Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Question for guys - Opinions on short hair on girls?

• 05-10-2014 2:52am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭

Just curious about male (or female if you like!) opinions on it.

Do you find it off putting or less attractive than long hair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

What part of the body are you referring to?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Not fussed either way. Depends on the girl really.

Short, well-styled hair on a girl can look very chic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Can suit some women but my first thought when I see it is 'lesbian'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,484 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Takes a very pretty lady to carry off a butch short haircut. I've seen mingers with long hair that didn't look to bad if you looked at them the right way.
    HTH

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

How short do you mean? In general though it tends not to look great IMO but some woman can really pull it off, but it seems to be one of those things that woman will think look better than men do.
    That said Skin from skunk anansie looks damn good!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Dykes

Carpet munchers

Bean flickers

Clam lickers

Clam slammers

Fanny bashers

Flap queens

Q: What card game do lesbians play? A: Poke-her 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Like a lot of things in life, on the right girl can look incredibly sexy, on the wrong girl can look absolutely awful.

Also depends on the cut itself. Again, can go either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Skin head - Horrible.

Slightly longer - Can look very nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Depends on the broad, it suits some girls very well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

9 times out of 10 it's very butch and not feminine at all so that's obviously unattractive to men, but that 1 time the girl can somehow pull it off and still look really feminine and attractive but even still, chances are that girl would be even hotter with long hair. Obviously it's down to the individual suiting the style or not and then also down to the individual man to find the girl still attractive or not. Ballsy move to cut your hair like that to be honest, most men like really long, wavy hair on women

As long as you don't do that half shaved head atrocity trying to look like skrillex sh!t, no man wants to touch a shaved head on a girl

• Registered Users Posts: 27 187187

I prefer my wimmens with a landing strip so i can take-off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Lalealynn

Strange you should say this just now...I was just thinking about my hair.. my hair grows very VERY fast. And is long right now ..I was thinking should I maybe cut it for the change ...

I have had every cut ..short like a boys shoulder length and all down my back....it grows so fast ..

I noticed my ears got cold with a short pixie cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Some girls can pull it off and be sexy.
    Some can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

some girls can pull it off 'cos they're hot anyway. they'll always be hotter with longer hair. case in point, frankie sandford

Some girls can pull it off and be sexy.
    Some can't.

It looked well on me but well you can't do so much with short hair ..long hair has more styles. And it's warmer.

There was a time when it meant a lot more to me actually to have very long hair. It was so long I could sit on it. It was really an emotional thing. If you have never been a LH you don't know. There is actually a long hair community .... with terms like 'are you a tailbone a classic or knee length?' Classic length is just when you can sit on it. I had it that long for a time. It was sort of a badge of 'me' hippish and i dunno ...i dated a lot of longhaired guys. I have gone out with short haired guys and long haired guys. I don't think it means anything.

The song hair.

She asks me why
    I'm just a hairy guy
    I'm hairy noon and night
    Hair that's a fright
    I'm hairy high and low
    Don't ask me why
    Don't know
    It's not for lack of bread
    Like the Grateful Dead
    Darling

Gimme head with hair
    Long beautiful hair
    Shining, gleaming,
    Streaming, flaxen, waxen

Give me down to there hair
    Shoulder length or longer
    Here baby, there mama
    Everywhere daddy daddy

Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair
    Flow it, show it
    Long as God can grow it
    My hair

Let it fly in the breeze
    And get caught in the trees
    Give a home to the fleas in my hair
    A home for fleas
    A hive for bees
    A nest for birds
    There ain't no words
    For the beauty, the splendor, the wonder
    Of my...

Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair
    Flow it, show it
    Long as God can grow it
    My hair

I want it long, straight, curly, fuzzy
    Snaggy, shaggy, ratty, matty
    Oily, greasy, fleecy
    Shining, gleaming, streaming
    Flaxen, waxen
    Knotted, polka-dotted
    Twisted, beaded, braided
    Powdered, flowered, and confettied
    Bangled, tangled, spangled, and spaghettied!

Oh say can you see
    My eyes if you can
    Then my hair's too short

Down to here
    Down to there
    Down to where
    It stops by itself

They'll be ga ga at the go go
    When they see me in my toga
    My toga made of blond
    Brilliantined
    Biblical hair

Lol

Having short hair was fun too though...I felt Like a pixie. :-)

I have dated long haired guys and short haired guys why limit the question to being about women? Some girls have a preference for long hair or short on guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Depends on the woman, Charlize Theron looks great with short hair.

I prefer women with long hair though.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Clankatron

You need to have an exceptionally pretty face to pull it off imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Clankatron

You need to have an exceptionally pretty face to pull it off, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,656 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Lurching wrote: »
    Skin head - Horrible.

Slightly longer - Can look very nice.

Would have to disagree

NSFW
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT8ioZ9TRRMPs_XcKVItuCdv_bBiwPbSIh9DAxfnhiejwLon1Ix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Short hair can suit some women, look at frankie bridge for the Saturday's. Looks cracking with short hair.

But it definitely doesn't suit some women. I mean Mary harney with short hair doesn't do it for me.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,863 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

The sort of women that can pull it off are normally stunning looking

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭NZ_2014

Long hair always much better IMO, never attracted to short hair.

However I can hardly say my hair is purfect:p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,651 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Long hair is always my preference. I don't really like short hair. Some girls cut their hair short as they get older because they think it makes them look younger. Which I don't get either. Each to their own I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

Love it, love it, love it.

http://www.pinterest.com/charliebear84/hair/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

There are girls with short hair that I find attractive, but in general I don't like it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I like short hair on women, don't get the whole butch thing at all. I think someone who looks butch with short hair will look butch with long hair.

My OH has had short hair for the best part of the last year (kinda like Pink) and it looked really good, she's in the process of letting it grow now though. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Would have to disagree

NSFW

No. Just, no. I don't care how much that guy looks like a woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

very much a no from me.

I'll see the very odd one who does look nice but it be rare

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Looks terrible on 99.9% of women.

It just smacks of going for a convenient hairdo really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

The pixie look on a pretty face looks gorgeous. Your wan Nathalie Portman in dat filum. Ye know the one. Stuuuunning. She's the best looking famous woman out there though imo and she'd look gorgeous in anything.

I see short hair on women sometimes and it looks great and I'm tempted to chop it off myself. Had short hair in my late teens in the 90s do that was popular back then (think Justine Frischman from Elastica....only blonde).

Short, white blonde hair looks deadly. The upkeep though would be too much and too expensive.

I've never had very long hair and it's never been longer than the middle of my back and I wouldn't like it any longer. Again, too much upkeep and impractical. It's just a bit longer than my shoulder now and that's how I like it.

This. Those hairstyles look great on those women. Very expensive though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

Can suit some women but my first thought when I see it is 'lesbian'

My brother goes out with a girl with short dyed black hair.
    His mates call her Gary Newman...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

Turtyturd wrote: »

My OH has had short hair for the best part of the last year (kinda like Pink) and it looked really good, she's in the process of letting it grow now though. :(

You are obviously a gay.

Mod: Banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Would have to disagree

NSFW

Not for me.

sydthebeat wrote: »

Sold.... I'll take two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

The vast vast majority of the time it looks terrible. When it doesn't look terrible I'm still never attracted to the person. The only time when I didn't think it looked bad was Anna from V. The only thing worse is when they shave the side of their head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Hurrrrr lesbeanz... its brave to cut it short cuz lads don't like it... 99.9 per cent (yes, specifically 99.9) look terrible and butch... No man (*no* man) likes a shaved head. Profound stuff. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I wouldn't really call those short though. To a follicly challenged person such as myself, they're bleeding Rapunzels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

It shows great confidence.

It's definitely ballsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

While it may suit certain women to an extent, I have never seen a woman who has looked better with short hair than having it long.

I loved it when my girlfriend cut her hair short, she'd have it longer on one side and it looked great on her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

It is a very brave move to willfully give up being sexually attractive I suppose.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,656 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

While it may suit certain women to an extent, I have never seen a woman who has looked better with short hair than having it long.

Emma watson

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSjSjBrFUjeH687bWzCyHpMG_qyYdc1FHaapcQwtl7R_DNzSncrlQ

emma-watson-haircut-short-hair.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Emma watson

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSjSjBrFUjeH687bWzCyHpMG_qyYdc1FHaapcQwtl7R_DNzSncrlQ

emma-watson-haircut-short-hair.jpg

That's more to do with maturing really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

Prefer longer in general, but wouldn't influence me being attracted to someone much either way - hairstyle is an odd thing to have as a tipping point, in whether or not you find someone attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I'm a girl but I agree with the majority of guys here; you'd need to have a heart-shaped pretty face to carry off a short haircut.
    Also your face must be slim with only one chin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It suits some women and not others.

Amazingly enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

Halle Berry.