Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Think people are jumping the gun a bit on blind, we will know where he is at after the next four games.

This original statement got 1 thanks
    This

Quoting said original statement got 4 times as many thanks

Bit odd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

kryogen wrote: »
    This original statement got 1 thanks

Quoting said original statement got 4 times as many thanks

Bit odd?

This

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

BzTCKedIEAEs-u_.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

anyone else feeling very optimistic about this season? 4th should really be our target but i fancy us to get 3rd

It would be folly to get too excited until we see what happens against Chelsea, City and Arsenal imo. But I'm liking the fact that there seems to be a plan, something is clearly happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I think we'll beat Arsenal. City and Chelsea on the other hand... a draw would be brilliant.

It would be folly to get too excited until we see what happens against Chelsea, City and Arsenal imo. But I'm liking the fact that there seems to be a plan, something is clearly happening.

It's good to see LVG being so honest in post match interviews,he sees problems and isn't afraid to talk about them.He clearly wasn't happy with how we played in the 2nd half against Everton and was keen to work on fixing the problem.
    Makes a big change from what we heard from the management last season.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

MagicIRL wrote: »
    I think we'll beat Arsenal. City and Chelsea on the other hand... a draw would be brilliant.

Are you well?

Sky & BT will be showing 5 United games between them for the month of December.

8th: Southampton AWAY

14th: Liverpool HOME

26th: Newcastle HOME

28th: Spurs AWAY

Jan 1st : Stoke AWAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Spazdarn wrote: »
    Are you well?

'cause I'm looking well? You dawg, you! Pick me up at 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

MagicIRL wrote: »

Derbys can be all over the place so the City result could be anything
    Chelsea will smell blood and put ye to the sword and win 2+ goal margin
    Arsenal will beat ye ,its only top 6 sides they have trouble with.

Arsenal are the most likely to beat, but they've still got the likes of Sanchez who could do serious damage. I'd expect City to be marginally stronger in key areas and Chelsea... pfttt Diego Costa :(

1 Chelsea
    2 Man City
    3 Southampton
    4 Man United

We'll be grand so :D

Players available on a Bosman in 2015.

Source: transfermarkt

Player (age) Club
    Sami Khedira (27) Real Madrid
    Marcelo (26) Real Madrid
    Andriy Yarmolenko (24) Dynamo Kyiv
    Giorgio Chiellini (30) Juventus
    Evgen Konoplyanka (24) Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk
    Yann M'Villa (24) Inter Milan
    James Milner (28) Manchester City
    Andre Ayew (24) Marseille
    Klass-Jan Huntelaar (31) Schalke 04
    Tom Cleverley (25) Manchester United
    Glen Johnson (30) Liverpool
    Nigel De Jong (29) AC Milan
    Balazs Dzsudzsak (27) Dinamo Moscow (end-December 2015)
    Emmanuel Adebayor (30) Tottenham Hotspur
    Matthieu Flamini (30) Arsenal
    Christoph Kramer (23) Bayern Leverkusen (on loan at Monchengladbach)
    Sergi Roberto (22) Barcelona
    Jon Flanagan (21) Liverpool
    Younes Kaboul (28) Tottenham Hotspur
    Ron Vlaar (29) Aston Villa
    Steven Gerrard (34) Liverpool
    John Terry (33) Chelsea
    Michael Carrick (33) Manchester United
    Mikel Arteta (32) Arsenal
    Suso (20) Liverpool
    Rafael van der Vaart (31) Hamburg
    Anderson (26) Manchester United
    Gabriel Agbonlahor (27) Aston Villa
    Dirk Kuyt (34) Fenerbahce
    Danny Ings (22) Burnley
    Adrien Rabiot (19) PSG

There's a couple in there worth taking. Chiellini in January is a player we could do with.Rabiot is being linked to us in today's Express.

Good thing we are in 4th so and havent finished behind them in years.

The real crunch match is against our real rivals, southampton and west brom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Roy didnt exactly come across well in quotes iv seen. He still seems very bitter

*Bonus funny*

Arsenal are 8th and Liverpool are 9th.

You better check yourself before you wreck yourself son.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Zico

zerks wrote: »
    Chiellini in January is a player we could do with.

Why are you teasing me with stuff like this?

What a signing that would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Bit soon to be assuming all them players will be available for free in the summer. I'd expect a load of them to sign new deals with their clubs.

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Bit soon to be assuming all them players will be available for free in the summer. I'd expect a load of them to sign new deals with their clubs.

They might, united could also make an offer of a few million, or a better contract, something new to end their career on.

Nothing stopping them from not signing on and leaving.
    Cheilini would be the best for a while and Khedira as a squad player.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

Interesting to see if Terry does a Lampard or does he feel he has a few more years left in England.

Heard before he is actually a United fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

This

Hmm, yes, quite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,348 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Interesting to see if Terry does a Lampard or does he feel he has a few more years left in England.

Heard before he is actually a United fan.

remember reading at the time, and a few times since, that United had a deal in place to sign him and lampard from Chelsea just before RA took over - that obviously scuppered the deal.

We haven't done badly since though, tbf.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭KH25

Khedeira and Marcello would be good additions I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Players available on a Bosman in 2015.

Source: transfermarkt

Player (age) Club
    Sami Khedira (27) Real Madrid
    Marcelo (26) Real Madrid
    Andriy Yarmolenko (24) Dynamo Kyiv
    Giorgio Chiellini (30) Juventus
    Evgen Konoplyanka (24) Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk
    Yann M'Villa (24) Inter Milan
    James Milner (28) Manchester City
    Andre Ayew (24) Marseille
    Klass-Jan Huntelaar (31) Schalke 04
    Tom Cleverley (25) Manchester United
    Glen Johnson (30) Liverpool
    Nigel De Jong (29) AC Milan
    Balazs Dzsudzsak (27) Dinamo Moscow (end-December 2015)
    Emmanuel Adebayor (30) Tottenham Hotspur
    Matthieu Flamini (30) Arsenal
    Christoph Kramer (23) Bayern Leverkusen (on loan at Monchengladbach)
    Sergi Roberto (22) Barcelona
    Jon Flanagan (21) Liverpool
    Younes Kaboul (28) Tottenham Hotspur
    Ron Vlaar (29) Aston Villa
    Steven Gerrard (34) Liverpool
    John Terry (33) Chelsea
    Michael Carrick (33) Manchester United
    Mikel Arteta (32) Arsenal
    Suso (20) Liverpool
    Rafael van der Vaart (31) Hamburg
    Anderson (26) Manchester United
    Gabriel Agbonlahor (27) Aston Villa
    Dirk Kuyt (34) Fenerbahce
    Danny Ings (22) Burnley
    Adrien Rabiot (19) PSG

There's a couple in there worth taking. Chiellini in January is a player we could do with.Rabiot is being linked to us in today's Express.

Didn't M'Villa only just sign with them?

Khedira is the standout for me anyways. Would love him at Liverpool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

brevity wrote: »
    Didn't M'Villa only just sign with them?

Khedira is the standout for me anyways. Would love him at Liverpool.

Indeed - Arsenal will bag him for Flamini exit.

Gerrard, Flano will get contracts, Suso possibly. Johnson off to QPR (retire!)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭KH25

Can't believe agbonglahor is only 27. Seems like he's been around forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

remember reading at the time, and a few times since, that United had a deal in place to sign him and lampard from Chelsea just before RA took over - that obviously scuppered the deal.

We haven't done badly since though, tbf.

True, however United midfield of Scholes and Lampard would have been amazeballs.

On the flipside signing Terry would have meant possibly no Vidic and that would make me sad, regardless of how good a player Terry is.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

8th: Southampton AWAY

14th: Liverpool HOME

26th: Newcastle HOME

28th: Spurs AWAY

Jan 1st : Stoke AWAY
    When Setanta release details of their matches I'll update the list on post #1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Sergio Roberto would be an interesting signing.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

8th: Southampton AWAY 8pm Sky Sports

14th: Liverpool HOME 13:30 Sky Sports

26th: Newcastle HOME 3pm BT Sports

28th: Spurs AWAY 12:15 BT Sports

Jan 1st : Stoke AWAY 12:45 Sky Sports

Updated with times and channels.
    Thanks zerks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Well that was embarrassing for you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Pro. F wrote: »
    He was given acres of space in the first half and he did okay, nothing amazing. He was pressed in the second half and he was hopeless. He has been nothing like "very good" since his arrival.

Are you not supporting Villa now since your love child has moved on?
    Blind breaks up play and covers space and actually passes the ball forward in ways cleverly could only dream of......Head, Sand....etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Was looking to go to the Southampton game but its been moved to the Monday night :(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Blind breaks up play and covers space and actually passes the ball forward in ways cleverly could only dream of......Head, Sand....etc etc

Would you ever get over your obsession with me.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

United have 2 games within 48 hours too after Christmas.

Good thing the first game is a home game.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Would appreciate if this was stopped before it starts, ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

True, however United midfield of Scholes and Lampard would have been amazeballs.

Just like it was for England?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Would appreciate if this was stopped before it starts, ok?

Certainly ok with me. I'd be delighted if it stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭akelly02

KH25 wrote: »
    Blind looks like he could be a very good signing. There have been some great instances of play from him so far but just as many times when he didnt play that well. I think a lot of people are basing their view on him at the world cup. IMO he's an upgrade on what we have (bar maybe Carrick) but he hasn't played his best just yet. I think getting Carrick back will help a lot. I think they'd be a good partnership.

IMO they have the same role in the team, except Blind does it a lot better. So what im saying is its prob gonna be one or the other, not them both. Im in the Blind camp after the dirt iv seen from Carrick last year (and other years, we all know he had 1 good year that everyone keeps going on about).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

KH25 wrote: »
    Can't believe agbonglahor is only 27. Seems like he's been around forever.

If he added more goals to his game he would have been a beast

Much like Welbeck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Only 3 weeks until Van Gaal v Mourinho

Last time out Mourinho beat him to win the Champions League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Only 3 weeks until Van Gaal v Mourinho

Last time out Mourinho beat him to win the Champions League

Second worst final in recent memory. Only beaten by Juve/AC Milan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,348 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Or, possibly....

Rooney --> Monaco
    Falcao --> Real Madrid
    Ronaldo --> Man United.

Would leave us a forward short though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭paulbok

Or, possibly....

Rooney --> Monaco
    Falcao --> Real Madrid
    Ronaldo --> Man United.

If, it's probably a big if, we do resign Ronaldo, we would definitely want to keep Rooney considering how well they played together before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Considering I probably make on average a post a week in this thread I'd hardly call it an obsession. Sorry for calling out one of your many ridiculous posts. I'll bugger off now for another couple of weeks. I take it all back everything you've said about cleverly is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Spotted this on Reddit the other day:

http://www.reddit.com/r/soccer/comments/2ig1fd/since_signing_for_manchester_city_in_august_2011/

With those kinds of numbers would ye be happy for Rooney to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭larchielads

Rooney goin nowhere lads......relax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Or, possibly....

Rooney --> Monaco
    Falcao --> Real Madrid
    Ronaldo --> Man United.

I wouldnt mind Moutinho too. Madrid can **** off too

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

If we are selling any forward, not that we should or will, it would be best if its RVP. Rooney>RVP.