Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's "Peaceful Protestors" - Pest Control?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I seriously doubt that there was a worker there WITHOUT a card. However, if I was one of them, I wouldn't be producing it for some uppidy ****e who thinks he's the law.

There was abuse and threats in that video. The active protesters here are people who try to intimidate, break the law and act like gob****es. They have little actual support and depend on whipping up mini PR storms.

These protesters don't represent Irish people.

How do you know this. Seriously. These water charges are plastered all over the news. The irish here in pubs social clubs are talking about it none stop.

They might claim to, but every political poll and election result begs to differ. I know you think that the Dáil is an "illusion", but it's not.

I think the Dail is a gang of unaccountable thugs, until it lines the pockets of the Irish people first then there own, I will always think of it like that.

These guys are being organized by fringe parties, local Councillors looking for PR and some pretty dodgy republican "movements".

I agree with you there.

Their will be some clowens shouting and roaring just to be heard. But there are more ordinary people now protesting.

This water charge and IW will bring down the Current Government.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Kippure wrote: »
    I agree with you there.

Their will be some clowens shouting and roaring just to be heard. But there are more ordinary people now protesting.

This water charge and IW will bring down the Current Government.

It's fairly obvious who are trying to lead these "protests". Come on now. The 'average' Irish person is pissed off about another bill coming in the door, but isn't throwing their lot in with a bunch of far left dreamers who, as a previous poster has said, have whacky ideas.

Do you honestly believe the most effective Dail would be one packed full of this lot? The country would have a two day honeymoon period until everything ground to a halt. We'd be begging to go back to 2010.

These idiots are wasting Garda time for no reason. Clear them off and be done with this crap.

I thought he claimed to be a H&S consultant. Nothing to do with the HSE. He didn't show ID or appear to be there in any professional capacity (as evident by the shouting). By that logic I could stroll up to you, claim to be a garda and demand to see ID or detain you.

Get real.

Why is he asking for cards? He's trying to disrupt the works, has no logical argument or reason for doing so, and is instead relying on a pathetic tactic to delay work.

He has no right to ask for any ID or safepass cards.

He should be wearing boot, hi-vis and a hat if he's on duty on "on site". :pac::D

You're laughable now at this stage. The workers made no threats or indications that they were going to assault anybody. Face it, these protesters are a band of idiots who think they have the moral high ground.

Im trying to take you seriously.
    The people there done a great job of stopping the installation of meters. A bit of Shout. Thats what happens at a protest.
    Calling me laughable. Holly ****. Change the Title of your thread Buddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

This was posted on a "Fight Water Tax" YouTube account.

I guess this is what happens when Gardaí try to remove horses from an estate for welfare reasons. Halloween is coming too so perhaps they didn't want to see the thing set alight...

It's just typical scumbag bull****. The Gardaí didn't try and seize the horses. The council were taking horses off public green areas and were attacked. Some local Gardaí went to assist them and were also attacked. They then called for backup.

Im trying to take you seriously.
    The people there done a great job of stopping the installation of meters. A bit of Shout. Thats what happens at a protest.
    Calling me laughable. Holly ****. Change the Title of your thread Buddy.

To what end? They'll all still get bills in the door. And in a few weeks, IW will turn up again and stick the meters in the ground once this rent a mob loose their steam.

It's just typical scumbag bull****. The Gardaí didn't try and seize the horses. The council were taking horses off public green areas and were attacked. Some local Gardaí went to assist them and were also attacked. They then called for backup.

The days of horses in housing estates should be over, full stop. They're rarely looked after properly and are targeted in the run-up to Halloween.

Just a shame it take 40+ gardaí to deal with people who can't behave themselves.

It's fairly obvious who are trying to lead these "protests". Come on now. The 'average' Irish person is pissed off about another bill coming in the door, but isn't throwing their lot in with a bunch of far left dreamers who, as a previous poster has said, have whacky ideas.

Do you honestly believe the most effective Dail would be one packed full of this lot? The country would have a two day honeymoon period until everything ground to a halt. We'd be begging to go back to 2010.

These idiots are wasting Garda time for no reason. Clear them off and be done with this crap.

You don't seem to understand and maybe im not coming across more effectively.

But where does it stop.
    What else will be taxed.
    Whats the next bill.
    This water charge is a Bill to far.
    The current government and future governments have to have instilled in there heads you work for us.
    We,re not your Financial slaves to which we just keep paying tax so you can have 4 months holidays a year. Garda Drivers. 2 House,s, Expenses, No water charge on a second home.

The whole Government is a double standard. They give the Irish people the 2 fingers on a daily basis.

So I hope the Irish peoples protest increases 1000 times.

You don't seem to understand and maybe im not coming across more effectively.

But where does it stop.
    What else will be taxed.
    Whats the next bill.
    This water charge is a Bill to far.
    The current government and future governments have to have instilled in there heads you work for us.
    We,re not your Financial slaves to which we just keep paying tax so you can have 4 months holidays a year. Garda Drivers. 2 House,s, Expenses, No water charge on a second home.

The whole Government is a double standard. They give the Irish people the 2 fingers on a daily basis.

So I hope the Irish peoples protest increases 1000 times.

Don't be so alarmist. You act as though Enda Kenny is perusing a 60% income tax. And police drivers/security is standard in every country. Enda Kenny's security detail is tiny in comparison.

The upcoming budget will see no further cuts and relaxations on several fronts. Whereas PbP and the socialists would have to hike taxes up to Scndanavian levels and beyond to pay for their dreamland Ireland.

I think you have a poor mentality towards the future in general. Ireland has its problems, but your non-solution of supporting anti-social idiot protesters solves exactly none of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

To what end? They'll all still get bills in the door. And in a few weeks, IW will turn up again and stick the meters in the ground once this rent a mob loose their steam.

Genuine question here Dean on this point and with respect, do you not question why 9 out of ten houses haven't been metered yet in the capital city(with the highest density of proposed IW customers).
    It has nothing to do with these protests.
    Its due to the fact that Dublins water system/pipes have been neglected for decades and are leaking like a Sunday World informer.

Flat rate charges? No way of knowing what you are using for sure.
    Meters installed and water can be measured and a householder isn't using the water in the home and yet the meter is flying around like a kid on Skittles and Coke.
    No way in hell would ANYONE pay for that.
    And IW and the government know that.

Don't be so alarmist. You act as though Enda Kenny is perusing a 60% income tax. And police drivers/security is standard in every country. Enda Kenny's security detail is tiny in comparison.

The upcoming budget will see no further cuts and relaxations on several fronts. Whereas PbP and the socialists would have to hike taxes up to Scndanavian levels and beyond to pay for their dreamland Ireland.

I think you have a poor mentality towards the future in general. Ireland has its problems, but your non-solution of supporting anti-social idiot protesters solves exactly none of them.

Your crazy or brain washed I don't know which maybe both.
    You are number. Pay tax. Stay in your box. Except what they tell you. Don't question anything.
    And when people did question, look at what FF had been doing for years. Lining their pockets and theres mates pockets.

Except this, there is no future for you in Ireland. Just Finanical Greif. Worry.

And I see property prices are going up......LMAO WTF.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I wouldn't say class. Going by a traditional "class" system I belong to the same one the majority of the "protesters" do. I'd say 'type' of people. Like the type of idiot who gets through life by intimidating people, roaring, screaming in people faces and then playing the downtrodden victim when anyone stands up to them. That type. Mostly tracksuit wearing skangers who normally have areas of Dublin in bits.

The carry on over these water meters is idiotic.

I have worked abroad in the UK for a short spell. What's your point? I wasn't over there plotting my revolution back home.

I take issue with protesters intimidating IW workers, and making physical threats such as, and I quote, "I'll break your ****ing jaw for ye, ye prick ye". They also, wrongfully, think they can request documents from IW workers. IW workers remain calm and say not one word. The racial approach to naming the YouTube video also says plenty about these protesters.

This kind of carry on is "protesting" against FG is it? Respond directly to the contents of that video.

The last sentence in your post says it all there. Can't form any kind of argument. And you want to start a revolution and run the country? :pac:

Ah yeah, grand bunch of lads in that video. Sure they were only concerned about their "ardea" :rolleyes:
    OMG Your back. I ve been waiting.

All they had to do was produce them...
    Its a little card the size of a bank card. Fits in your wallet.
    Your required to carry them on all building sites.

Are you required to produce them to some scummer swearing at you in the street? No, didn't think so.
    He is a HSE Adviser.

He asking ok shouting at the workers to produce safety cards. He asks there supervisor aswell.

Whats the supervisor going to do with the screw driver in his hand EH.
    Ah he's 'asking' them to produce safety cards? "Oim a ****in health and safety adviser and I'm asking to see yer ****in cards". He must be well trained in public speaking by whatever company employs him as a H&S adviser...

Smidge wrote: »
    Genuine question here Dean on this point and with respect, do you not question why 9 out of ten houses haven't been metered yet in the capital city(with the highest density of proposed IW customers).
    It has nothing to do with these protests.
    Its due to the fact that Dublins water system/pipes have been neglected for decades and are leaking like a Sunday World informer.

I've no idea of how far along the works have come in the capital. I know many people in different parts who had theirs installed 6 months ago.

Dublin's water system is in tatters, no doubt. However, AFAIK, the meters go on the small mains connection outside the front gate. These smaller pipes are generally in decent repair. It seems to be the larger pipes that tend to spring leaks (I'm going on media reports published after the cold winter a few years back).

I'd say that within the year 100% of meters will be installed in Dublin, protesters or no protesters.

Flat rate charges? No way of knowing what you are using for sure.
    Meters installed and water can be measured and a householder isn't using the water in the home and yet the meter is flying around like a kid on Skittles and Coke.
    No way in hell would ANYONE pay for that.
    And IW and the government know that.

If the householder has a meter, and isn't using water, then the meter will remain static.

If they're unmetered, and (for some weird reason) not using any water, then they should ring up Irish Water and ask to have their connection cut off which they're perfectly entitled to do.

Your crazy or brain washed I don't know which maybe both.
    You are number. Pay tax. Stay in your box. Except what they tell you. Don't question anything.
    And when people did question, look at what FF had been doing for years. Lining their pockets and theres mates pockets.

Except this, there is no future for you in Ireland. Just Finanical Greif. Worry.

And I see property prices are going up......LMAO WTF.

Once again, you have zero argument so just attack people that don't agree with your ideas, or lack thereof it seems.

I pay tax. Big deal. I don't get much choice in that matter.I don't "except" (accept?) what "they" tell me. Believe it or not, there is a middle ground between mindless government drone and mindless idiot protester.

Once again, you have zero argument so just attack people that don't agree with your ideas, or lack thereof it seems.

I pay tax. Big deal. I don't get much choice in that matter.I don't "except" (accept?) what "they" tell me. Believe it or not, there is a middle ground between mindless government drone and mindless idiot protester.

I am not attacking you. You don't have to agree with me or anything anyone says.

You have a choice about everything.

I have zero argument? You seem to accept what your told.

You come across as defeated.

Theres no fight left in you.

fullstop wrote: »
    Ah yeah, grand bunch of lads in that video. Sure they were only concerned about their "ardea" :rolleyes:

Are you required to produce them to some scummer swearing at you in the street? No, didn't think so.

Ah he's 'asking' them to produce safety cards? "Oim a ****in health and safety adviser and I'm asking to see yer ****in cards". He must be well trained in public speaking by whatever company employs him as a H&S adviser...

You too seem to have a issue at the tone and accent of the people engaging in that youtube video.

Do they not fit your criteria of how some should represent themselves in your social class?

Your location says BED MOSTLY.... maybe you should stay there, for how could you have a view on anything if that's where you mostly Dwell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Lalealynn

Here, a "scab" is bravely prevented from entering the evil corporation headquarters. This group of brave socialist rebels must be so proud. Nothing to do with IW, but posted by the same core group of "activists". I feel pretty bad for the woman here who is obviously intimidated and upset, and ultimately is prevented from going to work.

Here, gardaí are called thugs, cúnts, etc.. despite treating protesters with kid gloves. I didn't spot a single baton or anything that'd leave a bruise. One guard pushes a woman which is apparently some sort of holy sin.

My area and places all over the country are awash with this crap. And the core group is one merry band of protesters traveling around Dublin to whip up trouble. Whether it's Irish Water or some other issue, the cannot just protest like ordinary citizens do. Instead they have to block roads and intimidate people.

The same characters appear in multiple videos in several different housing estates.

Should the guards not just wade in with batons, make a load of arrests (50+) and be done for the day? Instead of just babysitting a bunch of idiots on a Tuesday morning only for work to proceed at a snail's pace?

The time to protest has come and gone. Nobody wants to pay water charges just the way nobody wants to pay their ESB bill. But it's happening and needs to happen. This sort of crap is costing us tens of thousands in wasted garda time, contractor resources etc...

Not to mention the fact that these peaceful protesters think they're above the law and use intimidation of workers as their main tactic.

Here, protesters march alongside the Public Order Unit (who also used extra padded kid gloves). Some adopted a goosestep march and began chanting "Seig Heil" (@ 2:28). They seem to be a high caliber bunch...

I really think the guards need to change tactics here. I understand that they don't want to make martyrs of the "protesters" and add fuel to the fire, but as it stands they're just babysitting a traveling circus.

Hi Enda , your wife given you back your penis yet?

:-P

Seriously the water charge issue is actually gaining momentum with private legal cases against the govt actually being launched now over it. And the guards are not needed for most protests. You can see that from most vids. They are peaceful. They reason the guards are there is to discourage protest because it's embarassing for the govt and draws bad pr.

People who have protested are not all lefties. Housewives have protested I know people who took days off work. It is going to be REALLY tough for some families on lower incomes particularly if they have young children. Sanitation is vital. And it is the tip of the iceberg and people know it. Private companies will run a muck with charges and services will be poor ..it will be like UPC. And you can NOT vote them out.

The protestors are people who care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I've no idea of how far along the works have come in the capital. I know many people in different parts who had theirs installed 6 months ago.

Dublin's water system is in tatters, no doubt. However, AFAIK, the meters go on the small mains connection outside the front gate. These smaller pipes are generally in decent repair. It seems to be the larger pipes that tend to spring leaks (I'm going on media reports published after the cold winter a few years back).

I'd say that within the year 100% of meters will be installed in Dublin, protesters or no protesters.

If the householder has a meter, and isn't using water, then the meter will remain static.

If they're unmetered, and (for some weird reason) not using any water, then they should ring up Irish Water and ask to have their connection cut off which they're perfectly entitled to do.

I gave that information at the start of my post, its 9 out 10 houses that are unmetered in Dublin(afaicr the information was given by IW).

The problem is that people are reporting alarming problems with meters leaking and still reading due to pressure backing up from the mains pipes forcing water through(it has nowhere else to go).
    There was one man who had his meter fitted quite recently and since fitting it has leaked over 200,000 litres of water. He has proof of contacting IW on multiple(I cant remember the exact figure, over a dozen I think).
    He hasn't even had a response let alone an engineer call.

You too seem to have a issue at the tone and accent of the people engaging in that youtube video.

Do they not fit your criteria of how some should represent themselves in your social class?

Your location says BED MOSTLY.... maybe you should stay there, for how could you have a view on any thing if that's were you mostly Dwell?

Where did I say I have an issue about anybody's accent? I most certainly have an issue with the tone, it's aggressive and confrontational and he continually swears at the workers before his lackey threatens to break somebody's jaw...charming :rolleyes:

As for your last paragraph...you know you've lost an argument when you're clutching at straws that much :rolleyes: I probably work a lot more hours in the week than you sunshine.

Where did I say I have an issue about anybody's accent? I most certainly have an issue with the tone, it's aggressive and confrontational and he continually swears at the workers before his lackey threatens to break somebody's jaw...charming :rolleyes:

As for your last paragraph...you know you've lost an argument when you're clutching at straws that much :rolleyes: I probably work a lot more hours in the week than you sunshine.

You spelt it out in your post. I have highlighted the pronunciation of the words you used.

Originally Posted by fullstop View Post

Ah yeah, grand bunch of lads in that video. Sure they were only concerned about their "ardea"

You don't work longer hours then me.....you having a laugh.
    Stay in bed buddy.

You spelt it out in your post. I have highlighted the pronunciation of the words you used.

Originally Posted by fullstop View Post

Ah yeah, grand bunch of lads in that video. Sure they were only concerned about their "ardea"

You don't work longer hours then me.....you having a laugh.
    Stay in bed buddy.

I was quoting what he was saying, that's how he pronounced the words. Where did I say I had a problem with his accent?

And you know I don't how? Cause my legally binding location tab on boards.ie says so? :D:D You're some entertainment, I'll give you that. Keep fightin' the man, champ. And I'm not your buddy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

This was posted on a "Fight Water Tax" YouTube account.

I guess this is what happens when Gardaí try to remove horses from an estate for welfare reasons. Halloween is coming too so perhaps they didn't want to see the thing set alight...

Thought it looked like Finglas West. They have not installed water meters there yet.
    By the way, many years ago in the 90's due to the surrender of the state to criminal gangs in a certain area in Dublin, the council fled without their vehicles (burnt out) as a result of an attempted seizure of horses. Maybe they read their history of such attempts in order to not repeat it?. I dunno.
    It will be interesting to see the protests going to places like Finglas and Ronanstown where the Gardaí are use to dealing with actual violence and are a lot less tolerant of being abused and pushed around. The rate of arrests might go up a little.

Dunno about Ronanstown but they have installed meters in a small area of Finglas East(Ballygall) so far. Good luck to them in the no go areas of other areas of Finglas.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Had a look at a few of these protest videos. I thought the rossport protesters were bad. These guys are taking it to the next level. Basically a bunch of knackers

I was quoting what he was saying, that's how he pronounced the words. Where did I say I had a problem with his accent?

And you know I don't how? Cause my legally binding location tab on boards.ie says so? :D:D You're some entertainment, I'll give you that. Keep fightin' the man, champ. I'm glad you're cool with your taxes paying for the people in these videos...or do you think they use all their annual leave going around blockading housing estates? And I'm not your buddy :)

You didn't have to high light the way they spoke.

That tells me a lot about you.

And I don't pay tax in Ireland. If you were reading the whole thread.

And I will keep fighting against "The MAN".

Unlike a lot of people who give up, fade away and accept what is thrown at them.

Apparently I am raising a foreign Army to rid Ireland of FG and IW. Do you want to join my Army.

Together as best Friends we can fight off these bad men of FG and Denis O brien the secret Ruler of Ireland. And IW.

Buddy.

On another note.
    Sad to see the divide between the classes in Ireland. One against the other because they don't all speak or sound the same.

You didn't have to high light the way they spoke.

That tells me a lot about you.

And I don't pay tax in Ireland. If you were reading the whole thread.

And I will keep fighting against "The MAN".

Unlike a lot of people who give up, fade away and accept what is thrown at them.

Apparently I am raising a foreign Army to rid Ireland of FG and IW. Do you want to join my Army.

Together as best Friends we can fight off these bad men of FG and Denis O brien the secret Ruler of Ireland. And IW.

Buddy.
    You don't pay tax in Ireland, so this doesn't really concern you. Run along and get on with your new, better life and don't be supporting a load of scrotes posing as legitimate protesters. Aww I like the way you threw buddy in at the end there to try to wind me up, you're such a loveable scamp :)

As for your edit...yawn. There is no class on show from any of those idiots in that video, so don't try to compare he civilised people ofIreland with that lot, thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Been to quite a few and seen how police handle both crowds and individuals. Most gardaí are soft on antisocial behaviour and use the "ah here now lads. come now lads. ah stop it now lads. ah now I really mean it this time lads" tactic.

I used to go to a fair few LOI matches and have been in massive crowd control situations, particularly involving Northern clubs coming down south to play. When needed, the gardaí (both regular and Public Order) can dish it out in spades when they are in minority numbers. Generally, they can pick the idiots causing the trouble from a mile off and make short work of keeping them pinned down.

The fact is, the gardaí don't want to deal with this idiotic rubbish because it's just that; idiotic rubbish. I would prefer a tougher approach. Either assemble peacefully or be asked to move on. A failure to comply on the latter results in an arrest, charge and court date.

So deano 0088 my man, you planning on showing up at any of these protests to let the rabble know the score?

You don't pay tax in Ireland, so this doesn't really concern you. Run along and get on with your new, better life and don't be supporting a load of scrotes posing as legitimate protesters. Aww I like the way you threw buddy in at the end there to try to wind me up, you're such a loveable scamp :)

As for your edit...yawn. There is no class on show from any of those idiots in that video, so don't try to compare he civilised people of Ireland with that lot, thanks

I support all protesters. No matter what race, religion or what part of Ireland there from.

Scrotes as you call them, legitimate Protestors etc are all Irish.

You do know there is a better life outside Ireland. Just saying....

Classes as in Social Divide. I don't judge people on what they wear???

But you do.

Friend :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Following on from the links posted, this was Coolock last night. Whatever your view on the issue, if these protests take off from the estates every jane and joe who have a grievance about anything will join. Do we really need that level of public disorder? All it takes is a spark to get the "underclass" as some have labelled them here for trouble to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Stainless_Steel

The irony of it all - the vast majority of protestors are dole scrounging scummers whose lack of contribution is one of the reasons Irish Water has been set up.

Anyway. There was a chap who said that the meters emit harmful radon. The tinfoil hat will come in handy eh?

Bambi wrote: »
    So deano 0088 my man, you planning on showing up at any of these protests to let the rabble know the score?

I walked into one the other day. Turned a corner and came across a crowd of 20 or so on the street. Stood around for a few minutes and got a general impression. Not the type who can, nor want to engage in any kind of discussion.

The irony of it all - the vast majority of protestors are dole scrounging scummers whose lack of contribution is one of the reasons Irish Water has been set up.

Anyway. There was a chap who said that the meters emit harmful radon. The tinfoil hat will come in handy eh?

So the unemployed are responsible for the formation of IW.

You should go into police protection after making a foolish statement like that.