Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Van Gaal is good value in his interviews you know. Very open

zerks wrote: »
    The Faffening.

Episode 1: The Fafftom Menace

• Registered Users Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭Robson99

Mr Alan wrote: »

Can understand relief & being happy, but wouldn't go over the top about it.

And hen Balotelli scores a league goal you can post the same line in the scouse thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

My United ratings and how I rate players

10 out of this world
    9 super duper performance
    8 excellent
    7 good
    6 solid/above average
    5 average
    4 below average/can do better
    3 poor
    2 awful
    1 my gran would be better
    0 my dead gran could do better

DDG 8
    Rafa 6
    Rojo 6
    Smalling 6
    Shaw 5
    Blind 5.5
    Fellaini 6
    Mata 3
    Januzaj 5
    Di Maria 4(by his standards)
    RVP 7

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Surprised to see people faffing over the result. Didn't you draw with Chelsea last season too? :confused:

If you didn't see the game and are confused then I can't help you. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

10 out of this world
    8 excellent
    7 good
    6 solid/above average
    5 average
    3 poor
    2 awful

DDG 8
    Rafa 6
    Rojo 6
    Smalling 6
    Shaw 5
    Blind 5.5
    Fellaini 6
    Mata 3
    Januzaj 5
    RVP 7

That's laughably harsh

keane2097 wrote: »
    That's laughably harsh

Why?

We really were not that good imo

I'd expect Liverpool fans to be very happy, but not declarations of "what a result" etc....there's a difference between being delighted about snatching a point & declaring a draw against Chelsea a brilliant result. You're still Utd for crying out loud! :p

It was dry but blowing a gale. Had never been before but it was pretty stunning & I think the murky weather & the insane wind kinda added to it. Felt like the edge of the world.

Ah right, people are delighted about snatching a point from the jaws of defeat, the result, many people have pointed out, is secondary to the overall performance and the display of character from the team. The play was still too pedestrian at times, but we are getting better

Yeah it really does feel like that, was up there again in the summer. On a clear day it is amazing also

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Had my worries with Raf getting booked so early but fair play he stuck to his task, looked dangerous going forward. He's still a little indecisive in aspects of his defending but gives his all for us. Jones and his wonky injuries can feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

10 out of this world
    8 excellent
    7 good
    6 solid/above average
    5 average
    3 poor
    2 awful

DDG 8
    Rafa 6
    Rojo 6
    Smalling 6
    Shaw 5
    Blind 5.5
    Fellaini 6
    Mata 3
    Januzaj 5
    RVP 7

Thought Shaw had his best game (that I've seen) same with Fellaini.

I want Fellaini to be as a success as anybody but he still gave away few sloppy balls. He got stupid yellow for fouling Hazard too after poor pass.

Shaw was OK but at times ran into no mans land IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭Robson99

keane2097 wrote: »
    Another case where I have no idea what people think his role is meant to be.

What has he done?? F,,k all IMO. Way too slow and lightweight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Even LVG is prone to brief moments of faffing.

carrick4xjrs.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

kryogen wrote: »
    Ah right, people are delighted about snatching a point from the jaws of defeat, the result, many people have pointed out, is secondary to the overall performance and the display of character from the team. The play was still too pedestrian at times, but we are getting better
    The second half today was more a case of Chelsea snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.

A draw is a draw is a draw. But that's all it is imo. There was nothing today that suggests we will kick on from there and go on a run of wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭secman

10 out of this world
    8 excellent
    7 good
    6 solid/above average
    5 average
    3 poor
    2 awful

DDG 8
    Rafa 6
    Rojo 6
    Smalling 6
    Shaw 5
    Blind 5.5
    Fellaini 6
    Mata 3
    Januzaj 5
    RVP 7

FFS kew thats very harsh indeed. According to everyone and their mother Chelsea have the league to lose, we well deserved the draw today. Last season we were getting whooped in these games, second week in a row we played till the death and got late goals, credit where credits due..........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Will the excessive amount of love for Mata on these pages diminish?

He was toxic today and has been a disastrous signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

10 out of this world
    8 excellent
    7 good
    6 solid/above average
    5 average
    3 poor
    2 awful

DDG 8
    Rafa 6
    Rojo 6
    Smalling 6
    Shaw 5
    Blind 5.5
    Fellaini 6
    Mata 3
    Januzaj 5
    RVP 7
    If Fellaini is only a 6 and Shaw only a 5, I'm assuming you missed the - in front of Jan's 5.

I'd push Fell up to a 7.5, Shaw to a 7 and take Jan down to a 1.5 purely because while my gran is good, she also has no pace and is constantly slowing the rest of us down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Even LVG is prone to brief moments of faffing.

carrick4xjrs.gif

What a spoofer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

10 out of this world
    8 excellent
    7 good
    6 solid/above average
    5 average
    3 poor
    2 awful

My Ratings- on right of Kews

DDG 8. 8
    Rafa 6. 5 Terrible for goal.
    Rojo 6. 6
    Smalling 6. 6.5
    Shaw 5. 5
    Blind 5.5. 6.5
    Fellaini 6. 6
    Mata 3. 3.5
    Januzaj 5. 6.5
    Di Maria 4(by his standards)5
    RVP 7
    . 5

Would give RVP 5 for general play,took chance well but was a passenger throughout,didnt lead line well at all,Shaw still looks overweight to me,Rafael is defensively naive and not improving his decision making with age,Blind and Fellaini were solid throughout,Januzai tried hard and goes at players anyway,unlike likes of Valencia,Wilson is a real prospect,his looping header was a fine effort.

If Fellaini is only a 6 and Shaw only a 5, I'm assuming you missed the - in front of Jan's 5.

I'd push Fell up to a 7.5, Shaw to a 7 and take Jan down to a 1.5 purely because while my gran is good, she also has no pace and is constantly slowing the rest of us down.

Well at least you had balls to give opinion.

Thought Januazj did as well as he could.

Got f all support and tbf was at least trying make something happen. Also gave great pass to RVP in first half.

He served greater purpose when he went more centre.

. 5

Would give RVP 5 for general play,took chance well but was a passenger throughout,didnt lead line well at all,Shaw still looks overweight to me,Rafael is defensively naive and not improving his decision making with age,Blind and Fellaini were solid throughout,Januzai tried hard and goes at players anyway,unlike likes of Valencia,Wilson is a real prospect,his looping header was a fine effort.

Shaw is not overweight. Nothing raf could do for the goal.

Nonsense.

Where was Falcao today, out injured?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

I would not go that far. A dip in form but not a disastrous signing! Jesus every player dips at some stage or other.

K4t wrote: »
    The second half today was more a case of Chelsea snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.

A draw is a draw is a draw. But that's all it is imo. There was nothing today that suggests we will kick on from there and go on a run of wins.

Matching and in some cases, bettering the best team in the league bar none who according to many were going to destroy us is nothing?

If you want to make statements like the above you could also say United almost snatched defeat from the jaws of victory with the missed opportunities in the first half when we were well on top.

Doesnt really matter, a draw is a fair result, a decent reflection of the game, and for me the will to keep going and not fold, the encouraging performances from some of our more maligned players and a pretty solid defensive display barring a couple of mistakes gives me something to look forward to anyway.

madcabbage wrote: »
    I would not go that far. A dip in form but not a disastrous signing! Jesus every player dips at some stage or other.

Don't waste your time

What about Fellaini?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Well at least you had balls to give opinion.

Thought Januazj did as well as he could.

Got f all support and tbf was at least trying make something happen. Also gave great pass to RVP in first half.

He served greater purpose when he went more centre.
    He gave a good pass to RVP but as someone else mentioned earlier, he hesitates too much before making a decision. RVP is standing with his arms out looking for that pass for at least 1-2 seconds before an makes it which may have made the world of difference.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭beno619

He was great in the first half but poor in the second, like a few players.

What about Fellaini?

Fellaini is a disgrace Joe

Worst signing ever,of any team not just United, ever. Wouldn't have that fella cleaning the jacks sure

I agree and always have agreed with this

He gave a good pass to RVP but as someone else mentioned earlier, he hesitates too much before making a decision. RVP is standing with his arms out looking for that pass for at least 1-2 seconds before an makes it which may have made the world of difference.......

Plenty of the passes he did not give were by the line and maybe he felt too risky.

I can see what you mean but when he cuts more centrally he is far more of use.

What about Fellaini?

A terrible player.

Not United standard.

One swallow does not make a summer.

Worst signing ever,of any team not just United, ever. Wouldn't have that fella cleaning the jacks sure
    Would make a great chimney sweep

• Registered Users Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭KH25

He needs to be up at the front with the big bushy head on him. Give the crosser something to aim at with the bushy head.

A terrible player.

Not United standard.

So having a great game against Chelsea does nothing? You know like the Fellaini of pre man United.

Come on larry, just admit it.

A terrible player.

Not United standard.

Sorry Larry but I don't agree with this one, felani is a great player to have. Versetile and made a real difference today

Would make a great chimney sweep

Singing the Dick Van Dyke song from Mary Poppins...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Couldn't picture Utd getting anything out of that without Fellani on the pitch to be honest. He did a good job breaking up play around the park.

B0460nxCUAEMDwq.jpg:large

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭Mr_Red

I thought Fellaini was due to fail at the club

Last season disaster like the rest of the team besides DDG

If we had of sold him in the summer It wouldnt have bothered me as he showed nothing last season

This season hes getting better and im delighted for him

But if he gets into a comfort zone then hes not worth shit to us

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Zico

I love the banter and I love..most of... you, but most of all.. I love MUFC.

Having said that 'gwan fuk yer on silf' if you think I'll say I'm enjoying any of this sh1t right now.

I'm an angry man. I will be for a while, it looks like.

Cheer me up you bastards! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Nonsense.[/QUOTE
    As your responding I will take it you can read so read the post again...I said Shaw 'looks' overweight....ie not trim and fighting fit in my eyes,and Rafael totally lost Drogba for Goal and Drogba wouldn't exactly be Pacy over the first five yards at this stage of his career:)

So having a great game against Chelsea does nothing? You know like the Fellaini of pre man United.

Come on larry, just admit it.

He did well today but even poor players like Andy Carroll have good days. It doesn't make them Manchester United standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

10 out of this world
    8 excellent
    7 good
    6 solid/above average
    5 average
    3 poor
    2 awful

DDG 8
    Rafa 6
    Rojo 6
    Smalling 6
    Shaw 5
    Blind 5.5
    Fellaini 6
    Mata 3
    Januzaj 5
    RVP 7
    DDG 8
    Rafa 8
    Rojo 5
    Smalling 7
    Shaw 8
    Blind 7
    Fellaini 7
    Mata 5
    Januzaj 5
    Di Maria 5 (well defended against)
    RVP 5

He did well today but even poor players like Andy Carroll have good days. It doesn't make them Manchester United standard.

I can't wait until he proves you wrong

Mr_Red wrote: »
    I thought Fellaini was due to fail at the club

Last season disaster like the rest of the team besides DDG

If we had of sold him in the summer It wouldnt have bothered me as he showed nothing last season

This season hes getting better and im delighted for him

But if he gets into a comfort zone then hes not worth shit to us

It's some contrast to last season where he looked terrified on the field,it was as if he was afraid to take the same responsibility as he did at Everton.This season when he's been given the chance he's taken it & is starting to prove us wrong about him.
    Fabergas has been pulling the strings for Chelsea since joining yet Fellaini never gave him a kick today & even got the assist for RVP's goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Just back from the game, was a really good match in fairness, Thought Smalling played very well and distributed the ball nicely. Fellani stood out for me also (But I've always been a Fellani supporter so may be biased) .

What was depressing is looking at our bench options and how we didn't have anyone to come on and grab the game by the neck and make things work,

I pointed out to my father that Raf was marking Drogba for corners etc and I couldn't get my head around it, can anyone clarify this?

Hazard is also scarily good and a joy to watch live, the man is amazing. Bar the Ivanovic sending off I felt he did well to control Di Maria and Adnan for the game.

Also people leaving before the final whistle, we are MAN UNITED FFS! Of course we would score.

Was awesome and the fact I haven't slept in about 36 hours hasn't deterred me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

No mention of the championship player? Hmmmmmmm..

All very predictable at this stage Larry.

Nonsense.[/QUOTE
    As your responding I will take it you can read so read the post again...I said Shaw 'looks' overweight....ie not trim and fighting fit in my eyes,and Rafael totally lost Drogba for Goal and Drogba wouldn't exactly be Pacy over the first five yards at this stage of his career:)

Van Gaal already said there was a miscommunication between Rafa, Fellaini and Blind for the goal, there is no way in hell Rafa should have been picking up Drog, he didnt stand a chance

It's some contrast to last season where he looked terrified on the field,it was as if he was afraid to take the same responsibility as he did at Everton.This season when he's been given the chance he's taken it & is starting to prove us wrong about him.
    Fabergas has been pulling the strings for Chelsea since joining yet Fellaini never gave him a kick today & even got the assist for RVP's goal.

Got me thinking about Fellaini when you said he kept Fabregas quiet.

I think I ain't giving Fellaini enough credit for this. So will hold hand up on that one.