Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Racism alive and well in Ireland still.

• 05-10-2014 3:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭

So from reading boards, I knew there's a lot of people around who hold disgusting bigoted views of "foreigners". But, I never really witnessed it in real life, apart from the usual "the dole office is like little Poland" or along those lines. I didn't think people could be filled with so much hate that they'd actually attack another person. I was wrong.

My brothers best friend is Irish, but both his parents are from Pakistan. He's a nice lad, big thick bogger accent on him, considers himself Irish, hangs around with Irish lads, goes out with an Irish girl, socialises at weekends, works all week. Stuff a normal 24 year old does.

The pair of them were out last night, headed to the casino after the pub and was heading home this morning. I got a phone call telling me to get down to the hospital that my brother had been attacked.

What happened? Some old scumbag ran down the street at my brothers friend, buried a stiletto in the side of his head while roaring obscenities about his colour. My brother stepped in because there was 5 of them and of course he's going to stand up for his friend.

Long story short, my brother is left with a fractured skull, swelling on his brain and is awaiting transfer to Beaumont hospital to see what they're going to be able to do for him. And while they were booting the head off him, he was told repeatedly that's what he gets for hanging out with a 'paki'. The guards came, they called an ambulance and the people who assaulted both lads got into a taxi. They weren't even arrested. Yet.

I'm actually so shocked, and really sad, that people can be filled with such hate over the colour of someone else's skin. I'm just curious, if anyone else has ever witnessed such vile people or if most racists keep their disgusting slurs for the Internet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

So from reading boards, I knew there's a lot of people around who hold disgusting bigoted views of "foreigners". But, I never really witnessed it in real life, apart from the usual "the dole office is like little Poland" or along those lines. I didn't think people could be filled with so much hate that they'd actually attack another person. I was wrong.

My brothers best friend is Irish, but both his parents are from Pakistan. He's a nice lad, big thick bogger accent on him, considers himself Irish, hangs around with Irish lads, goes out with an Irish girl, socialises at weekends, works all week. Stuff a normal 24 year old does.

The pair of them were out last night, headed to the casino after the pub and was heading home this morning. I got a phone call telling me to get down to the hospital that my brother had been attacked.

What happened? Some old scumbag ran down the street at my brothers friend, buried a stiletto in the side of his head while roaring obscenities about his colour. My brother stepped in because there was 5 of them and of course he's going to stand up for his friend.

Long story short, my brother is left with a fractured skull, swelling on his brain and is awaiting transfer to Beaumont hospital to see what they're going to be able to do for him. And while they were booting the head off him, he was told repeatedly that's what he gets for hanging out with a 'paki'. The guards came, they called an ambulance and the people who assaulted both lads got into a taxi. They weren't even arrested. Yet.

I'm actually so shocked, and really sad, that people can be filled with such hate over the colour of someone else's skin. I'm just curious, if anyone else has ever witnessed such vile people or if most racists keep their disgusting slurs for the Internet

So sorry to hear that Lexie :(
    Hoping both make a swift recovery and those vile people are caught soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Not trying to detract from the awfulness of your story, but you find absolute scumbags like that all over the world, that sort of thing will never go away unfortunately.

Hope your brother and his friend get better. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Im really sorry to hear that, that is very shocking that such a thing can happen in 2014. I knew racism was still lingering around but we have made huge strides at the same time. I hope he recovers soon. :(

I have a friend who, although I like, comes out with some very racist statements at times like whenever a black person gets a promotion in work he will say ah id rather be here than be black and get paid more, he will laugh but it still makes me uncomfortable. I never witnessed someone getting attacked because of their color but im sure there is a lot of it going on..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

That's unbelievable. I'm stunned. I hope your brother makes a full recovery and that prick pays for what he's/she's done. Horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Fuq-ing filth. Poor young fella, he was one courageous lad to stand up and intervene for his friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Absolutely disgusting :( I hope your brother and friend have a swift recovery and the scum responsible get what they deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Sorry to hear about that, hopefully full swift recovery is made!

It is a problem worldwide, but as we cannot infuence worldwide every effort should be made locally to stamp out this behaviour!

Even if the lad wasnt irish and was simply living here, theres no excuse for this type of behaviour, scumbags

md23040 wrote: »
    You making a wrong connection. There is a social underclass out there who are off their off heads on drugs 24/7 and will find any excuse to use violence.

If your brother was on his own the same thing would have happened but the skin color provided an excuse for their abhorrent behaviour.

And you're making a whole lotta presumptions...

md23040 wrote: »
    You making a wrong connection. There is a social underclass out there who are off their off heads on drugs 24/7 and will find any excuse to use violence.

If your brother was on his own the same thing would have happened but the skin color provided an excuse for their abhorrent behaviour.
    More likely to be alcohol than drugs, and I know what you mean about there being people who'll attack anyone if they're in the wrong place at the wrong time, whatever skin colour they have (and sometimes it can be incorrectly attributed to racism if the person is not white) but this does seem racially motivated given what was said by the attackers from the very beginning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Awful thing to happen.

I hope your brother and his friend have swift recoveries.

I live near Beaumont, so if there's anything you need while he's up there, PM me and if I can, I'll get it to ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

Had a taxi driver in cork yesterday, big fat bstard, most racist stuff I've heard in ages. He said "I've nothing against Pakis and Indians, I think every house should have one." He always refused to let a black taxi driver out in front of him because of his colour. Thickest f*cker I've ever met

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭jackboy

I think this incident had nothing to do with racism. Just some scum looking to beat the crap out of someone. They were going to find someone and shout some obvious abuse at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Ireland is the best place to live and makes me so proud at times but then **** like this happens and I lose a little bit of faith in this little country :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

I've never personally witnessed anyone being attacked for racial reasons but I do see racism on our streets quite often. One day I was driving into town and was sitting in traffic for a little bit. There was a middle-aged guy with dark skin walking along the footpath minding his own business. Walking in the opposite direction was a stereotypical junkie carrying a dirty plastic bag. The junkie gestured to this man as he walked by and even from my car I knew well what he was saying to him - "f**k off back to your own country" or something along those lines.

I somehow don't think this was an isolated incident and it's certainly not confined to the lower rungs of Irish society. I've heard plenty of middle-aged, middle-class people make casual racist remarks about people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭tritium

So sorry to hear that and hope they both make a full recovery.

Unfortunately not so much racism as some people are ignorant scum with no decency to them. Hope the little sh1ts end up rotting in mountjoy. Unfortunately the legal system seems to fins excuses for scum like- a friend of my brother ended up permanently scarred for intervening when similar scum were giving some innocent kids a hiding a few years back. Defence lawyer tried everything to paint them as equal victims because someone intervened. Thankfully they still got 7years, i ll hope for something similar for the scum who hurt your brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

jackboy wrote: »
    I think this incident had nothing to do with racism. Just some scum looking to beat the crap out of someone. They were going to find someone and shout some obvious abuse at them.

OP said they made comments about his colour, i agree though they are scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

There is never any excuse for this kind of violence, it shouldn't be tolerated.

Hoping things work out for your family members.

jackboy wrote: »
    Maybe, maybe not. There are times people love to see racism even when there isn't any, but this isn't necessarily one of those times. It could have been a racially motivated attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I lived with an english guy for over three years(who's mother is Irish and Turkish father) He lives over here for over five years and constantly puts down the Irish. I eventually moved out on august 4th and was trying to get my deposit back and he was ignoring me when i rang and text.

So when i threatened to report him to social welfare for working and claiming he got really annoyed and started "Oh i knew an Irish prick would report me" He went on a mad anti Irish rant. I did report him to the welfare so hopefully they work on it. He goes off on eastern europeans all the time even though he teaches them english. So it's not just Ireland.

Sciprio wrote: »
    I lived with an english guy for over three years(who's mother is Irish and Turkish father) He lives over here for over five years and constantly puts down the Irish. I eventually moved out on august 4th and was trying to get my deposit back and he was ignoring me when i rang and text.

So when i threatened to report him to social welfare for working and claiming he got really annoyed and started "Oh i knew an Irish prick would report me" He went on a mad anti Irish rant. I did report him to the welfare so hopefully they work on it. He goes off on eastern europeans all the time even though he teaches them english. So it's not just Ireland.
    Nobody said it was just Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Get Real

Coincidentally, I witnessed a racist attack early this morning on the way to the airport.

Not the same one. But I thought this sort of thing was gone. A multi cultural society is one of the most fun, educational and interesting things about our country.

This morning, at about 6am in the city centre, I witnessed two well spoken, well dressed, men (late 30s-40s) waiting (drunkenly) for a taxi.

One jumped out into the middle of the road in front of a taxi. "where are you from?" in the most condescending, entitled way imaginable, even though he was a drunken disgrace.

The taxi tried to move on, with the window rolling down. His friend, after chuckling at this, walks over, turns into an aggressive monster and punches repeatedly in the window, screaming racial slurs. I can only presume this was cocaine fuelled or some other drug.

Not that that excuses it at all. But this was some bizzare ego fueled attack by two...and sorry for presuming but I think they deserve it...by two ignorant, upper class, ruthless, racist pr!cks.

The two ran off, shrieking with excitement, I followed and rang the guards.

I don't know what will become of it, but it makes me sick to think that they'll wake up tomorrow to go to the office, act as if they're the most successful, shiny people, and talk to their friends and colleagues as if butter wouldn't melt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

Nobody said it was just Ireland.

Really? I didn't know. :rolleyes:

Sadly there'll always be a minority of people choked up with hate and suspicion (you can even see a little bit of it here on ah, where most people would be reasonably educated). I don't think it's possible to eradicate it completely. Ireland overall doesn't seem bad for immigrants but there'll always be that nasty element.

Sciprio wrote: »
    Really? I didn't know. :rolleyes:

Strange that you'd say it so. Everyone knows there's racism in any country by any nationality.

Get Real wrote: »
    Coincidentally, I witnessed a racist attack early this morning on the way to the airport.

Not the same one. But I thought this sort of thing was gone. A multi cultural society is one of the most fun, educational and interesting things about our country.

This morning, at about 6am in the city centre, I witnessed two well spoken, well dressed, men (late 30s-40s) waiting (drunkenly) for a taxi.

One jumped out into the middle of the road in front of a taxi. "where are you from?" in the most condescending, entitled way imaginable, even though he was a drunken disgrace.

The taxi tried to move on, with the window rolling down. His friend, after chuckling at this, walks over, turns into an aggressive monster and punches repeatedly in the window, screaming racial slurs. I can only presume this was cocaine fuelled or some other drug.

Not that that excuses it at all. But this was some bizzare ego fueled attack by two...and sorry for presuming but I think they deserve it...by two ignorant, upper class, ruthless, racist pr!cks.

The two ran off, shrieking with excitement, I followed and rang the guards.

I don't know what will become of it, but it makes me sick to think that they'll wake up tomorrow to go to the office, act as if they're the most successful, shiny people, and talk to their friends and colleagues as if butter wouldn't melt.
    Pricks. Maybe it's wrong of me but I find it more annoying from people who are likely educated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Nothing more to add here except for wishing your brother a speedy recovery and hoping that all is Ok OP.

Hopefully the scum who did that to him will get their comeuppance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Been playing football at two different pitches in Galway for the past few years and on a few occasions have seen kids as young as 6 (6-12 year olds) racially abusing lads that play with us. Friend told me when he was playing just there on Thursday a couple of the young scumbags were shouting ****** at a young black kid too.

I personally feel that when I become supreme overlord of Galway and Donegal there will be a forced sterilisation upon certain sections of society. Instilling prejudices like racism in children is an insanely abhorrent act.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

Hope he gets well soon.

But "alive and well in Ireland still"...racism, in varying degrees, exists all over the world and will always exist as long as humans walk the earth.

I'm sure if a white bloke from county Clare were to live in Lagos or Karachi, he'd experience the same or worse. And I wouldn't recommend most races to hang out in the former Yugoslavia and Russia.

Ireland is great place in terms of a relative harmony between all races. But there will always be a few vicious idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Jesus Lexie I'm so sorry, your poor family.

That really is sickening, please God they'll be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

sadly there are a lot of racist vermin out there and they don't just spout their nonsense on the internet, all though spouting on the internet seems to be more common from my experience (not to say that it actually is more common) . hope they get well soon and the vermin caught

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

What a sad horrible and frightening way for a good night out to end. I hope your brother and his friend recover very soon. I hope there is CCTV footage that will help prosecute these evil vicious people.
    Well done to your brother for helping his friend. I wish them both all the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

I hope your brother and friend have a speedy recovery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I hope your brother and his friend will be ok Lexie and that the scum responsible for the attack are caught and prosecuted.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Thats awful and Im really sorry that happened you :(
    But really, I dont think anyone said theres no racism in ireland and I dont think anyone would every say scumbags like that arent capable of such terrible racist attacks. It doesnt really surprise me, a scumbag pulled a knife on my asian friend on a night out a few weeks ago saying awful thinks about his ethnicity.
    These people are just looking for trouble, and somebody who looks different gives them in their mind some kind of reason to attack somebody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Where does a scumbag running down the street get a stiletto?

They aren't just lying around. And you cannot carry them

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Where does a scumbag walking down the street get a stiletto?

There aren't just lying around

BOrrowed it from his scumbag lady friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

These type of people will find a reason to kick the fcuk out of somebody. Racism is just the 'excuse', if your bro had been hanging around with a gay guy it would have homophobia, if he had been hanging around with a long haired rocked it would have been hippy bashing, if it had been a guy in a suit it would have been because he was posh. Failing all those things they would have just thought they looked at him funny, anything that gets you noticed as different by them will be the reason and skin co lour is obvious.
    The semi urban legend back home (I say semi because people did used to get randomly jumped a lot), is that groups of louts would play 7up, meaning they would hop the seventh person coming out of a place.

I know its only a tiny proportion of dublins underclass that behave like this but these type of cnuts just don;t seem to be touched. It would be nice to here in a case like this that they actually got charged with attempted murder and actually taken off the streets.

I hope the brothers ok and he gets over this in time!

Where does a scumbag running down the street get a stiletto?

They aren't just lying around. And you cannot carry them

Um...are you serious?

Scumbags can wear shoes too you know.

Lexie I wish your brother all the best. Beaumont is a fantastic hospital for head injuries. He'll be in good hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I read it that a lad did it. If I'm wrong then I'm wrong

Yeh don't think the OP said whether the attack was by a guy or girl.

But either could have acquired the stiletto from a pal. 'course you can carry one to use as a weapon when acting the **** on the street.

I read it that a lad did it. If I'm wrong then I'm wrong

I actually just assumed it was a woman when I saw the stiletto part but actually I could be wrong. Sorry for being snotty, I didn't mean the post to come out that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Ireland isn't so bad compared to the Nordic countries, in my experience. I live in Finland and often go out to "da clubs" with my ethnically diverse friends. The amount of times you hear mostly other people calling them a certain word beginning with N would shock you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

What an awful thing to happen to your brother and his friend. I wish them a quick recovery.

I know Scandinavia isn't perfect because nowhere can be, but I'm still surprised by that. Completely assumed racism would be virtually non existent there.

Ireland isn't so bad compared to the Nordic countries, in my experience. I live in Finland and often go out to "da clubs" with my ethnically diverse friends. The amount of times you hear mostly other people calling them a certain word beginning with N would shock you.

Thats so surprising, would have thought nordic countries were the most accepting in the world...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Had a taxi driver in cork yesterday, big fat bstard, most racist stuff I've heard in ages. He said "I've nothing against Pakis and Indians, I think every house should have one." He always refused to let a black taxi driver out in front of him because of his colour. Thickest f*cker I've ever met

Can't stand them. I do my best to avoid them but you have to cross them from time to time. I had one bad-mouthing everyone from Nigerians to Polish to English people before. When he started on English people getting jobs ahead of "our own", I seized my chance and told him that I had no problem with that because we are all British. Once I said that, he shut up and didn't open his gob for the rest of the journey. Throwing something out of left-field at them seems to work.

Really sorry to hear about your brother and his mate. Hope they get well soon.

I know Scandinavia isn't perfect because nowhere can be, but I'm still surprised by that. Completely assumed racism would be virtually non existent there.

Scandinavia sounds like the most overrated place on earth. All I've heard from people who've been there is that the picture painted of it in Ireland is far different from reality.

But Ian Paisley's bigotry is ok, eh Berserker?

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭Donald73

Lexie I am so sorry, I hope your brother and his friend both make speedy recoveries...and that the little scrotes who did this get everything that is coming to them xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Scandinavia sounds like the most overrated place on earth. All I've heard from people who've been there is that the picture painted of it in Ireland is far different from reality.

Used to have to go to Oslo now and again. Atrociously expensive, worse that Switzerland where you get what you pay for in my experience and it is a manky city. Can't understand what all the fuss is about either.