Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's "Peaceful Protestors" - Pest Control?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I'd have preferred:

"Morning sir. We got a call about you blocking in the workers. Can you explain that?"

"Yeah, I'm protesting the water m.."

"That's fine. It's illegal to block the street with a car and entrap people. Please move the jeep and van".

"No, see I'm entitled to ..."

"Move them or we'll arrest you and move them for you"

"Well I'm not gona.."

"Grand so." *slaps on cuffs*

Job done. 2 minutes.

Totally agree with you but I suspect the above would be classified as aggressive. You would also get the bleeding hearts and the usual Dail Eireann suspects going on about how a 'vulnerable member of society' gets arrested for a peaceful protest and the bankers etc ..... You know the rest.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

it wouldn't and it doesn't. the days of no nonsense are gone as its to dangerous an approach

thats exactly what happens currently

I don't know what videos you're watching and whats happening on the streets in your area, but here, protestors are having a little run around the area for hours on end. Gardaí and workers take abuse for ages before finally a sergeant will make an arrest or two to calm the crowd down.

I'd prefer if thirty gardaí went in, snatched 20 people and brought em back to the station for processing. We could even call up reservists for man power in the station and to patrol the crowds. I guarantee that within weeks, protests would become civil.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

I've never been to country with police as light handed as Gardaí

You obviously have not been to many countries or witnessed the gardai's behaviour when they have the superior numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

It's about sustainability. Irish Water cannot run at a loss.

Don't confuse 'sustainable' with 'self-funding'. If it's about self-funding then IW is already a billion euros in the hole before any water infrastructure is replaced/repaired. As I've already pointed out, now for the third time, there is no reason why our water infrastructure works could not have been carried out without spending a billion euros setting up a private bureaucracy.

'It has to be self-funding' is an ideological standpoint; schools, hospitals and motorways aren't self-funding. Irish Water is, and will continue to be, an effective private monopoly. The fact that IW is a monopoly means there will be no competition. When a monopoly 'needs to be self-funding' (wrong) all they have to do is jack up the price or borrow on the strength of being able to jack up the price down the line knowing there is no competition.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

S.O wrote: »
    The selective criticism of the anti water meter protest and self righteousness of some posters on here, having watched the video I can fully understand why the people in that area would get angry with Gardai pushing women who just want to peacefully protest.

Peaceful protest is standing out of the way and having your protest. Blocking the streets and stopping people going to work is not peacefull protest. Pulling out of the hoarding and intimidating workers is not peacefull protest. f the protests were peaceful and the workers could get on with their jobs then there would be no need for the gardai to be there,.

If I decide I don't like what you do is it ok for me and a mate to stand in front and behind your car when you pull out to go to work and refuse to move?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭sjb25

You want the Gardai to "Kick the **** out of them"?

That would be illegal, so you against people blocking roads but you advocate violence.

Very strange.
    Never said I was against violence I'm against idiots blocking roads and acting the hard man knowing the guards will do notting how hardy would they be if the Garda drew batons....... Scream brutality I Supoze

Pocoyo wrote: »
    You obviously have not been to many countries or witnessed the gardai's behaviour when they have the superior numbers.

Been to quite a few and seen how police handle both crowds and individuals. Most gardaí are soft on antisocial behaviour and use the "ah here now lads. come now lads. ah stop it now lads. ah now I really mean it this time lads" tactic.

I used to go to a fair few LOI matches and have been in massive crowd control situations, particularly involving Northern clubs coming down south to play. When needed, the gardaí (both regular and Public Order) can dish it out in spades when they are in minority numbers. Generally, they can pick the idiots causing the trouble from a mile off and make short work of keeping them pinned down.

The fact is, the gardaí don't want to deal with this idiotic rubbish because it's just that; idiotic rubbish. I would prefer a tougher approach. Either assemble peacefully or be asked to move on. A failure to comply on the latter results in an arrest, charge and court date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Don't confuse 'sustainable' with 'self-funding'. If it's about self-funding then IW is already a billion euros in the hole before any water infrastructure is replaced/repaired. As I've already pointed out, now for the third time, there is no reason why our water infrastructure could not have been carried out without spending a billion euros setting up a private bureaucracy.

'It has to be self-funding' is an ideological standpoint; schools, hospitals and motorways aren't self-funding. Irish Water is, and will continue to be, an effective private monopoly. The fact that IW is a monopoly means there will be no competition. When a monopoly 'needs to be self-funding' (wrong) all they have to do is jack up the price or borrow on the strength of being able to jack up the price down the line knowing there is no competition.

I didn't confuse anything. What happened there is you attributed a word to me and argued against it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Are you a member of FG?

No, but i did vote for them in the last election.

What's your point? You probably threw your vote away to vote for some crowd of Shinner idiots who were going to "fix" the country by "taxin' de riches and burnin' de bondholdurs!" who in reality will sit on their holes for 4 years collecting a pay check and whinging in opposition hoping to get in as a minority coalition partner next time when they will promptly abandon all of their former policies and do what actually needs to be done to make things work.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

It would be good for the country if the Gardai could do their jobs instead of acting as Security for Irish Water.

I have seen many instances on those videos of unlawful activity by the Gardai, let alone the protectors!

It would be good if the gardai were allowed to do their jobs and didn't have to be called out to deal with scumbags like in the videos in the OP. Show us some examples of the unlawful activity by the gardai please.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

In Ireland you are required to have a " Road Opening Licence" to dig up roads.

Any member of the public has the legal right to see such licence when works are being carried out.

You still haven't shown us any link to this legal right of the public to see the licence. Do you have a legal right to see my driving or television licence as well?
    No need to call you anything, its clear and obvious to all.

As it's clear to the rest of us you're deluded.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,543 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

fullstop wrote: »
    You still haven't shown us any link to this legal right of the public to see the licence. Do you have a legal right to see my driving or television licence as well?

As it's clear to the rest of us you're deluded.

Typical of them, make outrageous claims and state they are facts and then ignore when pulled up on it.

This was posted on a "Fight Water Tax" YouTube account.

I guess this is what happens when Gardaí try to remove horses from an estate for welfare reasons. Halloween is coming too so perhaps they didn't want to see the thing set alight...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

"I've a her-art problem"

"I'm not resistin' ya prick"

Charming stuff. Certain sections of society just need to be gotten rid of. I'd fully support the Gardai just wading in and cracking skulls in these situations.

"I'll burst yer ****ing face, ya ****ing animal ya" as she stands braying and pawing at a police officer trying to do their job.

The time for society at large to tolerate these "people" has long passed. Garbage human beings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    All this advocacy of protest from someone who left the country....Sorry , but in my opinion, once you've left the country you forfeit all right and privileges to complain about government policy or social issues...You're out of it now - If you come back , then we can talk , but until then.....

If I see wrong no matter where in the world, most of all my home country ill speak up about it buddy.

No one "loves" the government - any government , they are a necessary evil.

Are the current government doing a great job? - No , not at all , they've screwed up many things but they have done quite a few things right.

Bottom line - The decisions/direction being taken by the government , whilst not pleasant and painful in some circumstances are the ONLY viable options available to us in the current circumstances

The fantasy land guff coming from SF , PbP et al is beyond ridiculous and would do nothing but make things ultimately worse.

Of course I wish that the government were more efficient is doing what they do , of course I wish that the bull**** cronyism wasn't going on - But does that mean that I want blood in the streets and rebellion?? No it doesn't..

There are NO alternatives to the choices being made today so I will continue to accept them until I see genuine realistic alternatives.

That's it lie down, just take it. Seems the Irish are good at that now.

Voting for me has always been, broadly speaking, about choosing the lesser of the evils - All politicians, by their nature are conniving self serving arseholes.

And right now , the current government , crap as they are , are most definitely the lesser of the evils.....

What ever you do, don't protest.
    Stay in side and be a good little Irish man.
    Don't try change anything.
    Except your station in life.
    Except that Irish politicians, as you said will serve themselves first.
    You and the rest of the water charge lovers just keep handing your well earned pay cheques over.

Kippure wrote: »
    You and the rest of the water charge lovers just keep handing your well earned pay cheques over.

You seem to be insulting people for 'staying inside and not resisting', yet you're in a foreign country.

Unless you're building an Irish Foreign Legion or something over there, that's a little rich.

The people out "resisting" are just bored idiots looking for a way to take easy potshots at gardaí.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

"I've a her-art problem"

"I'm not resistin' ya prick"

Charming stuff. Certain sections of society just need to be gotten rid of. I'd fully support the Gardai just wading in and cracking skulls in these situations.

"I'll burst yer ****ing face, ya ****ing animal ya" as she stands braying and pawing at a police officer trying to do their job.

The time for society at large to tolerate these "people" has long passed. Garbage human beings.

I find it hard to differentiate between you and the people you despise.

If you care so much why not come back and fight the good fight?

You seem to be insulting people for 'staying inside and not resisting', yet you're in a foreign country.

Unless you're building an Irish Foreign Legion or something over there, that's a little rich.

The people out "resisting" are just bored idiots looking for a way to take easy potshots at gardaí.

You seem to be saying since start of this thread that a certain class of people in Ireland protesting are pests. That should be controlled by the Gardai.

I,d say your FG youth. Or a Denis o Brien lover. Or maybe you work for Irish water.

Have you ever worked abroad? In a foreign land.

I think your from a certain class in Ireland. And that you look down upon people that don't fit your social class elite.

The Title of your thread says it all.

If you care so much why not come back and fight the good fight?

And what would we do?
    Protest?
    Cant do that.
    Thats wrong...

You seem to be saying since start of this thread that a certain class of people in Ireland protesting are pests. That should be controlled by the Gardai.

I,d say your FG youth. Or a Denis o Brien lover. Or maybe you work for Irish water.

I wouldn't say class. Going by a traditional "class" system I belong to the same one the majority of the "protesters" do. I'd say 'type' of people. Like the type of idiot who gets through life by intimidating people, roaring, screaming in people faces and then playing the downtrodden victim when anyone stands up to them. That type. Mostly tracksuit wearing skangers who normally have areas of Dublin in bits.

The carry on over these water meters is idiotic.

I have worked abroad in the UK for a short spell. What's your point? I wasn't over there plotting my revolution back home.

I take issue with protesters intimidating IW workers, and making physical threats such as, and I quote, "I'll break your ****ing jaw for ye, ye prick ye". They also, wrongfully, think they can request documents from IW workers. IW workers remain calm and say not one word. The racial approach to naming the YouTube video also says plenty about these protesters.

This kind of carry on is "protesting" against FG is it? Respond directly to the contents of that video.

The last sentence in your post says it all there. Can't form any kind of argument. And you want to start a revolution and run the country? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,993 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I wonder do private property owners know who they are putting their faith in if they support these protests. In Dundalk the local protests are being led by RNU, republican paramilitaries. Other protests are being orchestrated by the Socialist Worker Party who want to seize private property. No self respecting proper political party would want to be associated with these fascists.

I wouldn't say class. Going by a traditional "class" system I belong to the same one the majority of the "protesters" do. I'd say 'type' of people. Like the type of idiot who gets through life by intimidating people, roaring, screaming in people faces and then playing the downtrodden victim when anyone stands up to them. That type. Mostly tracksuit wearing skangers who normally have areas of Dublin in bits.

I can clearly see you have a classification of people you like and don't like. Which don't fit your view of what an Irish person should be.

The carry on over these water meters is idiotic.

Its Called protesting. Something you know nothing about. But will start a thread on Irish people who you see as Pests to be controlled. GET OUT

I have worked abroad in the UK for a short spell. What's your point? I wasn't over there plotting my revolution back home.

Im not planning a revolution. Just commenting on what we the Irish see looking in On Ireland.

I take issue with protesters intimidating IW workers, and making physical threats such as, and I quote, "I'll break your ****ing jaw for ye, ye prick ye". They also, wrongfully, think they can request documents from IW workers. IW workers remain calm and say not one word. The racial approach to naming the YouTube video also says plenty about these protesters.

They weren't abused. A bit of shouting. Why didn't they have there safe pass or safety cards. I smell a bulldozing Tactic on the part of Irish water. I wonder how many IW workers are trained to install meters.

This kind of carry on is "protesting" against FG is it? Respond directly to the contents of that video.

Yes im protesting against the Government.

The last sentence in your post says it all there. Can't form any kind of argument. And you want to start a revolution and run the country? :pac:

Your the one again calling Irish people pests. Your whole thread is about it.

They weren't abused. A bit of shouting. Why didn't they have there safe pass or safety cards. I smell a bulldozing Tactic on the part of Irish water. I wonder how many IW workers are trained to install meters.

Who says they didn't have them?

OMG Your back. I ve been waiting.

All they had to do was produce them...
    Its a little card the size of a bank card. Fits in your wallet.
    Your required to carry them on all building sites.

Yeah i know, i drove tower cranes for years. I also know you are not obliged to show them to random muppets on the street.

I seriously doubt that there was a worker there WITHOUT a card. However, if I was one of them, I wouldn't be producing it for some uppidy ****e who thinks he's the law.

There was abuse and threats in that video. The active protesters here are people who try to intimidate, break the law and act like gob****es. They have little actual support and depend on whipping up mini PR storms.

These protesters don't represent Irish people. They might claim to, but every political poll and election result begs to differ. I know you think that the Dáil is an "illusion", but it's not. These guys are being organized by fringe parties, local Councillors looking for PR and some pretty dodgy republican "movements".

Yeah i know, i drove tower cranes for years. I also know you are not obliged to show them to random muppets on the street.

He is a HSE Adviser.

He asking ok shouting at the workers to produce safety cards. He asks there supervisor aswell.

Whats the supervisor going to do with the screw driver in his hand EH.

He is a HSE Adviser.

He asking ok shouting at the workers to produce safety cards. He asks there supervisor aswell.

He CLAIMS to be, he is also not someone who has the right to ask you for your safe pass. If he really was from the HSE then he would not have asked in public in front of a camera and if he does work for the HSE then i hope someone recognizes him and he gets fired for u professional conduct. As i said i worked construction and if some random muppet walked up to me like that and demanded to see my safe pass he would have been told to **** right off.

He is a HSE Adviser.

I thought he claimed to be a H&S consultant. Nothing to do with the HSE. He didn't show ID or appear to be there in any professional capacity (as evident by the shouting). By that logic I could stroll up to you, claim to be a garda and demand to see ID or detain you.

Get real.

Why is he asking for cards? He's trying to disrupt the works, has no logical argument or reason for doing so, and is instead relying on a pathetic tactic to delay work.

He has no right to ask for any ID or safepass cards.

He should be wearing boot, hi-vis and a hat if he's on duty on "on site". :pac::D

You're laughable now at this stage. The workers made no threats or indications that they were going to assault anybody. Face it, these protesters are a band of idiots who think they have the moral high ground.