Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Protestors yay or no

• 01-10-2014 6:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭crannglas

Just curious. Do you support protestors or do you expect no one to be questioned ,confronted stood up to,or to show their discomfort struggle etc.. Personally I believe in right to protest shout roar (if they feel need) Soon the dail will be marched upon by 200 thousand strong. Do you always just lay down and accept all they throw at you? Pretty soon the sugar tax will come in. And what would it take to get you off your. Butt to protest? And yes I will protest. So why the hatred of protestors who are standing up for your rights to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I'd welcome a sugar tax.

What

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,646 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

crannglas wrote: »
    Just curious. Do you support protestors or do you expect no one to be questioned ,confronted stood up to,or to show their discomfort struggle etc.. Personally I believe in right to protest shout roar (if they feel need) Soon the dail will be marched upon by 200 thousand strong. Do you always just lay down and accept all they throw at you? Pretty soon the sugar tax will come in. And what would it take to get you off your. Butt to protest? And yes I will protest. So why the hatred of protestors who are standing up for your rights to.

Well that's been kept quiet, protest? Yes......act the gob****e and bully, harass and intimidate peolle? No.

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭crannglas

bluewolf wrote: »
    What

People complain and call protestors pests etc.. why and do you support protestors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,634 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Are you asking or telling us?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Butt protest.

huhuhuhuhuh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

The level of thought and coherency of the OP is similar to most recent economic protests in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I call certain groups of protesters pests. Usually the ones from the far left of the spectrum. The "I don't want to contribute to anything but wan't all the benefits of a modern society" types.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

The vast majority of protests in Ireland tend to attract the same shower of crusties, tattooed Republicans, economically illiterate socialists, and troublemakers. The majority of people don't want to associate with those sorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,634 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

People complain and call protestors pests etc.. why and do you support protestors?

Well if it obviously depends on who is protesting and that they are protesting against.

But you get these ignorant "career" protestors who will go to pretty much anything going, without a blind clue what the hell is happening and they just get genuine causes bad names. These are what most people refer to as "pests".

I'd support anyone's right to protest - even if they get a bit obstructive (these days, I think you have to or you're wasting your time) - but that doesn't mean I agree with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Why are you asking whether people fit into just one or the other category?
    I fully support non violent, dignified demonstration - not being a pack of confrontational dicks spoiling for a fight no matter who gets hurt, and which just undermines them anyway.

Well that's been kept quiet, protest? Yes......act the gob****e and bully, harass and intimidate peolle? No.
    Didn't the EU and Irish government bully harass,intimidate,threaten us. And now use garda and prison to make people pay? Its happened before it will happen again. 200 thousand or more will march to the dail. Will you be one of them?

I call certain groups of protesters pests. Usually the ones from the far left of the spectrum. The "I don't want to contribute to anything but wan't all the benefits of a modern society" types.
    People who view having to pay a bill as an injustice, and who claim they're fighting for "the people" when they really only give a sh-t about themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Rather vague question.

Next up:
    The right to vote..... Don't ya just hate it?

Are you asking or telling us?
    Both.

Didn't the EU and Irish government bully harass,intimidate,threaten us. And now use garda and prison to make people pay? Its happened before it will happen again. 200 thousand or more will march to the dail. Will you be one of them?
    Well it's not the EU, Irish government and guards whom the more clown type protestor harasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Most protests I see are just a bunch of serial protesters for whom the protest is more important than the thing they're protesting about.
    They seem to opportunistically attach themselves to, and completely drown out, genuine issues in an attempt to radicalise new recruits for their socialist dream. Their misguided faith in Marxist dogma has them believing that their agitation will spark the revolution that will sweep them to power.
    Once a higher profile protest comes along, they drop everything and toddle off to that, rinse and repeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

Few people object to protests or the right to. They just dont support the generally nonsense arguments that protestors use to explain their cause. - frequently not going much further than the logic of - "Someone wants me to pay a bill ? I dont want to do that. So I shouldnt have to. I am going to protest about it. Meanwhile, I will try an concoct some spurious reason to convince myself I am doing the right thing".

People who view having to pay a bill as an injustice, and who claim they're fighting for "the people" when they really only give a sh-t about themselves.

In the broad spectrum of things all humans fight for themselves and their families so that things get better for them. So in long and short of it made it better for your life. Regardless of how it started. Like women's rights etc.. people don't have issues with paying their bills. We do however have issues paying three four times over under different headings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I would have went yes or nay.

The vast majority of protests in Ireland tend to attract the same shower of crusties, tattooed Republicans, economically illiterate socialists, and troublemakers. The majority of people don't want to associate with those sorts.
    I am a republican patriotic nationalist and I have no tats,never been in trouble or caused it and I may not have a masters in economics. But I don't need one to know you let them away with this it won't stop and more and more ahead. Sure aren't they after precious alcohol. Would ye lot protest then lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

200 thousand or more will march to the dail.

What kind of crazy talk is this!!

Both.

Not actually possible if you want to start a debate. I refer the gnetlemen to the answer I gave some moents ago:
    Well if it obviously depends on who is protesting and that they are protesting against.

But you get these ignorant "career" protestors who will go to pretty much anything going, without a blind clue what the hell is happening and they just get genuine causes bad names. These are what most people refer to as "pests".

I'd support anyone's right to protest - even if they get a bit obstructive (these days, I think you have to or you're wasting your time) - but that doesn't mean I agree with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

A lot of protests I don't agree with. I have no problem with the water charges or a sugar tax. Some people who protest are so vehement in their own moral authority that they can be pests. If I agree with a protest I will applaud it or join in. If I disagree with and it is interfering with my personal freedom or space I will dislike it. However if people protest in a forthright but reasonable manner, for or against the protest, I would have no problem.

Unfortunately you will always have those thrill seekers type in mix along with people who have no control over temper,emotions. Sorry I can't paragraph and for poor construction. I am on my phone. I agree these days obstructive behaviour seems to come with protests and no one to blame except the governments who are choking the people that keep shops,bins,warehouses, country going.

dirtyden wrote: »
    A lot of protests I don't agree with. I have no problem with the water charges or a sugar tax. Some people who protest are so vehement in their own moral authority that they can be pests. If I agree with a protest I will applaud it or join in. If I disagree with and it is interfering with my personal freedom or space I will dislike it. However if people protest in a forthright but reasonable manner, for or against the protest, I would have no problem.
    Don't you get it though? You already pau tax on sugary items and then some and you pay for your water to. Why are people so acceptant and lethargic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Yes..I do support them..I come from a line of people who protested for change in this country..sometimes it worked..sometimes it didnt..it keeps the politicians on their toes and teaches the next generation not to become numbed to the plight of others.

Those who dont are entitled to their beliefs but shouldn't scorn, belittle or try to bully those who do online on forums like this.

Marching for better pay, workers rights, human rights, anti war, drop the debt is a necessity in an unfair society. Until these issues are resolved and corruption cleaned up I hope that people with a social conscience will continue to come together to form a more just society.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Don't you get it though? You already pau tax on sugary items and then some and you pay for your water to. Why are people so acceptant and lethargic.

I see perfectly clearly. I am really not sure you do.

Carry on with your thread though, as is your right as you are causing no trouble here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

So why the hatred of protestors who are standing up for your rights to.

The protestors are about as representative of the people of Ireland as the Green Party but act with a completely undeserved moral high ground.

EDIT: Protestors is actually too kind a word. I would support the right to protest. It's the intimidation and violence that loses them the title of protestor for me.

Well it's not the EU, Irish government and guards whom the more clown type protestor harasses.
    When they do march on dail peacefully they are shoved and hit and called all sorts for standing up for their rights. They do however threaten harass and push people to the worse alternatives. Look at greece . People all supporting them here in Ireland( good on them etc..) yet same stuff happening here and people sitting on their hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The recent abortion march in Dublin had a loon roaring for men to know their place.

So OP, should people attend protests where they are not even wanted?

As for that loon she's forgotten that men vote too

padma wrote: »
    Yes..I do support them..I come from a line of people who protested for change in this country..sometimes it worked..sometimes it didnt..it keeps the politicians on their toes and teaches the next generation not to become numbed to the plight of others.

Those who dont are entitled to their beliefs but shouldn't scorn, belittle or try to bully those who do online on forums like this.

Marching for better pay, workers rights, human rights, anti war, drop the debt is a necessity in an unfair society. Until these issues are resolved and corruption cleaned up I hope that people with a social conscience will continue to come together to form a more just society.
    Great post! Why is there so little appetite in Ireland to stand up for themselves and reign in the already lose governments we have the last 15 years to 20 years.

OP, I'm curious as to why you ask if people support protestors? Is the act of protesting the most important thing in your eyes?

mikemac1 wrote: »
    The recent abortion march in Dublin had a loon roaring for men to know their place.

So OP, should people attend protests where they are not even wanted?

As for that loon she's forgotten that men vote too
    Ah always one isn't there. Yes you have right to stand up for what you believe in.

Great post! Why is there so little appetite in Ireland to stand up for themselves and reign in the already lose governments we have the last 15 years to 20 years.

Because most people in Ireland are sharp enough to both know that it would be pointless, and that they elected the government and so have the government they deserve.

alias no.9 wrote: »
    OP, I'm curious as to why you ask if people support protestors? Is the act of protesting the most important thing in your eyes?

I ask because I see very little support and alot of animosity towards protestors for what ever it may be. Protesting is an important part of keeping the rights of the people protected, as obviously not protected by the government.

Because most people in Ireland are sharp enough to both know that it would be pointless, and that they elected the government and so have the government they deserve.
    When a government party gets elected by a small majority.it only shows the people of said small minority got who they elected. Rest of us got shafted. No seems to me although unhappy with decisions that are being made and the still constant criminal cronyism shown time and time again till present. These people are just sitting back and taking it. Nothing to sharp about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

I went to the poll tax demonstrations in London years ago. It was a good cause but my favourite part was the chaos and anarchy.

When a government party gets elected by a small majority.it only shows the people of said small minority got who they elected. Rest of us got shafted. No seems to me although unhappy with decisions that are being made and the still constant criminal cronyism shown time and time again till present. These people are just sitting back and taking it. Nothing to sharp about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Hold the Cheez Whiz

I think people in Ireland are willing to go out and protest (although less so than in some neighboring countries). Certainly pensioners, anti-abortion groups, students, and public sector unions are! That said, they aren't willing to if the protests are in any way, shape, or form sponsored or organized by the Socialist Party, Eirigi, or fellow-travellers. That's the difference, OP (as far as I can tell anyway).

I think people in Ireland are willing to go out and protest (although less so than in some neighboring countries). Certainly pensioners, anti-abortion groups, students, and public sector unions are!

i.e. those who dont have something more useful to do or can afford to indulge themselves with a group hug. And make themselves feel as if 'at least we are doing something!'

I think people in Ireland are willing to go out and protest (although less so than in some neighboring countries). Certainly pensioners, anti-abortion groups, students, and public sector unions are! That said, they aren't willing to if the protests are in any way, shape, or form sponsored or organized by the Socialist Party, Eirigi, or fellow-travellers. That's the difference, OP (as far as I can tell anyway).
    Exactly Hold the cheez whiz. They as a hole won't go stand up for them selves unless someone sends the bus it seems. Didn't ff etc.. do that and still do that. Send the buses to pick up their voters lol.

I ask because I see very little support and alot of animosity towards protestors for what ever it may be.
    A lack of popular support should certainly trigger some reflection amongst the protesters, alas it rarely does. Where popular support is not forthcoming, then that calls into question the cause or the motives/actions of the protestors. Maybe next time the cause seems to be genuine, have a look around you and ask yourself why each of the protestors are there? What's their agenda?
    Protesting is an important part of keeping the rights of the people protected, as obviously not protected by the government.

Perhaps. I support the right to protest but I see no reason to support protestors however. I may support a cause and even join a protest in support of a cause but supporting protestors puts protestors rather than the cause centre stage.
    Once a protest infringes on any persons ability to go about their daily business, perhaps you should consider their animosity as their own little counter protest, I support their right to this counter protest, do you?

people don't have issues with paying their bills. We do however have issues paying three four times over under different headings.
    I don't mean something as contentious as water charges but just your bog-standard phone/electricity bill, even though it's based on their own usage.
    padma wrote: »

And protesters shouldn't do the same, like the Greyhound picketers intimidating that woman, or the water meter technicians being harassed. Easy targets - only reason why.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I support protestors who have a valid point and have researched their argument properly.

99.9% of protests in this country are the same braying lack-wits who barely understand what they are whinging about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Ireland is the only country in the world where you see protesters outside AA meetings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Phoebas wrote: »
    What kind of crazy talk is this!!

There are approximately 200 'down with everything' groups on Facebook.

Each one has the same 1000 or so followers.

It's basic maths tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Boards is not an accurate representation in how people think. Online forums are filled with people who have an agenda, from left to right. Most people are at home watching tv or at meetings, evening classes, gym etc..a lot of people dont go online to debate the finer points of who is right and who is wrong.

When the time is so limited and if you have a day time job the opportunity to march on the streets is not there. The best thing you can do is not insult those who are out on the streets be it teachers nurses or whatever background they are.

Sitting at home tut tutting about those who are is hopeless. With the crowd we have currently in government its no wonder they cant appear freely in public. Look at how they hurt those with disabilities, the sick, the student, the closing down of local garda stations, the water corruption, the implementing a household tax..the closing down of emergency wards and so on and so forth.

Lining them up against a wall is pointless as an Irish person we are too civilized, but they do deserve a kick in the hole and they got it at the last local elections..funny how since the last elections theyve started to drop the poor mouth and are now looking at giving a little back in the budget soon. What handouts to persuade the vote back in to their camps? A few quid off ur tax bill so you will forget about the water tax?

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Blood1

The Irish are not people who come out in strength and until they stand up more and more will be put into the mix, more taxes more charges.

Blood1 wrote: »
    The Irish are not people who come out in strength and until they stand up more and more will be put into the mix, more taxes more charges.

They are pretty docile. Preferring to sit in the pub or in front of the TV bitching. What they do not quite link is how their politicians and public service is a perfect reflection of those whining about them.