Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gameweek 5 Captain poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Ade all the way (hopefully)!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭AidySevenfold

Went for Naismith myself. Never thought I'd see the day Naismith would be my Fantasy football captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Di Maria (lei)
    Rooney, no other options atm really.

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭ItsChecoTime

Trying to decide between Rooney, Aguero and Naismith. Leaning towards Naismith at the moment as I think Rooney could be dropped to a deeper role like at the end of the QPR game, and I'm expecting to see Mourinho's negative tactics like last year which would decrease Aguero's potential return. Just a bit worried that Eto'o could start ahead of Naismith after their Europa League game on Thursday..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

Adebayor (WBA)
    Gone from being dead set on having Di Maria captain to thinking of having Falcao captain. I brought Di Maria in from the start. First game he fired a blank, second game he got 14 points. Falcao came up blank first game, second game he'll get a big score? I'll admit it's not the solidest reasoning :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

Di Maria (lei)
    went with rooney myself, it'll be a tough game for united, would be surprised if they scored more than 2 but there is a lack of choices elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭robocode

Went with Rooney last night, back to considering Costa/Aguero this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭irishmays

Di Maria (lei)
    Stuck between di Maria and rooney. Really a difficult one. Iv Costa captain since day one but I believe there's goals for united.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Rooney (lei)
    Have it on Diego Costa by default...

Can Naismith really be a viable option? Or Siggy? Or Aguero? Damn I haven't a clue...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Have it on Rooney atm but handing Ade the armband is tempting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Rooney (lei)
    Lukaku

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,687 ✭✭✭Danger781

Falcao (lei)
    I'm considering Mata. Adebayor seems like a good choice too though.

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭lorenzo87

It is a very confusing week captaincy wise, that's why I took a gamble on Dier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,687 ✭✭✭Danger781

Falcao (lei)
    Danger781 wrote: »
    I'm considering Mata. Adebayor seems like a good choice too though.

Went with Adebayor in the end! Although I want Mata to have a fantastic game tomorrow. Feck the people transferring him out, I want me 0.2 back :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Gave it to Dier at last minute, it had been on Costa.Also benched fabregas and played Chadli

• Registered Users Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Rooney (lei)
    spock. wrote: »
    Gave it to Dier at last minute, it had been on Costa.Also benched fabregas and played Chadli

Are you serious?

You like russian roulette don't you :pac: :P?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Rooney (lei)
    Voted Costa, went with Adebayor in the end! :rolleyes:

These changes rarely work out from experience! Here's to hoping though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

iroced wrote:
    Are you serious?

iroced wrote:
    You like russian roulette don't you  ?

Haha yep!
    I think Chadli will outscore Fabregas this week though.
    Dier is the big risk!

iroced wrote: »
    Are you serious?

You like russian roulette don't you :pac: :P?

There is a very good chance Spurs will keep a clean sheet today, I also have Dier as captain. Far greater chance that Spurs keep a clean sheet than Costa scoring twice imo.

Di Maria (lei)
    spock. wrote: »
    Haha yep!
    I think Chadli will outscore Fabregas this week though.
    Dier is the big risk!

No offence, but I can't see any reason to do what you just did tbh.

It was your call so all I can say is Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,931 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Rooney (lei)
    Voted Costa, went with Adebayor in the end! :rolleyes:

These changes rarely work out from experience! Here's to hoping though!

same as that
    changed with ten mins left

Di Maria (lei)
    lorenzo87 wrote: »
    There is a very good chance Spurs will keep a clean sheet today, I also have Dier as captain. Far greater chance that Spurs keep a clean sheet than Costa scoring twice imo.

CS=4 points. Costa only need 1 goal to get the same points.

Watching your captain loosing his points in last minute of the game is no fun;)

Rooney (lei)
    There is a very good chance Spurs will keep a clean sheet today .

there is no chance of this happening I'm afraid :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,579 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I can guarantee you Spurs wont concede a goal today

wonski wrote: »
    CS=4 points. Costa only need 1 goal to get the same points.

Watching your captain loosing his points in last minute of the game is no fun;)

Spurs keeping a clean sheet is more likely than a Costa goal.

mailburner wrote: »
    there is no chance of this happening I'm afraid :p

At home to West Brom? :rolleyes:

Rooney (lei)
    There is a very good chance Spurs will keep a clean sheet today.
    not a hope of this happening

At home to West Brom? :rolleyes:
    at least today anyway :D

Jaysus it's like a creche in here. Good luck.

Di Maria (lei)

I gave the armband to Rooney anyway so Costa argument is not working for me;)

It is only my opinion that giving it to Dier is a crazy move. These moves pay off from time to time but they are way too risky imo. Defenders sometimes score big points but they are not worth it - Dier is a perfect example here.

If you captained him last week You would get 0 points after a game against Sunderland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,816 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Ramsey (avl)
    My main rivals all have Rooney as captain, and I don't even have him, could be a bad GW. I went for Aguero

I gave the armband to Rooney anyway so Costa argument is not working for me;)

It is only my opinion that giving it to Dier is a crazy move. These moves pay off from time to time but they are way too risky imo. Defenders sometimes score big points but they are not worth it - Dier is a perfect example here.

If you captained him last week You would get 0 points after a game against Sunderland.

I finished 840 in the world last year, and I captained defenders several times throughout the year. But thanks for the teamtalk.

Rooney (lei)
    Jaysus it's like a creche in here. Good luck.

good luck tomorrow :rolleyes:
    touchy

Di Maria (lei)
    I finished 840 in the world last year, and I captained defenders several times throughout the year. But thanks for the teamtalk.

OK. You win.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Welbeck (avl)

Only just. Costa 7/5 anytime goalscorer. Spurs 6/5 to keep CS.

Went with Rooney in the end, even though I voted for Siggy earlier in the week.

Edit - RE finishing 840th last year - out of interest what's your team ID? (the 6 digit number in the URL when you are on the gameweek points page of FPL site)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Di Maria (lei)

Congrats that's a fine achievement. But the advice that Wonski was giving is perfectly reasonable and not to be discounted. I finished 166883 last year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,816 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Ramsey (avl)

if you finished 840 in the world last year, it's a bit odd that this year your aiming for an average of 50 a week, as chances are this wouldn't get you in the top 750,000:confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Falcao (lei)

The advice given was fairly spot on imo. Fair play on the strategy it wouldn't be for me but don't think there is any need to bring rankings into it as a way of defending your decisions.

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭cizolin

Aguero (CHE)
    Went with Siggy as captain. He seems to rack up big points every second gameweek and he managed only 2pts last week so hopefully a goal and an assist today lol. Up against a team that are playing well themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Falcao (lei)
    qwabercd wrote: »
    Only just. Costa 7/5 anytime goalscorer. Spurs 6/5 to keep CS.

Went with Rooney in the end, even though I voted for Siggy earlier in the week.

Edit - RE finishing 840th last year - out of interest what's your team ID? (the 6 digit number in the URL when you are on the gameweek points page of FPL site)

The chances of Costa getting an assist also needs to be considered. Also costa can score more than 1 goal whereas Dier can only keep one clean sheet.

Di Maria (lei)
    cizolin wrote: »
    Went with Siggy as captain. He seems to rack up big points every second gameweek and he managed only 2pts last week so hopefully a goal and an assist today lol. Up against a team that are playing well themselves

Someone mentioned a lot of goals in this game, I do expect the same tbh.

Both teams look for goals this season. I hope they don't play it safe this time due to their position. I predict 3-3 or something like this is possible, if this happens Siggy should get some points this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

So fed up-dodgy internet connection this morning & couldn't change captain.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Welbeck (avl)
    The chances of Costa getting an assist also needs to be considered. Also costa can score more than 1 goal whereas Dier can only keep one clean sheet.

Yep, was going to add that to my post, but I was just too lazy! Overall Costa is definitely a better option, as you said those odds don't paint the full picture.

Di Maria (lei)
    honeybear wrote: »
    So fed up-dodgy internet connection this morning & couldn't change captain.

Who is your captain now and what change were you going to do?

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭cizolin

Aguero (CHE)
    Both teams look for goals this season. I hope they don't play it safe this time due to their position. I predict 3-3 or something like this is possible, if this happens Siggy should get some points this time.[/quote]

Ya thinking along that line myself. Hoping for an open game. Most of my other big hitters playing away from home. Siggy a good option this week, potentially.

took a gamble on Siggy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Went for Aguero as he's fixture proof.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Fenson

Gamble for Lamela.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

Welbeck for a differential

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Who is your captain now and what change were you going to do?

captain is costa...was trying to change to rooney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Finical

Sterling (whu)
    Finical wrote: »
    Welbeck. (C) (gamble)

tumblr_mz7ikoMugI1t0s0b1o1_1280.jpg

DAT GUY WELBZ!

Moved my rank up significantly today. I hope Rooney stays quiet tomorrow. A few Aguero goals would be nice!