Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's "Peaceful Protestors" - Pest Control?

Strangely enough, there seems to be a lot of people on here who attack their fellow citizen for being on the dole( There words) and yet these people doing the attacking appear to spend all day on boards.ie!

Now im not sure what jobs these people are doing, but I dont know many jobs that allow you to spend all day on message boards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Telling me that gards based in the north side, refusing to attend the estates with protests

Not true either, I'd imagine.

I think most right-thinking people who watch the videos realise fairly quickly that they are showing and highlighting Scanger-knacks engaged in anti-social behaviour.

Have you done a poll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Not true either, I'd imagine.

I believe it has been pointed out earlier in this very thread that the various letters in front of the Gardai numbers in various videos indicate they've been drafted in from other districts.

No doubt a 'whistleblower' will spill the beans shortly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

wprathead wrote: »
    Is this kinda crap really necessary Dean?

Well, apparently I'm FG Youth, a member of Ireland's "elite" class etc.. etc.. My fire ad hominem of this thread as opposed to many.

There's a certain mindset that's oddly critical of the Irish government's very social intensive policies (one of highest doles in world, medical cards etc...which I actually agree with) and yet seem oddly unwilling to call for a reduction in these services nor describe any magical method to pay for their continued presence given the current financial position of Ireland. Which is it? Less for less, or more for more? You can't get more for less.

The typical 'want it all except the bills' attitude most often found in those who take but don't give. Maybe I'm wrong and I'm not asking actual clarification on a public thread. In retrospect I shouldn't have asked and will edit the post - however my point on the mindset stands.

My apologies to Irishfreeview.

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Well, apparently I'm FG Youth, a member of Ireland's "elite" class etc.. etc.. My fire ad hominem of this thread as opposed to many.

There's a certain mindset that's oddly critical of the Irish government's very social intensive policies (one of highest doles in world, medical cards etc...which I actually agree with) and yet seem oddly unwilling to call for a reduction in these services nor describe any magical method to pay for their continued presence given the current financial position of Ireland. Which is it? Less for less, or more for more? You can't get more for less.

The typical 'want it all except the bills' attitude most often found in those who take but don't give. Maybe I'm wrong and I'm not asking actual clarification on a public thread. In retrospect I shouldn't have asked and will edit the post - however my point on the mindset stands.

My apologies to Irishfreeview.

Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Looking at your postings you appear to spend a lot of the working day on the internet.

What sort of job allows you to spend all day on message boards?

By the way, Irish dole isnt the highest in the world, as for medical cards, just travel up the road to Belfast, Free health care for all, spooky!

I believe it has been pointed out earlier in this very thread that the various letters in front of the Gardai numbers in various videos indicate they've been drafted in from other districts.

Conspiracy theory ahoy. It's procedure like when gardai from the next district or village, wherever, pop around to the local rural pub on Christmas eve to kick everyone out. It's not because the local gardai refuse to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Have you done a poll?

Don't need to.
    I've seen how the hard-left likes of SF, SWP and PBP perform in the elections.

Whisper it quietly my friend but even in a recession people can smell their bullsh;t a mile off and nobody's buying their 'magic bean' solutions to the economy.

Don't need to.
    I've seen how the hard-left likes of SF, SWP and PBP perform in the elections.

Whisper it quietly my friend but even in a recession people can smell their bullsh;t a mile off and nobody's buying their 'magic bean' solutions to the economy.

Heres one ill throw at you,

In a country that is bust, still has a deficit of €7 billion per year, has a debt of €210 billion do you think the Taoiseach Enda kenny should be one of the highest paid politicians in Europe?

Should the government be paid high salaries and allowances?

Or do you think all TD`s should be on the average wage whilst Ireland has a deficit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Barely There must've had his head up his own backside during the local elections. Pretty much every party he mentioned above made significant gains.

Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Looking at your postings you appear to spend a lot of the working day on the internet.

Sure. I work in a petrol station - sales assistant. Hours all over the place. Recent Business graduate (June). Trying to set up a small business on the side to hopefully transition into that once it starts pulling in enough to support me and hopefully more. It's web-based. Teaching myself programming and a few other skills to do this. Mostly active on the Business forum on Boards with this.

Capricorn.
    What sort of job allows you to spend all day on message boards?

Retail isn't 9-5. And on the days when I'm working on the website I can go on Reddit, Boards etc.. during little breaks.
    By the way, Irish dole isnt the highest in the world, as for medical cards, just travel up the road to Belfast, Free health care for all, spooky!

Take a look at the UK's dole though. Spooky alright!

In a country that is bust, still has a deficit of €7 billion per year, has a debt of €210 billion do you think the Taoiseach Enda kenny should be one of the highest paid politicians in Europe?

Or do you think all TD`s should be on the average wage whilst Ireland has a deficit?

And how much of the €7 billion do you reckon you'll save with your proposals?

I'll give you a clue - the square root of fcuk all.

I bet you graduated with an 'A' from the Sinn Fein school of economics.

=Dean0088;92440666]Sure. I work in a petrol station - sales assistant. Hours all over the place. Recent Business graduate (June). Trying to set up a small business on the side to hopefully transition into that once it starts pulling in enough to support me and hopefully more. It's web-based. Teaching myself programming and a few other skills to do this.

Capricorn.

Thanks for sharing, good luck on your business plans.

Can I just say that you are young and quite frankly inexperienced of family life. Try doing a family budget plan based on your wages because for many that is the income they have. Try feeding a family of 2 and 2 kids with all the costs in life and come back and tell us if you can afford water.

Retail isn't 9-5. And on the days when I'm working on the website I can go on Reddit, Boards etc.. during little breaks.

Yes I understand about retail.

Take a look at the UK's dole though. Spooky alright!

The Uk pays out far more in supports than Ireland, it has a lower cost of living and when compared like for like they are virtually the same if not slightly better in the UK.

And how much of the €7 billion do you reckon you'll save with your proposals?

I'll give you a clue - the square root of fcuk all.

I bet you graduated with an 'A' from the Sinn Fein school of economics.

Its called leadership, and its one measure.

But why not answer the question, do you believe its right people like Kenny are still one of the highest paid politicians in Europe, and would you support cuts to TD`s?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Its called leadership, and its one measure.

But why not answer the question, do you believe its right people like Kenny are still one of the highest paid politicians in Europe, and would you support cuts to TD`s?

I'd say the job merits all the monetary rewards it gives,apart from the size of pensions perhaps.

Its a hugely time draining and public job that can only have serious negative effects on a persons personal life for decades after.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Your right.

Its a shame that the socialist/communist parties in the Dáil are committed to growing that debt/deficit.

Thanks for sharing, good luck on your business plans.

Can I just say that you are young and quite frankly inexperienced of family life. Try doing a family budget plan based on your wages because for many that is the income they have. Try feeding a family of 2 and 2 kids with all the costs in life and come back and tell us if you can afford water.

I don't have any kids that depend on me, fair enough. And I don't call for a cut to the dole, social services or HSE at all. I pay USC, PAYE etc.. along with VAT and some taxes on my side business. I might be young and without a family (mid-20s), but that doesn't mean I don't know what seeing money disappear into the exchequer looks and feels like. I want to know that I'm not a sucker paying taxes on every front just so others can enjoy it. Your viewpoint on water charges is basically the opposite of that. Everyone should receive appropriate allowances, conserve water and then pay the balance.

Whether you want to admit it or not (and I'm not saying you're part of it - I could be on the dole tomorrow as easily as the next man) there is a growing culture of life long, malcontent social welfare claimants. Ireland lags behind the UK on issues like this by 30 years or so because they introduced social welfare systems, NHS etc... before us. All we have to do is look over there to see how it becomes generational and embedded in society. It's not hidden away - it's out in the open for the average person to see. I have old school friends who didn't become trapped in the social welfare poverty cycle - instead they threw themselves into it willingly the minute we all left school years ago. Many are still on it, hanging around Paddy Power at my local shops. I've spoken to many who outright snigger at working people or their mates who get up at 5/6am to head off to apprenticeships, college or work.

Not only this, anti-social behaviour from these same people leave working, decent normal people with a bitter taste in their mouth. Working, paying through the nose with taxes (because I realize it's the only policy that makes sense), having no savings and seeing cronyism in action doesn't feel great or make me a staunch FG supporter. And it doesn't feel great seeing a skanger subculture grow and grow around my area, day after day.

But I'm not going to hitch my wagon to a bunch of dreamers who would have to tax ME at 50% to pay for their dreamland. Any business I hope to get going with these guys in charge would be worthless - no EU, no Euro, 25% corp tax, high employers PRSI (If I ever employee people) - the fúck am I working like a sap when this will just happen?

I may be relatively young but if there's one thing I know it's that money doesn't come a bottomless pit. Instead it can very easily fall into one - be it personal, business or government expenses.

Ireland's aging water system is a huge drain, figuratively and literally. It has to be paid for and the fairest way to do it is to make people pay for what they use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

I think most right-thinking people who watch the videos realise fairly quickly that they are showing and highlighting Scanger-knacks engaged in anti-social behaviour.

Scanger knacks . Your just like the rest on this thread, A bunch of West Brits.

Go to England. Don't come back.

You are not Irish.

Go to Hell.

You are what is wrong with Ireland.

Kippure wrote: »

You are not Irish.

Go to Hell.

Some would say throwing around of phrases like West Brit, your not Irish(sic) etc is just because they don't agree with you.

Like it or not, not everyone out protesting are fine upstanding idealogical citizens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

You are not Irish.

Go to Hell.

You'll be coming to Dublin for work or education though no doubt...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

I apologise if I offended anyone.

But sick to the teeth of seeing the Irish people being walked on.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Don't assume we are being walked on.

A government taxing more & spending less to close a €12bn deficit is not "being walked on".

Proportionality & all that.

It's great to have all these brave patriots willing to stand up for our Country by..

......er, not paying their taxes

*Slow hand clap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

It's great to have all these brave patriots willing to stand up for our Country by..

......er, not paying their taxes

*Slow hand clap.

Indeed, way to get the place back on its feet

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Anyone who subscribes to the "freeman" ideology should immediately be excluded from all social welfare payments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

And I'm sick of people like you claiming to represent the Irish people and insulting anyone who disagrees with you and calling them out as blueshirts and west brits.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Essien wrote: »
    I'd say these lads get plenty of rest.

Sublime :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I don't know where this whole rent-a-mob culture came from or what they really hope to achieve beyond sticking it to the man and seeing the rich and the rich alone pay for everything but I'm sick to my back teeth of it. It's not about wanting fairness anymore, it's about expecting to be handed everything on a silver platter and paying for nothing.

Nothing in life comes free, if we want services we have to pay for them, simple as.

And the rich alone paying taxes and bills will not work. We must all pay our way.

And as for this attitude of wanting to be able to break the law, act like thugs, and not be stopped by the Gardai...well....the mind boggles.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,299 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

What I see if a core group of hard left militants who, going by their YouTube history, are no stranger to whipping up crowds into mobs. Their numbers are bolstered by young males in tracksuits with nothing better to do and small numbers of local residents, all of whom seem to think they're above the law. On top of this we have fringe republican movements and "freeman" law 'experts' who outright reject the State.
    Reject the state, but not the dole, no doubt :pac:
    Gatling wrote: »
    They should go after the so called professionals trouble makers dole payments
    How? By asking the to turn up to the dole office for checks on protest days?
    Plus, given the kind of idiots who seem to want to be at the forefront of this glorious red revolution, anyone with a brain would think twice about following them into battle :pac:
    They'll lead from behind; all of the glory, none of the actual work.
    You don't seem to realise the anger out there, Be it on Vin B last night, Radio phone ins, comments on RTE web pages or on boards.ie, there is a significant group of people who are fed up with this government and being charged on ability to pay for a vital service such as water is the final straw.
    Said people are slowly finding out that they have to actually vote. And I'm not talking about SF's usual areas, I'm talking further afield.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I don't know where this whole rent-a-mob culture came from or what they really hope to achieve beyond sticking it to the man and seeing the rich and the rich alone pay for everything but I'm sick to my back teeth of it. It's not about wanting fairness anymore, it's about expecting to be handed everything on a silver platter and paying for nothing.

Nothing in life comes free, if we want services we have to pay for them, simple as.

And the rich alone paying taxes and bills will not work. We must all pay our way.

And as for this attitude of wanting to be able to break the law, act like thugs, and not be stopped by the Gardai...well....the mind boggles.

The rise of our entitlement culture is to blame.