Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

pred racer wrote: »
    I work with robots, I can reassure you they are exactly as precise as the monkey that taught them ;)

God help the person who buys whatever was made by the robots you taught :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

God help the person who buys whatever was made by the robots you taught :pac:

The processor in your computer, various chips in your phone, in your car, tv, etc.
    Chances are a robot I taught had something to do with it :p

The processor in your computer, various chips in your phone, in your car, tv, etc.

Ah, that explains the turbos so :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Seen a boxer engine being rebuilt today, pretty cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Very interesting line of work! wafer processing in fab robots or other areas? Any other types of robots?

Any other types of robots?

big-bang-theory-jerkoff.jpg

Very interesting line of work! wafer processing in fab robots or other areas? Any other types of robots?

Wafer processing in fabs all over Europe and the states.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I've been on a few process plant tours with the college and to see the robots working away is amazing especially when your not use to seeing them. I don't think there is any in the plant I'm going on placement in over the summer though.

Wafer processing in fabs all over Europe and the states.
    Spent some time in fab/probe. Work environment not my ideal everyday environment, but the gear is impressive!

Bpmull wrote: »
    I've been on a few process plant tours with the college and to see the robots working away is amazing especially when your not use to seeing them. I don't think there is any in the plant I'm going on placement in over the summer though.

Where are you going to?

Without naming names I'm fairly sure it's the only plant in ballyragget :pac:

Ah right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I'm well used to the Fabs. Runs in the family. I've a wee room beneath one where we rebuild ion implanters :)

Mycroft H wrote: »
    I'm well used to the Fabs. Runs in the family. I've a wee room beneath one where we rebuild ion implanters :)

Implanters are cool, a hi vac tv tube you can stand up in :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

So the Volvo is running perfect now apart from one thing.

Smell of petrol on startup and MPG is down 2-3mpg.

Any ideas ?

Would like to sell it on 100%

Mycroft H wrote: »
    I was once told they are known as the "lead underpants" room!

Any ideas ?

Just sounds like cold weather running rich to me! If twas lurching and stuttering and down 10 mpg, or if the smell of petrol isn't gone when it gets up to temperature I'd say there was something wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

So I need to buy:

Front brake discs
    Tie rod ends
    ARB bushes
    Wipers front and back
    ARB links

Eh :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Any ideas ?

Hmm. I had that on a Jag a few years back, it turned out to be a leaking in-line canister fuel-filter inside the nearside wheel-arch lining.

bear1 wrote: »
    So I need to buy:

Front brake discs
    Tie rod ends
    ARB bushes
    Wipers front and back
    ARB links

For a guy with a car that's considered by most to be very reliable your not having the best of luck with it. Although the above parts are wear items still. Hopefully that will be all it will need for another while.

I'm not at all. As you said though, all wear and tear and is to be expected.
    Just a pain really :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I was once told they are known as the "lead underpants" room!

They're de energised by the time they get to us. More dangers from the likes of arsenic and phosphorus.

We just service them

• Registered Users Posts: 1 tieyourlaces

I recently got a new job and the boss has allowed me to fill my car with diesel out of the company tank. The problem is that I drive an 09 ford focus and the diesel nozzle on the pipe will not fit the car as its too small and wont open the value, Just wondering is their any solutions or where I could get my hands on a standard nozzle that's at petrol pumps???

A petrol station.

:p

So I need to buy:

Front brake discs
    Tie rod ends
    ARB bushes
    Wipers front and back
    ARB links

...And some idiot said in another thread that "an accord would be the polar opposite of a money pit".......clown!!

Well for sure that wasn't me ;)
    To be fair it's a nice reflection of the way it was treated in the past in my opinion.... i.e. ****ing badly.

Heavy diesel engine - bound to be more wear and tear on the front end. (oh jebus I can already hear the diesel boys revving up to tell me that's nonsense).

They are wear and tear parts, I don't think anyone would bat an eyelid only that you could do with a few months off from car expense after the previous woes.

Heavy diesel engine - bound to be more wear and tear on the front end. (oh jebus I can already hear the diesel boys revving up to tell me that's nonsense).

They are wear and tear parts, I don't think anyone would bat an eyelid only that you could do with a few months off from car expense after the previous woes.

Yeah :(
    And it's true what you say about the heavy engine bit.
    The previous 156 had the JTD engine and it caused a lot of issues with the suspension due to the heaviness - being made from cheese didn't help.

Well for sure that wasn't me ;)

I know, it was I who said it :o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

A lot of the vag cars suffer from front suspension issues as a result of that same.

shh they'll hear you!

I know, it was I who said it :o

And it was on your ****e advice I bought the thing :mad:
    Now, will you be repaying me by check or just a straight up bank transfer?

Apart from brake discs those are all cheap wear and tear items.

Even the discs are relatively cheap and worn discs hardly mean car was ragged :)

And it was on your ****e advice I bought the thing :mad:
    Now, will you be repaying me by check or just a straight up bank transfer?

:(

Could be worse.

I have a €950 clutch and flywheel sat beside a bookshelf I bought "fer da craic"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,592 ✭✭✭tossy

Could be worse.

I have a €950 clutch and flywheel sat beside a bookshelf I bought "fer da craic"

Never ever buy a bookshelf for the de craic.

tossy wrote: »

Was on sale in Ikea.

Needed some excuse to play with my tool(s)

Just the man!

Do you have any of that plastidip stuff that you used on the s3's fogs left over? I'll take it off you for a nominal fee of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Just the man!

Do you have any of that plastidip stuff that you used on the s3's fogs left over? I'll take it off you for a nominal fee of course!

When did a nominal fee become €0 ?

Jk :pac:

Apart from brake discs those are all cheap wear and tear items.

Even the discs are relatively cheap and worn discs hardly mean car was ragged :)

Oh yeah I get what you mean and I'd agree as well.
    Just tired of it every bloody month - should have bought a feckin donkey.
    At least if the bastard gave any bother I could have a years supply of salami as a by-product.
    OSI wrote: »
    I'd say swapping cars is the only fair deal here. Just make sure he gives you a written warranty on those dodgy turbos of his.
    Could be worse.

Happened to myself as well.
    With the Alfa I was told by a "specialist" that the turbo was failing and would be cheaper to buy a recon one.
    Which I did.
    Turned out it was the intercooler that was fecked.
    Best waste of money right there.

Just the man!

I wouldnt bother plasidipping lights.

Use some form of tinting

I wouldnt bother plasidipping lights.

Use some form of tinting

I'm not that stupid :P I'm not from galway

Mada...faka.....

You goin get it now !

Just the man!

Im sure you mean lamin-x ? as in tinted protective film :D i might have a little bit left over, what kind of area you looking to cover?

I've no idea! I remember it was in a can though, I was looking to try it out on my grille was all!

I used plastidip (well a plsstidip knock off) on my lower grille, that came in a rattle can, none of that left i'm afraid, you'd need a full can for big piece of plastic like a grille anyway.

Grand that'l do the finest :)

His head. Its a new hipster thing.

Beanie hats are so done now

OSI wrote: »
    I'd say swapping cars is the only fair deal here. Just make sure he gives you a written warranty on those dodgy turbos of his.

BMW warranty will have to do :pac: