Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late Show 3/10/2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I like Ivan Yates. He is a good broadcaster when covering on Vinny B's programme.

How can an Irish politician go to 7 funerals a week in the old days of Ireland? Had this country gone mad long ago or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,857 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

He didn't develop a proper interactive website either for Celtic Racing. That's what done for him as well.

Yes there was no investment in technology while the others put massive money in and extended to online poker and gaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Fair play to Ivan for being open about his mental health issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

ProudDUB wrote: »
    The funeral thing in this country is mad. Unless the deceased is well known to the politician, it is a ridiculous waste of time just to curry votes.

He tells a story about how TDs in the same constituency would race across the country to be the first to give their sympathies to the bereaved. And repeat the race the next day.

Only in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,197 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Ivan should ring live line on Monday in keeping with the topic every day this week

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I remember when he was the agricultural minister he said farmers were breeding beef animals that were like elephants... and he didn't want elephants.
    Lets just say elephants make the most money...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

The funeral thing gives me the pips..........

Ivan played the game and lost.....

He's back on a roll again...

End of story.

Wrote the book.

Got the LLS slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭sudzs

Can he say that about a named teacher, deceased or not??? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭darlett

This is good stuff. But for the Grace of God he could have been one of those who topped himself. But he found a way out and dealt with his inner demons. Fair play, in the biggest way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

"Most people who enter politics young leave young"

When they have their pension, same as the guards/teachers etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,654 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Ivan would give Francis Brennan a run for his money in the talking stakes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I wish Ryan would let him finish speaking & answer each question and not keep firing new questions at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

That can't be right to name 'Mr Mansfield' if he's not here to defend himself??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

The funeral thing in this country is mad. Unless the deceased is well known to the politician, it is a ridiculous waste of time just to curry votes.

I remember when Michael Martin turned up to my grandmother's funeral. I felt like telling him to fook off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Now, I feel your pain.....

I'm off to see Munster tomorrow.......

There will be.......Leinster supporters there...........:eek:

***fills pocket flask***

I'm just in from The Sportsground.

Left with 10 mins to go to get a lift home.

Connacht 24 - 10 up at that stage so I though - Sound, job done.

Full time result 24 - 24. :(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

sudzs wrote: »

can't defame the dead !

I'm going to buy Ivan's book, I hope he is doing a signing near me.

"You have to buy clothes, you have to buy food"...

Let's not be coy here Ivan.. You were taking the money off people whose family were most likely losing out because of their gambling..

M

Must be terrible to see something you built up over your lifetime go under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The funeral thing gives me the pips..........

Ivan played the game and lost.....

The game is flawed and the public pays the price ultimately.

scargill wrote: »
    can't defame the dead !

The family can sue..

I remember when Michael Martin turned up to my grandmother's funeral. I felt like telling him to fook off.

I knew you were from good stock Harry.......:):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Lapin wrote: »

Watched it...they threw it away.

Gfc drew with shels...if anyone cares

sudzs wrote: »

He is only saying it because the person cannot sue him whether it is true or false, and others can't sue on his behalf.

can't defame the dead !

Even so, the man must have a family who might very well be watching this tonight.

M

can't defame the dead !

You could probably put graffiti on their headstone, "Mr X is a tool" etc.

They should have Chris sitting beside him, trying to get a full sentence in before the conversation is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,071 ✭✭✭✭neris

Ivan should ring live line on Monday in keeping with the topic every day this week

Joe would be in an awful dilema then. Is ivan an evil bookie or another poor joe soap turfed over by the state

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Never went with the times, never had a internet site and the name was not eye cathing either, shops were very old and cold looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Fair play to Ivan for being open about his mental health issues.

There are very few people who talk about how it manifests itself. Fair play to him.

You could probably put graffiti on their headstone, "Mr X is a tool" etc.

:(

"You have to buy clothes, you have to buy food"...

Let's not be coy here Ivan.. You were taking the money off people whose family were most likely losing out because of their gambling..
    You could direct that at publicans too.

It's not Amazon.com's fault if I've a shopping addiction, is it?

Lapin wrote: »

Ah no....was watching it earlier.....they were winning well........Boo......:(

• Registered Users Posts: 8,197 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Ivan would give Francis Brennan a run for his money in the talking stakes :D

Would like to see a late late show season featuring different hosts each week starting with these two. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Unless he was a personal friend of your grandmother, you should have. It's just crass 'see and be seen' showboating to get votes imo. God forbid, they spend the time reading up on their particular briefs, or going to Dail meetings, or meeting with constituents face to face in clinics.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    It's not Amazon.com's fault if I've a shopping addiction, is it?

No I blame the Late Late for promoting so many books..

Even so, the man must have a family who might very well be watching this tonight.

I agree Harry.

Poor form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Except the other night Lapin........

Sorry.....:D

Ah here.......leave it out!!

M

He did what I would have done. You could literally buy a camper van, drive up north and live there for a year, come back cleaned up.

I like guests who are well able to talk.

Too many people come on with nothing to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

I wish Ryan would let him finish speaking & answer each question and not keep firing new questions at him.

But he wants to know how Ivan felt when his world was falling apart :rolleyes:

''Goodness, Ryan, I felt totally wonderful''

The buuk, the buuk the buuk the buuk........

Drinking game looms........

• Registered Users Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

If he was party leader and managed to become Taoiseach, he could've gotten his debt written off by the bank like 'Garret the good' did.

Ivan could have trolled on boards to pass the day instead of drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,071 ✭✭✭✭neris

Could think of better uk cities to live in then swansea. No wonder he went on the piss everyday

I'm wondering if Ivan had a little fling? It sounds like he did....

I'd give him a kick in the arse with his buuk if I was the Mrs..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Very frank interview, which is one of the qualities Yeats has always held true.

Never went with the times, never had a internet site and the name was not eye cathing either, shops were very old and cold looking.

They used to give guaranteed odds on all English and Irish handicaps. I went into Celtic Bookmakers on Grand National day and asked the cashier if they were honouring their best odds guaranteed for the National. The cashier told me that the Grand National wasn't a handicap. I told her it was, she told me it wasn't. She said she'd have to ring Dublin :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

RobertKK wrote: »
    Ivan could have trolled on boards to pass the day instead of drinking.

He'd break boards