Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newcastle United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2022/2023

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

will Balotelli save us :P

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭D_turbo

Apparently Kenyon penned s letter stating he is still hugely interested.
    https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/revealed-peter-kenyon-letter-mike-15633013

Bollix anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

I
    D_turbo wrote: »
    Apparently Kenyon penned s letter stating he is still hugely interested.
    https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/revealed-peter-kenyon-letter-mike-15633013

Bollix anyway

Usual transfer window bollix

Even if Kenyon is genuine, Ashley just leading him up the garden path until price is raised to unreasonable value

"takeover" in summary

2 days before boycott of televised wolves game Takeover story breaks, boycott called off sparing embarrassment to MA

1 day after an umbrella group has open letter to MA in the times insisting funds are released and pointing out to everyone that zero money has been spent and in all likelihood money is being taken out of the club a letter from Kenyon miraculously appears

PR manipulative guff that we have all seen before.

MA is not a motivated seller. He gets free advertising for his primary interest worth north of 20M a year and looks to be taking 50m a year out of the club when in the PL. Can someone please tell me who in their right minds would give this up? This is another ploy to keep the revolt back so he can retain this cosy deal, nothing more.

Sadly the vast majority of the fan base continually say "it will be different this time".

• Registered Users Posts: 321 ✭✭toonarmy1

Ill be in London the weekend of the spurs game, that has been confirmed for wembley .
    Any one know will it be possible to get tickets for this or will you have to be a member of spurs ?

toonarmy1 wrote: »
    Ill be in London the weekend of the spurs game, that has been confirmed for wembley .
    Any one know will it be possible to get tickets for this or will you have to be a member of spurs ?

Away tickets are allocated on a points basis and are almost impossible to get. They rarely even go on member sale. Keep an eye for someone flogging a ticket online.

Other option is going in with home fans. Plenty of tickets for their home games. Not sure if that's a great approach though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭fitzparker

follow a few twitter pages
    @NufcAwaydays - one might come up.

as M5 said above you should be grand getting a home one.

Im over there the weekend of FA cup game V watford, if we manage to beat the mighty blackburn.

then back over 2 days later again for the City game.

I understand I dont help the cause, but fans just wont stay away from the games and ashley knows this. City tickets went on sale for online only last week and to get 2 tickets beside eachother was a tough job, id say less than 2000 tickets (being generous) was left from the stadium view

cheers for advice , ill get a home ticket and stay quite , be easiest option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

toonarmy1 wrote: »
    cheers for advice , ill get a home ticket and stay quite , be easiest option

Just pretend Spurs are Newcastle , keep the eyes closed :)

Hayden is just awful. Let him head off. No use to us.
    Good to see long staff get a game

Ciaran Clark is nufc second top scorer with three goals.

More than Perez, Joselu and every single midfielder nufc have combined.

bit of a double edge sword last night, would have been best losing and not go to extra time, but once in there was good to get the win.

Lacelles and clarke getting injured is good (in a way) as our 3 best defenders will now get picked, but with those injuries we need to sign and sign fast. we have no CM at the moment, Cardiff the weekend is our biggest game of the season and they will be rubbing their hands we played 120 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Was nearly never so disappointed to win a game! Obviously good to get the win to hopefully build confidence for the weekend. Cardiff on Saturday is going to be huge.

M5 wrote: »
    "takeover" in summary

2 days before boycott of televised wolves game Takeover story breaks, boycott called off sparing embarrassment to MA

1 day after an umbrella group has open letter to MA in the times insisting funds are released and pointing out to everyone that zero money has been spent and in all likelihood money is being taken out of the club a letter from Kenyon miraculously appears

PR manipulative guff that we have all seen before.

MA is not a motivated seller. He gets free advertising for his primary interest worth north of 20M a year and looks to be taking 50m a year out of the club when in the PL. Can someone please tell me who in their right minds would give this up? This is another ploy to keep the revolt back so he can retain this cosy deal, nothing more.

Sadly the vast majority of the fan base continually say "it will be different this time".

As expected Mike Ashley has "conceded defeat" in his attempts to sell the club.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭jimwallace197

The sad truth is that while fans continue to buy season tickets & merchandise, hes going to continue along this same path as it makes a lot of financial sense for him to do so and he is a business man at the end of the day. A very ruthless, shrewd & opportunistic one.

The only chance we have of him not pricing us out of a sale is if the fans boycott similar to the liverpool fans under Hicks & Gillett.

Its frustrating as the loyalty the fans have to the club is admirable but its also our biggest weakness with an owner like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭chewed

Why doesn't Rafa just play the defenders up front in every game! They appear to be far more effective

Schar now has more than Joselu and Perez combined

M5 wrote: »
    Schar now has more than Joselu and Perez combined

Ah come on now M5, he clearly doesnt. sure they were his first 2 goals

fitzparker wrote: »
    Ah come on now M5, he clearly doesnt. sure they were his first 2 goals

I stand corrected.

He was level on goals with 2 of our three centre forwards when he scored his second though and currently has more than our entire midfield combined.

Still pretty pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Looking forward to the next sale of the club announcement come May. With the investment made in the squad, there should be no problems getting the next potential sale over the line.

Apparently, Jordan Lukaku failed a medical ... And his wage demands were to high ahead of a move to Newcastle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

well that was an unexpected result..

almiron close to a club record 20 million deal also

Starting to show a little bit of form in the league and some resilience, away draw to Watford (decent result), gave a very inform team in Man United a good game at St.James park and were unlucky to lose, lost in the last few minutes away to Chelsea, beat cardiff 3-0 at home, beat Man City 2-1 at home. Not saying the results are fantastic but we are playing better than we were before.

Its looking like the Almiron deal is now going to through aswell so at least there are some reasons to be optimistic.

After spurs next, we have wolves, Huddersfield & Burnley, if we take 7 points from those three matches, I'd be pretty confident we will stay up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Can you imagine what Rafa would be capable of if Ashley backed him in the transfer market.
    Barring a miracle I reckon he's definitely gone in the summer. This was Ashley's last chance to convince Rafa to stay and its a case of too little too late.

Hadn't realised he was asked about quitting before the City match as his exit clause has now expired so he's definitely gone and I can't blame him in the slightest.
    https://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2019/01/28/rafael-benitez-refuses-rule-quitting-newcastle-manager-amid/

• Registered Users Posts: 910 ✭✭✭PauloConn

Agree, if Rafa had the financial support he could turn the club into a consistent-top-half-of-the-table team.
    The team are on a high and if we get the few results together over February it will make the back end of the season a bit easier.

Have to say i was astonished at our performance last night. Some really top drawer performances whit Schar and the very promising Longstaff (who seemed to be everywhere). Kudos to iceman Ritchie for slotting away that penalty after the antics of the city Keeper.

Also to finally look like we are making moves in the transfer market are also positive!

Slightly concerning that we are borrowing money to complete the deals though

Brilliant to be at the game, went there with the hope of keeping the goal difference down (and because it was cheap, €30 for flight and hotel, steal!!). the fans really got behind the team. Thought Rondon was superb, he works so hard on and off the ball, never gave the ball away. We should just sign him now. Longstaff was very good he gets up and down the pitch well.

Hopefully we get 3 in before 11pm just to even tighten up the bench.

Also if anyone is interested flights for burnley game were €20 up to last night

fitzparker wrote: »
    Brilliant to be at the game, went there with the hope of keeping the goal difference down (and because it was cheap, €30 for flight and hotel, steal!!). the fans really got behind the team. Thought Rondon was superb, he works so hard on and off the ball, never gave the ball away. We should just sign him now. Longstaff was very good he gets up and down the pitch well.

Hopefully we get 3 in before 11pm just to even tighten up the bench.

Also if anyone is interested flights for burnley game were €20 up to last night

You probably picked the best game of the season to attend! :D

That would make you sick.
    Just typical

On upside, longstaff was fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Morpork

For me, that's a foul on the keeper. Dubravka's arms were closing in on the ball and then widened as his arms were hit.
    I don't get Jamie's argument about the length of time his arms were touching Dubravka's. A punch doesn't stay on a persons face for a long period of time. The arms down from a height.

Good results tonight with Cardiff and Fulham both soundly beaten keeping them in trouble. Huge game against Huddersfield at home tomorrow, if we can’t beat a side that is basically already relegated then we’ve no business staying up ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Can we play 10 man Huddersfield every week? Almrion and Perez playing really well off each other.

Much more confident about staying up now, a good result against Burnley next would be fantastic. Our run in isn’t the worst & we should pick up a good few more points after the Burnley game.

Forget about Almiron, how. Good has Longstaff been? Again!

Both were fantastic on Saturday, Our link up play was excellent. I think we should make an offer for Rondon now and get it sorted before the summer, P/Exchange with Gayle and Murphy plus cash.

Our home games will keep us up

Burnley, Everton, Crystal Palace, Southampton and Liverpool.

10 points from this is very doable. our run in is decent and bench getting stronger each week.

also Hayden getting game time is only upping his stock and we might get an extra 1-2 million in the summer

Stunning from schar. Something out if the ordinary for Newcastle.

Delighted for longstaff to. Goal and another great game so far

D_turbo wrote: »
    Stunning from schar. Something out if the ordinary for Newcastle.

Delighted for longstaff to. Goal and another great game so far

Been a while since we scored a goal like that.

Schar probably has our top 2 goals this season

Declan Rice wears Sean Longstaff pyjamas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,520 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Disgusting behaviour from Tarkowski there, went to stamp on Joselu and thankfully he missed. Should get a retrospective ban for that.

Very good performance from ye though, particularly the first half. Still can’t believe Almiron actually got signed, brilliant little player and he’s started his Newcastle career impressively. Longstaff will be an England international too, no doubt about that, good to see a local player breaking into the team. 31 points now, so a push for a top-half finish should be the target if you can win 2 of the next 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,420 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Didn't realise how good a run of form ye had been on:

W Cardiff (h) 3 - 0
    W City (h) 2 - 1
    L Spurs (a) 0 - 1
    D Wolves (a) 1 - 1
    W Huddersfield (h) 2 - 0
    W Burnley (h) 2 - 0

13 points from 18 with a +7 GD during the stretch. Winning winnable games and hanging tough in difficult fixtures. Very impressive.

Four difficult fixtures ahead of ye in March so picking up another four points from them would be brilliant, nice to avoid any nervous clenching down the stretch!

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Didn't realise how good a run of form ye had been on:

W Cardiff (h) 3 - 0
    W City (h) 2 - 1
    L Spurs (a) 0 - 1
    D Wolves (a) 1 - 1
    W Huddersfield (h) 2 - 0
    W Burnley (h) 2 - 0

13 points from 18 with a +7 GD during the stretch. Winning winnable games and hanging tough in difficult fixtures. Very impressive.

Four difficult fixtures ahead of ye in March so picking up another four points from them would be brilliant, nice to avoid any nervous clenching down the stretch!

On top of that, we only conceded a goal in the very last minute against Wolves aswell and a with a few minutes away against Spurs. This the best form the team has been showing in a long time.

Good results for us today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,420 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Rocking and rolling at this point! All the heavy lifting done and dusted.

Brilliant game in many ways for us, despite some bizarre refereeing.

Last time we overturned a 2 goal deficit was 2003! Enjoy this one!

Incredible result. Would've loved to have been over at it!

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Rocking and rolling at this point! All the heavy lifting done and dusted.

Great result it was but definitely not nearly out of the woods just yet. We’ve 34pts, only 6 ahead of 18th place Cardiff. Two or three bad results coupled with Cardiff picking up a few points and we’re right back in the sh!t. Fcuking West Ham they’d make you sick, absolute world beaters when they played us last weekend but sh!t the bed big time against a dire Cardiff yesterday.

anyone know where i can watch highlights of the everton game ?
    forgot to record match of the day

I always google newcastle vs opponent highlights and one of the first links is a highlights video

Not surprised with the result against Arsenal tonight, we've a wretched record against them but to be fair wasn't expecting any different. However, the last few games are much more winnable (Palace, Leicester, Southampton, Brighton, Liverpool and Fulham), realistically only the Liverpool game is the one there you'd say we'd have no hope it (although if they're out of the title race they'll be well deflated and not up for it). The rest we should pick up a few wins and draws that'll guarantee safety.
    After this weekend with Cardiff and Fulham beaten and Huddersfield down, I think even just one more win should see us home and hosed.

Great result on Friday after that kick in the teeth against palace where we should have been well clear before theygot the peno.

Smashing header by Perez.

Id like Almiron to play more central (in the number 10 role)

That should put us safe now and the next 4 games will help us push up the table (3 winnable games at least)

The cheque book has to come out for rondon, it will be a disgrace if we don't get him.

Gayle and Murphy plus 5 million will do it, the 2 lads wages then cover Rondon.