Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

June 2015 Babies Club

• Registered Users Posts: 4,304 ✭✭✭ariana`

Hi everyone. TGIF :D

Woshy how do you make rice pudding? I love the stuff but i just buy the Ambrosia or Muller versions. That's great news about your braces, a relief i'm sure, you won't know yourself after so long :)

Blueberry i hope you've recovered from your trip! NYC sounds fab but not the delays and sleeping in the airport and losing your luggage :mad:

I did a yoga/pilates class this week. It was great i was so stressed going to it after a difficult day with my kids and i was chilled after it, lovely time with the baby. I'm hoping to keep it up for the next 10 weeks or so :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

ariana` wrote: »
    Hi everyone. TGIF :D

Woshy how do you make rice pudding? I love the stuff but i just buy the Ambrosia or Muller versions. That's great news about your braces, a relief i'm sure, you won't know yourself after so long :)

Blueberry i hope you've recovered from your trip! NYC sounds fab but not the delays and sleeping in the airport and losing your luggage :mad:

I did a yoga/pilates class this week. It was great i was so stressed going to it after a difficult day with my kids and i was chilled after it, lovely time with the baby. I'm hoping to keep it up for the next 10 weeks or so :)

I've been doing a Pilates class for the last 10-12 weeks. It's great! By the time I get there some evenings I'm tired before class even starts but always feel so energised after it. Did it last time too and found it really stood to me in labour.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭spottybananas

Woshy how do you make rice pudding? I love the stuff but i just buy the Ambrosia or Muller versions.

I'm just going to answer this because I am literally making some right now :D You just cook it in milk, that's it! It's a million times nice than any of the bought crap brands :) It says to add sugar but my mum never did so I don't know, just a lovely dollop of raspberry jam later. Can't wait :)

Might be a dim question but what kind of rice? Have about 4 different kinds but I bet none are suitable. How long would you cook it for and how much milk/rice?

Roesy wrote: »
    Might be a dim question but what kind of rice? Have about 4 different kinds but I bet none are suitable. How long would you cook it for and how much milk/rice?

It's Pudding/Pearl Rice, I didn't give time or volume because you can do different amounts, and there are different amounts and recipes available or on the packs. I just tend to cook it until it looks done on the hob so I'm no good for a proper recipe, but it's super easy. Use skim milk because it doesn't burn as easily as whole milk, that's the danger with it if you don't have it totally low on the heat.

Thanks for asking my questions for me ;)

I've been doing a Pilates class for the last 10-12 weeks. It's great! By the time I get there some evenings I'm tired before class even starts but always feel so energised after it. Did it last time too and found it really stood to me in labour.

I did it on my 1st but never got around to it on my 2nd and only getting around to it now at 28 weeks on my 3rd :o Oh well better late than never i suppose :rolleyes: It's a different teacher and tougher class than i remember on my 1st but i loved it and felt great after, energised like you said :)

It's Pudding/Pearl Rice, I didn't give time or volume because you can do different amounts, and there are different amounts and recipes available or on the packs. I just tend to cook it until it looks done on the hob so I'm no good for a proper recipe, but it's super easy. Use skim milk because it doesn't burn as easily as whole milk, that's the danger with it if you don't have it totally low on the heat.

Thanks! Meant to ask ratios rather than set amounts as I know that would depend on how many you are cooking for. As I suspected, I have arborio, long grain, wild rice, basmati and pilau. Nothing resembling pudding rice. :( As tempting as rice pudding sounds I'm not sure it's worth the 15-20 mile round trip to the nearest decent supermarket!!

I did it on my 1st but never got around to it on my 2nd and only getting around to it now at 28 weeks on my 3rd :o Oh well better late than never i suppose :rolleyes: It's a different teacher and tougher class than i remember on my 1st but i loved it and felt great after, energised like you said :)

Mine is just Pilates rather than yoga and Pilates and the teacher is good and encourages you. It's a tough class though! She's also a Physio so watches out and adjusts anything that might aggravate my dodgy pelvis. It definitely has helped strengthen it and I think I'd be a lot more crocked without the class. She has recently had a couple of kids herself so she's been giving good tips about the way things work in the maternity hospital here as well as the usual stuff about labour positions, pelvic floor exercises and tens machines too.

Thanks! Meant to ask ratios rather than set amounts as I know that would depend on how many you are cooking for. As I suspected, I have arborio, long grain, wild rice, basmati and pilau. Nothing resembling pudding rice. :( As tempting as rice pudding sounds I'm not sure it's worth the 15-20 mile round trip to the nearest decent supermarket!!

The ratios differ in different recipes even, a lot are oven baked but I always do it on the hob so I just (loosely) follow the instructions on the bag, adding more milk if I think it needs it. Yeah you need a small round grain rice, I have 4 supermarkets 2 minutes away from me, I'm very grateful for them now after reading your round trip to one!

It's not too bad! You get used to it and being organised! I grew up in the country so I'm somewhat used it but my husband is a city boy. We first lived together in an apartment in the middle of Cork city so when we first moved here a couple of years ago he found it very odd. Our local shop is quite good. You wouldn't be too stuck. Actually, now that I think of it their baking section is fairly retro so maybe they'll have the rice!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

I don't think I've ever had rice pudding but now I desperately want some! I've become very suggestible about food - girl in work mentioned yesterday she was going to Nandos for dinner, immediately texted hubby and told him to get off bus at Liffey Valley I was meeting him at Nandos!

I've never been to Nandos, if I was going to Liffey Valley I'd go to GBK, yum! My appetite is gone now, eating just makes me get heartburn, but I still get really hungry, but I don't want to eat anything. Fun. Hoping rice pudding will be desirable :)

• Registered Users Posts: 356 ✭✭5unflower

If it's any help at all I usually follow a recipe that says 500ml milk per 80g of rice and it takes about 30 minutes or so on a very very low heat (just barely simmering). If you want it a bit creamier, you could replace some of the milk with cream, and for extra flavour I love adding a vanilla pod...hmmmmmm...tempted to make some myself now - off to check the kitchen cupboard for pudding rice... :)

It's not too bad! You get used to it and being organised! I grew up in the country so I'm somewhat used it but my husband is a city boy. We first lived together in an apartment in the middle of Cork city so when we first moved here a couple of years ago he found it very odd. Our local shop is quite good. You wouldn't be too stuck. Actually, now that I think of it their baking section is fairly retro so maybe they'll have the rice!

Roesy ye sound like me and hubby in reverse. He's a country boy and i'm a city girl now living in the country. I love it mostly but i will always miss being able to stroll to the shop for a carton of milk, we have to take the car to do anything! We have most of the big Supermarkets in the towns either side of us but both are 15mins away so even for 1-2 things it's a 30min+ round trip. I don't mind when i'm working cos i work in 1 of the big towns but i did go a bit demented on my last maternity leave and i'm dreading that aspect this time again, having to load up 3 kids just to get milk :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭tfak85

You can use arborio rice to make pudding, I've done it myself!

I do love rice pudding, not currently in the mood for it.

Was my birthday yesterday so made an epic and delicious cake that was choc full of sugar! Have a bowl full o cuttings off the tops of the layers too and ice cream to sprinkle them on!! All this in the weeks that I'm "being good"!! OOPS!

Today I'm baking two batches of cookies for a hen party tea party thing I'm going to tomorrow!

tfak85 wrote: »
    Was my birthday yesterday so made an epic and delicious cake that was choc full of sugar! Have a bowl full o cuttings off the tops of the layers too and ice cream to sprinkle them on!! All this in the weeks that I'm "being good"!! OOPS!

Today I'm baking two batches of cookies for a hen party tea party thing I'm going to tomorrow!

tfak i'm shocked :eek: i thought you were the sensible one amongst us LOL :D fair play to you, belated happy birthday hope you got spoilt rotten ;)

Now you know girls all i want is to go home and eat chocolate cake, rice pudding and ice cream but i'm not sure in what order :p such a dilemma :confused:

Ooooh and i forgot about cookies and nandos mmmmmm

I try... Mostly I fail...

tfak85 wrote: »
    I try... Mostly I fail...

I'd say you do better than most ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

I have an Avoca mars bar square sitting here waiting for me - yum :)

Ariana, you can get the pudding rice in lidl and Aldi bow which is handy. I make mine with lots of milk and sugar and also a bit of cream - but that's only because I'm still trying to add calories here and there to food to reach my daily allowance as per dietician's instructions :) it's fine with just milk. Honestly, it's the best cure for heartburn!

Such a beautiful day today - was down the beach with my little boy and I'm wrecked now. I just can't run after him properly theses days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭Allirog

Morning ladies, how's everyone?

I'm thinking after reading these posts that I'll have to make some rice pudding now :) although in my early pregnancy days it was all I ate and my mam used to make lots of it for me so I'll have to drop her a little text and see if she has the time :D

Back in work today after the week off and my few days away. It was fabulous, I had such a lovely time with my oh, we just chilled out and spoiled ourselves :)

I'm really crippled with hip and pelvic pain so I'm back with the consultant on Friday and I'll mention it to her. It's gone from discomfort, which I could tolerate to pain which is not cool.

So how is everyone??

My rice pudding was disappointing - I might ask my Mum to make me some too! She's far better than me at making it

All ok here - still just tired a lot but we're ticking along. I'm 30 weeks on Friday which seems crazy! Funny to have a 3 at the beginning of how many weeks I am :)

We've been trying to get some work done on the house before baby arrives, we've finally been given a date to start the work (9th April) so getting sorted for that is keeping me busy. I'm desperate to get it done as soon as possible at this stage!

How terrible that the rice pudding wasn't what you'd hope it would be!!! My husband has been asking me to make some too, I'll consider it over the next few weeks but I've been baking (and eating) so much over the last few days I want to hold off for now!!

Call the physio dept today and ask can you see someone on Friday when you're in Alirog, all the doctor is going to do is send a referral to them anyway. That's teriblle that you're in pain now, I feel I'm getting away quite lightly so far, feeling fairly cumbersome though!

I've gotten three new lovely cookbooks over the last few days and I just want to cook and bake constantly - dangerous stuff!

We are having work done in the house too Woshy, I just contacted my landlord this morning to try and get dates lined up, we have to have all of our clearing out done before that starts too which is great, need motivation to finish everything off!

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Blueberry22

I'm getting away light with the hip/back pain etc although I do have a sinus infectIon - feels like someone punched me in the nose since Fri eve... went to doc today - have me amoxicillin... I feel bad taking anything though - even though I know doc said it was perfectly safe in pregnancy (stupid me....)

Got a little fright over the last couple of days - bubs didn't seem to be moving as much as it had been (but maybe I'm being paranoid) but got a few good kicks today (although possibly still a little less than last week but again that could just be me being paranoid!)

I scrubbed the house yday (nesting?lol) I thought I'd really pay for it today but thankfully I'm not too bad today - off tomorrow which I'm looking forward to.... Going to Kilkenny this weekend for my bday/last weekend away.

I know what u mean about time flying woshy - I noticed I have 98 days to due days - wierd seeing it was two figures and not three!lol

Ooh - sinus infection sounds nasty. I hope it clears up soon :( at least you have a weekend away to look forward to!

I've had a nice long weekend but have been a bit pukey over the last two days. I'm having to force myself to eat and it's not fun! I'm hoping it's just a bad few days. The fact I'm still vomiting at almost 30 weeks pregnant is completely ridiculous!

For the first time today I really realised that I have to give birth in 10 weeks or so. I hadn't thought about going into labour at all yet - had to have a chat with my husband about him getting home from work ASAP if I go into labour during the day given I had a quick enough labour previously. Last time my waters broke at home during the night so my husband just didn't go to work that day so it worked well.

I heard an ad on the radio for the women's mini marathon which is on 1st June. My due date is 29th May so fingers crossed I don't go into labour that day - would be a right pain in the ass getting to Holles Street with all the road closures.

God Woshy can't believe you're still getting sick, you poor thing! I feel like death today, have a really bad sore throat, no voice at all and sweat is pouring off me :( strangely when I take my temperature its normal but definitely don't feel normal! Coupled with the fact my spd is ten times worse today cause I walked a bit yesterday and I spent last night just wanting to curl up in a ball and die! Fun times, not :( had to wake my husband up every time I needed to move in the bed cause I was pretty much immobilised.

I wonder do Holles St have plans in place for people due around days like today, mini marathon etc? I'm sure the Gardai who are manning the road blocks would get you there if needed

God Woshy can't believe you're still getting sick, you poor thing! I feel like death today, have a really bad sore throat, no voice at all and sweat is pouring off me :( strangely when I take my temperature its normal but definitely don't feel normal! Coupled with the fact my spd is ten times worse today cause I walked a bit yesterday and I spent last night just wanting to curl up in a ball and die! Fun times, not :( had to wake my husband up every time I needed to move in the bed cause I was pretty much immobilised.

I wonder do Holles St have plans in place for people due around days like today, mini marathon etc? I'm sure the Gardai who are manning the road blocks would get you there if needed

I think you can still get there by going the bottom way I.e. Along Pearse street and up. I remember checking last time because I was due in June as well :) my husband was saying he'll be demanding a police escort to get us through if necessary!

Sounds like you're having a rough time - being sick when pregnant is so tough. Just take it easy - you're getting pretty far along now!

Woshy wrote: »
    I think you can still get there by going the bottom way I.e. Along Pearse street and up. I remember checking last time because I was due in June as well :) my husband was saying he'll be demanding a police escort to get us through if necessary!

Sounds like you're having a rough time - being sick when pregnant is so tough. Just take it easy - you're getting pretty far along now!

Haha I wouldn't like to be the Guard who is telling your hubby no he can't go that way :D I still don't know how I'll get to the hospital, mine can't drive!

Yeah it sucks - am being very well looked after though, including being bought an Easter egg for dinner yum :D just got an email reminding me I only have 44 days to go :O

44days is so soon. Agh!

A taxi to the hospital will be grand - people do it a lot! The second time I was admitted for the hyperemesis and was in the waiting room this girl came in in a wheelchair pushed by an ambulance driver. She looked completely relaxed. She'd called an ambulance because her waters had broken but she had no contractions (I heard the driver tell the admissions lady). Ffs - just call a taxi and don't be wasting ambulances! It was weird :)

That's mad, ambulances are for emergencies!! My mother in law keeps saying we can just ring her and she'll bring us in.. I genuinely can't think of anything worse. I want to just tell everyone after the baby makes its arrival - she's the type would sit downstairs in the Coombe for hours waiting to hear just so she could tell everyone how worried SHE was