Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top Gear kicked out of Argentina - World gone mad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Maths not your strong point i see :rolleyes:

I fail to see how they couldn't be children of war veterans. The term doesn't mean "people who died in the war".

Of course these guys are also hot heads. Doesn't excuse the low level bigotry of what is otherwise an enjoyable travel show masquerading as a car show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I fail to see how they couldn't be children of war veterans.

The majority of the so called veterans were in there early 20 ' s

That means daddy's were killed 10 years before they were all conceived

Failed Falkland campaign happened 30 years ago .

Veterans in there early 20s.

I'll leave it at that

Gatling wrote: »

I'll leave it at that

It doesn't mean their fathers were killed in the war. That's not what a "veteran" means. In fact it means a survivor.

( If I am wrong and that is what veteran means then I have seen dead people marching )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I'll leave it at that

Veterans are usually defined as those who fought - not those who necessarily died.

For example in the US there's the VFW Organisation - Veterans of Foreign Wars - and the VA (Veterans Administration).

If a veteran is only someone who was killed - what do you call someone who fought in a war but survived?

Jawgap wrote: »
    Veterans are usually defined as those who fought - not those who necessarily died.

For example in the US there's the VFW Organisation - Veterans of Foreign Wars - and the VA (Veterans Administration).

If a veteran is only someone who was killed - what do you call someone who fought in a war but survived?

Is it that hard .

Question of the day

How can you be a veteran of a conflict that was over 10 years before you were conceived

Is it that hard .

Question of the day

How can you be a veteran of a conflict that was over 10 years before you were conceived

The claim is they were sons of veterans. Not veterans.

You know that because a few posts ago when you thought a veteran was somebody killed in the war you said:

The claim is they were sons of veterans. Not veterans.

You know that because a few posts ago when you thought a veteran was somebody killed in the war you said:

No no that's not what happened they the groups of of lads in their early 20 's claimed they were veterans of the Falklands

Is it that hard .

Question of the day

Well, clearly you can't.

But I was picking up on this point.......
    foggy_lad wrote: »
    Is it not possible that they were the children of war veterans and also people with some pride in their country and prepared to stand up to racist clowns like clarkson?

To which you replied......
    In there early 20s daddy would have been dead 10 years before they were conceived yeah that's sounds about right .

It was anti british sentiments that's all this is .

Mass hysteria .

As for the war the conscripts families have more to be pissed of with the argy government they invaded the islands didn't they

I'm just saying in the Rio Grande area where all this took place its quite possible those doing the protesting - if in their 20s - were the sons, daughters, nieces and nephews (possibly even grandchildren) of the Argentinian soldiers who seized the Islands. The area is home to a significant naval air station - BAN Almirante Quijada.

Jawgap wrote: »
    Well, clearly you can't.

But I was picking up on this point.......

To which you replied......

I'm just saying in the Rio Grande area where all this took place its quite possible those doing the protesting - if in their 20s - were the sons, daughters, nieces and nephews (possibly even grandchildren) of the Argentinian soldiers who seized the Islands. The area is home to a significant naval air station - BAN Almirante Quijada.

And it possible that if sir Richard Attenborough was filming in the same area with a film crew from BBC .Itv. c4. Sky he and his crew would have got the same reception because of been British .

Did thatcher send a bunch of poorly equipped conscripts to invade an island .
    They have more reason to be pissed off at there past government s

And it possible that if sir Richard Attenborough was filming in the same area with a film crew from BBC .Itv. c4. Sky he and his crew would have got the same reception because of been British .

Did thatcher send a bunch of poorly equipped conscripts to invade an island .
    They have more reason to be pissed off at there past government s

No, but I doubt Sir Dickie could film anything..........he's dead!

I think you mean his brother?

And they got rid of the 'government' who launched the invasion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

nnnnaaaah no benefit of the doubt for you.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Top_Gear_controversies

Germany - claiming that they should build a car that is "quintessentially German". He suggested turn signals that displayed Hitler salutes, "a sat-nav that only goes to Poland".

Romania - While driving through the Romanian countryside, Clarkson commented on Romania as being "Borat country, with gypsies and Russian playboys".

Mexico - During the second episode of series sixteen, the presenters mocked the Mexican Mastretta sports car on account of it being designed in Mexico. James May introduced the car as "The Tortilla", then remarked that he did not remember what it was called. Hammond then stated: "Cars reflect national characteristics ... a Mexican car's just going to be a lazy, feckless, flatulent oaf with a moustache, leaning against a fence asleep, looking at a cactus with a blanket with a hole in the middle on as a coat." This was followed up by James May suggesting that all Mexican food resembles "refried sick", Richard Hammond remarking, "I'm sorry, but just imagine waking up and remembering you're Mexican" with a look of disgust on his face, and Jeremy Clarkson adding, "It'd be brilliant because you could just go straight back to sleep again!" Clarkson ended the segment by suggesting that the Mexican ambassador to Britain would be too lazy to make any kind of complaint. This prompted the Mexican ambassador, Eduardo Medina Mora, to write to the BBC:

Muslims - The show received over 300 complaints when Clarkson made a joke regarding being able to see sexy lingerie beneath a Muslim woman's burka. The joke was branded 'distasteful' and 'offensive to Muslims'.[28]

and many other complaints on diverse topics such as; brain injury, aspergers, 'pikeys', and mumbled 'n words'.

Yes there is a certain amount of over-sensitivity in some cases, but c'mon its obvious the car reg's were there to be used in another 'one of the lads' hilarious jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Top Gear has lots of injokes, so I wouldn't be surprised if they got that plate on purpose - but I doubt they'd lie about it in public. Even if they did get the plate on purpose, it doesn't excuse for a minute the manufactured abuse they suffered, I'd be interested to know who is benefiting from this in Argentina (it would fit into the Kirchners current anti-foreigner/hedge fund agenda).

TG is one of the last places that isn't overly infested with people tiptoeing around because of political correctness, hopefully it continues. Ironically the group that places great emphasis on their "human rights" and "free speech" are also the first to shout down anyone who says something they think is "incorrect" or "racist".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It was a mob and nothing else, I'd not be surprised if agents of the current government didn't encourage the mayhem once things started getting tricky. Kirchner is nasty and mouthy bint.

Wonder if they'll ever come here to take the piss out of Paddy for the beeb.

Maybe throw some potatos at Enda, or rev a suped up 1900's British army armored car past the GPO.

It would be a right laff mate innit. Facking foreigners.

Wonder if they'll ever come here to take the piss out of Paddy for the beeb.

Maybe throw some potatos at Enda, or rev a suped up 1900's British army armored car past the GPO.

It would be a right laff mate innit. Facking foreigners.
    Maybe drive a black car with SAS personalised plates through shinnerland.

But they've filmed her several times already

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Holy shít there actually are folk here defending Top Gear about this?

Colour me impressed. Rock on AH!

Maybe drive a black car with SAS personalised plates through shinnerland.

But they've filmed her several times already

Better tell them to bring a satnav. Wouldnt want to see them accidentally cross the border and have to be escorted back by the Gardai.

Some say There busy with water meters

Others say they're busy with water meters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

I have been lucky enough to visit the Falklands.

Its is as british as the UK.

Anyone that supports Argentine claims on the basis of "British Occupation" is a fecking hypocrite.

Its OK as long as its not the British doing it. Whats next? the Isle of Mann?

Argentina wants to "occupy" and rule over these Islanders who have made it clear that they don't want this to happen..

99% wanted to stay as a BOST (the one 1% wanted to become an independent country).

But because its British, the citizens of the Falklands have no right to a say..

Puts sock on hand.

Well captain sock, what are your geopolitical views today ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

Puts sock on hand.

Well captain sock, what are your geopolitical views today ?

Whatever floats your boat mate.. I put my socks on my feet. If you are still having to put socks elsewhere may I suggest the Personal issues forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Surely that top gear thing is a set up like all their other programs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

dubscottie wrote: »

The citizens of the Falklands have no say not becuase they're British, It's because they're black.

I am pie wrote: »
    You honestly believe that? It was a coincidence it contained FLK and reference to 1982? I'd say the odds or somewhat against that combo occurring...in the realm of many many millions to one!

I'd say you are chosing to be naive.

I think it is at least possible the reg plate was a coincidence.

I checked reg and the car (which of course is German) was registered in 1991.

If they were deliberately stirring it they would they not have found a British made car registered in 1982?

cdeb wrote: »
    It's a 1990/91 reg.

Specifically 1 Sept 90 to 31 Aug 91.

I always enjoy the nonsensical indignant whines of those who don't like Top Gear. "Oh my God - he almost used the n word in a scene which never aired in an everyday nursery rhyme being used for exactly the purposes most of us use it for - he's a racist!!"

Ignorant people are funny. :)

For the most part, I don't particularly like the modern incarnation of Top Gear, but some of the reactions to the un-PC nature of it are over-the-top.

Clarkson et al are not above taking the piss of their own nation, e.g. here see Clarkson et al taking the piss out of English made sportscars fetishism among the classic car community:

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Why was a self confessed Porsche hater driving the Porsche in this episode? this was planned and scripted much like every other stunt pulled because nothing goes on the tellybox without the lawyers clearing it first!

The fact that he used a German car seems to indicate that if the number plate was chosen with deliberate attention to provoke, the pisstake was a bit cleverer than some imagine. Maybe they were attempting a rather nuanced look at the decline in British engineering and the UK auto-industry? Now, if I was attempting such a project I probably wouldn't do so in Argentina, but then again I am not Jeremy Clarkson. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

It would want to be a long plate ,

The fact its a genuine plate on a German car would suggest its a coincidence.

If it was deliberately staged it would have been put on a English marque ,

Now remind me who exactly invaded the islands

The Argies did. Which is irrelevant to the offence caused.

FunLover18 wrote: »
    Not bothered reading the whole thread but it seems like an overreaction. If Argentina were that sensitive why don't they ban registrations with '82' in them. God forbid anybody with an Irish car from that year pay a visit.

Edit: The 'FKL' went over my head

Say it was a coincidence. Why didn't somebody notice it before they went out there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 187187

Jeremy Clarkson is a wa$nker, and maybe a racist, Maybe!

Be a bit of a laugh to drive around Birmingham with an 'IRA 21' number plate or around Canary Wharf or Warrington with an 'IRA 2' number plate. Maybe pop down to Brighton with an 'IRA 5' plate on.
    I'm sure the Brits would find it a bit of a giggle seeing as they have such a wonderful sense of humour..

If you were to attempt such a stunt, would you consider it likely that, with the support of local politicians and police, they would mount a lynch mob to throw you out of the country and essentially make you a persona-non-grata in the UK?

If you genuinely and sincerely believe that, then IMO, you have no idea about British culture and society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

All you need in the video clip is some lambegs and different flegs

http://news.sky.com/story/1347318/clarkson-falklands-row-mob-attack-terrifying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

dubscottie wrote: »
    I have been lucky enough to visit the Falklands.

Its is as british as the UK.

Anyone that supports Argentine claims on the basis of "British Occupation" is a fecking hypocrite.

Its OK as long as its not the British doing it. Whats next? the Isle of Mann?

Argentina wants to "occupy" and rule over these Islanders who have made it clear that they don't want this to happen..

99% wanted to stay as a BOST (the one 1% wanted to become an independent country).

So I take it you wholeheartedly support Russian claims to crimea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Going by the times they removed the number plates day(s) before the altercation took place. The arrived to film and there was protesters waiting for them.

porsche959 wrote: »
    If you were to attempt such a stunt, would you consider it likely that, with the support of local politicians and police, they would mount a lynch mob to throw you out of the country and essentially make you a persona-non-grata in the UK?

If you genuinely and sincerely believe that, then IMO, you have no idea about British culture and society.

If RTE pulled a similar stunt in Warrington or Birmingham there would be widespread and justifiable outrage. Nobody can say how things would work out but I imagine Dave would have to make some sort of statement.

If you go to any country in this world and mock those killed in conflict, you will have a problem.

Ardillaun wrote: »

If you go to any country in this world and mock those killed in conflict, you will have a problem.

Nobody was mocked .

They were filming in country 2 weeks without any issues .
    Until mass hysteria was whipped up by some ,

Amazingly argentine 's have apologising for the actions of so few.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

So they failed the challenge?

Nobody was mocked .

They were filming in country 2 weeks without any issues .
    Until mass hysteria was whipped up by some ,

Amazingly argentine 's have apologising for the actions of so few.

They are comedians making light of a tragedy - that is mockery to any reasonable person. As has pointed out, any similar effort by RTE would meet with 'hysteria' in Britain too.

You really don't think this was provocative in any way?

They are comedians making light of a tragedy - that is mockery to any reasonable person. As has pointed out, any similar effort by RTE would meet with 'hysteria' in Britain too.

You really don't think this was provocative in any way?

It's a was a random licence plate in circulation since 1991 .
    There was no mockery of anything just a bunch of thugs with anti British issues .

Mass hysteria from posters based off not a lot really .

If they wanted to mock the people they would have fitted the plate to a British marque car lotus .jag.rover and so on with the union jack painted on too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,636 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

It is sad that my part of my taxpayer cash contributes to that shower of gob****es in Top Gear

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Top Gear is I think the BBC's most profitable show, and so presumably subsidises the TV licence. But hey, facts haven't gotten in the way of anyone's personal biases on this thread so far; why change now?

It's a was a random licence plate in circulation since 1991 .
    There was no mockery of anything just a bunch of thugs with anti British issues .

Mass hysteria from posters based off not a lot really .

If they wanted to mock the people they would have fitted the plate to a British marque car lotus .jag.rover and so on with the union jack painted on too

But even if that were true, there was a woeful lack of imagination not to see the potential local difficulty such a plate might cause.

I don't know how this really happened. I guess we will get the full story eventually. But some posters have reckoned that even if this were deliberate the Argies should not have made a big deal out of it. To me that is clearly wrong.

Top Gear is I think the BBC's most profitable show, and so presumably subsidises the TV licence. But hey, facts haven't gotten in the way of anyone's personal biases on this thread so far; why change now?

So a profitable show should be above criticism? Profits are irrelevant in this context. If anything, a flagship show has more responsibility to get things right.

I have enjoyed Top Gear over the years. At a minimum, next time they take a trip abroad they should take a little more care about what they are up to.

So a profitable show should be above criticism? Profits are irrelevant in this context. If anything, a flagship show has more responsibility to get things right.

I have enjoyed Top Gear over the years. At a minimum, next time they take a trip abroad they should take a little more care about what they are up to.

I was challenging the poster who was giving out about their licence fees subsidising Top Gear, when I suspect the opposite is in fact true.

On your post, it's nonsense to suggest the reg should have been picked up on at the start. It's a car reg ffs. Who's to imagine some scumbags will start a riot over it?

I was challenging the poster who was giving out about their licence fees subsidising Top Gear, when I suspect the opposite is in fact true.

On your post, it's nonsense to suggest the reg should have been picked up on at the start. It's a car reg ffs. Who's to imagine some scumbags will start a riot over it?

What? In Argentina? Given the recent history between the UK and Argentina, let alone what went on thirty years ago?

It should have been picked up at some point. This is one of the most successful shows in the world we are talking about. And it's not like the boys don't have form to invite suspicion. If they are that tone deaf, maybe they should stay at home.

Yes. All well and good using hindsight. But it's a car reg. How many cars so they go through on that show? I only remember the reg being referenced in one piece.

It is irrelevant, the fact is that part of my tax is going to fund these knobends

It is entirely relevant that these people are making big sums fit the BBC. It saves you money, not costs you money. I'm not sure how to make that simpler for you.

Simpler? I pay £145.50 for the privilege of these idiots swanning about the world pretending to be funny