Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's "Peaceful Protestors" - Pest Control?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

DazMarz wrote: »
    Our protesters over here have no idea how lucky they have it.

Haha

It is the gardai who don't know how well they have it, and the political cabal who they serve. The resistance they face here is petty. The gardai would be roasted alive anywhere else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

There are a dangerous amount of fascists around Ireland today with SF leanings.

Water charges were part of 2011 political manifestos. A government was formed and they have legally enacted these policies. Now we have rumblings of coups and actual attacks on the state.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Beaner1 wrote: »
    Now we have rumblings of coups and actual attacks on the state.
    Mostly just kids (or developmental equivalents) playing keyboard warrior.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,543 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

NEVER. They'll have some more original ones. Like "Can't Pay, Won't Pay". "What do we want?" "Something ridiculous" "When do we want it?" "Now"

Don't forget that old nugget "shame on you"

Phoebas wrote: »

It's a lot more than that. I follow these groups online and you have many active criminal/republican elements calling for blood.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,543 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

for which the protesters will be able to break up these private security vermin in revenge for doing as private security have no rights. i'm sure the protesters will be prepared for such eventualities like they are in rossport where such vermin are dealt with on a daily basis by protesters.

So you condone violence against taxpayers doing their job?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Pedro K

DazMarz wrote: »

What I can see, however, is the introduction of private security forces into this mix at some stage. As more and more Gardaí are called away to deal with actual police work, someone will need to protect GMC Sierra workers. Enter some private security goons. And you can be damn sure they'll crack skulls far better than the Gardaí will.

I don't think that will happen. Would be far too dangerous. The protestors would have no problem getting violent in retaliation with a private firm.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,073 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

So you condone violence against taxpayers doing their job?
    if another private civilian (which private security are) lays a hand on you you can lay a hand on them back.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

Don't forget that old nugget "shame on you"
    Or "Traitor" "Scab" or "Burn the Bondholders"

• Registered Users Posts: 29,073 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Pedro K wrote: »
    I don't think that will happen. Would be far too dangerous. The protestors would have no problem getting violent in retaliation with a private firm.
    exactly. which would be justified if a private firm layed a finger on any of them. private firms should stick to patrolling buildings with torches which is their job

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

I'd love to be private security for Irish water. I've actually considered headiing down to some of these kips and standing with a pro water metres placard.

There are a dangerous amount of fascists around Ireland today with SF leanings.

Water charges were part of 2011 political manifestos. A government was formed and they have legally enacted these policies. Now we have rumblings of coups and actual attacks on the state.

I don't think you understand what fascism is, in fairness.

Phoebas wrote: »

A bit like all the big cop hard men on here calling for the blood of peaceful protesters.

coolemon wrote: »
    I don't think you understand what fascism is, in fairness.

I know exactly what it is.

I'd love to be private security for Irish water. I've actually considered headiing down to some of these kips and standing with a pro water metres placard.

To make you feel important?

You should join the Gardaí because it sounds like you have had problem in your childhood.

To make you feel important?

You should join the Gardaí because it sounds like you have had problem in your childhood.

Again?

I know exactly what it is.

Clearly not. Calling for a coup or attacks on the state does not equal fascism.

Again?

Yeah, again.

You can be a supercop.

Clearly not. Calling for a coup or attacks on the state does not equal fascism.

How do you think a fascist regime starts? SF/IRA have all of the characteristics of the great fascists parties of the past. All that they are lacking is a bit of power. Their socialism shtick is just there to reel in the knackers.

Yeah, again.

You can be a supercop.
    I kind of am a supercop. I'll say no more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

How do you think a fascist regime starts? SF/IRA have all of the characteristics of the great fascists parties of the past. All that they are lacking is a bit of power. Their socialism shtick is just there to reel in the knackers.

The only party linked to fascism in Ireland. http://i1.wp.com/www.theirishstory.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/ODuffy-Blueshisrts.jpg

Because of the later attraction of the group's leader Eoin O'Duffy to authoritarian nationalist movements on the European Continent, they are sometimes compared to the MVSN (Blackshirts) of Italy and to some extent performed a similar function.[1][2] Some of the Blueshirts later went to fight for Francisco Franco during the Spanish Civil War and were anti-communist in nature, however historian R.M. Douglas has stated that it is dubious to portray them as an "Irish manifestation of fascism".[3]

Most of the political parties whose meetings the ACA protected would merge to become Fine Gael, and members of that party are sometimes nicknamed "Blueshirts" to this day....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blueshirts

Also have to laugh at all the ignorant posters here with there insulting rhetoric.actually I don't laugh as it's quite sad to read.

realies wrote: »
    The only party linked to fascism in Ireland

Because of the later attraction of the group's leader Eoin O'Duffy to authoritarian nationalist movements on the European Continent, they are sometimes compared to the MVSN (Blackshirts) of Italy and to some extent performed a similar function.[1][2] Some of the Blueshirts later went to fight for Francisco Franco during the Spanish Civil War and were anti-communist in nature, however historian R.M. Douglas has stated that it is dubious to portray them as an "Irish manifestation of fascism".[3]

Most of the political parties whose meetings the ACA protected would merge to become Fine Gael, and members of that party are sometimes nicknamed "Blueshirts" to this day....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blueshirts

*snore*

Another man that can't think for himself. Fine Gael are about as far removed from fascists as you can get. Democracatic, lack of nationalism, freedom of speech etc. Try living in an area with these sorts and seeing if you are allowed freely express yourself

http://ansionnachfionn.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/the-funeral-cortege-of-alan-ryan-officer-commanding-the-dublin-brigade-of-the-real-ira-dublin-ireland-2012.jpg?w=640

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

they aren't sending the wrong message. they are only getting up the backs of the gambling debt tax supporters

Gambling is having huge amounts of the tax take that is required to run the country coming from too few sources. Then when the **** hits the fan with one the country is ****ed. Broadening the tax base means if one goes down, it wont bring the whole system down again.

When the 400,000 are off the dole and paying tax again, other taxes can be reduced , only this time it wont have such a negative effect on the economy.

Sorry,what am I thinking, I meant "rabble, rabble , rabble , bankers, ,****ing government, rabble, rabble , rabble"

SF/IRA have few of the characteristics of a fascist party. You are very ignorant of history I am afraid.

Fascist regimes generally start when existing power is threatened. This leads to the powerful and wealthy supporting far-right organisations and regimes.

Power is not threatened in Ireland. The ruling elite have free reign, thanks to the gardai and a relatively disorganised and sedate population.

*snore*

Another man that can't think for himself. Fine Gael are about as far removed from fascists as you can get. Democracatic, lack of nationalism, freedom of speech etc. Try living in an area with these sorts and seeing if you are allowed freely express yourself

http://ansionnachfionn.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/the-funeral-cortege-of-alan-ryan-officer-commanding-the-dublin-brigade-of-the-real-ira-dublin-ireland-2012.jpg?w=640

They are removed from fascism. Because existing power is not threatened. Only when the state and (in general) propertied interests are threatened do we see the emergence of fascism in history.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

if another private civilian (which private security are) lays a hand on you you can lay a hand on them back.

So if a woman trying to go to work is pushed back by strikers or protesters, you'll support her giving them a smack, yeah? What about people jostling a guy doing his job installing water meters, youll back him up if he clocks someone that puts their hand on him?

They are removed from fascism. Because existing power is not threatened. Only when the state and (in general) propertied interests are threatened do we see the emergence of fascism in history.

They are fascists without power on a state level. At a community level they have been known to act like fascists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

*snore*

Are you tired ??

I have lived in them areas, I still alive and talking freely and having different opinions ?

What's your point ?

They are fascists without power on a state level.

Do explain.

A good article looking at the discourse around the water meter protests. -

Irish Water Protests: The View from Beijing

http://hiredknaves.wordpress.com/2014/10/09/irish-water-protests-the-view-from-beijing/