Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor with slurry tank on m9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Jamsiek wrote: »
    There's a reason why all tractors are banned from motorways in the UK
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/world/quirky-world-tractor-seized-after-jaunt-on-busy-motorway-273084.html

We are not gone back to being part of the UK just yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

wazky wrote: »
    They have real motorways though, not the two lane dual-cabbage way we have here.

Yes but the speed limit is higher in Ireland 120kpm v 115kph (70mph)

foggy_lad wrote: »
    We are not gone back to being part of the UK just yet!

This is not a political thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

http://www.irishexaminer.com/world/quirky-world-tractor-seized-after-jaunt-on-busy-motorway-273084.html

I'm sure they're probably not allowed on motorways in Australia either.

How is that relevant to our road traffic laws?

Valetta wrote: »
    I'm sure they're probably not allowed on motorways in Australia either.

How is that relevant to our road traffic laws?

My point is that maybe the laws in Ireland should change or at least be up for debate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

And what is that reason? The article above doesn't explain why.

A lot of vintage cars would only be capable of a cruising speed of 45 - 50 mph. Granted you don't see them too often on motorways, but should we ban them from motorways too? I know a business who's fleet of Merc Sprinters are limited to 80 kmh to save fuel. Should they be banned?

pablo128 wrote: »
    And what is that reason? The article above doesn't explain why.

A lot of vintage cars would only be capable of a cruising speed of 45 - 50 mph. Granted you don't see them too often on motorways, but should we ban them from motorways too? I know a business who's fleet of Merc Sprinters are limited to 80 kmh to save fuel. Should they be banned?

Read my previous post. I said maybe it should be up for discussion.
    Motorways are designed to speed up the flow of traffic and minimize delays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

They have real motorways though, not the two lane dual-cabbage way we have here.

All the more reason why our motorways shouldn't be effectively reduced to one lane by slow moving hazards.

Personally I think it should be illegal to travel at less than 90-100km/hour on a motorway unless you're in the process of accelerating to that speed, in normal conditions of course.

If you want to trundle along you should use the back-roads.

Yeah, they should. Someone doing 80km/h getting overtaken by someone doing 85km/h blocks the whole road up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Turpentine wrote: »
    All the more reason why our motorways shouldn't be effectively reduced to one lane by slow moving hazards.

Personally I think it should be illegal to travel at less than 90-100km/hour on a motorway unless you're in the process of accelerating to that speed, in normal conditions of course.

Yeah, they should. Someone doing 80km/h getting overtaken by someone doing 85km/h blocks the whole road up.
    You want articulated trucks to travel on secondary routes only then? Are you aware that most of them are limited to 80 kmh? And by law anything towing a trailer cannot exceed 80 kmh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

djflawless wrote: »
    Right....
    So there was a tractor with a slurry tank on the motorway, and as far as I can see from op, perfectly legal and entitled to be there
    Let's face it, a tractor isn't something that could be easily missed when most of them have what look like 3 headlights on the back.and if he was on the motorway, I'd bet my arse he had good lights on the tank.
    If you were nearly in an accident with it, it was you and or the trucker at fault, not the tractor driver...

And I'm the 1 with a learners permit?
    That amnesty sure has a lot to answer for :/
    I fully agree with everything you say except the last bit. You obviously aren't old enough to remember the amnesty, it lasted a month to clear a backlog. A very small percentage of drivers got their licence during it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

You want articulated trucks to travel on secondary routes only then? Are you aware that most of them are limited to 80 kmh? And by law anything towing a trailer cannot exceed 80 kmh?

Trucks can legally travel at 90km/h on a motorway and I think they should be the slowest vehicles on that motorway.

If a company wants to set their limit lower to conserve fuel or whatever that's their own issue, but I don't think those trucks should be on the motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I fully agree with everything you say except the last bit. You obviously aren't old enough to remember the amnesty, it lasted a month to clear a backlog. A very small percentage of drivers got their licence during it.

What I meant by the amnesty bit is, I know a lot of full licencers that have a pink licence due to the amnesty that shouldn't own a dog licence, let alone anything else.
    And I am to young to know exactly what happened. but from my understanding, it was literally just an excuse to get as many learners to a full licence as quick as possible.
    I am open to a proper explanation, but this is my conclusion..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

so what. get over it. if one pays taxes toards the roads they should be able to use the motor ways to as they payed for them along with the rest of us

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Trucks can legally travel at 90km/h on a motorway and I think they should be the slowest vehicles on that motorway.

If a company wants to set their limit lower to conserve fuel or whatever that's their own issue, but I don't think those trucks should be on the motorway.
    if tractors should be banned from the motor ways trucks and busses should be also as they are much more dangerous

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Maybe it was a fastrac.

if tractors should be banned from the motor ways trucks and busses should be also as they are much more dangerous

In some countries buses and trucks are restricted to use the slow lane only, maybe there could be a case for that.
    Trucks and buses on motorways are usually traveling long distances unlike tractors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

djflawless wrote: »
    What I meant by the amnesty bit is, I know a lot of full licencers that have a pink licence due to the amnesty that shouldn't own a dog licence, let alone anything else.
    And I am to young to know exactly what happened. but from my understanding, it was literally just an excuse to get as many learners to a full licence as quick as possible.
    I am open to a proper explanation, but this is my conclusion..
    It was to clear a back log only lasted a month back around late 70's. Did the drivers tell you that they got their licence in the amnesty or are you only presuming that they did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

The way that farming has gone nowadays, a lot of the big machinery you're seeing is contracted in, and the machinery is covering quite long distances on a daily basis - it's not just a run from the farmyard to the field up the road anymore. And to be honest, same people who are complaining about tractors on the main roads would be jumping up and down if tractors and tankers were restricted to national routes and sideroads... "tearing up and down the road outside our house they are, children are in fear of their lives, they're too big for these roads and someone's going to be killed", etc etc. Can't win either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

If there was a shop on the M9 he'd pull up outside it, get out of the tractor, block all the traffic, and head into the shop wearing shíte encrusted wellies so he could buy 20 Benson and a bottle of Lucozade.

Yes. In fact, I did. :)

In some countries buses and trucks are restricted to use the slow lane only, maybe there could be a case for that.
    Trucks and buses on motorways are usually traveling long distances unlike tractors.
    the tractor could be traveling a long distance also. mind you if they were to be stopped from using the motor way so could trucks and busses, keeping them for cars and vans only and other smaller vehicles

But tractors on average travel slower than trucks or buses

You really can't win, people from cities and who have no experience if farming and machinery have no clue really.

People constantly complain about tractors on normal roads, "slowing me down", "won't pull in", "too big for the roads" etc etc etc. The on a motorway oh they are too slow, I can't see them, I'm unable to move slightly to the right and easily overtake them :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The fact is slow vehicles of under 50kph are prohibited from traveling on motorways, he should be reported but chances are the local gardai are all his brothers - wifes - mothers - neighbours - sons in law so nothing will happen regardless, rural road users will just continuing abusing the rules of the roads unabated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

VinLieger wrote: »
    The fact is slow vehicles of under 50kph are prohibited from traveling on motorways, he should be reported but chances are the local gardai are all his brothers - wifes - mothers - neighbours - sons in law so nothing will happen regardless, rural road users will just continuing abusing the rules of the roads unabated

I'm fairly sure that the M9 isn't a small country village with local gardai. And where does it say that the tractor was doing under 50kph? I think that people have this idea of a Miley Byrne type character, pottering along on the 135 with a trailer load of shíte spilling out behind him... I'm going to go out on a limb here and suggest that it was more than likely a large 4wd tractor pulling a tanker, that's capable of road speeds to match a small car....

VinLieger wrote: »

The law states that a vehicle must be capable of travelling at 50kmh to use a motorway not that it has to be travelling at that speed and a large proportion of modern tractors can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Well we can be pedantic but for example Western France has exactly the same kind of rural population and tractors are banned on motorways for safety reasons.

There's a major issue with traffic moving at 120 kmh suddenly encountering a slow moving vehicle.

I'm amazed we didn't just grant planning permission for houses with driveways straight onto motorways while we're at it.

Ireland's "ah sure it's grand" exceptionalism seems to apply to everything.

No country in Europe that I've ever seen allows slow moving farm vehicles on motorways. Where an exception occurs they usually have to have warning vehicles, tons of flashing lights and escorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The law states that a vehicle must be capable of travelling at 50kmh to use a motorway not that it has to be travelling at that speed and a large proportion of modern tractors can.

Fair enough the vehicle only needs to be capable of that speed however you still can be cautioned for dangerous driving by going too slowly which imo would be especially dangerous on a motorway

SpaceTime wrote: »
    Well we can be pedantic but for example Western France has exactly the same kind of rural population and tractors are banned on motorways for safety reasons.

There's a major issue with traffic moving at 120 kmh suddenly encountering a slow moving vehicle.

I'm amazed we didn't just grant planning permission for houses with driveways straight onto motorways while we're at it.

Ireland's "ah sure it's grand" exceptionalism seems to apply to everything.

No country in Europe that I've ever seen allows slow moving farm vehicles on motorways. Where an exception occurs they usually have to have warning vehicles, tons of flashing lights and escorts.
    thats for extremely heavy loads. we have such a rule here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

If you can't avoid a slow moving tractor on a motorway, you shouldn't be driving.

Agreed.
    If you read my post you would see that I said cow sh1t was especially dangerous.
    Roads are designed to take water
    You comment is the ridiculous one

Except large sections of the M18. ;)

SpaceTime wrote: »

Agreed, but I think it's inevitable that Ireland will eventually have to come into line with the rest of Europe at some time in the future.

This is not a political thread

Neither is this one

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057293633

Just to add that over the years I have driven along the older roads between Clane in Kildare and Carlow going through Naas and Kilcullen as well as places like Moone Timolin and loads of small townlands along the road. My old right foot was quite heave but I always knew where along the road I was and what I should be expecting along any stretch of the road. If travelling on a sunday it was people going to or coming from Mass and later on it was the same poeple going to the pub after the dinner etc etc

This information does not come from experience of driving the route daily or whenever but is basic common sense! if driving in a rural area expect farm vehicles or animals on the roadway, If driving through villages on the N9/N81 expect people to pull out of side roads and pull in to other side roads immediately because this might be a main road for you but it is the "street where they live" for a large portion of the population!

foggy_lad wrote: »

And what would you call it then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

And what would you call it then?

A bit of craic. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Sky King wrote: »
    It is very dangerous to drive a tractor on a motorway, that's why they're not allowed. Someone died on the M9 for this exact reason

they are allowed once they can do 50kph.
    How many people have died as a result of cars on our motorways?
    Sky King wrote: »
    No you do it.

My point is that some spa thinks it's OK to bring a tractor out on a motorway, and it isn't.

of course its ok, once the tractor is capable of 50kph
    alias no.9 wrote: »
    Would you park in the left hand lane of a dual carriageway with speed limit of 80kmh because that's the closing speed traffic coming up behind? Even if the tractor is capable of 50k/h, bringing it on the motorway is a recepie for carnage. There was a fatality on the m9 a few years ago when another genius brought their tractor on the motorway.

thats why you have to be alert on motorways, this can happen. what if there is a crash on the motorway, then you are closing at a speed of 120kph? One fatality with a tractor? how many fatalities per year with cars?

Is there a toll Booth on the m9. Where do tractors pay?

I would imagine the same as a lorry
    sdeire wrote: »
    Some of the replies here are borderline madness that encourages driving in a way that causes accidents.

No tractors, no cyclists, and no stupidly slow muppets who can't keep 120km/h (or reasonably close to it) should be on a motorway. Its that simple.

so no articulated lorries then?
    Similarly, if you can't avoid a skip dropped on the carriageway of an 80km/h road you shouldn't be driving but anybody who thinks it's a good idea to drop a skip in the middle of a road is a ****ing tool. Same thing with a tractor on the motorway, the closing speed of traffic is too high, mismatches in speeds are dangerous. There's no access to farmland from motorways or farmyards from motorways. There's no reason for tractors to be on motorways.

correct, there is no farmland access on motorways, but that doesn't mean there is no reason for them to be on motorways. 95% of tractor journeys on motorways are not for regular daily farm work, or even farm work at all. Many building contractors use tractors with low loaders to transport diggers, and for general dtump trailer work, as they are cheaper to run.
    Tell that to a grieving family after it causes a fatal accident
    Tell them what? that somebody wasn't paying attention and drove into a tractor on a motorway? If they drove into a car travelling at 30mph would it have been an issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

^^^Annnd here's your winnerrrrr!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

correct, there is no farmland access on motorways, but that doesn't mean there is no reason for them to be on motorways. 95% of tractor journeys on motorways are not for regular daily farm work, or even farm work at all. Many building contractors use tractors with low loaders to transport diggers, and for general dtump trailer work, as they are cheaper to run.

Are the building contractors running the tractors on agricultural diesel? What would the revenue commissioners have to say about that?
    The tractors should be on the low loader towed by a truck if they're on the motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭guscon

Well I find the good thing about using the zetor around town is that the wheels are too big to get clamped. Much handier than the jeep too when going getting stuff for the site.

Are the building contractors running the tractors on agricultural diesel?

how would we know. who cares. what business is it of yours or mine. what difference does it make to you. what relevance does it have to the discussion
    What would the revenue commissioners have to say about that?

who cares. what business is it of yours or mine. what difference does it make to you. what relevance does it have to the discussion.
    The tractors should be on the low loader towed by a truck if they're on the motorway.

no they shouldn't. learn to drive properly and you will be fine. drive like an idiot and don't be careful and you will run into the tractor and frankly tough ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

The simple fact is once they are doing 50k they are allowed on the motorway, every1 giving out that its going 2 slow, no word about every fcuking ape doing 80-90 mph on the motorway,,, even though these are the 1's breaking the law, tractors have every right to be on the road I know id prefer to meet them on 1 than a ****ty side road where there is no place for them to pull in and let people past,

Are the building contractors running the tractors on agricultural diesel? What would the revenue commissioners have to say about that?

They aren't too bothered. I've gone through customs checkpoints driving tractors which were quite obviously being used for hauling construction equipment (running green diesel) and was just waved through. They had no interest in dipping the tank.

You would do very well to find a tractor in the country running on white diesel.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

I don't like tractors on motorways, simply because the closing speed is unexpected, but it's no worse than Artics in both lanes slugging it out with each other trying to pass, and spending 5 kilometers or more doing it.

What I do have problems with, both on N roads and motorways is tractors (or any other type of vehicle) towing trailers with no working lights on them, I came way too close to rear ending a tractor and slurry tanker on the N4 a couple of years ago, the only reason I saw it was when the lights of a vehicle coming the other way disappeared for a moment, and I realised there was something on the road, that something being a tractor and trailer, waiting to turn right off the main road, so stationary. 8 30 in the evening in November, so well dark, and there wasn't a light or reflector on the trailer, so nothing to give even a hint that it was there. It was a straight road, and well safe under normal conditions for 100 Kph. Had I known the townland name, I would have been very happy to call the Gardai with a view to having charges pressed, dangerous wasn't even close, the tractor driver was very fortunate he wasn't responsible for 2 deaths that night.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

Tell them what? that somebody wasn't paying attention and drove into a tractor on a motorway? If they drove into a car travelling at 30mph would it have been an issue?

It seems you're new to this thread and you need to read through it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

It seems you're new to this thread, just read over it, I'm not repeating myself again.

You're online, good, can I ask you to explain why cow ****e is more dangerous than anything else carried on the motorway.

Can you reply to
    Yes

Where you claim that cow ****e is...
    Valetta wrote: »
    More dangerous than petrol? Aircraft fuel? Mayonnaise ???

Has got nothing to do with them being on the motorway any more than any diesel vehicle.

It seems you're new to this thread, just read over it, I'm not repeating myself again.

That's all you're doing and ignoring counterpoints.

You're online, good, can I ask you to explain why cow ****e is more dangerous than anything else carried on the motorway

If you think it's not a dangerous substance on a road you really don't have a clue.

Have a read
    http://m.independent.ie/regionals/corkman/news/farmers-scoop-up-your-cow-poop-or-else-27087240.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

If you think it's not a dangerous substance on a road you really don't have a clue.
    Deliberately misrepresenting his post.....now now.

Have a read
    http://m.independent.ie/regionals/corkman/news/farmers-scoop-up-your-cow-poop-or-else-27087240.html

Where did I say it isn't dangerous.

You are refusing to answer, tankers arent the only thing full of ****e it seems.