Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Borussia Dortmund vs Arsenal (KO 19:45 16/09)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Bollocks, think Szczesny maybe should have done better there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

That was beautiful. Superb goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

No surprise at that goal

I think we're lucky its only one.

Stormer of a second half please Arsenal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Damn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

Immobile cost the same as Welbeck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭ironkiwi

Another counter attack goal conceded.... Gibbs and Kos should have dealt with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Poxy time to concede. If we'd got in an 0-0 it might have demoralised them because they deserved a goal. Now they'll have their tails up and be looking for more.
    Worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Away from home in Europe. How did Immobile have so much space to move into ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

ASOT wrote: »
    Immobile cost the same as Welbeck.

Yeah and his team have dominated the game giving him countless opportunities to score

He fairly immobilised arsenal!
    /gets coat

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

We're getting shown up here luckily it's only one. Need to wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,408 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Welbeck missed two great chances. Looks like another Gervinho tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Bollocks, think Szczesny maybe should have done better there
    It was close enough to the corner. Was covering the near post. Think hes one of a few who have played ok tonight

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,408 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Well deserved, better side by far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Missed the replay of the goal. But did he try to cut back and accidentally kick off his own shin? Looked fortunate but no more than they deserve over the course of the half.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Ah here. Steady on.

ironkiwi wrote: »
    Another counter attack goal conceded.... Gibbs and Kos should have dealt with that.

Just as Immobile approached the penalty area the ball took a bobble that ran very kindly and gave him the space to get the shot in. Shame as Kos has been brilliant up to then

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭omega man

A draw would now be a fantastic result :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Kneejerk reaction surely. To be fair he's looked far from a Gervinho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

In fairness he got him positioned for the second very well for the second phase of that attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

greendom wrote: »
    Just as Immobile approached the penalty area the ball took a bobble that ran very kindly and gave him the space to get the shot in. Shame as Kos has been brilliant up to then

Really shouldn't be getting that far without a hand on him. Good finish all the same.

We'll concede an second early in 2nd half I reckon :(

Ah tayto that's harsh. He'll come good, I guarantee it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Shouldn't let players run at your CB's like that, only asking for trouble.

Left back way put of position again, nothing learned from the city game in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

That goal looked like Szczesny should have saved it. Might just be the camera angles though.

Thoroughly deserved to Dortmund. Wellbeck looks a very good acquisition for Arsenal though. Sanchez and Ozil look like they've shot by tranquilisers darts and are dreaming of early showers.

omega man wrote: »
    A draw would now be a fantastic result :-(

A draw is all we need. Away from home against Dortmund is very hard.

We are completly outplayed in the central areas. Need to win a few battles in there second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

It was close enough to the corner. Was covering the near post. Think hes one of a few who have played ok tonight

Yeah perhaps harsh, just thought there wasn't much power in it from first look and maybe he could have come out quicker. He was good otherwise.

Bad defending to let him though so easily in the first place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Y2KBOS86

He's trying to run in behind too much, he's quick,but he's no Thierry.

2 lads at the back for Dortmund are fairly comfortable with him.

I would take a draw now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Shouldn't let players run at your CB's like that, only asking for trouble.

Left back way put of position again, nothing learned from the city game in that regard.

Ahh jeez ye had an attacking throw, full backs of pretty much any team, unless it's playing ultra defensive, would be caught out of position from that.

Ah tayto that's harsh. He'll come good, I guarantee it.

Hope so but two poor efforts, one a fresh air and the other yards wide from in front of the goal. Not happy with that.

So Jack lost the ball and didn't track back fast enough

HazDanz wrote: »
    A draw is all we need. Away from home against Dortmund is very hard.

We are completly outplayed in the central areas. Need to win a few battles in there second half.

We need to win the group this year. We can't aspire to winning the CL if we can't go to Dortmund to win

We are not going to win the UCL (this year)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Winterburn and Friedel on Setanta, 2 very good pundits and are spot on in what they are saying. We were dire in that half lucky to be only a goal down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Y2KBOS86

Turtwig wrote: »
    Ozil look like they've shot by tranquilisers darts and are dreaming of early showers.

He's been awful again.

Wenger needs to haul his ass off.

OX can trouble them with his pace.

Dortmund are our rivals so I always feel a draw away and a win at home usually does the trick to win a group as long as we do as we should in the other games in the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Per has been poison since he came back. In terms of CBs we really should have brought in someone to put pressure on his position. Manolas or Sokratis should be have been a priority.

We've two mediocre left backs too in reality and a past DM in Arteta. Criminally still lacking a striker who can finish too.

Those facts just get laid bare everytime we come up against top teams which BvB are.

The annoying thing is that it's not like these shortcomings are being flagged here for the first time. Some of them have been glaring for YEARS.

Such a frustrating club to follow. It's ****ing bull****.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Winterburn and Friedel on Setanta, 2 very good pundits and are spot on in what they are saying. We were dire in that half lucky to be only a goal down.

My dog.knows how bad we were :)

Ramsey and Arteta have been very.poor. they look lethargic almost

efb wrote: »
    We are not going to win the UCL (this year)

That's the spirit ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

I thought Welbeck was supposed to be an upgrade on Giroud not a downgrade.

Bring on the hate.

jonny666 wrote: »
    My dog.knows how bad we were :)

Ramsey and Arteta have been very.poor. they look lethargic almost

Arteta and Flamini are dead slow and past it. OK for some games in the EPL but not against good and gifted midfielders.
    We have no enforcer.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

cson wrote: »

Such a frustrating club to follow. It's ****ing bull****.

I love arsenal.

But sometimes I want to boot us up the hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Looks like ramsey on the right and Ozil in behind Welbeck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Sweet as a nut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

Good night lads

Just too easy - ripped apart

Efb got it spot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Jaysus :eek: