Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland v Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,408 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

We have no "out" ball at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

trying to hoof it at every oppourtunity :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

mada999 wrote: »
    no anticipation for the second ball from Ireland... :(

Because they are absolutely wrecked from running after shadows. It is very tiring...
    I fear for the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

This is hopeless, can't believe he has them humping it up the field to relieve pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭irishgoldberg

Whelan? Mcgeady in the wrong position, walters on the wing? Its like watching a trapatoni team!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Whelan could have had a shot, instead it goes all the way back to Forde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭irishgoldberg

Whelan? Mcgeady in the wrong position, walters on the wing? Its like watching a trapatoni team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Quinn is playing well, won the ball a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,866 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

This is hopeless, can't believe he has them humping it up the field to relieve pressure.

I'd be surprised if that was the order but I think these players are panicking instead of playing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

Looking at how weak that left side is for Ireland. And then looking over at the right. And then thinking about the middle.

And then John O'Shea.

Why am I watching this?

Agree.

McGeady should be out wide, and we should be aiming to get himself and McClean on the ball. Basically what most people thought would be our best tactic.

Strumms wrote: »
    I'd be surprised if that was the order but I think these players are panicking instead of playing...

I agree.
    When the germans lose the ball, they hunt it down so fast... What else is there to do other than hoof it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Every time they show a replay Germany are on the attack again by the time they cut back to the action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,502 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Not exactly the brightest tactic with no pace up front.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

Yogi Love can't believe the quality of football he's watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

The McGeady experiment isn't working. Swap him with Walters and at least he should be an out ball out wide. Only a matter of time if this continues as is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Whelan, World Class at pointing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭briany

Ireland are picking the better of two sh*t choices. They can either knock it long or try to navigate Germany's midfield and not give it away even closer to goal. Which would you choose?

Yeah, maybe I should have said watching them do it.

McGeady will be hunted down much easier when he gets the ball centrally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

1/4 way there lads

Ok Hoolahan might not offer so much chasing back and in defence but at least he can hold onto the ball and play an intelligent pass which surly in this situation must balance out or be preferable to what's going on out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Has Jonathan Walters actually touched the ball in this game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Wondering if O'Neill is adopting a sort of Liverpool in 1970's approach in Europe.

Frustrate the team, silence the home crowd and go for a sucker punch.

The longer this stays 0-0 the more worried and desperate Germany will get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

klose wrote: »
    1/4 way there lads

And probably 1/2 their energy used.

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Whelan, World Class at pointing

First instinct is to look backwards to see can he pass it to someone. Let alone forwards or even sideways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭crushproof

It's shocking the limited technique our team has. Would find it hard pressed to find another international side that does exactly the same as us, hoofing it up everytime.
    Watching other qualifiers over the past week, even the weaker teams are adept at keeping the ball and playing it on the ground.
    Us, it's same old same old. Same football as 30 years ago. We really are not developing as a footballing nation and it's only going to get worse until the FAI take the finger out of Delaneys a**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

This is insipid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

The referee is doing OK for Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Hope the TV cameraman has his tripod well oiled just in case he does have to swing it around to the left at some stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Anyone else think O' Neill would be way more scary with a beard?...

Ok Hoolahan might not offer so much chasing back and in defence but at least he can hold onto the ball and play an intelligent pass which surly in this situation must balance out or be preferable to what's going on out there.

Who said he wont offer much chasing back... He is good at that. Its the power and aerial ability that would be lacking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Despite how one sided this has been, you would have been a fool to not bite someone's hand off at the offer of 0-0 after 30 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Sweet Christ, lads.

Fcuk me.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Forde! :eek:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

McClean our best player by a distance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Alonso77

Lapin wrote: »
    Hope the TV cameraman has his tripod well oiled just in case he does have to swing it around to the left at some stage.

The second half

Keystone cops defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Dear lord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

Forde, what are you at!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭westernfrenzy

What the fcuk was that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

Ronnie Whelan from the German point of view:
    "When it gets to half an hour and you haven't scored you start getting a little worried about it".
    Clutching at straws? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,408 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Poor auld Mc Clean. A third division player trying as hard as possible to do his best but clearly out of his depth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Forde doing a terrible neur impression

Is there any particular reason no-one will just clear the ball?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Forde is so weak with the ball at his feet

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Sweepderp keepderp.

Any time we do get near the German box we are getting plenty of players forward.. Which in the context of the game is pretty unimportant seeing as we can't actually do anything with the ball....

And now back to topless hog tossing live from Nobber.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

Jaysus Tony Shalhoub.