Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The "Gender Wall"

• 04-10-2014 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭

Excuse the title n all, its all I could think of..

So like, I'm curious, do people find there is still the ole parish dance mentality going on between a lot men and women these days ?

I was reminded of it again the other day when a female friend was telling a male friend which of her friends she would introduce to him and which ones she wouldn't lest he might start randomly making dirty jokes. It was a joke conversation I guess but it was a bit weird.

Likewise I have other other friends who are married, but I would hardly ever see the other half, the husbands got his friends, the wife's got her friends and never the twain shall meet. I do have other married friends who would have a big group bbq or bring along a mix to the cinema or pub which does make the other attitude seem a bit weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I am confused.

Could you articulate that a bit clearer please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭hadepsx

My friend over there wants to shift ya./ thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

hadepsx wrote: »
    My friend over there wants to shift ya./ thread

I saw that ninja edit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I think your friends are just weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

imitation wrote: »
    Excuse the title n all, its all I could think of..

So like, I'm curious, do people find there is still the ole parish dance mentality going on between a lot men and women these days ?

I was reminded of it again the other day when a female friend was telling a male friend which of her friends she would introduce to him and which ones she wouldn't lest he might start randomly making dirty jokes. It was a joke conversation I guess but it was a bit weird.

Likewise I have other other friends who are married, but I would hardly ever see the other half, the husbands got his friends, the wife's got her friends and never the twain shall meet. I do have other married friends who would have a big group bbq or bring along a mix to the cinema or pub which does make the other attitude seem a bit weird.

Like the girls on one side of the dance floor, boys on the other side?

Is it the Irish fear of intimacy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

ye someone asked me the other day, why is it that when they go to Ireland/Uk, that girls and guys go out separately on a night out, I thought that was pretty funny that they noticed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Yeah thats the one, sorry thought most people who remember the whole parish hall dance thing with girls on one side boys on the other.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    ye someone asked me the other day, why is it that when they go to Ireland/Uk, that girls and guys go out separately on a night out, I thought that was pretty funny that they noticed that.

Yeah people do tend to socialise in same sex groups here. After a certain amount of scoops you fall into someone and hope it all works out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

So it's an actual wall you stand up against?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

I thought this was going to be some sort of glass ceiling discussion. Still confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

It's the harmful influence of internet pornography and rom-coms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I am confused.

Could you articulate that a bit clearer please.

Ross and Rachel were on a break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

No they weren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,033 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I don't know about the "parish" dance specifically, but having a relatively "safe" environment in which young people can get acquainted isn't necessarily a bad thing, in my opinion. Got to be a better option than getting s#!t-faced in Copper's some Saturday night, "pulling" someone equally-drunk who doesn't care that s/he can't hear you over the noise, who will then proceed to share his/her Chlamydia with you. :pac:

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Dunno if I'm just different or what but over the age of 18 or 19 I would have always gone out in a mixed group. Yis do it to yourselves if ye only have friends of your own gender.

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

There are people who go through their entire education from five to eighteen in a single sex school and go to college with very little experience of having spoken to someone their own age of the opposite gender. They are sometimes intimidated by mixing with the opposite gender and don't choose to do it as a social activity. Segregating for years is unhealthy imo.

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Dunno if I'm just different or what but over the age of 18 or 19 I would have always gone out in a mixed group. Yis do it to yourselves if ye only have friends of your own gender.

It's not like you can choose who to be friends with though. Lads generally hang around with lads. The only time I'd go out with a mixed group is if its something to do with work like the Christmas party.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    It's not like you can choose who to be friends with though. Lads generally hang around with lads. The only time I'd go out with a mixed group is if its something to do with work like the Christmas party.

Crazy talk. You can't choose who you're friends with??

No you can't. It happens naturally. If I see a few interesting people, I can't just decide to be friends with them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

The problem is that in general, men and women tend to have very few shared interests and men (being men) will inevitably want to get up on most of their female "friends".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Chocolate Lions

The problem is that in general, men and women tend to have very few shared interests and men (being men) will inevitably want to get up on most of their female "friends".

Ya, those poor innocent creatures...
    I like having women friends, they're actually people too, ya know? Lots of shared ground there. Everything about your post is just "off". You come off like a weirdo. Try talking to the ladies a bit more, they're just lovely like.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    No you can't. It happens naturally. If I see a few interesting people, I can't just decide to be friends with them.

I can't argue with that kind of logic.

Well put it this way, you can't be friends with someone who doesn't want to be friends with you. So therefore you can't choose your friends. It's like saying I can choose any woman I want. The woman needs to be interested in me too. This is pretty basic stuff here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

My best friend is a woman and I have loads of close female friends from college. When I go out there's be a mixture of male and female in the group. I don't see how this would be considered awkward? Unless you desperately want to shag all your female friends then its grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

--LOS-- wrote: »

I'm not a fan of "girly" nights/days out at all. I don't mind going out with just women and I do quite often but making a specific point of it irritates me when I know my male friends are off out somewhere else. It's a strange thing. Can we not all just meet up together, like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

That hasn't been my experience.