Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Looking at Rodgers he's getting hammered about his transfer policy but what do you make of wengers in the same time?

Podolski - 11m hit
    Giroud - 13m hit
    Santi - 15m hit
    Monreal - 8.5m undecided but looking a miss

Sanago - free miss
    Ozil - 42.5m good player but hasn't really justified his price tag
    Flamini - free good start, useful player, shouldn't be a starter, hit for the price

Loan - viviano, kallstrom

Chambers - 11m looking like a good buy
    Ospina - 3.2m undecided
    Sanchez - 30m looks an excellent buy
    Debuchy - 12m undecided injured so far
    Welbeck - 16m undecided, has so many attributes just shocking in front of goal

I got the prices off wiki, they don't look that accurate but they're all undisclosed so it's all just ball park figures anyway.

In comparison to Rodgers spent, I'm really quite pleased

Fabio Borini Roma £10,400,000 - Dirt.

Joe Allen Swansea City £15,000,000 - Not worth 15m. Ok player

Oussama Assaidi Heerenveen - £3,000,000 On loan

Samed Yesil Bayer Leverkusen - £1,000,000 who?

Daniel Sturridge Chelsea £12,000,000 - Great buy. Well worth 12m

Philippe Coutinho Inter Milan £8,500,000 - Great buy. Well worth 8.5m

João Carlos Teixeira Sporting Lisbon - £830,000 who?

Luis Alberto Sevilla £6,800,000 - Dirt .

Iago Aspas Celta Vigo £7,000,000 - Dirt.

Simon Mignolet Sunderland £9,000,000 - Genuinely the worst keeper in the league

Kolo Touré Free Transfer Free - Not bad for free

Mamadou Sakho Paris St Germain £15,000,000 - Good defender.

Tiago Ilori Sporting Lisbon £7,000,000 - havent seen much dont know where hes gone

Rickie Lambert Southampton £4,500,000 - meh

Adam Lallana Southampton £25,000,000 - okay player. not worth 25m

Emre Can Bayer Leverkusen £9,750,000 - good player.

Lazar Markovic Benfica £19,800,000 - dirt.

Dejan Lovren Southampton £20,000,000 - good for shampton, gone missing a bit for pool. not worth 20m

Divick Origi Lille £9,800,000 * on loan

Alberto Moreno Sevilla £12,000,000 * good player - good price

Mario Balotelli AC Milan £16,000,000 - dirt, and I was devastated when he didn't sign for Arsenal. WENGERKNOWS :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

bad2dabone wrote: »
    We can fight over her and Giroud now

You can have her, something tells me she and Giroud would get together leave us behind lol

wonga77 wrote: »
    I'd say pod is a bit hit and miss but not so bad as to be a flop. Ozil has been only ok in relation to his price tag, he hasn't made anywhere near the impact sanchez has

I think Özil has been immence. His quiet effectiveness is overlooked by loud UK tabloid press

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

efb wrote: »
    Roisin from TheApprentice is an Arsenal fan! Love her more!

She's immaculate. Makes this years show so much more watchable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

On pod, if 7 and below was undecided, pod would get a 7.1 rating. As a left winger or lone striker very ineffective, but as a super sub he's amazing. I would like to see him in a front 2 but we don't really have the midfield for that to happen.

On ozil, I said he's a good player.

Funny thing about Liverpools hits are, countiho will be considered a hit because he only cost 8.5m, on form he's amazing but he blows so hot and cold and is struggling to get into the pool team.

On sturridge, 12m is a great price, but What's stopping him being a Diaby, touch wood it's not happening but his career so far suggests it's a real possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

On pod, if 7 and below was undecided, pod would get a 7.1 rating. As a left winger or lone striker very ineffective, but as a super sub he's amazing. I would like to see him in a front 2 but we don't really have the midfield for that to happen.

On ozil, I said he's a good player.

Funny thing about Liverpools hits are, countiho will be considered a hit because he only cost 8.5m, on form he's amazing but he blows so hot and cold and is struggling to get into the pool team.

On sturridge, 12m is a great price, but What's stopping him being a Diaby, touch wood it's not happening but his career so far suggests it's a real possibility.

Pod was a good buy whatever way you look at it. He might have been misused but he's still a good squad player and contributed some important goals over the last few years.

Ozil was a good buy and one we needed to make to prove we were over financial difficulties and to make a statement of intent.

Coutiniho has played like an 8.5M player tbh very inconsistent as you said and wouldn't make the starting 11 of any of the top 5 or 6 teams.

As for Sturridge whatever about injuries but Pool would have paid 30M just for the season he gave them last year alone. An absolute steal and if Rodgers can't keep him fit it shouldn't be a reflection of whether he was worth it or not. He was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Delighted Rambo got his few goals the last night. Time to show he is the best centre midfielder in the league now.

And I genuinely think we are gonna win the champions league this year :D

You're killing me here Raf :pac:

Raf32 wrote: »

Pass the dutchie dude

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Raf32 wrote: »

Raf keep those thoughts to yourself!

dont jinx it!

Its wrote in the stars lad, i can see it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Ugh, Wenger has said it looks like Koscielny won't be fit for the weekend. Also Monreal still out with Chambers suspended. Means we've got Debuchy, Per, Gibbs and Bellerin to choose from in terms of first teamers. I was only thinking earlier that with Kos and Debuchy back we were looking so much better off. :(

Man that is rough... Deb,Per,Flam,Bell against the likes of Cisse. With who holding? Arteta's still out isn't he? That would mean Ox and Rambo in front of the back 4.

Gibbs is available as far as I know but that doesn't change the centre back situation. Provided Wenger isn't just playing mind games and Koscielny is genuinely not available I can't see how they'll lineup. Play Flamster or Gibbs CB? Other than that you'd have to bring a youth player in.

Sorry i meant Gibbs instead of Bell. Per and Flam at CB is so dangerous no pace at all. they'd have to sit ridiculously deep inviting the pressure on. Or play a relatively high line with Gibbs and Deb sitting back a lot to cover, Gibbs at CB might be the solution but it's not good either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Put Martinez at CB sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

Awesome! Hopefully we get a good result! I was lucky enough to see us twice in Highbury and I'd say I've been to the emirates 8 or 9 times at this stage. Love the Emirates but I do miss that wonderful old ground down the road. Whereabouts are ye sitting? I got Upper North Bank which is pretty much what I wanted. Was in that spot once in 2007 to see us hammer Derby 5-0, I'll take a repeat of that!

Upper part of the lower tier at the clock end, on the corner, there was hardly any left by the time I got in. Yeah I think we'll stomp them at the emirates provided we get some players back soon.

Looking at Rodgers he's getting hammered about his transfer policy but what do you make of wengers in the same time?

Podolski - 11m hit
    Giroud - 13m hit
    Santi - 15m hit
    Monreal - 8.5m undecided but looking a miss

Sanago - free miss
    Ozil - 42.5m good player but hasn't really justified his price tag
    Flamini - free good start, useful player, shouldn't be a starter, hit for the price

Loan - viviano, kallstrom

Chambers - 11m looking like a good buy
    Ospina - 3.2m undecided
    Sanchez - 30m looks an excellent buy
    Debuchy - 12m undecided injured so far
    Welbeck - 16m undecided, has so many attributes just shocking in front of goal

I got the prices off wiki, they don't look that accurate but they're all undisclosed so it's all just ball park figures anyway.
    Monreal has had a positive impact on the team having lost Clichy.
    For all the hits there we've not moved up the table in that time.

greendom wrote: »
    never miss the chance to sprinkle a bit of negativity there ;)

It's the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

It's the truth.

yes and it needs spelling out, every, single, time!

We also won a trophy

Only one centre half available. Bloody hell, thats shambolic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Jaafa wrote: »
    Got mine too, been following Arsenal since 2005 and this will be my first ever Arsenal game I'm going to see in person. :D
    Got mine too. First time in a few years

yes and it needs spelling out, every, single, time!

We also won a trophy

Why do you get so bothered when someone points it out tho?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Monreal has had a positive impact on the team having lost Clichy.
    For all the hits there we've not moved up the table in that time.

The key is that some of them are hits for the price paid or hits in the way they were useful players for us.

But real hits?

I mean world class hits?

Sanchez (though small sample size). Potentially Debuchy or Ozil in the future. Potentially Chambers someday?

Everyone else on that list will always be someone you need to replace if you fancy winning the league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Why do you get so bothered when someone points it out tho?

Same reason I get annoyed when 'Last Christmas' comes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

if it riles me enough, I respond - I suppose I could just let it go, but that would imply tacit agreement.

...and he's trying to get to 10,000 posts

• Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

Ah Jaysus, come'on lads...this is really getting petty now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Is BT Sports down for anyone else?

Mr Blobby wrote: »

yeah, down here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Basil3 wrote: »
    Mr Blobby wrote: »

yeah, down here

it's not down, the EL is geo-blocked here on BT sport

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Everyone on this forum should read Tim stilmans coloum on arseblog this evening

For some reason I can't link it

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭kevinroche3333

Everyone on this forum should read Tim stilmans coloum on arseblog this evening

For some reason I can't link it

http://arseblog.com/2014/12/always-crashing-in-the-same-car/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭emmetlego

A brilliant piece by Stillman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

He's worth following on Twitter too - very intelligent, articulate and funny.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/dec/08/booing-arsene-wenger-arsenal-fans-media

Stillman linked this in his piece, very well written article on the Wenger situation.

Just as an experiment I'm gonna look at statto at last season, 10 seasons ago and 20 seconds ago for home advantage for teams. I'm not arsed right now (if someone wants to give me CSV files for league tables work away :pac: ) with doing the entire table but I'll go with the teams finishing 1st, 3rd, 7th and 11th because I love primes but don't want to skew too much to the top end of the table and the top row is the easiest to look at. I haven't even looked at the tab yet so let's see:

2013-14
    1st: Manchester City - Home: 52 points Away: 34 points (+53%)
    3rd: Chelsea - Home: 48 points. Away: 34 points (+41%)
    7th: Manchester United - Home: 30 points. Away: 34 points. (-12%)
    11th: Crystal Palace - Home: 27 points. Away: 18 points. (+50%)
    Average home advantage: 28.5%

2003-04
    1st: Arsenal - Home: 49 points. Away: 41 points. (+20%)
    3rd: Manchester United - Home: 40 points. Away: 35 points. (+14%)
    7th: Charlton - Home: 27 points. Away: 26 points. (+4%)
    11th: Middlesbrough - Home: 28 points. Away: 20 points. (+40%)
    Average home advantage: 19.5%

1993-94
    1st: Manchester United - Home: 48 points. Away: 44 points. (+9%)
    3rd: Newcastle - Home: 46 points. Away: 31 points. (+48%)
    7th: Wimbledon - Home: 37 points. Away: 27 points. (+37%)
    11th: Coventry - Home: 34 points. Away: 22 points (+54%)
    Average home advantage: 37%

Small sample size but the influence of a crowd really went away about 10 years ago. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

In case some of you don't read the Humour thread. Same guy who did Wenger thrift shop. He's great. :p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

News from twitter:

Koscielny and @_nachomonreal are out.

@CalumChambers95 is suspended and @aaronramsey is also out

on @KieranGibbs: "He is available and Flamini is available too"

on Koscielny: "He has a calf strain and that's why he's out

@Alexis_Sanchez, @_OlivierGiroud_ and Welbeck are fit and rested

If everybody is fit then we don't need to go into the transfer market

on criticism: "Society wants to win the next game and it's a permanent tribunal for everyone. Pardew has done a great job this season"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

CatInABox wrote: »
    News from twitter:

on criticism: "Society wants to win the next game and it's a permanent tribunal for everyone. Pardew has done a great job this season"

That's annoying, Ramsey finally rediscovers his form and promptly gets injured. I suppose Ox will be sharing central midfield duties with Flamini tomorrow. That's not such a bad option tbh. Whatever happened to Rosicky ? Is he injured ?

Defensively we look very short too. Who will play alongside Metersacker ?

Rosicky is injured yes

News from twitter:

I hope this is your own opinion, yes?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

I hope Wenger’s just saying that about the transfer market, because if he believes that we don’t need another centre half then he’s really lost the plot.

But he’s right about managers being in a constant tribunal – however that’s the way things are now. When you’re in charge of a huge organisation and are paid 8m a year the level of scrutiny is massive.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

keano_afc wrote: »
    I hope this is your own opinion, yes?

Sadly not... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,118 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

News from twitter:

That's a sackable offense right there,

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Pudders

News from twitter:

Deluded if he really believes that he doesn't need to go into the transfer market.

I actually think it is his stubbornness brought on by old age that is his downfall.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

http://news.arseblog.com/2014/12/wenger-plays-transfer-window-mind-games/

I'm going to go with the arseblog post that it's an elaborate troll on Wenger's part for the booing he received at the train station in Stoke! I agree with the general consensus that he's extremely deluded if he's not actually taking the piss.

We will loan some stop gap centre back to fill in for Kos and that will be it, similar to KK last year. Expect nothing and then be pleasantly surprised we got something!ha

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

wenger is a comedian

An overpaid one!