Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Abbey Park, Ferrybank, Waterford.

• 25-09-2014 11:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭

A well done to all the residents of Abbey Park, Ferrybank who prevented the installation of water meters during the week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

For how long?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Pointless nonsense. Its not like they are going away and will somehow forget to come back. The guards will just be drafted by the state at extra expense.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Digital Society

Will they not just be sent estimated bills anyway? Also im sure they havent applied for their allowance so they will get charged full amount.

Whats the point in stopping them?

Surely the only way to protest is not pay the bill.

Anyone know what benefit there is in blocking them?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭shinzon

this may or may not be of interest to anyone, but the Guards said to the man speaking in this video that if he could produce proof that Irish Water was a private limited company that they would remove the water meter installers from the estate

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=551104568368665&set=o.467994736651218&type=2&theater

Shin

• Registered Users Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Why not block them?

I don't want a water meter installed. I would do the same if sky rocked up to my house and tried to install a dish and extorted money from me to pay for the tv.

They will dig up the ground, slap in a low grade meter box, put a dodgy meter in it and as probability would have it not repair the foot path properly.

The water is still awful, the taxes we are paying that go towards the water will stay as they are, the bills will be wrong and will only ever increase as no matter what you do to conserve water IW have the ability to increase rates to make more money. Even how the company was set up and its installers makes the whole scheme an untrustworthy pharce.

Hijpo wrote: »
    Why not block them?

I don't want a water meter installed. I would do the same if sky rocked up to my house and tried to install a dish and extorted money from me to pay for the tv.

They will dig up the ground, slap in a low grade meter box, put a dodgy meter in it and as probability would have it not repair the foot path properly.

The water is still awful, the taxes we are paying that go towards the water will stay as they are, the bills will be wrong and will only ever increase as no matter what you do to conserve water IW have the ability to increase rates to make more money. Even how the company was set up and its installers makes the whole scheme an untrustworthy pharce.

But you and everyone in the estate will still be billed is the difference. Only difference is youll get charged full whack excluding your allowances for kids etc. which i assume these protestors didnt fill in.

Are you trying to say you think they just wont bill you if you make it hard for them to install meters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

Its going to be some craic when they start to install them in Lisduggan,Larchville,Ballybeg!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

Some interesting stuff here if all true

http://www.fliuch.org/1146/update-rights

But you and everyone in the estate will still be billed is the difference. Only difference is youll get charged full whack excluding your allowances for kids etc. which i assume these protestors didnt fill in.

Are you trying to say you think they just wont bill you if you make it hard for them to install meters?

How will they get the money from my account, in fairness they sent the details to the wrong house to begin with and my sister got her sent to our parents house.

I might consider paying if I thought for one second it wouldn't be a big cock up by a private company, set up in a gangster fashion forcing me to pay for a service Im already contributing to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

Will they not just be sent estimated bills anyway? Also im sure they havent applied for their allowance so they will get charged full amount.

Whats the point in stopping them?

Surely the only way to protest is not pay the bill.

Anyone know what benefit there is in blocking them?

Exactly. Its a complete waste of time. But these people think they are doing good for the people of Ireland.

Hijpo wrote: »
    How will they get the money from my account, in fairness they sent the details to the wrong house to begin with and my sister got her sent to our parents house.

I might consider paying if I thought for one second it wouldn't be a big cock up by a private company, set up in a gangster fashion forcing me to pay for a service Im already contributing to.

Two possibilities.

You'll pay or you'll have your water cut off.

The water company couldnt give a ****e about where the letter went.

Dont get me wrong. I'm as pissed off about it as anyone. In fact i can guarantee i'm more pissed off than 90% of people but i just don't see what the point in this is. If they had a clear aim i would probably even support them out there but they just seem to be delaying the inevitable.

People usually protest with a realistic aim as in get a pension or get redundancy or boycott somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Is the fact that Irish Water pulled back and stopped installing meters unusual or have they done this or been forced to do this in a lot of other estates around the country? Does anyone know ?
    If it is an unusual action on the part of Irish Water,does anyone know why or what was different in Abbey Park ?
    Did the providing of proof of the Semi -Private Status of Irish Water by the residents play a major part in their withdrawal ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭S.O

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Is the fact that Irish Water pulled back and stopped installing meters unusual or have they done this or been forced to do this in a lot of other estates around the country? Does anyone know ?
    If it is an unusual action on the part of Irish Water,does anyone know why or what was different in Abbey Park ?
    Did the providing of proof of the Semi -Private Status of Irish Water by the residents play a major part in their withdrawal ?

One of the first estates they had to withdraw from was ashbrook heights cork back in april, and a number of other estates in other parts of the country since due to residents opposition, DOBs owned media mighn,t report it but there is opposition to water charges/water metering in areas.

Two possibilities.

You'll pay or you'll have your water cut off.

The water company couldnt give a ****e about where the letter went.

Dont get me wrong. I'm as pissed off about it as anyone. In fact i can guarantee i'm more pissed off than 90% of people but i just don't see what the point in this is. If they had a clear aim i would probably even support them out there but they just seem to be delaying the inevitable.

People usually protest with a realistic aim as in get a pension or get redundancy or boycott somewhere.

They cannot cut off your water. They have also decided not to draw up a list of ilnesses that will entitle people to extra allowances.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

Very difficult to cut off water when they have no meter installed.

The whole thing is shady and I think the fact people dont know exactly how much they will have to pay is what is causing a lot of the problems. IW are handling the whole thing very poorly. They havnt finalised so much yet they expect to bill people Q3 of 2014. There are so many questions to be answered

• Registered Users Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭reni10

It seems like an awful waste of money to buy and install meters for every property in Ireland, why don't they just base it on the type of house and apply a flat rate?

So 3 bed semi is €200 a year and 4 bed detached 250 etc.

They will probably get the same amount of money without the expense of buying, installing, reading, maintaining and replacing meters!

god help us and save us how many times does this have to be said Irish water cannot cut your water off for non payment, they can take you to court for non payment but they cannot cut you off and if you don't believe me then hear it from Irish Water themselves

Shin

re: Ferrybank estates, no point eh

Irish water stated they are withdrawing from estates in ferrybank and will only be going to work in houses that have requested meters. Its a battle won but the war is far from over. Gardai are also no longer escorting them through protesters as they were given documentation showing iw have no legal right to carry out any works in estates. Keep it lit people

Shin

reni10 wrote: »
    It seems like an awful waste of money to buy and install meters for every property in Ireland, why don't they just base it on the type of house and apply a flat rate?

They will probably get the same amount of money without the expense of buying, installing, reading, maintaining and replacing meters!

If you think thats all a 4 bed detached is gonna cost annually your gonna be in for a shock.

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭dougal

reni10 wrote: »

They couldn't pretend it was all about the environment then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

You'd think water meters were a cruel and unusual punishment rather than the norm in a developed country.

http://www.oecd.org/environment/resources/1934075.pdf from 1999
    Nearly two-thirds of OECD countries already meter more than 90% of single-family
    houses

You'd think water meters were a cruel and unusual punishment rather than the norm in a developed country.

That's been spun dozens of time and is not a valid argument as there are so many factors to take into account before you compare Ireland to other countries with water meters. You cannot simply say they have it we must have it.

That's a very lazy argument in favour of metering.

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭The_Shotz

That's the same as saying, majority of countries in the EU don't pay VRT but we do so let's scrap that, "oh we couldn't be doing that now"

We always hear what we don't do but what EU countries do, we never hear what we do what they don't

• Registered Users Posts: 6,739 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Im actually fully behind the protests at Ferrybank, the arguments use the law and pure logic to prevent this, dont forget, PRIVATE company from installing a meter and then charging you for a product that you didnt consent to or sign up for. The people who are just bending over and taking it are very ignorant of the law. A private company cannot install anything on your property (or charge you for the use of something outside your property) when you have not singed the contract. You want to pay for water? Off you go. But you could see that Irish Water done currently have a legal leg to stand on in their actions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

Im actually fully behind the protests at Ferrybank
    So am I, imagine paying for water in a place called Waterford!

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭The_Shotz

fiachr_a wrote: »
    So am I, imagine paying for water in a place called Waterford!

Best argument yet :-)

Any other so called developed country has their own supply of cheap gas or oil to keep the other bills down. Wouldn't care about paying for water if i could fill the car for 20 quid.

Wait until you see what happens when they have all the meters in the sell then company to the highest bidder. Someone there guessed 200 for a house! Gonna be closer to 1000 a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭S.O

Its going to be some craic when they start to install them in Lisduggan,Larchville,Ballybeg!

Tweet from Liz Reddy earlier.

Contractors carrying out maintenance work for @WaterfordCounci had to leave Lisduggan area as residents thought they were from Irish Water.

https://twitter.com/LilyReddy/status/515123067648225280

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Lots of rumours been floating around over the last few months, the above isn't the only case of mistaken identity.

Why are a small selection in various areas that bothered if they install meters that they go to all the trouble of abusing both physically and verbally the people who are actually working and making a living? There still getting billed regardless of whether they have a meter or not and I somehow doubt if they get a bill there going to just sigh and pay up?

It's ignorant and thuggish, scummy behaviour the way workers are being treated for doing a job they are being paid to do so they can make a living and contribute to their local economy and the broader economy too. It's taken a court case to slap some protesters on the wrist.

Sully wrote: »
    Lots of rumours been floating around over the last few months, the above isn't the only case of mistaken identity.

Why are a small selection in various areas that bothered if they install meters that they go to all the trouble of abusing both physically and verbally the people who are actually working and making a living? There still getting billed regardless of whether they have a meter or not and I somehow doubt if they get a bill there going to just sigh and pay up?

It's ignorant and thuggish, scummy behaviour the way workers are being treated for doing a job they are being paid to do so they can make a living and contribute to their local economy and the broader economy too. It's taken a court case to slap some protesters on the wrist.

Two sides to every coin Sully, protestors aren't the only ones acting thuggish and scummish, my niece was part of the protests in Ferrybank (peaceful I might add) and the Irish Water workers were intimidating the protestors pushing and shoving them and whispering in there ears some very foul stuff.

in the videos that are posted on FB you can see one of the workers telling the digger operator to move forward whilst there were protestors right in front of it, so I think its vastly unfair to paint a one sided picture like that when its simply not the truth for the most part. Also don't misunderstand me anyone whether protestor or worker who engages in this should be hauled up before the courts, but I just wanted to counter balance the argument.

Shin