Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

210lbs 6'2 progress (pics)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭RomanGod

I did think eggs alright - had a mini dream-sequence of tucking into a big bowl of scrambled eggs - then saw they weren't on the list so wondered what magical mystery food it might be.

I would find it very hard to consume that over only a couple of hours but that's partly due to other reasons. I would imagine it takes training to eat that much in a relatively short timeframe.

Could have sworn I put eggs in that list, even went back to double check

I have a huge appetite plus I've been starving myself close to 8 months now so I could probably give the guy from 'man v food' a run for his money

On diet v lifting

(IMO)

Those who fail at following a proper lifting regime or moving onto heavier weights can overcome this problem with motivation and increased aggression. Whether it's listening to your favourite song when you're about to deadlift, bench pressing when a 8.7/10 in yoga pants walks by or even watching youtube videos, I genuinely believe that anyone can improve their lifting progress exponentially with these external factors

Now when I look at diet it's 100% internal and very few people can adhere to a strict clean diet for a period long enough to see progress. It's hard to get motivated looking at a plain dry chicken breast and bland oatmeal made with water everyday. Personally I love it but you can't watch youtube videos to psyche yourself up. No one can really help you because you're either going to follow a strict diet or you won't. With lifting you can get half reps or negative reps but with diet there's no equivalent progression ladder to base on. Either follow it or don't, end of.

Cliffs
    (Pic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 jtthom

Where are you finding eggs for 8c each?

• Site Banned Posts: 638 ✭✭✭imurdaddy

I used your recipe for protein bars yesterday, came out well very tasty and a dam site more economical than buying bars!

jtthom wrote: »
    Where are you finding eggs for 8c each?

Tesco

I know this is in sterling currency but you can get them over here for around the same. The branch beside me always have discounts in the egg section 27xi6wl.png

Also check your local butcher for eggs, you'd be surprised by the value

imurdaddy wrote: »
    I used your recipe for protein bars yesterday, came out well very tasty and a dam site more economical than buying bars!

Glad you liked them. The chocolate milk is a key component. I made a bunch of them replacing choc milk with water and it just wasn't the same. I'm still experimenting with other ingredients to find the tastiest combination

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 382 ✭✭Cyber Ghost

Lol. This thread keeps popping up anytime I check "latest" threads.

Mod snip:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Anyone have much to say with regards conditioning? What works for ye? Any tips/advice? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

sorry if already mentioned but what time of day do you work out? Do you keep up the same amount of training days a week if life gets busy?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Lol. This thread keeps popping up anytime I check "latest" threads.

Mod snip:

Mod Note: Cyber Ghost banned for 3 days for ignoring mod instruction.

Post deleted too. Next time we have a visit from a troll can we report the posts and leave it there. Feeding trolls makes them brave.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

RomanGod wrote: »
    On diet v lifting

(IMO)

Those who fail at following a proper lifting regime or moving onto heavier weights can overcome this problem with motivation and increased aggression. Whether it's listening to your favourite song when you're about to deadlift, bench pressing when a 8.7/10 in yoga pants walks by or even watching youtube videos, I genuinely believe that anyone can improve their lifting progress exponentially with these external factors

Now when I look at diet it's 100% internal and very few people can adhere to a strict clean diet for a period long enough to see progress. It's hard to get motivated looking at a plain dry chicken breast and bland oatmeal made with water everyday. Personally I love it but you can't watch youtube videos to psyche yourself up. No one can really help you because you're either going to follow a strict diet or you won't. With lifting you can get half reps or negative reps but with diet there's no equivalent progression ladder to base on. Either follow it or don't, end of.

Cliffs
    (Pic)

Diet is important but you need to train hard too or you'll just get fat.

I see guys in the gym caning protein shakes and amino acid tablets and all the rest of it while thier workout consists of endless dumbell curls with light dumbells and behind the neck pulldowns on the lat machine with them leaning back almost to the floor.

If you dont stress your muscles with good lifting technique and increase the weight as you get stronger nothing will happen.

chopper6 wrote: »
    Diet is important but you need to train hard too or you'll just get fat.

I see guys in the gym caning protein shakes and amino acid tablets and all the rest of it while thier workout consists of endless dumbell curls with light dumbells and behind the neck pulldowns on the lat machine with them leaning back almost to the floor.

If you dont stress your muscles with good lifting technique and increase the weight as you get stronger nothing will happen.

Make up your mind :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

OP you look jacked... but could you beat hanley in a fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

On diet v lifting

(IMO)

Cliffs
    (Pic)
    Funny I never see my nutrition or diet as being 'strict' at all.

I never eat wheat, rarely touch sugar, train often (plenty of CrossFit, steady state cardio, structured main lifts) = abs for 20yrs

Transform wrote: »
    Funny I never see my nutrition or diet as being 'strict' at all.

I never eat wheat, rarely touch sugar, train often (plenty of CrossFit, steady state cardio, structured main lifts) = abs for 20yrs

Genetics trumps all of course but I'm assuming we are talking about the average Joe here

OP you look jacked... but could you beat hanley in a fight?

If we crossed paths on a carb up day yes, any other day, no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,713 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Let's get this on.

I'll promote for 50% of the revenue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 202 ✭✭Arnold Tanzarian

Did i see somewhere here people saying something about a recipe for protein bars??? throw it this way please :):)
    Just ran out of my stock of quest bars and cash low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

Hanley wrote: »
    Agree. When you train hard and are in good shape, you can get away with a lot of ****.

Both of you have jobs that I would guess involve greater daily caloric expenditure and kind of higher protein synthesis than most other people, probably not accounting for that as much as you think. Basically, yes, it's one of the ways to skin a cat.
    I find training 'hard' easily becomes defined BY diet for example. If I eat enough of the right things I can nearly automatically push my numbers up; knock out 'intense' sessions and still feel the same RPE as normal, just by turning up.
    Eat the wrong things and the same RPE or intensity sees me performing less. Obvious stuff but... Diet influences performance and workrate more than the reverse.

What's on the menu today?

The only thing I like more than chubby girl porn is food porn :pac:

300g cottage cheese (i know but trust me on this)
    4 table spoons of peanut butter
    4 squares of dark chocolate
    1 banana
    1 pear
    150g oats
    250ml chocolate milk

And then a few drops of vanilla extract

Mix all that in a bowl then lay it out on a tray in blocks of 6, stick it in the oven and voilà

And to address your other question my advice for someone with your stats would be to build a foundation through compound lifts and eating a lot of clean foods. Cut out the machines. If you struggle with adhering to the diet it's your mind getting bored of it so experiment with your meal choice, add new flavours like lemon juice on chicken or Worcester sauce on steak

After a while of doing this then you can get into workouts where you focus more on isolation exercises and implementing a carb cycle.

Jesus.. just scrolled through every single page of this thread and read every post, just so I could get the recipe for these protein bars. There are some serious dickheads out there, I wonder if they were not protected by an anonymous username would they be willing to spout the nonsense and hate filled comments, I very much doubt it! Fairplay Roman God for being so dedicated and achieving such great results, its not easy I know! Its upto yourself if you want to post up progress pics, nobody should judge or post negatively because of it, its not for me personally but I wouldnt diss you for it no way!

Re the protein bar recipe, very unusual recipe, but absolutley full of nutrients, and good mix of carbs and protein.. Cottage cheese tho haha!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

140 eggs in a weekly shop? Did I read that right?

I hope so, because I'm constantly seeking reassurance that there is no upper limit to the number of eggs a person should eat!

Also, well done RomanGod, you're in cracking shape.

Essien wrote: »

I hope so, because I'm constantly seeking reassurance that their is no upper limit to the number of eggs a person should eat!

He's cracking eggs alright :)

Essien wrote: »

I hope so, because I'm constantly seeking reassurance that their is no upper limit to the number of eggs a person should eat!

140 a week = 20 a day. just let that sink in there for a second

100g of fat there alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

100g of fat there alone

Why are you scared of fat?

Eggs, despite having a load of cholesterol in them, have it in such a ratio of hdl:ldl that it's not bad for you. I've never eaten 20 in a day, but I've gone through periods of eating 5 or 6 a day for months. Probably the single best food you can eat IMO.

agreed. I couldnt ever eat 20 a day no way haha!! often ate 5/6 per day too, and even when not training id have 3/4 poached/boiled eggs . One of the best foods on the planet

I'm not? :confused:

I'd rather not have 100g of fat used on eggs alone.

Should have clarified that I remove most of the yolks when cooking. I leave one yolk for every 5 eggs for flavour. I'm mostly eating egg whites which is just protein. I could not eat 20 whole eggs a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

I'm not? :confused:

I'd rather not have 100g of fat used on eggs alone.

Also, the sulphur :o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭brónaim cád??

I read a lot of the pages but not all so apologies if this has been asked all ready. Well done OP fantastic transformation. For months I've wanted to start muscle gaining but I don't know where to start both in terms of diet and fitness.

Is there a meal programme / book with daily meals / weekly meals outlined with instructions?

Where do you even begin with fitness? Everyone on here seems to be an expert. Money is an issue atm so I can't afford a PT or anything like that. I was at the gym a few months ago but mainly did cardio - running because I didn't know what else to do. I've since moved and am yet to join another. Any constructive feedback is welcomed.

Those opening pictures of the OP were amazing I don't think I'd have the dedication for that but any muscle mass build would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Eggs, despite havin of the cholesterol weg a load of cholesterol in them, have it in such a ratio of hdl:ldl that it's not bad for you. I've never eaten 20 in a day, but I've gone through periods of eating 5 or 6 a day for months. Probably the single best food you can eat IMO.

Hdl/ldl/vldl are lipoproteins in blood which carry cholesterol, fats in our blood.

Cholesterol in eggs is the same as any other animal source.

Your body makes most of the cholesterol we need. Eat more your body makes less.

I read a lot of the pages but not all so apologies if this has been asked all ready. Well done OP fantastic transformation. For months I've wanted to start muscle gaining but I don't know where to start both in terms of diet and fitness.

Is there a meal programme / book with daily meals / weekly meals outlined with instructions?

Where do you even begin with fitness? Everyone on here seems to be an expert. Money is an issue atm so I can't afford a PT or anything like that. I was at the gym a few months ago but mainly did cardio - running because I didn't know what else to do. I've since moved and am yet to join another. Any constructive feedback is welcomed.

Those opening pictures of the OP were amazing I don't think I'd have the dedication for that but any muscle mass build would be great.

The first gym routine I ever started was in Spain on a family holiday, there was a free gym in the hotel. All I did was bench press and bicep curls every evening before we went for dinner out in the town. These were the only exercises I knew

When we came back home I started doing workouts in a a playground because I didn't have a gym membership. I did pull ups off the monkey bars, tricep static holds (didn't know about dips at this point), push ups and hill sprints. I was also playing rugby on Tuesdays and Thursdays for leg work.

I built a good base so decided to get a gym membership to get bigger for rugby. Once I saw all the dumbells and barbells I was hooked. In hindsight this was a tiny gym in sportslink but back then this was my outlet to getting big. I never had a personal trainer because I hit the ground running, I instinctively knew how to perform an exercise and went a step further to come up with my own based on mind muscle connection (ie doing an exercise that looks stupid but really hits a target muscle).

My only problem i was in the gym for 3 hours, yes 3 hours. I thought the longer I stayed the bigger id get. I would see guys come and go after an hour and think 'smh this guy is going nowhere'. I ended the 3 hour workout with an hour of cardio for 'optimum fat loss'. It wasn't until I met the biggest guy I had ever seen one day and he gave me 3 pieces of advice that I live by.

1. If you hate a particular exercise make it your main lift, it's just your body resisting change
    2. Eat big to get big, if you have a bad workout you can make up for it in the kitchen
    3. Less is more. Give me a 35 minute workout with quality over a 2 hour workout.

I still remember that advice and I may have had ups and downs but it still makes up the basis of my training philosophy today.

Also cycling to work every morning really helps with leg conditioning

2dukwo6.jpg

Do you prefer the new or old chestament?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Take Your Pants Off

Can you please give me advice on what body parts to do in one day, and what they should mix with.
    For example:
    Biceps+Triceps one day
    These are the body parts I would be going for:
    Biceps,Triceps,Leg,Abs/Cardio,Chest,Shoulder.
    So there is 6 exercises, which will match with each other for best maximum results.
    I like yours Roman God but you have 2 days of triceps which I am not planning to have.
    I have roughly about 5/6 exercises for each body part.

Can you please give me advice on what body parts to do in one day, and what they should mix with.
    For example:
    Biceps+Triceps one day
    These are the body parts I would be going for:
    Biceps,Triceps,Leg,Abs/Cardio,Chest,Shoulder.
    So there is 6 exercises, which will match with each other for best maximum results.
    I like yours Roman God but you have 2 days of triceps which I am not planning to have.
    I have roughly about 5/6 exercises for each body part.

You don't have to do triceps twice a week, you can switch the second day of triceps for any other lagging body part. Last week for instance I did hamstrings twice

What would be better:
    Shoulder with triceps or chest with triceps ?
    So is this okay so far:
    Biceps+Back
    Abs
    Legs
    Shoulder+?
    Chest +?

What would be better:
    Shoulder with triceps or chest with triceps ?
    So is this okay so far:
    Biceps+Back
    Abs
    Legs
    Shoulder+?
    Chest +?

Shoulder and triceps IMO. The chest muscle is a lot bigger and takes longer to work out than your shoulders (assuming rear delts are done on back day you're only hitting the anterior and side delt which is accomplished in 9 sets) My chest day would have 14 sets on average for example and it deserves it's own day if I had to choose

So i would have

Legs/abs
    Shoulders/triceps
    Back/biceps/traps
    Chest
    And you can fit another day of legs and abs or shoulders or even back depending on how you utilise your rest days in between

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

I laughed at 'ANY sort of training', ill be honest there are days I go to the gym and just have an ab day or rear delt day. It may seem like a waste of a workout to some people but as COH is implying it's all about being at the gym on a consistent basis, then you can worry about the quality of the workout after. If I miss a workout it's because of something serious like a family crisis

Control of my nutrition is the fundamental step in the whole gym process. Without this you are severely cutting yourself short of gains

This is what I brought to work with me yesterday for lunch.

Eggs, Beef, Whole grain noodles, steak, sweet potato, beans and chicken

qn2rgo.jpg

I also made my own protein bars .. albeit they look like cod fillets they taste great and come with 45g protein and 60g carbs

9k81sz.jpg

Jaysus,i can imagne there is some fat chick in your office who absolutely hates your guts being able to tuck into all that while she sits there miserable with her grapes and greek salad.

excellent shape mate,fair play on the progress and dedication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

davmol wrote: »
    Jaysus,i can imagne there is some fat chick in your office who absolutely hates your guts being able to tuck into all that while she sits there miserable with her grapes and greek salad.

excellent shape mate,fair play on the progress and dedication.

Yeah but I bet she isn't busting her ass in the gym lifting lifting heavy 6 days a week either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

300g cottage cheese (i know but trust me on this)
    4 table spoons of peanut butter
    4 squares of dark chocolate
    1 banana
    1 pear
    150g oats
    250ml chocolate milk

And then a few drops of vanilla extract

Mix all that in a bowl then lay it out on a tray in blocks of 6, stick it in the oven and voilà

is there something missing from these bars? whey or something? I was planning to make these over the weekend but checking the macros there was nowhere near 45g of protein per bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Chance The Fapper

OP, I'm around 6'4". I'm not scrawny, but I'm not exactly built either. If I wanted to basically look like you, would you recommend getting cut and defined first, then bulking? Where do I start?

Also how much does a weekly shop cost you?

Fair play to you, you've an incredible body. (no homo) :P

Yeah but I bet she isn't busting her ass in the gym lifting lifting heavy 6 days a week either.

Only 5 days a week at the moment. I don't want to get too big ;)

papu wrote: »
    is there something missing from these bars? whey or something? I was planning to make these over the weekend but checking the macros there was nowhere near 45g of protein per bar.

Cottage cheese has 30g protein, oats has 8g and chocolate milk about 7g. That's not even including the peanut butter which has at least 5g. I would say 45g is a conservative figure. Honestly could be 50+ but you can include egg whites. Still tastes the same

Edit I see what you mean.... the recipe I added is a total amount of protein if you make it into one bar. The pic I posted were 3 full bars and then the comment was when I just made mine into 6 small bars on that particular day. Didn't mean to say each one of those 6 had 45g. I have a fridge full of them so I lose track. You would need the egg whites in your case

OP, I'm around 6'4". I'm not scrawny, but I'm not exactly built either. If I wanted to basically look like you, would you recommend getting cut and defined first, then bulking? Where do I start?

Also how much does a weekly shop cost you?

Fair play to you, you've an incredible body. (no homo) :P

I bulked straight away and took advantage of beginner gains but I was skinny. Looking back at it now even if I was carrying weight id still bulk because you grow muscle on a bulk and the more muscle you have the higher your metabolism is. Craft a good foundation then worry about conditioning. You'll reach a point like I'm at now where you have very little bodyfat at a high weight and can now lean bulk adding little bit of size here and there whilst maintaining definition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

How do you find back and biceps on the same day? I do chin ups for biceps (amongst other things). Tend to do biceps and triceps together. On back day I do a lot of wide grip pull ups, so wouldn't fancy starting into chins after that. Shoulder day is a bit shorter than the others alright though, so I throw in a bit of core work.

My back day entails anything from 6 set to 12 sets of weighted pull ups. Followed with rows, deadlifts and then heavy bicep curls. Might even do some isolated forearm work if i have time. It's just the way I've learnt how to do it and my body adapted

Anyone apart from RG tried his protein bars.
    I just want others opinion on how it tasted and all before I make it.
    Not doubting your cooking skills RG just want to see how others tasted it before I use much ingredients and comes down to not my liking.

Anyone apart from RG tried his protein bars.
    I just want others opinion on how it tasted and all before I make it.
    Not doubting your cooking skills RG just want to see how others tasted it before I use much ingredients and comes down to not my liking.

The thing about cottage cheese and the egg whites is that they are very bland and unflavoured so whatever else you put into it will be what your tastes buds pick up. If you add banana and peanut butter it'll taste like banana and peanut butter. Vanilla and apricot it'll taste like vanilla and apricot etc. I would need to sit down and really hammer down the nutrition side of it so that one day each bar will equate to 1 meal, then I could eat 6 of them a day and that's my quota for the day. Wouldn't need to eat anything else

Ill have a lot of free time in the evenings coming up to the new year. I'm actually considering putting myself out there as a PT in a gym just for something to do after work. Wouldn't even charge, maybe just a protein bar per session lol. My long term goal is to open a gentleman's club style gym... dumbells, barbells, poker, snooker tables, TV and Jacuzzis. Essentially heaven