Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Augeo wrote: »
    Out of pure curiosity could I be so rude as to ask what age group you are? :)

Way to barj in and ask him personal questions out of the blue!
    You're a wild rover altogether!
    (edited to add the :pac: smiley as this was meant as tongue in cheek only, for clarification I wasn't having a go)

Was only being nosey :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

YbFocus wrote: »
    Hey man didn't realise you had one :)

1. If i could find m tech bumpers front and back I'd be laughing.

2. Standard 323/325 exhaust.

3. Cream leather door cards and two clean front seats.

You better not be going out of your way man!

I've had my nosey here

None of the cabby left, was a 323 with M-kit. Car was rolled, had white leather, purple. Baled :(

I'll keep you in mind on my galavanting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

dgt wrote: »
    I've had my nosey here

None of the cabby left, was a 323 with M-kit. Car was rolled, had white leather, purple. Baled :(

I'll keep you in mind on my galavanting :D

Crap well thanks a million man!
    I owe you one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Crap well thanks a million man!
    I owe you one!

Ah no yer grand I enjoy having a nosey :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Day 4 of not having a serpentine belt; the motor factors has since given me a 4th belt which again, is too short, upon bringing this one back they insisted that it was the right one and would fit the car, clearly it doesn't

The saga continues tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Day 4 of not having a serpentine belt; the motor factors has since given me a 4th belt which again, is too short, upon bringing this one back they insisted that it was the right one and would fit the car, clearly it doesn't

Order it yourself online off a Saab specialist.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Which sick saab was that for?

Reminds me of the oil filter saga I went through with the GMC, three different (wrong) filters that were supposed to fit my GM.

Order it yourself online off a Saab specialist.

They don't have it, the right one's been supposedly ordered for tomorrow, after me telling them the code a heap of times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

120.9 for daysul in rathoath this evening. Sound. Not even worth using the green stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Anyone know anything about opel corsas?
    Mates wife was going round a roundabout today and the steering lock locked:eek:
    it has since been towed to an opel garage where they have said it might be the loom which they will gladly change for 1000 euro :eek::eek:
    its a 10 reg daysul corsa (1.2 i think)
    do these have steering system issues like the older passat? any recomendations for a good indy/auto electrician around the clondalkin area?

I'm not too sure whether diagnostics showed a wiring fault or they are just stabbing in the dark. Ill know more tomorrow.

Can you get the lenght online and count the ribs?
    Try going to another motor factors and asking for an (eg.) 1590mm 4pk belt or whatever.

Maybe their system is wrong!

Can you get the lenght online and count the ribs?
    Try going to another motor factors and asking for an (eg.) 1590mm 4pk belt or whatever.

Maybe their system is wrong!

System is wrong! the belt is 6pk2425 they gave me 6pk2868 (a v6 belt) 6pk2413, 7pk2868 and hopefully tomorrow I'll have the right one tomorrow, from a different crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

This is just perfection (IMO) :D

2.3L aircooled engine inside that puts out 500hp!

german-look-beetle-desktop-wallpaper-15-630x396.jpg

pred racer wrote: »
    Anyone know anything about opel corsas?
    Mates wife was going round a roundabout today and the steering lock locked:eek:
    it has since been towed to an opel garage where they have said it might be the loom which they will gladly change for 1000 euro :eek::eek:
    its a 10 reg daysul corsa (1.2 i think)
    do these have steering system issues like the older passat? any recomendations for a good indy/auto electrician around the clondalkin area?

I'm not too sure whether diagnostics showed a wiring fault or they are just stabbing in the dark. Ill know more tomorrow.

Update on this, Opel Head office have come back and said that they have never seen a problem like this on that model corsa and will fix it for free! Their current quote to replace the loom is 1500. Nice one Opel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I wonder if they'll do a recall...

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I wonder if they'll do a recall...

Must be afraid of the legal, it only happened today:D

Still fair play, try get anything from Vw/BMW!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Death,
    Taxes,
    The Monday back after Christmas.

I don't think I'm on a high enough floor of the building to guarantee death by jumping out the window.

I strongly considered diving head first out a window today

I'm home nearly three hours and still have a headache

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Must be afraid of the legal, it only happened today:D

Still fair play, try get anything from Vw/BMW!

VAG are one of the good ones! I've gotten loads out of warranty from them on one particularly bad car!

It's good they stood over it though - that's a scary bill on a fresh enough car.

Stheno wrote: »
    I strongly considered diving head first out a window today

I'm home nearly three hours and still have a headache

Try opening it first next time:p

Same here, first day back for all the carpet dwellers today, with a list of all the crappy jobs they were too lazy to get us to do before Christmas :rolleyes:

And yes I was in work when they were all stuffing their pie holes!

VAG are one of the good ones! I've gotten loads out of warranty from them on one particularly bad car!

It's good they stood over it though - that's a scary bill on a fresh enough car.

Fair enough, I was thinking of dodgy injectors, steering faults and hand brakes on that model passat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Fair enough, I was thinking of dodgy injectors, steering faults and hand brakes on that model passat.

But Sir, they all do that:D

Strangely enough, that's what Opel used to say to me every time I brought my vectra back;)

I did ask if maybe, before I bought it might not have been the time for that.
    They didn't agree:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It's been far too long since I went on a drive, no destination in mind, just purely heading out to enjoy driving. Get some great tunes, and go. Doesn't even have to be twisty stuff! Need to do that soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

It's been far too long since I went on a drive, no destination in mind, just purely heading out to enjoy driving. Get some great tunes, and go. Doesn't even have to be twisty stuff! Need to do that soon...

I've been waiting for the weather to clear up a bit/sunny day to go west down towards Kerry, some spot on a nice day!

We also need to have a meet!

Not until I get this exhaust sorted, I'd be embarrassed!

Oil price falls below $50 a barrel, keep going please!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-30687669

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Oil price falls below $50 a barrel, keep going please!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-30687669

I recon once it hits about forty they will pull the plug on the whole thing and stop the prices dropping. It's very smart what opec are doing letting the price fall so all the more complicated projects become unfesible while out in the Middle East they are still making a lot of money as they can produce barrels of oil so cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

I've been waiting for the weather to clear up a bit/sunny day to go west down towards Kerry, some spot on a nice day!

We also need to have a meet!

What part of Kerry you thinking about? I'll be back in Killarney and listowel at the end of this month for a mates wedding

Augeo wrote: »
    Was only being nosey :D

Yis are a crazy lot here lol , I'm mid thirties :-)

davycc wrote: »
    What part of Kerry you thinking about? I'll be back in Killarney and listowel at the end of this month for a mates wedding

Derrynane/Sneem that area, lovely roads up around there.

Seen on facebook apparently vw commercial sales are up 500% on the same period in jan last year. No doubt it's mainly the caddy and golf that are pushing up the sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

^ Few 151 Amaroks rocking around my direction assisting that % anyway,

All paid for in cash, if you get me;)

Cheensbo wrote: »
    ^ Few 151 Amaroks rocking around my direction will help that % anyway,

All paid for in cash, if you get me;)

There was 0% finance on the caddy, transporter, crafter and I think Amarok. For some reason the golf van doesn't have 0% finance and its higher rate than the car too I dont know why.

Cool a lovely part of Kerry that I'll keep you all posted, fingers crossed we can get a new mini meet boards stylee .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Savage spot but a few potential sump burster bumps/dips. If you need to worry bout that kinda thing. Be careful driving behind a VAG down that way, locals know the spots and will haul on the brakes sharpish to keep their undercarriage intact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Go-home-car.jpg

:P

Replacing this ignition coil would be a whole lot easier if I had the right size socket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Replacing this ignition coil would be a whole lot easier if I had the right size socket.

What do you need?

jimgoose wrote: »
    What do you need?

To take off the plastic cover :pac:

The socket size, you doofus! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Can you not mcguyver it? :P

The socket size, you doofus! :D

10mm socket, the 3/8 I have is too small and the 7/16 too big :pac:

Good man the Yank! I have a 10mm here in the boot of the car if you need it.

Yes please :P

Whereabouts are ya?

Yes please :P

Whereabouts are ya?

Airport business park.

Ah grand I'll spin up there so!

No problem. I'll be here 'til 12:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I think it's weird that you have those but not 10mm. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

GvidoR wrote: »
    I think it's weird that you have those but not 10mm. :pac:
    I went adjusting headlights there, assumed it was a 10 as it looked about the same size and so much other stuff is 10. Found it really weird that it was 8 rather than 10:confused::confused:! I thought I was doing something wrong first - 10 works on most things.