Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How can I estimate how much money I'll get from social welfare for retirement

• 12-10-2014 2:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1

I started to work 4 months ago and I'd like to know, from the info I can handle from payslips e.g. PSRI, how much I'm entitled to receive for retirement (after 66 years old).

I'm not sure if someone else has asked this before on boards.ie. If so let me know some link.

I'm new in Ireland and I'm not familiar about how Social Welfare works here. I tried to check welfare.ie but I'm a little bit confused and need to have some idea of this because I'm planning to do a personal retirement saving scheme. Anyway I'd be very grateful for any advice. Thanks.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭doc11

Depends how old you are/close to retirement. You need 30 years contributions/credits to be entitled to a full pension of 230 and every 5-10 years I can see the pension age upping to 70 and not the current 66. If your from the EU or country with an agreement with Ireland you can add your records together to bring you to an entitlement in Ireland which will only be in proportion to your contributions here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭eastbono

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Posts deleted - I'll leave it to the mods to take any required action.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Right so looking over that link I'm just wondering what they mean by "Yearly average PRSI contributions"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne