
    He wouldn't spot a goose in a bog.

A 25 reference to someone who is dying:
    He's 20 for out with the 5 in his hand.

When someone is doing something you approve of:
    That's yer mowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,972 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

He knows as much as "a donkey looking at a holiday brochure"

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭ElKavo

Scowley Bowler!

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭Betty Bloggs

"arra will ya g'way outta dat"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Up the gicker is quicker

"up ya boy ya!"

• Registered Users Posts: 11 recoil_money

Calling someone the "anti craic" or "craictose intolerant" when they're being a dry sh1te is a personal favourite of mine.

Never heard these before but I intend on using them in future. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

I will in me hole
    Shut up ta fuk

"wouldn't give ya the steam of their piss"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

'I will yeah' meaning, there's not a ****ing hope I'm doing that!

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

May your hole rot and fester is a favourite of mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

"Like a goat looking at thunder"

Ara I gave young jimmy the keys o the ould JCB there the other day and sure when he was inside he was like a goat looking at thunder. Them childeren these days havn't a clue in the wide world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

I opened this thinking we'll learn something here.

As someone said earlier half aren't Irish and the other three quarters are $hoite.

Like an evening with Chas and Dave - or hell

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

the contractors were finished cutting silage and I was talking to the boss man about the tractors and asked him where the dipstick on one particular tractor was, he gave a dirty look over to where the drivers were chatting and said "he"s f....king over there".it cracked me and the drivers up including the" dipstick."