Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well Done Matt Priddis!

• 22-09-2014 12:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭

Gentleman and great player. Well deserved!!

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shanemkelly

Love the way Priddis plays.
    Well deserved!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Jaysus. Fair play Priddis. Works hard, gets on a lot of ball.

But I say this as an Eagles fan, he is nowhere near the best player in AFL this year. He'll probably win the Eagles best and fairest as he is pretty consistent, but for the amount of ball he gets on, he does little enough with it. Great man to find the ball, but not a great man to use it I suppose.

Pretty surprised to see him win it to be honest. Ablett would have walked it had he not missed the last 6 games.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

bruschi wrote: »
    Jaysus. Fair play Priddis. Works hard, gets on a lot of ball.

But I say this as an Eagles fan, he is nowhere near the best player in AFL this year. He'll probably win the Eagles best and fairest as he is pretty consistent, but for the amount of ball he gets on, he does little enough with it. Great man to find the ball, but not a great man to use it I suppose.

Pretty surprised to see him win it to be honest. Ablett would have walked it had he not missed the last 6 games.

The Brownlow isn't really about best player in comp though, it rewards consistency and fairness. If they wanted to pick best player then the umpires wouldn't be ones voting on it and getting rubbed out for a week wouldn't discount you. If you look back at some of the Brownlow winners there are some weird ones in there.
    Umpires also have their favourites who get some very handy 3 vote games. If you look at some games you're always left scratching your head at some of the guys getting 3 votes for very little impact on game and game winners not polling.

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

Congrats to Priddis, he seems like a good bloke and was extremely humble in his acceptance speech last night.

It's a weird one though. A few things probably worked in his favour. The Medal is very much a midfielders award and generally all things being equal a ball-winning mid will get the 3 votes over an equally (or sometimes more) deserving defender or forward.

Priddis was super consistent in a team that won enough games and probably benefited from the fact that none of Shuey, Gaff, Masten etc really perform on a consistent basis to take votes off him. Add that to the fact that key components of the Eagles victories like Mackenzie, Hurn, LeCras, Kennedy, Darling don't exactly rack up the votes either and you can see how he got over the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Fair play to him, Good to see a good honest battler get recognised. Seems like a really nice humble guy too. He was genuinely embarrassed to get it.