Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newcastle United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2022/2023

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Whether it's the Newcastle of old or this sorry bunch, it's never a dull team, that's for absolute certain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Well done Darlow, made a couple of really important stops today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

martyos121 wrote: »
    Darlow you feckin LEGEND! I've given him enough stick but fair does to ya! :)

Cabaye doing Newcastle a big favour there, talk about a pretend penalty.

TherapyBoy wrote: »
    Finding it quite hard to breathe at the moment.

Think I'm on my 3rd breath this half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Can't take this...

After the greedy Bastard chants just prior to the penalty I sincerely doubt he was in a generous mood

No, Cabaye would never do Newcastle a favour.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Whatever he was doing it was a poor penalty, and I'm grateful it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Gotta love Mitro's passion.

Duff wrote: »
    Gotta love Mitro's passion.

Not if he's out of our last two games for being a bell end

Sunlun equaliser

Sunderland equalise... balls

Get in

Great win, showed tremendous fight today and props to Darlow for the peno save.

If Norwich lose to Arsenal, there's every chance of survival yet. Every chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

If you stay in the league, Rafa will make you a top 8 side within a season or 2.

Mark my words.

Jesus.... My heart.

COME ON ARSENAL NOW FFS!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

Good result indeed, but I still maintain that Sunderland are in pole position with a game in hand and a superior goal difference, we still have it all to do lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

3rd game I've been out and not watching.

Pattern emerging here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭cadete

Nerves are shot! Great result, pity Sunderland stole a point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Woohoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,403 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Won two, drawn two of the last four. Huge game against Villa now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Moneymaker wrote: »
    3rd game I've been out and not watching.

Pattern emerging here :pac:

Dont you dare watch the remaining games!!

Next round of games, nufc at villa, Sunderland home to Chelsea and Norwich home to United.

We could be 5 points clear this time next week. Much rather 2 points on the board than a game in hand at this end of the table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

M5 wrote: »
    Next round of games, nufc at villa, Sunderland home to Chelsea and Norwich home to United.

We could be 5 points clear this time next week. Much rather 2 points on the board than a game in hand at this end of the table

You're safe mate. It's done.

Paully D wrote: »

Not over yet buddy! Not by a long shot! If the results above go as expected it will be over this time next week though. Would be surprised if everything goes as expected mind!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Don't you be putting that relegation Jermaine Defoe hoodoo on us Paully!

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

How? You still have a game in hand and it's against Everton! They've only won 8 games this season!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Seannew1 wrote: »
    How? You still have a game in hand and it's against Everton! They've only won 8 games this season!

We've won 2 in 14, or 1 in 9, failed to beat Palace and West Brom at home in that period, thrown away 2 points at your place. We've failed to beat far worse teams than Everton.

Meanwhile Newcastle have drawn with City and Liverpool and beaten Swansea and Palace in their last 4, taking 8 points from an available 12. Rafa is proving his worth as expected. You'll obviously take 3 points from a Villa side who have lost 11 games in a row and then you're at home to a Spurs side with nothing to play for and minus Alli on the last day of the season. I think you'll reach at least 37 points, perhaps even 39.

I think 36 is Sunderland's absolute limit, which would mean taking 4 points from Chelsea (H), Everton (H), Watford (A). For a side with 2 wins in 14 (or 1 in 9), 4 points from those games is even a bit of a stretch to be honest.

It's just my opinion and I've been wrong many times before, but I don't know how anyone can look at things as they are and not think Newcastle will stay up.

Surely if Spurs loose the tittle like this they will be deflated as **** come the last game of the season .... surely!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

You would think so. Hopefully half the lads are mentally already on holidays/Euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

They will be desperate to finish ahead of Arsenal still and its not guaranteed yet. A lot more on the line for Newcastle though regardless.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

Wouldn't be looking over Villa TBH.

Given our away form this season, it's by no means a given.

TaosHum wrote: »
    Wouldn't be looking over Villa TBH.

Given our away form this season, it's by no means a given.

Cant beat villa = DESERVE to go down

They have been rubbish and their fans are planning a huge protest.

We have to as fans assume we'll beat them, the players on the other hand can take nothing for granted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭fitzparker

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    Cant beat villa = DESERVE to go down

They have been rubbish and their fans are planning a huge protest.

We have to as fans assume we'll beat them, the players on the other hand can take nothing for granted!

As above, im more nervous about this game then our one against spurs or our last 4, maybe its because we went down against these the last time but villa tend to raise it a bit against Newcastle.

we need everyone on form, a performance like city and this could be a walk over, and the players need to look at it that way aswell, no better way to make a statement going into the last game then to hop off these!

by the state of Villa park attendance there could be more away fans than home!!

Obertan and Marveaux released, hardly surprising.

martyos121 wrote: »
    Obertan and Marveaux released, hardly surprising.

Don't let the door hit yis on the way out

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭JPNelsforearm

So much dross in that squad, they wont be the last, Championship or not. Hard to believe Obertan is 27, I thought he was only around 23 and had some growth potential, what a waste of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Massive day tomorrow.

Need 3pts against Villa, end of. Hopefully Manchester United can do us a favour in the earlier kick-off, but I am more worried about getting out of Villa Park with 3pts. Not going to be straightforward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

HOWAY THE LADS!

Mitro would've buried that, Cisse offers absolutely nothing, he makes good runs and that's it, can't finish chances anymore.

Don't get sticking with cisse, he offers nothing and we.play better without him

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

Where ye watching this game lads?

tastyt wrote: »
    Where ye watching this game lads?

Setanta

That wasn't even a difficult volley to hit ffs, just focus on making contact with it! Cisse would be out of his depth in the Championship tbh.

At least Chelsea have turned up

Cisse man, just get off ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭JPNelsforearm

M5 wrote: »
    Cisse man, just get off ffs

What does Benitez see in him, Perez and Mitro far better, far busier players

I honestly don't know, he is either too slow to release or gives it away. We have had at least 3 breaks slowed to a crawl by him

Sunderland ****ing winning