Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leicester City vs Manchester United Match Thread. 21/9/'14 k/o 13.30 Sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Brilliant from Blackett

• Registered Users Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭Robson99

Di Maria over doing it a bit with crossing when he has Rojo in support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

At this rate, Blackett could well be recognised by the media, casual non United fans, etc as our best CB by the end of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

De Laet is surprisingly quick. He was gaining huge ground on Di Maria there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Glock Lesnar

I'd pick Blackett over Evans anyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

Billy86 wrote: »
    At this rate, Blackett could well be recognised by the media, casual non United fans, etc as our best CB by the end of the year.

Im a pool fan and iv said it since his first game hes be really really solid for yous. Looks a great prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Blackett has been so impressive these first few games imagine if he had a quality cb beside him to help him out.

• When Di maria whips them in its always looks dangerous, nearly falcoa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭double GG

That cross from Di Maria right there.... So close from Falcao

• Daley blind for 14 million is a steal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Great first half for both teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Good 1st half performance and hopefully we get more 1 more goal to seal the win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Blackett needs to be given a good run in this team. Very impressive performance from him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Good first half result but we are lacking something, a bit flat at times and not always transitioning the ball into the final third as well as we could. Most of our penetration is coming from wider areas which isn't bad in itself but it would be nice to see a bit more in the middle as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Blackett has stepped up big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Great half of football. Leicester are a quality side, so direct and dangerous. United defence still scares the sh*t out of me :o
    Both teams look capable of scoring a few more.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Blackett has been very good, but it's becoming a running theme again this year with our defenders just unable to stay fit. They all seem to be made of glass. Hopefully we can get some in on January or we will struggle against the better teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,384 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Herrera the only real disappointment so far I think. Mata could do what he's been doing better imo. Though LVG probably likes a balance of left and right footers in the team...

Still unlike last year the midfield and forwards are doing the business.

Liam O wrote: »
    Herrera the only real disappointment so far I think. Mata could do what he's been doing better imo. Though LVG probably likes a balance of left and right footers in the team...

I think the problem is that he's playing deeper because Blind is/was doing a lot of covering for Evans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

He wouldnt be as willing to get back when he's needed. Mata can't play that role

You can't trust Mata to do Herrera's defensive duties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭double GG

Leicester look a decent side and have shown it in this half aswell as the games against Everton and Arsenal.

Cambiasso really offers them that experience needed in the middle of the park.

Vardy and Ulloa look a decent pairing also.

I'd suggest they might need a couple in January though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭paulbok

glued wrote: »
    Blackett needs to be given a good run in this team. Very impressive performance from him.

And he's played how many games now without getting injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,652 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

****ing hate Souness

• edgecutter wrote: »
    Blackett has been very good, but it's becoming a running theme again this year with our defenders just unable to stay fit. They all seem to be made of glass. Hopefully we can get some in on January or we will struggle against the better teams.

And this is a contributing factor to why our defending is so poor at times. No stability in the selection as everytime evans / smalling / jones etc start to get a run out together one of them gets injured.

I'm really happy with Blackett however and has stepped up, hopefully he stays fit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Souness is some whopper can of piss.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Seriously need to get some un biased staff on Sky Sports.

Any sort of neutral view would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

Headshot wrote: »
    ****ing hate Souness

Comes out with some tripe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Utd have been poor and are lucky to be ahead. This team is going to be found out sooner rather than later. Can't rely on Di Maria to save you constantly and RVP is not the player he was two years ago.

Blackett is superb though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

The four fullbacks have been really poor. DeLaet and Rojo especially.

Great game to watch though.

Jamie Carragher has a rough accent, worried he is going to jump out of the screen and rob me.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭peterswellman

K4t wrote: »
    Utd have been poor and are lucky to be ahead. This team is going to be found out sooner rather than later. Can't rely on Di Maria to save you constantly and RVP is not the player he was two years ago.

LOL

Think Shaw may come on for Rojo. We are getting killed down that wing and Rojo has been caught out far too many times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Ah they haven't been poor overall. Have looked dodgy at the back but have played some great stuff going forward and deserve the lead.

adox wrote: »
    Ah they haven't been poor overall. Have looked dodgy at the back but have played some great stuff going forward and deserve the lead.

And more specifically dodgy at CB. Rafael was only on Evan's man because Johnny was miles off the mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Quandary

Edit - meant to post in Utd superthread.

• edgecutter wrote: »
    Think Shaw may come on for Rojo. We are getting killed down that wing and Rojo has been caught out far too many times.

I would like to see Rojo play in a central role to see how he does, and let shaw come in on the left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Exactly, midfield to the front is grand, defence isn't filling me with any confidence at all but it's been chopped and changed so much it would be hard to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Leicester look more dangerous when they go forward imo.

We're ahead due to a deflected header and a moment of genius which was caused by Schmeichel's poor positioning.

Utd great attack but paper thin at the back.

Injuries aren't helping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,314 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Its certainly been a huge improvement on the last away game against Burnley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Leicester look more dangerous when they go forward imo.

We're ahead due to a deflected header and a moment of genius which was caused by Schmeichel's poor positioning.

Only cause they are countering with pace of Vardy causing problems, it seems more exciting. All in all United are good value for the lead, the defense is obviously the weak point right now but with injuries and a lack of a commander it was never going to be different I suppose

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Yokes, a cast on Evans...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭statto25

Christ that was close!

Herrera playing much further up second half

Christ, that's unlucky for Falcao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Sweet lord...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Unlucky by Falcao,some strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Falcao giving fans blue balls.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

He's played less than 90 minutes for the club but it feels like Falcao has been waiting for months for his first goal.