Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ex girlfriend stuff

• 10-10-2014 10:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

So this week I'm taking the plunge and moving in with my girlfriend.

The problem is that I have shoeboxes of stuff from previous girlfriends, all the mementos, letters, cinema tickets etc. and I don't know what to do with it.

In fairness, I want to keep it, cause some of the memories in those boxes are really good, but on the other hand I'm sure my gf would go mental if she found this hoard in our new place.

Any thoughts on what I should do? What do yous do with the stuff left over from girlfriends past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lmao_Man

I put all my ex girlfriend's stuff in the recycling bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Would it be an option to stick it in your parents attic or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Who writes letters anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

The problem is that I have shoeboxes of stuff from previous girlfriends, all the mementos, letters, cinema tickets etc. and I don't know what to do with it.

Light the fire with it?

Who keeps cinema tickets anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Just erect a shrine in your new place to your ex's with all this stuff as the centrepiece.
    Your current gf will love your sentimental side.
    And bitches love shrines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Everything you need to retain is already in the **** bank. The rest can go in the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Bonfire - unless there's any good pix ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Have one final tug all over the stuff and burn it.

jamesbere wrote: »

Yeah, a text is so much more romantic. treasure those forever.

hi bbz
    tnkin of u. lol. luv xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Lmao_Man wrote: »
    I put all my ex girlfriend's in the recycling bin.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Now your just somebody that I used to know

• Registered Users Posts: 2,796 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Stab her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,752 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

In fairness, I want to keep it, cause some of the memories in those boxes are really good, but on the other hand I'm sure my gf would go mental if she found this hoard in our new place.

Any thoughts on what I should do? What do yous do with the stuff left over from girlfriends past?

Stash them until your stag's then give them out to your mates, it's not like it's going to be the worst thing that'll happen ye that night anyway :P

bluewolf wrote: »

hi bbz
    tnkin of u. lol. luv xxx

That's beautiful, Shakespeare couldn't of put it better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Be a man and dump the stuff.

Stab her.

You don't have a girlfriend, do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

michellie wrote: »
    Be a man and dump the stuff.

Yeah OP be a man and dump all your family photos too and any other mementos you might have. Nostalgia is for pussies man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

If those old memories are so good, you won't need the associated clutter to remind you of them.

It sounds like you have trouble moving on.

Couldn't you just keep a couple of things that are really important to you and dump the rest? And probably best not to turn those few things into a shrine - it mightn't go down well with the current GF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The problem is that I have shoeboxes of stuff from previous girlfriends, all the nekkid photosmementos, letters, cinema tickets etc. and I don't know what to do with it.

In fairness, I want to keep it, cause some of the photos memories in those boxes are really good, but on the other hand I'm sure my gf would go mental if she found this hoard in our new place

Fess up... thé above is what you really mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Chuck it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

hi bbz
    tnkin of u. lol. luv xxx

You got my text, I see.

<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

You don't have a girlfriend, do you?

bodies stashed away do count as girlfriends to necrophiliacs you know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,660 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

It may be more of a restraining order

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Are you that insecure in your new relationship that you can't discuss it with her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

Bonfire - unless there's any good pix ;)

Oct 31st is coming, my thoughts exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

You should bury them with the body.

F1ngers wrote: »
    Are you that insecure in your new relationship that you can't discuss it with her?

Smug much?

I suppose Playstations don't have that many relationship issues, to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

bodies stashed away do count as girlfriends to necrophiliacs you know...

thats all we need ,another minority group shouting for rights
    i can see the march placards now

"we demand the right to shag the graveyard"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Put it this way do you see yourself having that stuff if you buy a house with her and get married have kids.

Or are you being irrationally sentimental.

Its probably time to move on otherwise they wouldn't be exes.

Its fine to keep Memories but letters and cards from exes.

Really????

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Smug much?

I suppose Playstations don't have that many relationship issues, to be fair.

Dick much?

I suppose adverts/friends don't have many relationship issues, to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

listermint wrote: »
    Put it this way do you see yourself having that stuff if you buy a house with her and get married have kids.

Or are you being irrationally sentimental.

Its probably time to move on otherwise they wouldn't be exes.

Its fine to keep Memories but letters and cards from exes.

Really????

You're probably right. I'll have a quick look through and see if there's anything valuable then chuck them out.

F1ngers wrote: »
    Dick much?

I suppose adverts/friends don't have many relationship issues, to be fair.

Bleh.

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

Put it all in a big box marked 'private'. If your girlfriend respects your privacy, no problem. If she doesn't, you need a new girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Vikings Funeral....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 Miss_Caprice

Put it all in a big box marked 'private'. If your girlfriend respects your privacy, no problem. If she doesn't, you need a new girlfriend.

Oh come on, if I found a box marked "private" in my home it would be opened and the contents thoroughly inspected within 10 seconds.

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

Stab her.

.....with your pork sword and give her one for all of us here on Boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Women don't work like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,660 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

May as well put a sign with "Open Now" on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

I dunno, like is it an ego trip when you open the box and have a look through ? cause it seems a bit mad to keep all that if you're moving in with your current gf, like surely ya don't need to look back on all that if you're happy with her?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 Miss_Caprice

I dunno, like is it an ego trip when you open the box and have a look through ? cause it seems a bit mad to keep all that if you're moving in with your current gf, like surely ya don't need to look back on all that if you're happy with her?

It's not an ego trip to look back on fond memories of a previous relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

It's not an ego trip to look back on fond memories of a previous relationship.

I was asking if it was, I never stated it was... I just think it's weird, maybe I'm not as sentimental:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Rent a small storage locker. Hide the key to the storage locker at your parents so the new gf doesn't find it. Also handy for storing presents in.

• Registered Users Posts: 833 ✭✭✭blackwave

Just take a leaf out of this guys book, in the flame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

hi bbz
    tnkin of u. lol. luv xxx

nutin wil rplac the lolz we shrd bbz..luv u 4eva

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Put it in a box marked "Ebola inside"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

What would you do if you found a load of memento's of your birds ex-fellas?

I say burn the stuff. Why keep memento's of some yoke who fcuked off on ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

As an absurdly sentimental person, I've kept things from just about every friendship I've had, let alone relationship. The people you meet through life are going to play some part in forging who you currently are, there's nothing wrong with acknowledging it

...but when you've got absolutely tons you're likely just assuming a lot of it is more important to you than it really is and it's stemming from a hoarder mentality more than anything else. I think your main issue really is that you need to be more selective about which things to keep from the get go.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭thunderdog

Hide everything under your pillow so when you go to bed it feels like you have a selection of girl friends