Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland v Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Ecstatic! But lads it'll count for fcuk all if we can't get results from Pol and Scot, that's ultimately where our fate will be decided. Great result tho!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Fudge You wrote: »
    Im embarrassed for you.

Yeah blame Germany for the dummies in Ireland

Shhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Soups123 wrote: »
    He was awful when he came on.

He really was apallling, watching Dunphy talk him up is awful

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

twinytwo wrote: »
    Germany Ranked 1st in world

Rep of Ireland ranked 62nd

Yes but you have to remember that they were missing players. No Green. No McShane. No Sammon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Listening to Dumphy on RTE reminds me why I never listen to Dumphy.

Time to turn off that ****e methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

giles is wrong
    it is a question of the opposition
    we play attacking football against germany, we get our arses handed to us..

This is it really. Giles talking nonsense there. Of course we format the team depending on the opposition. Hoolahan off the bench was the right decision, last 15 at 1-0 down is very different to starting 0-0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

murpho999 wrote: »
    Never had a bad night out but get a ride at the end? Makes it a great night no matter what went before.

We drew 1-1. Is that a ride for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

matrim wrote: »
    Hoolahan ****ed up that cross.

at least he put it into the box and was in that position... Whelan would not have been there and even if he was he would have passed it back... Whelan needs to be dropped imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

Trap with a Derry accent did well in the end with his subs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Blay wrote: »
    He's a German, get him!

<legging it> :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Toni Kroos being interviewed on RTL now. First question: "wie groß ist der schock?" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

Hope that's the last we see of Whelan in a green shirt. We have much better players in that position.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Rikand wrote: »
    Grand no worries - I know when im being trolled :)

Nah not at all.

I thought he was poor, should have finished from 6 yards, fecked up the 3v2 and he overcooked that last cross.

That said performance means fcek all tonight the point is everything

On a side note Dunphy is a clueless fool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Yes....2 people scoring!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Zico

I think you're being very harsh. We were away from home against the World Champions. Now I think we should have retained possession far better and maybe gave them far too much space. Other than that your point doesn't really make sense.

I think he was being kind, we looked like Gibraltar in the first half.

We are so bloody lucky but we'll take it.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Some Wes haters have gone very quiet, wasn't it 0-6 when Trap was still in charge?

Celebrated like a eejit when it went in, and a great result in Poland too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I think we all need to take a moment to appreciate that finish from John O' Shea. Outside of the boot. Ibrahimovich would have been proud of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Long time since I let out a roar like that for an ireland goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Dunphy isn't wrong about McGeady at all. There's a few players not starting in the positions where they do best.

Proco Jr. wrote: »
    Trap with a Derry accent did well in the end with his subs.

No one here said that for the first 60 mins.
    Read this whole thread.
    Negative negative negative, then a goal, now we are world beaters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

They were the World Champions in the Summer, they are not now?

Who did they lose the belt to?

Dunphy is making some decent points tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Ah fcuk off back to flogging Cadbury' Dairy Milk Dunphy, got a point against the World Champions in their country. Just p*ss off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

mada999 wrote: »
    at least he put it into the box and was in that position... Whelan would not have been there and even if he was he would have passed it back... Whelan needs to be dropped imo

Well they both play different positions, think Whelan might have got a fingertip to the Kroos goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Good man Dunphy. You've been watching football a long time while Martin O'Neill was winning Europeon Cups, playing in the top flight of English football and managing at the highest level.

Clown.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

1413319394983_Image_galleryImage_John_O_Shea_of_Republic_o.JPG

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Ah Dunphy, go to bed. You're not going to be selling your negative "look at me, look at me!" nonsense for the next few weeks after this. Get over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭passremarkable

10 minutes says dunphy holding up one hand ha !!

• Boskowski wrote: »
    Ye were terrible. For most of the game your players were too scared to get on the ball and were nearly falling over themselves. Only when you were down you started to play football. We handed it to ye. We were poor too. I suppose in that way a draw is a just result.

No, what got us the result was playing the right players in the correct positions against a weakened German side in the last 20 mins. If only we had have set up with a bit more confindance in the first 70. A long range shot ended up getting the Germans the lead but if we actually went at them we could have won this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Dunphy "Ten mins" and raises one hand in the air. Ah classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,843 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

niallo27 wrote: »

I went spástic! My two dogs are still looking at me

murpho999 wrote: »
    Yes....2 people scoring!

John o shea and Kroos. Cute couple

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Away to Germany? That's a fcuking threesome

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

nuxxx wrote: »
    Some Wes haters have gone very quiet, wasn't it 0-6 when Trap was still in charge?

Celebrated like a eejit when it went in, and a great result in Poland too!

Wes came on and gave a bit of urgency. Did he play well? That's debatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,408 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Brady making sense tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

Aidric wrote: »
    Toni Kroos being interviewed on RTL now. First question: "wie groß ist der schock?" :pac:

"Es war ein Schock zu sehen, emorous Whelan auf der internationalen Fußballplatz." :pac:

Billy86 wrote: »
    Ah Dunphy, go to bed. You're not going to be selling your negative "look at me, look at me!" nonsense for the next few weeks after this. Get over it.

But you were a negative person, like everyone else before we got a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭briany

O'Neill's plan all along was to go 1 down and then equalise, thereby finishing in the exact same position as they started. Masterful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Gone from being a firebrand who wasn't afraid to tell it like it is to a arse-clenchingly embarrassing moaner.

Brady isn't much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Same here. I'm not actually sure where it came from :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

They were the World Champions in the Summer, they are not now?

Who did they lose the belt to?

Poland last week

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unofficial_Football_World_Championships

Away to Germany? That's a fcuking threesome

Roy Keane wouldnt be happy with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Ah cmon dunphy, hoolahan botched the cross a bit, it was all hendrick who set up the goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Corholio wrote: »
    This is it really. Giles talking nonsense there. Of course we format the team depending on the opposition. Hoolahan off the bench was the right decision, last 15 at 1-0 down is very different to starting 0-0.
    At this point in time, I genuinely reckon half the posters in this thread know more about modern football than Giles. Let's not forget he was happy with the starting lineup... because he thought it looked very attacking.

Think about that for a minute, especially given what he has been saying since the final whistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

My throat still hurts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,951 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Let's not lose the run of ourselves here lads...

Fantastic result with last minute drama, but for the majority of the game we were crap - ye were all agreeing with Dunphy's Trap comparison at half time.

We started to play the game in the last 15/20 and JOS had a moment of pure magic, but that doesn't mean there's a lot to learn from this match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,430 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Nah not at all.

I thought he was poor, should have finished from 6 yards, fecked up the 3v2 and he overcooked that last cross.

That said performance means fcek all tonight the point is everything

Well I suppose if he had hit the cross where everyone thinks he meant to put it we probably wouldn't have scored. I'd like to think his delivery was perfect :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Trilla wrote: »
    I went spástic! My two dogs are still looking at me

Cat is still under the table.

Incredible finish by O Shea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

nuxxx wrote: »

No it wasn't