Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taken 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Someone should just take Liam Neeson away from making films.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Someone should just take Liam Neeson away from making films.

He has made some good films in his day, now he is having some fun and to be fair the first Taken was excellent for what it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭nix

Rumour has it his dog gets taken in this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,370 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Please no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

the first one was so good and then the second was so so bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

I assume the tag line for the poster is going to be Taken 3 - Taken the Piss

kryogen wrote: »
    He has made some good films in his day, now he is having some fun and to be fair the first Taken was excellent for what it was.

It was a stupid cringe inducing film that should have gone straight to DVD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Amen to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Which, Taken 1 or Taken 2? Or both?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Taken 1 is perfectly stupid fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,110 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Has me excited anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭the baby bull elephant

Gintonious wrote: »

Has me excited anyway!

Big spoiler in it.

Not that big of a spoiler sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,980 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Patww79 wrote: »

I hope her character is killed off

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

It looks a lot better than Taken 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭the baby bull elephant

cloud493 wrote: »
    Not that big of a spoiler sure.

His wife dying? For some it would be.

Well considering the whole film seems to be based on it, not that big.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Doesn't look too bad in fairness. Looks considerably better than Taken 2 anyway. Any word on what age rating got?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭Bacchus

So noone is taken in this one. It looks like it's moved away completely from the formula of the first two and is a "The Fugitive" style thriller/manhunt with Bryan Mills (Neeson). Looks really good, can't beat Neeson for this type of thriller these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,767 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

It's basically Rambo meets The Fugitive

The Fugitive, but we know Dr. Richard Kimble can kick ass.

Enjoyed the first one (a fun indulgence of the good guy going and just kicking everyones arses)

Didn't watch the second one (heard it was crap, and like any franchise like this (with the relative success the first movie had), the sequel was always only ever going to make the money at the box office which it undoubtedly did based on the first movie)

3rd movie, they might have put a better story to it, realised it could have even more legs if they did it right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭Bacchus

It's basically Rambo meets The Fugitive

The Fugitive, but we know Dr. Richard Kimble can kick ass.

Enjoyed the first one (a fun indulgence of the good guy going and just kicking everyones arses)

Didn't watch the second one (heard it was crap, and like any franchise like this (with the relative success the first movie had), the sequel was always only ever going to make the money at the box office which it undoubtedly did based on the first movie)

3rd movie, they might have put a better story to it, realised it could have even more legs if they did it right!

The 2nd one is grand. Nothing too original about it but if you liked the first one I see no reason you wouldn't enjoy the second one. Similar plot, same style, same action, same Neeson. What's not to like :) It is nice to see the 3rd installment try to do something new with Neeson's character though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭bladespin

I'll willwatch it.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I absolutely Love the "good luck" nod to Taken by Neeson. I'll be all over this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

his american accent is dreadful....in all his movies i might add

philstar wrote: »
    his american accent is dreadful....in all his movies i might add

Probably because he's Oirish loike :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

thats no excuse, pierce brosnan and colin farrell are able to do it

anyhow he's a professional actor he should be able to master it, esp seeing that he's living there most of his life

philstar wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

thats no excuse, pierce brosnan and colin farrell are able to do it

anyhow he's a professional actor he should be able to master it, esp seeing that he's living there most of his life

Ah jaysus! Are you seriously stating Colin Farrel or Pierce Brosnan can speak with an american accent?

bladespin wrote: »
    Ah jaysus! Are you seriously stating Colin Farrel or Pierce Brosnan can speak with an american accent?

Farell nailed it for Tigerland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I have to said I think Farell is quite good with accents.

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

The next film will be called Taken Tag Tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,283 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Ugh. The first was enjoyable mainly because of the novelty of watching oscar schindler kick peoples asses. The second one was dreadful though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It looks promising actually. I thought they were going to do something stupid like take the granny or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

First movie was great fun and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Second one lost me when he was explaining to his daughter how to throw hand grenades over the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

The next film will be called Taken Tag Tournament.

no, it will be called Taken the p!ss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It will be called TAK3N. So it stands to reason that the 8th instalment will be called TAK8N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

ziedth wrote: »
    I have to said I think Farell is quite good with accents.

Except in DareDevil.

*shudders*

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭OldeCinemaSoz

TAKEN 2 was garbage. It tried to appeal to the hand wringing HUMANISTS who always try to
    genuflect upon the DEAD MAN WALKING alter. No sons, WE don't want to UNDERSTAND, WE
    want THEM CARVED.

Let's hope number 3 is BACK TO BASICS.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Corvo wrote: »
    Except in DareDevil.

*shudders*

I see your Daredevil and raise you an Alexander.

Looking forward to this, its 90 mins of brainless fun

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

I was in a packed cinema in Manchester and the trailer for this came on a sh!tload of people laughed at it lol, I'm still looking forward to it though...but still might wait for it to come out on dvd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Corvo wrote: »
    Except in DareDevil.

*shudders*

"Mower paynuts"

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭ps3lover

Looks like Taken 3 has again been slapped with a 12A rating. Don't know why they insist on ruining this series, the second movie was horrible, I doubt I'll even see 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

Seen the trailer in the cinema the other day for it. Have to say I am looking forward to it, but i'm not expecting too much.

On my way in to see this now, I'm pretty excited. I caught up on taken 1 and 2 last night, they're still pretty good.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

cloud493 wrote: »
    On my way in to see this now, I'm pretty excited. I caught up on taken 1 and 2 last night, they're still pretty good.
    Lets us know what you think of it. The reviews so far don't look good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

Cut for the cinema release to obtain a 12A. I will wait until it gets the proper 15-rated home release, like Taken 2 received and probably just download it. Hate these stupid cuts!

It was pretty good, for what it is. That is to say, an incredibly stupid action movie. The uncut version will be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

Went to see this today. Overall it is not a bad movie. It is a lot better than the second. Forest Whitaker was great in it.
    I would say they are going to make another one judging by the end of it.
    7/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭onethreefive

I saw it yesterday and have to say I really don't understand the bad reviews. I thought it was brilliant and I really enjoyed the whole film. Acting was great from everyone in it and the plot was exciting the whole way through. I'm really happy I went to see it :)

Bit more to add

- its over edited to the point of lunacy
    - the plot is mad and so full of holes it leaks
    - it really suffers from being cut to a 12.
    - slight spoiler - a happy ending, are you joking me?
    - if you can't tell the real villain 15 minutes in, then you don't get these movies.

If I take it a serious action movie, its ****e. If I take as a parody, its pretty good.