Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland v Gibraltar

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Rega

mikeym wrote: »
    Roy Keanes book shouldnt have anything to do with the game.

Agreed. He should have waited a week to release it then.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    Brady coming across as a bitter old man..........

He wanted everyone including the RTE to row in when he was involved in the Ireland set up but now he's not the bitterness comes back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Hands up who shat in Brady's cornflakes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,926 ✭✭✭deisedude

Brady was born bitter. Absolutely shocking pundit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Adamocovic wrote: »
    It would be nice and give people around the country a better chance to go see Ireland play, but sadly I'd say they just want more money and they have pumped a lot into the Aviva.

Where would meet UEFA approval though for an International? Tallaghtfornia (shudders) still in Dublin, RDS still in Dublin, only other place I can think of would be Thomond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

This is one awkward build-up. There's f*ck all to be said in regard to the match as they know nothing about Gibraltar so instead, they're just having awkward Roy Keane book talk. How ironic that they were criticising Roy Keane's book for being released this week yet all they've done is talk about it :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Extremely. He said Kenny was very annoyed with Keane's comments....didnt seem that way to me. Really awful buildup so far....regardless if they have nothing about the opposition to talk about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,926 ✭✭✭deisedude

Brady was born bitter. Absolutely shocking pundit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,233 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Roy Keane is GOD........

legend for ireland and united. how many irish players have done it all like he has?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

The irony of Brady describing Keane as being unprofessional to his employer and he acts like that on television then for RTÉ. He was embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

When Brady made the "plastic Paddy" link he backtracked so fast he actually fell down the stairs

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Where would meet UEFA approval though for an International? Tallaghtfornia (shudders) still in Dublin, RDS still in Dublin, only other place I can think of would be Thomond.

You don't need to meet any major criteria for these games afaik. Look at the shít-holes that the likes of Andorra, San Marino etc. play in. Most LOI grounds would probably be adequate. I think Tallaght, the Showgrounds or Turners cross would be great for this game. This game probably wouldn't fill Thomond Park to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

looking at our starting 11,do any of ye think we will see Meyler pushing up more centrally into midfield or will he stay at RB?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Some of the goals Poland scored against Gibraltar were hilarious!!

Adamocovic wrote: »
    It would be nice and give people around the country a better chance to go see Ireland play, but sadly I'd say they just want more money and they have pumped a lot into the Aviva.

keith16 wrote: »
    Some of the goals Poland scored against Gibraltar were hilarious!!

No fear of us being able to do the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Any chance of Poland getting a result against the Germans?

I'm hoping no.

Looking at the defending by Gibraltar against Poland, I think we will in fact run up a cricket score. The likes of Andorra and San Marino are usually relatively well drilled at the back to keep the score lowish but Gibraltar defended like statues against Poland.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

thelad95 wrote: »
    Looking at the defending by Gibraltar against Poland, I think we will in fact run up a cricket score. The likes of Andorra and San Marino are usually relatively well drilled at the back to keep the score lowish but Gibraltar defended like statues against Poland.

I want us to have a high scoring game but I don't want to get my hopes up...they have been dashed many times by our football team ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Seems to have a bit of a chippy on his shoulder.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I'm very surprised Gibraltar's anthem isn't GTSQ, they have their own singing about Gibraltar. Their official flag doesn't have a union jack on it.

It makes Northern Ireland look a bit unusual now continuing to use GTSQ given Scotland and Wales don't either, if even Gibraltar can have their own anthem why can't NI?

I read a brilliant comment in the Gaurdian recently:
    Since Poland have just played Gibraltar and are up against Germany next, can we say they are between a rock and a hard place?

Going with 4-0.

Everyone else?

Aodhagan wrote: »
    Going with 4-0.

Everyone else?

Going to get another can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

What's important to me is that firstly we obviously win by a few goals, but also that we don't concede any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

Going with 4-0.

Everyone else?

4-1

Gibraltar will score a flukey wonder goal or we'll score an own goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Can't believe they unfroze Michael D for these peasants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

thelad95 wrote: »
    I know the FAI are contractually obliged to hold games here but I think it would be fantastic to see this played at a packed LOI ground instead of a 30% capacity in the AVIVA.

Thomand park maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

keith16 wrote: »
    Going to get another can.

I hope it's not feldschlösschen :pac:

Can't believe they unfroze Michael D for these peasants

No need to diss the Irish team!

Thomand park maybe

Still too big imo, Tolka Park maybe ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Turners Cross would be ideal.

Gibson looks like he's just escaped from a mental hospital

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

Brady should be hammered for that 'Plastic Paddies' comment....

Aidric wrote: »
    I hope it's not feldschlösschen :pac:

It's only Appenzell's finest, none other than Quöllfrisch!

Heart of Courage being played again before the match

Is everyone still watching?

Turned it off because it's not 5 - 0 already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭briany

To everyone saying this will be a cakewalk, just remember, if you're old enough - Lichtenstein 1995. Never forget.

"The ball just would not go in!!!"

Gibraltar are woeful.

Great pass.

Haway lads!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

5-1

Keane FGS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Keane!!!!!!!!!!

63!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Goal for Robbie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Great through ball by Hoolahan to McGeady

Good start

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Any chance of Poland getting a result against the Germans?

I'm hoping no.

Its on ITV4 later on.

Edit

1-0

\o/

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Jaysus that keeper can't seem to kick the ball well, I'd do a better job myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Not bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭briany

Ah my little Lichtenstein 1995 citation worked then...