Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GW 8 Transfer Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Arfield 5 should fit the bill for you.

Sclupp for Leicester as a defender 4.5million

He is playing left wing for them and scored in the last game!

Next 6 games
    Newc
    Swans
    West Brom
    Soton
    Sunderland
    QPR

Could get a couple of clean sheets in there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Chesty08 wrote: »
    Sclupp for Leicester as a defender 4.5million

He is playing left wing for them and scored in the last game!

Next 6 games
    Newc
    Swans
    West Brom
    Soton
    Sunderland
    QPR

Could get a couple of clean sheets in there too

3 of the next 4 are away though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Very quiet Friday in here. I don't think I've ever seen a season like this before. Most people seem generally very happy with their teams. Last season I would say I had easily taken 20 points worth of hits at this point.

I've also seen countless mentions of people using transfers because they have to before they lose them or banking transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Lemlin wrote: »
    Very quiet Friday in here. I don't think I've ever seen a season like this before. Most people seem generally very happy with their teams. Last season I would say I had easily taken 20 points worth of hits at this point.

I've also seen countless mentions of people using transfers because they have to before they lose them or banking transfers.

I'm in exactly this situation. Not a single transfer jumping out at me.

Still haven't decided whether to bring in Azpi or Baines for Kompany. I'm leaning towards Baines, but 3 out of 4 boardsies said Azpi when I asked the question yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

The only transfer im considering making is Pieters out for another defender, but id like to keep my transfer too.( Aguero next week)
    Never made a start as good as this so dont want to take too many gambles.

3bfd3b9c500f540dd2306b96bf52a38c.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Brought Hutton and diame in for rosenior and sidwell. Using my two transfers to get an active bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Have 2 free transfers and .5m in bank, don't think I need to make any though. Any suggestions?

Mannone
    Foster

Bertrand
    Clyne
    Duff
    Hutton
    Chambers

Di Maria
    Sterling
    Siggy
    Fabregas
    Wanyama

Costa
    Aguero
    Welbeck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Not too sure if I should change anything. Feel the bench offers very little if something goes wrong in the starting 11. Would like a better or rather, more reliable goalkeeper than DDG.

Any suggestions?

325535.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

The only transfer im considering making is Pieters out for another defender, but id like to keep my transfer too.( Aguero next week)

Are we getting boring or what??

C'mon copper, you have to aim for the stars, don't settle for 10k, like what your doing doubling up on the Soton full backs, wouldn't risk it myself though, suicidal when they concede.

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Not too sure if I should change anything. Feel the bench offers very little if something goes wrong in the starting 11. Would like a better or rather, more reliable goalkeeper than DDG.

Any suggestions?

I gave up on DDG, plenty of options on 9m worth of rotating GKs out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭LeaveitOff

Looks like Costa is out according to reports. *One report says possibly 3 weeks. At least it will be more or less the same for everyone.

If he was out for 3 weeks, you couldn't really get rid of him as he'll cost a larger whack to get him back.

*(will probably end up scoring a hat trick tomorrow)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Still haven't played the wildcard. Thinking I'll just do RVP to Aguero this week. Maybe Nolan to Henderson too, Must see what the consensus is with Nolan this week over whether he'll start from Allardyce etc

I'll sit down and have one last think but if I don't play it this week I reckon it might well be a necessity next week. I think it's possible to get through this GW well enough and I'll have more info for next week and perhaps some more concentrated price-rises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

Van Aanholt out reid in as mannone is in goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

LeaveitOff wrote: »
    Looks like Costa is out according to reports. *One report says possibly 3 weeks. At least it will be more or less the same for everyone.

If he was out for 3 weeks, you couldn't really get rid of him as he'll cost a larger whack to get him back.

*(will probably end up scoring a hat trick tomorrow)

I'm not doubting you but could you or somebody provide a link fro a reputable source, I was stung the last time and I'd say it's cost me about 300,000 places. At least now I will only lose .1m so it wouldn't bother me in the least to dump him if he's to miss at least two EPL matches. In fact I would be pure delighted:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,336 ✭✭✭✭km79

I'm not doubting you but could you or somebody provide a link fro a reputable source, I was stung the last time and I'd say it's cost me about 300,000 places. At least now I will only lose .1m so it wouldn't bother me in the least to dump him if he's to miss at least two EPL matches. In fact I would be pure delighted:pac:

if I got confirmation I'd dump him too and bring in aguero rather than going the baines route this week........I was on my wildcard last time this happened though and he burnt me bad!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

What if somebody at the Daily Mail is big into FPL and wants everyone to dump Costa so he gets all the goals for himself/herself? :eek:

We're through the looking glass here people...

1069e32579c1e465a5b6a33fd6cfca00.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Telegraph saying he could miss three weeks

oh god make the crazy thoughts stop!!!! is there actually a picture of him leaving training injured or not training today or ANYTHING to !make it true......Costa to aguero and captaining Kun could make up for the costa\balotelli mistake OR compound it :D

I'm in exactly this situation. Not a single transfer jumping out at me.

Still haven't decided whether to bring in Azpi or Baines for Kompany. I'm leaning towards Baines, but 3 out of 4 boardsies said Azpi when I asked the question yesterday.

Get on the Baines Train!!! Skipper

I would be starting Duff before Williams this week 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Ye my thoughts exactly I'd love him to be out I'd get wellbeck in for him. Us gw 2 wildcarders that got burnt with him would benefit most by him being confirmed out for 2 weeks. I'd have no hesitation in selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭Benimar

Ye my thoughts exactly I'd love him to be out I'd get wellbeck in for him. Us gw 2 wildcarders that got burnt with him would benefit most by him being confirmed out for 2 weeks. I'd have no hesitation in selling.

On a WC here so would love to hear something definite. Trying to fit Aguero in is hurting the rest of my team so leaning towards only going with one of Costa/Aguero.

Would give me:
    Krul/Mannone
    Baines, Azpilicueta, Bertrand, N. Taylor, Hutton
    Di Maria, Fabregas, Siggy, Henderson, Downing (may downgrade)
    Aguero, Pelle, Welbeck

All opinions welcome.

Benimar wrote: »
    On a WC here so would love to hear something definite. Trying to fit Aguero in is hurting the rest of my team so leaning towards only going with one of Costa/Aguero.

Would give me:
    Krul/Mannone
    Aguero, Pelle, Welbeck

All opinions welcome.

If leaving costa out I'd leave enough money to get him back. I'd definitely downgrade downing as you will rarely use him and I'd try get hazard in. As you have 3 strong defenders I'd go with moore over n Taylor also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Even having had him from the start it would only cost me 0.4 to buy him back if I sold him. If he's confirmed out for circa 3 weeks I'd expect him to drop at least 0.2. I'd have no problem selling him at those figures.

Another outcome of the slower price rises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Taking all this with a spoonful of salt. Sure wasn't Costa rumoured to be out for a few weeks just before THAT hatrick!!!

A little part of me is thinking I should sell Costa for Aguero rather than RVP but even I know that's ludicrous and am currently burning those thoughts with fire.

Or is it crazy?

Also it seems like I'm starting Kevin Nolan again this week :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭Benimar

A little part of me is thinking I should sell Costa for Aguero rather than RVP but even I know that's ludicrous and am currently burning those thoughts with fire.

Or is it crazy?

I'm contemplating selling Costa for Aguero too, so I can't call that thought crazy.

However, starting Nolan is whackadoodle :pac::D

Or is it crazy?

I've managed to talk myself out of Costa to aguero........it's just too risky at moment
    if he does not play tomorrow though things change.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Are we getting boring or what??

Well. The template midfield is working out very fine. There are no big defenders worth a hit at the moment. The forwards can be chosen between different combinations of the big 3 (Falcao, Aguero, Costa) and 1 or 2 of cheaper ones and many combinations are working fine at the moment. There're just the keepers I find trickier to select... Might just be me though.

Anyway that could explain the low transfer activity. The change in the price variation poilcy is probably an important factor too. Multiple point hits won't guarantee a substantial increase in your team value anymore.
    bohsman wrote: »
    I gave up on DDG, plenty of options on 9m worth of rotating GKs out there.

Could you expand on the bold part please? I'm still struggling to find my GK solution :o...

RVP -> Aguero is done

Wildcard next week looks like a possibility now though after a stay of execution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

iroced wrote: »

Could you expand on the bold part please? I'm still struggling to find my GK solution :o...

I think it's that you can get two 4.5m (9m) keepers (or even 8.5 with a non playing) that will be just as useless as spending 10m+ or more. :)

I don't see any solution at present apart from spending the least amount possible.

RVP -> Aguero is done

Wildcard next week looks like a possibility now though after a stay of execution.

Do ya have enough change to get in a shiny new Baines :)

manual_man wrote: »
    Do ya have enough change to get in a shiny new Baines :)

Nope I don't. Not this week anyway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭internet_user

Do lukaku to aguero now or wait till next week? have Dzeko too that I want to get rid of but would have to make two transfers to get aguero in for him.

Nope I don't. Not this week anyway :pac:

Probably just as well eh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Looking highly likely i'll bank a transfer for the first time this season despite Costa being down as a doubt (We all know how that pans out:rolleyes:). Pieters needs moving on but there's no standout candidate to bring in for him this week bar a Southampton defender and I already have Forster. Will probably bring in a spurs player for next week.

iroced wrote: »

Yea, no major fix really but money to be saved. My back 7 is from 6 different clubs so took that more into account when picking my GKs but some people have looked into homa/away rotation a bit more. Sunderland and West Brom keepers for me, clean sheet is a bonus but usually some points for saves made to be had. Would have stuck with DDG if Utd looked at all interested in defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Wilcarding, 8.2m to spend

Pelle or Naismith?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Dempsey wrote: »

Pelle or Naismith?

Pelle all day long.

FHFC wrote: »
    Pelle all day long.

Thinking the same myself.

Think its time to pull the trigger...

Schmeichel -> Mannone
    Moore -> Dawson
    Wisdom -> Bertrand
    Sterling -> Di Maria
    El Ahmadi -> Jedinak
    Rooney -> Aguero
    Naismith -> Pelle

Every transfer an improvement going forward I think

Have Forster, Hutton, Van Aanholt, Duff, Chadli, Sigurdsson, Fabregas, Costa already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Pelle or Naismith?

Pelle. Barkley due back soon and Naismith already isn't assured of his place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Benimar wrote: »

Would give me:
    Krul/Mannone
    Aguero, Pelle, Welbeck

All opinions welcome.

On a WC myself and I've wound up with a very similar team (differences in BOLD):

Forster, Foster
    Baines, Azpilicueta, Hutton, Duff, Moore
    di Maria, Fabregas, Sigurdsson, Henderson, Boyd
    Aguero, Pelle, Welbeck.

I've 2.1 in the bank with that team.

Jedinak or George Boyd as a 5th midfielder....

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    On a WC myself and I've wound up with a very similar team (differences in BOLD):

Forster, Foster
    Baines, Azpilicueta, Hutton, Duff, Moore
    di Maria, Fabregas, Sigurdsson, Henderson, Boyd
    Aguero, Pelle, Welbeck.

I've 2.1 in the bank with that team.

On a WC... change Fabregas to Hazard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,958 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Jedinak or George Boyd as a 5th midfielder....

Your never going to play them right? duff is .6 cheaper so just go with him

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Your never going to play them right? duff is .6 cheaper so just go with him
    Duff is a defender. Boyd is the cheapest playing mid at 4.4

sorry I mean boyd is .6 cheaper

ugh realise that had to use one of my 2 FT or lose it, so just did heaton to Mannone, meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭JR6

JR6 wrote: »
    Yes for me. I think he could have a good year if he stays fit. He doesn't need many chances to score.
    I'm torn between Cisse and Pelle this week... Pelle has better fixtures and in a better team so I suppose there is my answer!
    Chesty08 wrote: »
    The chap couldn't hit a barn door last year!

Needs a sackful of chances!

Cisse shooting stats v Swansea...

https://www.bsports.com/statsinsights/football/stats-weekend-cisse-milner-toure-de-gea#.VEGV51c7YkF

4 shots, 3 on target = 2 goals.

What determines a "sackful" in your eyes???