Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    What are you basing this off?
    The few CL appearances you've seen? or just off the WC14?

Because lets be honest you wasn't watching Olympiacos play domestically last year.

Ox would be far above Campbell as it stands.

i watched lots of there CL games mate. he was quality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

25/1 just put a few bob on us

Got the feeling today

I'd go to a doctor mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Gervinho tearing city's defence a new one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,445 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Gervinho tearing city's defence a new one!!

No end product though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

No end product though.

Yeah noticed that, same old I suppose!!

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Yeah noticed that, same old I suppose!!

If they opened the gate in the corner he'd be away down by the Colosseum now dribbling away.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭kevinroche3333

Are any of the "Wenger should buy Carvalho" gang watching how he is playing against Chelsea tonight?

No. Watching City.
    How's he doing?

No. Watching City.
    How's he doing?

Havent seen anything to suggest he is worth 30m or whatever the figure is.
    Not fair to judge on this game alone though.
    Solid player but even Mikel managed to nutmeg him at one stage!

Havent seen anything to suggest he is worth 30m or whatever the figure is.
    Not fair to judge on this game alone though.
    Solid player but even Mikel managed to nutmeg him at one stage!

Yellow card and subbed off after an hour

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Yellow card and subbed off after an hour

He's ideal to replace flamini so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,127 ✭✭✭G1032

So we're looking at one of

Barcelona
    Athletico
    Bayern
    Monaco
    Porto
    Real

Hmmmm. Not looking good really!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭batistuta9

efb wrote: »
    Some of his appearances were as subs

yeah 10, joint highest with poldi

ox is 7th in minutes played.

alexis is third on this for mins. but sky had him top

http://www.transfermarkt.com/11tm/leistungsdaten/verein/11/plus/1/reldata/&2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

I'd take Atletico Porto or Monaco happily enough.

It will of course be Real or Bayern though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Fook Roma anyway, needed both teams to score as the last leg of a big accumulator. Stupid fcuking head on Gervinho

edit
    I realise this is nothing to do with Arsenal, just needed to vent. Has Cole been making the Roma team lately?

batistuta9 wrote: »
    yeah 10, joint highest with poldi

ox is 7th in minutes played.

alexis is third on this for mins. but sky had him top

http://www.transfermarkt.com/11tm/leistungsdaten/verein/11/plus/1/reldata/&2014

25 appearances he's top

batistuta9 wrote: »
    there was a table of most minutes played this season on MNF on sky, all comps & clubs.
    sanchez was top, mert & chambers were on it too. don't think ox was

Ox has most appearances, your link proved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Ox has most appearances, your link proved it.

Yeah we knew that. So what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

Lads I'm gona try get tickets for the stoke game in Jan when they go on sale tomorrow. From the lads and ladies here who've been, what are the seats I should be aiming to get? I was thinking the upper part of the lower tier along the wings, or should I go higher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

Jaafa wrote: »
    Lads I'm gona try get tickets for the stoke game in Jan when they go on sale tomorrow. From the lads and ladies here who've been, what are the seats I should be aiming to get? I was thinking the upper part of the lower tier along the wings, or should I go higher?

I prefer high up and behind either goal. Just personal preference at end of day I spose. Nice to be behind goal when they are shooting into it though.

Anywhere is good viewing tbh.I've never been in the same place twice and always enjoyed the games

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

I generally hope for a ticket near the middle, upper tier, then once I finally get through the long long queue, I completely panic purchase whichever ticket I can....

Hasn't failed me yet, you'd be hard pushed not to enjoy the view. The game on the other game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Do any online bookies do bets on the CL draw? Would love to put money on us drawing Bayern (or Real/Barca).

It's the only way I can think to help offset the inevitable a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

Do any online bookies do bets on the CL draw? Would love to put money on us drawing Bayern (or Real/Barca).

Im sure they'd give you the odds if you rang up

It should be 6/1 for any team you pick

actually scrap the 6/1 rule, I forgot to take other teams into account and how the draw plays out etc.

https://twitter.com/MisterChiping/status/542795284133470208/photo/1

Bayern - most likely
    Monaco - second

all the rest equal probability

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I believe some posters on this forum actively enjoy being jizzputins and getting down other poster's throats at any available opportunity. So what if some people think Arsenal might win the Champions League, stranger things have happened, the knockout is in february and we could be looking at a team that has hit form at that stage, has all their players to their disposal with the possible addition of two defensive players who can play for us in the Champions League. At the very least it's worth a cheeky 10er.

Cheers for the advice lads, appreciated. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

I have a sneaky feeling we'll get Real :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

jamescd wrote: »
    I have a sneaky feeling we'll get Real :(

No bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Honestly we won't win the whole thing so if we did come up against Madrid i'd be ok with it. I enjoy watching us play against the big teams in europe since there never boring.

That being said i'd like to avoid Barca/Bayern.. We've played them too much over the years.

Would love PSG.

Honestly we won't win the whole thing so if we did come up against Madrid i'd be ok with it. I enjoy watching us play against the big teams in europe since there never boring.

That being said i'd like to avoid Barca/Bayern.. We've played them too much over the years.

Would love PSG.

cant get PSG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,127 ✭✭✭G1032

byrneg28 wrote: »
    Im sure they'd give you the odds if you rang up

It should be 6/1 for any team you pick

I sincerely doubt it. Bookies are there to make a profit..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

byrneg28 wrote: »
    actually scrap the 6/1 rule, I forgot to take other teams into account and how the draw plays out etc.

https://twitter.com/MisterChiping/status/542795284133470208/photo/1

Bayern - most likely
    Monaco - second

all the rest equal probability

Let's hope we get Monaco, no doubt it'll be Bayern or barca.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Would love PSG.

PSG were runners up so we cant draw them.

One of Bayern/Barca/Real/. We all know its inevitable.

keano_afc wrote: »
    PSG were runners up so we cant draw them.

One of Bayern/Barca/Real/. We all know its inevitable.

Sure what about it. If u wanna be the best then u have to beat the best.
    No point being in the competition looking for soft draws. Some of our best nights have been those battles with the big clubs. I'd love Real though, seen enough of Barca and Bayern the last couple of years. Much prefer to watch us against the elite than be d1cking about on a Thursday night against some players we've never heard of

Just got me Arsenal Stoke tickets. Lot easier than I was expecting :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭wawaman

Last saturday is still fresh in the mind im guessing !! :(

wawaman wrote: »
    Last saturday is still fresh in the mind im guessing !! :(

The flights were booked before last Saturday I'm afraid. I do truly hate Stoke though so hopefully we get one over on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭ironkiwi

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NJ41ZH3lUsE

Don't know if this was posted yet but if not here is one to cheer everyone up

Got mine too, been following Arsenal since 2005 and this will be my first ever Arsenal game I'm going to see in person. :D

Awesome! Hopefully we get a good result! I was lucky enough to see us twice in Highbury and I'd say I've been to the emirates 8 or 9 times at this stage. Love the Emirates but I do miss that wonderful old ground down the road. Whereabouts are ye sitting? I got Upper North Bank which is pretty much what I wanted. Was in that spot once in 2007 to see us hammer Derby 5-0, I'll take a repeat of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Looking at Rodgers he's getting hammered about his transfer policy but what do you make of wengers in the same time?

Podolski - 11m hit
    Giroud - 13m hit
    Santi - 15m hit
    Monreal - 8.5m undecided but looking a miss

Sanago - free miss
    Ozil - 42.5m good player but hasn't really justified his price tag
    Flamini - free good start, useful player, shouldn't be a starter, hit for the price

Loan - viviano, kallstrom

Chambers - 11m looking like a good buy
    Ospina - 3.2m undecided
    Sanchez - 30m looks an excellent buy
    Debuchy - 12m undecided injured so far
    Welbeck - 16m undecided, has so many attributes just shocking in front of goal

I got the prices off wiki, they don't look that accurate but they're all undisclosed so it's all just ball park figures anyway.

I like this.

B4klg5CCYAEQazq.jpg

Enjoy! (If one can enjoy a Stoke game...)

Pod is a hit? Özil only ok...???

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Looking at Rodgers he's getting hammered about his transfer policy but what do you make of wengers in the same time?

Podolski - 11m hit
    Giroud - 13m hit
    Santi - 15m hit
    Monreal - 8.5m undecided but looking a miss

Sanago - free miss
    Ozil - 42.5m good player but hasn't really justified his price tag
    Flamini - free good start, useful player, shouldn't be a starter, hit for the price

Loan - viviano, kallstrom

Chambers - 11m looking like a good buy
    Ospina - 3.2m undecided
    Sanchez - 30m looks an excellent buy
    Debuchy - 12m undecided injured so far
    Welbeck - 16m undecided, has so many attributes just shocking in front of goal

I got the prices off wiki, they don't look that accurate but they're all undisclosed so it's all just ball park figures anyway.

It looks very good and in most cases as the prices paid, Debuchy for me is decided, he's a great RB really like him. Welbeck is doing exactly what you would expect and is good value for what was paid. I think Monreal is a hit at 8.5m.

Roisin from TheApprentice is an Arsenal fan! Love her more!

Pod is a hit? Özil only ok...???

I'd say pod is a bit hit and miss but not so bad as to be a flop. Ozil has been only ok in relation to his price tag, he hasn't made anywhere near the impact sanchez has

Roisin from TheApprentice is an Arsenal fan! Love her more!

We can fight over her and Giroud now

Arsene Wenger sings "Let it Go" - Cesc Fabregas e…: http://youtu.be/YJMr6nrl7c0

Marvellous