Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Group of Irish J1 Students trash San Fran rental house, then leave the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,809 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

kneemos wrote: »
    Plus they have photos to prove the house was in perfect condition when they left.

Do you know these people by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,936 ✭✭✭✭Sand

anncoates wrote: »
    They're dick heads if they thrashed the house but the internet heroes that hound or troll others from the safety of their keyboards are pretty sad people.

Its karma - They're just getting treated for being what they proudly demonstrate themselves to be. What they're getting is pretty mild: just loud disapproval and highlighting of their behaviour to people who might be concerned. Would you prefer people gather outside their house with pitchforks and flaming torches like the good old days?

And I think whatever they are getting would cease very quickly if they either came out with an adequate defence, or took responsibility and paid compensation for the damage caused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

If you care about your property, you shouldn't rent it out to immigrants. And I say this as an immigrant. Particularly not young immigrants.

Most people, are honest people. Sure. But some people are young/immature/crazy/jerks/etc... the thing is, with immigrants, you have no recourse. You can't sue them. You can't track them down. One day, they are renting from you, the next day, they're half a world away and you have no idea how to find them.

When I leave Ireland, I know full well, if I stop paying my rent or leave outstanding bills, nothing, absolutely nothing, will happen to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

o1s1n wrote: »
    Do you know these people by any chance?

No but I'm sure they're a great bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

What utter scumbags to treat someone else's property in such a manner. I guess living off the bank of mummy and daddy doesn't teach children how to act in normal society. The fools properly taught that their actions won't follow them home.
    I hope, for their sake, they get the book thrown at them and learn what most people learn in the first 5 years of life.

Actions have consequences.

Master of the Universe

No but I'm sure they're a great bunch.

What would lead you to believe they're a great bunch?

The way they cleaned up and left the house slick and span.Very responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

If the pictures from that video are deemed clean, I would hate to see what they call 'a mess' or completely destroyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

UCDVet wrote: »
    If you care about your property, you shouldn't rent it out to immigrants. And I say this as an immigrant. Particularly not young immigrants.

Most people, are honest people. Sure. But some people are young/immature/crazy/jerks/etc... the thing is, with immigrants, you have no recourse. You can't sue them. You can't track them down. One day, they are renting from you, the next day, they're half a world away and you have no idea how to find them.

When I leave Ireland, I know full well, if I stop paying my rent or leave outstanding bills, nothing, absolutely nothing, will happen to me.

They're not 'immigrants' they're just visiting working-holiday tourists in reality with no ties to the place whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

The immaturity and drunkenness of the Irish abroad is totally shameful.

Master of the Universe

The way they cleaned up and left the house slick and span.Very responsible.

So I'll go back to my first question;

'Do you know these people by any chance?'

I'll further elaborate on that this time though;

Do you know these people by any chance? Otherwise how did you see such photos?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

SpaceTime wrote: »
    They're not 'immigrants' they're just visiting working-holiday tourists in reality with no ties to the place whatsoever.

That seems like splitting hairs to me.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/immigrant
    a person who migrates to another country, usually for permanent residence.

Anyone who migrates to another country can be considered an immigrant. If they're in another country *and* working, that meets my requirement. I've been in Ireland for going on four years, and I've been employed full-time for all of those years - but I still don't have 'permanent residence' in Ireland - but I'd consider myself an immigrant.

We can say 'non-national' or 'non-naturalized resident' or whatever you want. But it's the same thing. Immigrants with no local ties who are not only able, but likely, to leave the country. People in my situation make for bad tenants. If anything goes wrong, if I lose my job, or if I get sick, or if I get tired of the country, or if my contract ends, I'm going to leave. And when I do, I know that virtually any outstanding debts or obligations will be forgotten. That means, if I trash a rental house or an apartment, I know that there is almost 0% chance of my ever having to make amends for it. That makes me (and everyone else in my situation) a very high risk tenant.

So I'll go back to my first question;

'Do you know these people by any chance?'

I'll further elaborate on that this time though;

Do you know these people by any chance? Otherwise how did you see such photos?'

No again and sarcasm.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

ardle1 wrote: »
    The immaturity and drunkenness of the Irish abroad is totally shameful.

All of them? Every country has its muppets, no need for the xenophobia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Just hearing the American sub letters are now saying they sub sub letted the house onto a bunch of Mexicans.

So now looks like the Americans are off the hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

UCDVet wrote: »
    That seems like splitting hairs to me.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/immigrant

Anyone who migrates to another country can be considered an immigrant. If they're in another country *and* working, that meets my requirement. I've been in Ireland for going on four years, and I've been employed full-time for all of those years - but I still don't have 'permanent residence' in Ireland - but I'd consider myself an immigrant.

We can say 'non-national' or 'non-naturalized resident' or whatever you want. But it's the same thing. Immigrants with no local ties who are not only able, but likely, to leave the country. People in my situation make for bad tenants. If anything goes wrong, if I lose my job, or if I get sick, or if I get tired of the country, or if my contract ends, I'm going to leave. And when I do, I know that virtually any outstanding debts or obligations will be forgotten. That means, if I trash a rental house or an apartment, I know that there is almost 0% chance of my ever having to make amends for it. That makes me (and everyone else in my situation) a very high risk tenant.

It's not really splitting hairs. Immigrants usually intend to live somewhere for a considerable period of time. If you're just on a short term 90 day working visa, you're a visitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

100%? I don't know yet but I would go for 80% dubs, first time living away from mammy.

I'd say you're 100% wrong there. Frank Lee Midere. I was on a business trip to Sidney last year and came face to face with a band of traveling/working Irish. There was a lot of bravado drunken behavior from lads who seemed very unused to city dwelling. They were fairly disrespectful, loud, mouthy, they littered, smashed bottles on their way home and basically got up to no good on weeknights and the weekend.

I reckon after the twists and turns and all the analysis here, you'll find they weren't "Dubs, first time living away from mammy" because town and city dwellers are tuned in to their environment and grow up respecting their neighbour. They know how to behave properly in a city. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Just hearing the American sub letters are now saying they sub sub letted the house onto a bunch of Mexicans.

The Mexicans are fingering some Guatemalans it seems. The Guatemalans are suspiciously quiet..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

What if the Mexicans then sub-letted to a bunch of Irish? Sub-letception?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Hazys wrote: »
    What if the Mexicans then sub-letted to a bunch of Irish? Sub-letception?

I heard they were Scottish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

This doesn't outrage me in the slightest.

Sure it's bad that it happened and all, and they were a bunch of fecking eejits, but do ye not have anything better to be giving out about at all? Wouldn't even have thought it's that much of an uncommon occurrence tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Your man mentioned in the video could be innocent and if that is the case, I feel bad for him. I've been to a house party where the house got recked ( not nearly as bad as this, mind you) and although I pleaded with people to come to their senses, there wasn't really anything I could do. I know you could say that he should have brought it to the landlord's attention but I don't think it is as simple as that as he may have felt pressurised into not saying anything.

By the way,I am just playing devils advocate because I feel that too many people are assuming that Cormac is completely guilty whereas he may just be guilty by association.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    They destroyed the house so i don't get why people are saying it's only minor damage,Its going to take a lot of hours of cleaning,plastering,painting and installing new fittings.
    If they just pay up the witch hunt should be dropped but until such time as they do i see no harm in reminding them that there actions have consequences.

Isn't it rather disconcerting to see how some people on here do not seem to think
    there is anything too bad about the way those students left that house? On FB
    earlier today there were numerous posters asking their friends 'Was this you?'
    Seemed to be a big joke for many of them. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

I see it made the indo today , apparently some of the students have been in touch with the land lady to pay some money towards it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

In 2006, my 3rd year of college, I travelled to Boston for a 6 month internship. Myself and my 3 college friends shared a 4 bedroom apartment in a 3 floor house in Alston. Come J1 season the house next door became over run with other Irish students. I was 21 at the time and by no means a saint but I would never destroy property. The place was destroyed by these vermin, inside and out and I always remember meeting the landlady the day these apes moved out and all she could do was cry. I felt so sorry for her.

This happens every year in the US and Oz and probably other parts of the world too. We just don’t hear about it as its not broadcast on the evening local news.

I hope those responsible are held accountable and are never left into the US again at a very minimum as a punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

I think that ought to be the overriding impression people have of every university in Ireland, certainly I could offer no different impression of the libraries in UL or UCC or their occupants.
    Of course. I didn't mean to imply otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Have CBS removed the report ?

Doesn't play for me on any device ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

This is nothing new it happens frequently in Oz especially Perth and is often referred to as savage craic. Then when ads for rentals where the landlord has had previous issues mentions NO IRISH everyone is jumping up and down claiming racism. I certainly wouldn't rent any of my properties to Irish people unless I personally know them (all of them).... and I'm Irish myself.

I think the problem revolves around drink here's an interesting report that was on the radio a few weeks ago.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fypfmr062a9zyar/2GB.wav?dl=0

It's typical thing that happens but too often goes unreported.

I feel sorry for any decent Irish people who maybe trying to make permanent go in the states, these clowns are dragging them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Packrat

mandrake04 wrote: »
    This is nothing new it happens frequently in Oz especially Perth and is often referred to as savage craic. Then when ads for rentals where the landlord has had previous issues mentions NO IRISH everyone is jumping up and down claiming racism. I certainly wouldn't rent any of my properties to Irish people unless I personally know them (all of them).... and I'm Irish myself.

I think the problem revolves around drink here's an interesting report that was on the radio a few weeks ago.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fypfmr062a9zyar/2GB.wav?dl=0

It's typical thing that happens but too often goes unreported.

I feel sorry for any decent Irish people who maybe trying to make permanent go in the states, these clowns are dragging them down.

Agree, but in this case, it appears to be straightforward criminality, rather than students acting out and disgracing themselves. There have been crimes comitted here by non-nationals as well. It happens, and it seems in this case you linked that the aussie system didn't catch the second passport in the airport as it should have. The toerag lied to the consulate, they should also do a court record search as standard when someone shows up saying they've lost their passport such as in this case imo.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭jackal

Ugh, when I was on a j1 a good few years ago now, we did something similar to these lads in the last few days of the rental. Not quite as bad, no holes in walls or anything, but we left the place in a complete tip.

Not proud of it at all, I still get embarrassed when I think of it and wish I had a bit more cop on back then. It was a combination of group mentality, the fact that the people who had originally paid the deposit and met the landlord were all gone and that we had been living like animals for 3 months. Our place was packed full, approximately 8 young "adults" in a place made for 3 people, and you lose perspective after living like that for a while.

Shameful in retrospect, at the time it was all just "a laugh", and though I knew it was wrong I was not mature enough to stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

mandrake04 wrote: »
    This is nothing new it happens frequently in Oz especially Perth and is often referred to as savage craic.

I lived with a lot of Aussies in London back in the 90's & seen a lot of properties destroyed having weekend rave parties. Not just Aussies though Kiwi's, Yanks, Saffas....... Not condoning what was done but its usually young people letting off steam & its not just guys, girls can be everyway as bad

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Danger781 wrote: »
    http://www.thejournal.ie/san-francisco-apartment-1681381-Sep2014/

Disgraceful behavior. The house has been well and truly destroyed. How can you be okay with doing that? :confused:

Mod

No names or links to any personal social media pages please.

The woman states that it was "an act of terrorism"

FFS, is EVERYTHING terrorism now? Your house is vandalised....terrorism! Your bike is stolen.....terrorism! Kids egg your car..terrorism!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Are news reports allowed to reveal personal information like they did in this video? They have no proof that the named person was involved in the destruction yet an internet witch-hunt has started on places like Boards and Reddit, with some keyboard warriors even emailing the guys employer, college and relatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

So their story has now changed over the course of the weekend. First the official response from one of the cohort stated that subletters did the damage now a further investigations has revealed that they state the damage was done during an out of control party. Far too many inconsistencies and the it's clear the group in case tried to abscond without taking responsibility by skipping the country which was a sh!tty thing to do and now it's come back to bite them as the controversy has followed them home which has no doubt caught the group completely off guard.

It's a good lesson to all that skipping out on your mess does not make you untouchable. In the modern social media world, it#s a very small place and situations like this can follow you around like a bad smell for a long time so the lesson to all in similiar scenarios is think before you act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

the_monkey wrote: »
    Have CBS removed the report ?

Doesn't play for me on any device ...

I wonder did someone get their Daddy to lawyer up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Minister Charlie Flanagan joins the condemnation of the students.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/condemnation-of-house-vandalism-by-irish-students-288003.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Egginacup wrote: »
    The woman states that it was "an act of terrorism"

FFS, is EVERYTHING terrorism now? Your house is vandalised....terrorism! Your bike is stolen.....terrorism! Kids egg your car..terrorism!!!

Hardly fair to attack the victim of this?

zarquon wrote: »
    SO there story has now changed over the course of the weekend. First the official response from one of the cohort stated that subletters did the damage now a further investigations has revealed that they state the damage was done during an out of control party. Far too many inconsistencies and the it's clear the group in case tried to abscond without taking responsibility by skipping the country which was a sh!tty thing to do and now it's come back to bite them as the controversy has followed them home which has no doubt caught the group completely off guard.

It's a good lesson to all that skipping out on your mess does not make you untouchable. In the modern social media world, it#s a very small place and situations like this can follow you around like a bad smell for a long time so the lesson to all in similiar scenarios is think before you act.

We're lucky to have such consciences moral guardians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭Donald73

I saw that the Sunday World named a few of them. Hopefully their parents read it, are more decent than their children seem to be and make sure the lady is reimbursed for the damage. Pure scum doing that damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭ZeitgeistGlee

The claim the party occurred a few days before they left and it was outsiders who did the damage sounds like bull**** as well, if it hadn't been them why didn't they try to at least clean up the condoms/panties/debris given they would've had a few days?

As opposed to the likes of yourself kneemos who minimized their actions and falsely attributed them to non-existent parties? Much better I suppose they aren't made to face up to the repercussions of their actions and take responsibility for the harm they caused an innocent party like adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Morally i could never do what they did. If my morals upsets you then that speaks volumes about you. For someone who is such a proponent of this behaviour who purports to not know the culprits in question i would dread the thought of renting to you if you think this behaviour is in any way acceptable.

I find it very strange that you are so vehemently trying to defend the behaviour in any way. I've had the misfortune of renting to someone once who did hundreds of euros worth of damage and still expected his full deposit back. He seemed genuinely shocked when i told him that the deposit would partially cover the damage and that's the whole purpose of a security deposit. He abused me over the phone for weeks trying to recover his deposit and once i had the invoices for the damage and told him to speak to his solicitor about needing to cover the deficit he still owed me, i never heard from him again.

Some tenants are a PITA. I'd wager that anyone who vigourously defends such poor behaviour from tenants has a high probabiliy of also being a poor tenant. Either that or the defenders happen to live under a bridge ;)

I can't see why this is causing so much outrage, you'd assume that it's the first time that a house was trashed by those renting it. This happens every day of the week all over the world and really should not be considered new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭cookie24

Just saw this on the news, and after all the press it was getting, I must say I am feeling very underwhelmed. I've seen worse in Corrib Village.

A few bad things, such as banisters and hole in wall. Mainly superficial damage. Social media gone mad and faux-outrage has meant this has gotten far more attention than it deserves.

They should still pay though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭rosedream

Only just after seeing the pictures of the house being trashed on RTE news just now...I mean jesus when I first heard about this I didn't even look up about it because I assumed it was just an overreaction, but in all fairness that house is look like it literally demolished!
    I mean it doesn't matter what age you are, you would want to be some very spoiled, self-entitled brat, or either someone with severe mental health issues to leave the house in that state and not have the maturity to own up to what you have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

cookie24 wrote: »
    Just saw this on the news, and after all the press it was getting, I must say I am feeling very underwhelmed. I've seen worse in Corrib Village.

A few bad things, such as banisters and hole in wall. Mainly superficial damage. Social media gone mad and faux-outrage has meant this has gotten far more attention than it deserves.

They should still pay though.

Have you had to pay for it?

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    Have you had to pay for it?

I have, for a few things. I'm just happy a witch hunt around social media didn't happen. Ever make any mistakes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

I have, for a few things. I'm just happy a witch hunt around social media didn't happen. Ever make any mistakes?

My comment was in relation to your underwhelming comment. The place was destroyed. It would costs thousands to fix that up. There is a serious amount of glass broken, the staircase needs to be replaced, possible structural damage with the various holes amongst other things. Your comment only reinforces the idea that this is somehow acceptable as they didn't set the place on fire.

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    My comment was in relation to your underwhelming comment. The place was destroyed. It would costs thousands to fix that up. There is a serious amount of glass broken, the staircase needs to be replaced, possible structural damage with the various holes amongst other things. Your comment only reinforces the idea that this is somehow acceptable as they didn't set the place on fire.

Not acceptable, but definitely blown way out of proportion.

And 1000's of damage. Possibly. But deserving of international news? Surly not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Not acceptable, but definitely blown way out of proportion.

And 1000's of damage. Possibly. But deserving of international news? Surly not.
    It isn't international news. It was reported on local news in San Francisco, then picked up by media outlets here as the alleged perpetrators are Irish.