Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's "Peaceful Protestors" - Pest Control?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Faced with us paying back 0, or paying back the money we borrowed interest free im fairly sure they will take option B.

Hell, why not even go full hog and ask for a stay on the repayments, tell the EU that once the country is generating enough money we will start our repayments, but whilst we still have huge debt and deficits we wont.

simple negotiations what we need, the negotiations that we were promised.

Still waiting for numbers.

You seem to think you have the answers (but they seem to be just hypothetical guesses).

You've had 4 years of hindsight to see what you would do better than this government you hate.

Show us your figures.
    Wouldn't want to lose credibility!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,544 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

If I had more money going out than I had coming in then yes I would negotiate with the bank to stop paying interest until such time I could afford to do so.

The bank would even allow me to defer some of the debt repayment and add it onto the end of the term.

Thats called being prudent.

Banks don't do that. They let you pay interest only for a couple of years not interest free.

You speak for the banks now do you?

I know a few banks that have done exactly that.

some call it a payment holiday.

Still waiting for numbers.

You seem to think you have the answers (but they seem to be just hypothetical guesses).

You've had 4 years of hindsight to see what you would do better than this government you hate.

Show us your figures.
    Wouldn't want to lose credibility!

Ive just told you.

Stop paying the debt interest.

Current Projected defecit 9.6 Billion.

Cost to service national debt - €8 billion - Suspend payments.

Collect full payment from corporation tax - 1 billion
    Increase

Introduce a wealth tax - 600 million

Deficit - Gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

You made the claim that I shouldn't be making the assumption that politicians were in it for the money.

I have just provided you with an example, now you want more?

I could keep going but you would keep moving the goal posts.

One example in thousands.

That counts for nothing.

Ive just told you.

Stop paying the debt interest.

Current Projected defecit 9.6 Billion.

Cost to service national debt - €8 billion - Suspend payments.

Collect full payment from corporation tax - 1 billion
    Increase

Introduce a wealth tax - 600 million

Deficit - Gone.

So.... Default & go after corpo tax & the Shinner wealth tax.

Consequence free!......

But again friend....your dodging the question, you slippery rascal.

Forget about the underlying deficit for 2014..... You've spoofed default nonsense about that enough.

Cast your mind back to 2010.
    The primary deficit is €12bn.... the overall deficit is €16.7 billion.
    The bankster debt repayments have yet to kick in.

What do you do..... what do you do?

One example in thousands.

That counts for nothing.

Did you watch the news this week, Enda Kenny fast tracking his mates into positions, perhaps you even missed the government breaking their own rules on special advisors!

But you think their all saints!

So.... Default & go after corpo tax & the Shinner wealth tax.

Consequence free!......

But again friend....your dodging the question, you slippery rascal.

Forget about the underlying deficit for 2014..... You've spoofed default nonsense about that enough.

Cast your mind back to 2010.
    The primary deficit is €12bn.... the overall deficit is €16.7 billion.
    The bankster debt repayments have yet to kick in.

What do you do..... what do you do?

Hmm, good one, perhaps we follow the Fianna Fail master plan, or we do an Iceland.

Or we cut sensible things, protecting the poorest people in society and use the pension reserve to create jobs.

Rhetoric.... And actually what was done anyway, the S/w budget was barely touched..... What's left of the NPRF is being invested in jobs projects.

What do your numbers say?

Rhetoric.... And actually what was done anyway, the S/w budget was barely touched.

What do your numbers say?

Dole went from 211 per week to €188, child benefit has had nearly annual cuts.
    The Christmas bonus was cut.
    Carers was cut.

Community schemes were destroyed, and lots of cuts in education.

Dole went from 211 per week to €188, child benefit has had nearly annual cuts.
    The Christmas bonus was cut.
    Carers was cut.

Community schemes were destroyed, and lots of cuts in education.

Yep, all edges trimmed to protect the bulk of s/w expenditure.

So.... What is your alternate plan for the primary deficit (costed of course)..... Don't say default again!

Yep, all edges trimmed to protect the bulk of s/w expenditure.

So.... What is your alternate plan for the primary deficit (costed of course)..... Don't say default again!

Your right, there is no other option than to continue to attack the poorest people in society.

Wate Charges are the only option to plug the deficit.

In fact Im delighted FG are looking and giving tax breaks to the richest people in the upcoming budget, times are tough and that's the only way to go.

Thankgod there are referendums planned next year on trivial matters, we need to spend the cash we havent got.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Yep I can't watch stuff like that and not imagine it being my sister/gf or someone I care about.

Your right, there is no other option than to continue to attack the poorest people in society.

Wate Charges are the only option to plug the deficit.

In fact Im delighted FG are looking and giving tax breaks to the richest people in the upcoming budget, times are tough and that's the only way to go.

Thankgod there are referendums planned next year on trivial matters, we need to spend the cash we havent got.

Ah ah!...... Where is your alternate plan?

Rhetoric is rhetoric.... Deflection by distraction is amateurish.

One as clued in as you knows you could do better than TBS shower in Leinster house.

Numbers my good man.... figures....
    Tick tock! We've gotta see this terrific deficit elimination plan!

Ah ah!...... Where is your alternate plan?

Rhetoric is rhetoric.... Deflection by distraction is amateurish.

One as clued in as you knows you could do better than TBS shower in Leinster house.

Numbers my good man.... figures....
    Tick tock! We've gotta see this terrific deficit elimination plan!

Tax take is well ahead of target, looks like the people are reducing the deficit on their own.

Ahhhhhhu ha ha ha ha haaaaaaa.

Getting this thread back on topic,

It appears the protests maybe working, a Video claims to be showing Irish water removing meters after demands from the residents.

Maybe some posters need a tissue to wipe away the tears?:D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

It appears the protests maybe working, a Video claims to be showing Irish water removing meters after demands from the residents.

Working?? - Not quite

Injunction re-instated for 8 people and 1 other possibly looking at Jail...

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    Working?? - Not quite

Injunction re-instated for 8 people and 1 other possibly looking at Jail...

Maybe you missed the video that shows meters being removed?

Allegedly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

It shows GMC Sierra workers removing a couple of water meters.
    How can you deduce that they did this because the residents complained?

I also hope the H&S guy from yesterday does not see that video, with the general public inside the barriers with no safety gear.

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    It shows GMC Sierra workers removing a couple of water meters.
    How can you deduce that they did this because the residents complained?

I also hope the H&S guy from yesterday does not see that video, with the general public inside the barriers with no safety gear.

hence the word claim.

Where are the Gardai today I wonder, as you say members of the public inside barriers suggests meters being taken out as there are no protests and happy chatter.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

hence the word claim.

Where are the Gardai today

In Finglas siezing horses in estates .

You better run you might catch it time

Gatling wrote: »
    In Finglas siezing horses in estates .

You better run you might catch it time

That video was already posted yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Most of the pricks looking on there wouldn't know what a hard days work was if it bit them on the arse.

Ahh come on, leave the Irish workers lads alone, some of them cant help it if they have been forced onto Jobsbridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Ahh come on, leave the Irish workers lads alone, some of them cant help it if they have been forced onto Jobsbridge.

I think he's talking about the strung out idiots hanging over the walls

Gatling wrote: »
    I think he's talking about the strung out idiots hanging over the walls

Thats the Irish water workers?

Pic from video shows one in a hole one stood around!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Ma wots yer man doin?
    Hes workin son
    Work? Wots dat?
    Don't worry son you'll never need to know.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

hence the word claim.

Where are the Gardai today I wonder, as you say members of the public inside barriers suggests meters being taken out as there are no protests and happy chatter.
    The guards were across the road beside a large Garda van. Clear on the video.

Of course they were meters being taken out but I could post that video and say it shows Irish Water removing faulty meters while the gardai keep the onlookers calm.