Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

He shouldnt be given a new deal under any circumstances unless he can prove he can stay fit for a sustained period of time. He's taking up a squad place and should have to earn it like any other player.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

Wenger on @Alexis_Sanchez: "Unfortunately you never know how far you can push players.

jaysus, I hate to hear that sort of talk...
    you never know.... ffs your suppossed to know, thats what we have all the science and coachs and labs and tests for.....

would much prefer to hear him say we wont push anyone too far..
    We have already pushed too many players beyond their limits and they have been crocked in recent seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

Wenger on @Alexis_Sanchez: "Unfortunately you never know how far you can push players.

you never know.... ffs your suppossed to know, thats what we have all the science and coachs and labs and tests for.....

We have already pushed too many players beyond their limits and they have been crocked in recent seasons.

Ah it's not just all numbers and graphs

It might be as simple as saying I'm giving you a rest and Sanchez being unhappy because he feels okay to play. So he's in a situation where he doesn't want to upset his morale

"In training he doesn't even want to do recovery days," Walcott said. "That's how much he loves football. All the guys have told him he needs to chill out because, at Christmas when all the fixtures come along, it's going to catch up with you.
    "He doesn't care, he just wants to play and win. He's a good leader, and something that we haven't had in the Arsenal team before. He's a dream to play with."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

byrneg28 wrote: »

It might be as simple as saying I'm giving you a rest and Sanchez being unhappy because he feels okay to play. So he's in a situation where he doesn't want to upset his morale

"In training he doesn't even want to do recovery days," Walcott said. "That's how much he loves football. All the guys have told him he needs to chill out because, at Christmas when all the fixtures come along, it's going to catch up with you.
    "He doesn't care, he just wants to play and win. He's a good leader, and something that we haven't had in the Arsenal team before. He's a dream to play with."

I love and appreciate that mentality and what Sanchez has brought to us. I would just be worried that he'll run himself into the ground. Everyone wants to play they'll say their fit when their not etc and sometimes it can really back fire.

We do have coaching and fitness staff for exactly this sort of thing and i think at some stage it is best to listen to them. I mean don't get me wrong if Sanchez plays every game this year and is always fit happy days. But i would be happy to see some rotation and to see Arsenal are cautious and to see that he's happy to take the backseat to someone like Campbell every once in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Haha, I guess the USA would be the safest place to play ball? Can't remember the last time I've seen a bad foul there, although I do see 4 or 5 games a year.

You obviously haven't been watching Tim Cahill, still a summer!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

I love and appreciate that mentality and what Sanchez has brought to us. I would just be worried that he'll run himself into the ground. Everyone wants to play they'll say their fit when their not etc and sometimes it can really back fire.

We do have coaching and fitness staff for exactly this sort of thing and i think at some stage it is best to listen to them. I mean don't get me wrong if Sanchez plays every game this year and is always fit happy days. But i would be happy to see some rotation and to see Arsenal are cautious and to see that he's happy to take the backseat to someone like Campbell every once in a while.

I'm sure that's the reason your man Shad forsythe was brought in, to look at the players when they've to stop and when they're fully fit and I guess that was the reason Walcott was held back...I think Sanchez will be definitely given a break for Gala game...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

It's a bit left field to consider, but what if all these "breaks" etc are the root cause of the injury issues. It may be one thing to give players a rest in terms of being tired but I wonder if there is any possibility that their bodies don't react well to being taken off a sustained level of endurance. Coming back somehow strains the body.

Probably all crazy but might make a little sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    You obviously haven't been watching Tim Cahill, still a summer!

???
    I'm sure that's the reason your man Shad forsythe was brought in, to look at the players when they've to stop and when they're fully fit and I guess that was the reason Walcott was held back...I think Sanchez will be definitely given a break for Gala game...

Well there's no reason to play him at Gala and looking at the press conference I think Wenger made it clear he'll be playing the likes of Rosicky,Campbell,pod etc. Which is a good thing for those guys and for Sanchez but don't be surprised if he starts because he threw a hissy when he was asked to take a break :pac:
    Hyzepher wrote: »
    It's a bit left field to consider, but what if all these "breaks" etc are the root cause of the injury issues. It may be one thing to give players a rest in terms of being tired but I wonder if there is any possibility that their bodies don't react well to being taken off a sustained level of endurance. Coming back somehow strains the body.

Probably all crazy but might make a little sense

It does make sense in theory, i mean after long periods players need to be eased back into things, coming back too fast is just asking for trouble and we've done that a lot over the years, we only now see some caution with the likes of Walcott which again is a good thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

byrneg28 wrote: »

Wenger is the manager so he should not make the call not the player.

Wenger should rest Sanchez on the bench at least for the Stoke game on saturday. if need be, bring him on with half an hour to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Wenger is the manager so he should not make the call not the player.

Wenger should rest Sanchez on the bench at least for the Stoke game on saturday. if need be, bring him on with half an hour to go.

I'd rather rest him for Galatasary. Much less riding on that game than tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

Wenger wrote:

Im not specifically talking about resting Sanchez or any particular player, Im talking about in general, our rotation system , and how in my opinion we over use players. The injury list bares that out...

Anyways looking forward to the xmas period and a bucket load of games

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

I'm 110% for change, I'm over the fence.

But there has to be some reason in here, Wenger can't be called out for everything. If he drops Sanchez for Stoke and we don't win he'll be called out if he plays him and we win people will say maybe he should be rested.

I feel Wenger needs to move on because I feel he comes up short in some key areas but he is 80% spot on with most things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭carltonleon

Im not specifically talking about resting Sanchez or any particular player, Im talking about in general, our rotation system , and how in my opinion we over use players. The injury list bares that out...

Anyways looking forward to the xmas period and a bucket load of games

Agree totally, I think Poldi, Rosicky and Campbell have been seriously under used this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

???

A scummer I meant haha poxy autocorrect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

They should have quoted the rest too. It's kind of out of context the way they did it.

Wenger basically said he was in the red zone but you don't know when he'd get injured.

It's obvious that he must play v stoke and rest v gala.

There's no other option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Two things I've noticed a difference in.

1: players are coming back quicker than anticipated (though this could just be smart PR)

2: injury crisis or not, players are being eased back in over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

B4IFRWYIgAEbAcW.png

Am afraid for Sanchez up against the likes of Shawcross and Adam tomorrow. Just hope he gets through it in one piece. His first British newspaper interview is in the Times tomorrow.

10850146_780162355408465_2221517974329909855_n.jpg?oh=5cd00c24fea1dff160d4be77a45e8ddf&oe=54FD9790

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

10850146_780162355408465_2221517974329909855_n.jpg?oh=5cd00c24fea1dff160d4be77a45e8ddf&oe=54FD9790

Thats gas. Pod looks like a lost WW2 fighter pilot!

Will be a tough game today. Stoke are good on the counter and Bojan has been playing well lately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

jonny666 wrote: »
    Thats gas. Pod looks like a lost WW2 fighter pilot!

Will be a tough game today. Stoke are good on the counter and Bojan has been playing well lately

Why cant we hit teams on the counter for a change!!

My nerves cant take it anymore!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,456 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The views on Wenger are as many and varied from Arsenal fans everywhere.
    This article is typical --

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/30323697

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

No Kos or Monreal, Bellerin in with Chambers at CB

Welbeck replaced by Giroud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Bellerin is starting for us today, I guess Gibbs didn't pass fit so.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Team:
    Martinez, Bellerin, Chambers, Mertesacker, Gibbs, Flamini, Ramsey, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Alexis, Cazorla, Giroud

Subs:
    Szczesny, Koscielny, Ajayi, Maitland-Niles, Campbell, Podolski, Welbeck

So Martinez keeps his place, and Bellerin starts.

Don't understand Koscielney not playing today and being on the bench especially against Stoke who are strong in the air and very physical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Don't understand Koscielney not playing today and being on the bench especially against Stoke who are strong in the air and very physical.

There's your answer.

Gwan Newcastle!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

CatInABox wrote: »
    Team:
    Martinez, Bellerin, Chambers, Mertesacker, Gibbs, Flamini, Ramsey, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Alexis, Cazorla, Giroud

Subs:
    Szczesny, Koscielny, Ajayi, Maitland-Niles, Campbell, Podolski, Welbeck

So Martinez keeps his place, and Bellerin starts.

Shocking numbers of injuries.

Ospina - Debuchy, Hayden, Monreal - Arteta, Wilshere, Rosicky, Ozil - Gnabry, Sanogo, Walcott.

And with Diaby on the bench for the injureds.

There's your answer.

So why not Kos as CB and Chambers as RB?
    Bellerin is very light for this kind of game.
    Hope i'm wrong but I don't like these changes in defence today.
    I would have left it as it was during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Its Only Ray Parlour

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Gwan Newcastle!!

Oh, darn. Chelsea's unbeaten streak is going to be broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,119 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Oh, darn. Chelsea's unbeaten streak is going to be broken.

Newcastle down to ten men and Chelsea pull one back.

Far from over yet big mouth. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Ye still have it lads :)

Invincibles my arse.

The Invincibles live on for another season. Well done Newcastle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

49 49 UNDEFEATED
    49 49 I SAY
    49 49 UNDEFEATED
    PLAYING FOOTBALL THE ARSENAL WAY!

Arsenal talking about history,

Chelsea still struggling to replicate it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Happy Invincibles Day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I didn't see that coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,119 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

bad2dabone wrote: »
    Happy Invincibles Day!

Tis a great day to be sure!

In a great mood now for the day. i honestly had a bad feeling all year that Chelsea were going to do it this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭northknife

B39xI85CYAE5thz.png

What the fcuk is this?!!

SPECIALISTS IN FAILURE, SPECIALISTS IN FAILURE, A LA LA LA, OOH A LA LA LA OHH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Or to take a scene from one of my favourite movies :)

330775.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Not looking forward to this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

ugh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

lol

Well that's brought us down to earth rather quickly!!

That's what happens when you start messing around with the defence.
    Never send a boy on a man's mission.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

That didn't take long, 20 poxy seconds :mad:

This is gonna be painful.

Bellerin and chambers way to inexperienced in those positions.

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Lahinchians

Ahhh giroud. ...

How why??

Bad miss by Giroud

Think there will be more goals in this.