Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

http://m.limerickleader.ie/sport/limerick-sport/limerick-gaa-chairman-lashes-out-at-leader-columnist-kiely-1-6479678

Very relevant to read this imo here as Mann style chairman roles is similar to frank Murphy

What a disgraceful absolutely disgraceful view point by Mann.
    Do we not live in democratic gaa world any more????
    Have media not right to question results or things happen
    Dare not critise or better still speak one voice and my voice only
    You couldn't make this up.

Lot regular posters know here I praised kiely before, brilliant columnist don't always agree with views but I respect he's will to challenge ànd questions things not lot some journalists in gaa that just follow the leader

Christ tis a sad sad sad day in gaa when fans from bob Ryan cork can't question results dare not critise, and now limerick top man attacks journalists view, is he nit entitled to hes opinion surely with shambles last year off field controversy in o grady, Wallis etc he's right to ask questions

Imo this is clear clearly trying influence media

Now cork imo same scenario didn't exists as well none media really question unpopular topics be honest in the ist place bar the exceptional cases but this is scenario where cork make no mistake take similar stance if they did from top down
    Just look at the contempt donal og cusack views were held in.
    Ignored disgracefully not debated imo.

These people don't own cork or limerick gaa, surely things can be questioned.
    I don't buy leader be honest as not in limerick but I would buy it for kiely In everything you want in a journalist.
    Journalist really really great ones imo are ones once justified tackle hard questions.

It's really been silly season imo in fans both waterford, cork now media attached for having views

Waterford in paper during week it's said fans too critical.
    Four games in challenge lost, two coaching staff gone,players gone, players not joining panel, no sub keeper v wexford, beaten well last year surely fans right questions things

Even cork know frank flannery is brilliant coach and him maher leaving is serious concerns

Imo you always know manager is in trouble when you read something like mcgrath today management team put sixty hours a week in working for team

Imo I get impression he knows under pressure, cling to something
    I'm sorry now just my opinion I don't think if you put in sixty or eighty hours a week but results are poor means okay he's doing well

If you were a Sales man and don'e over time and your normal targets were not up to scratch you would be questioned.
    No one's doubts passion or commitment these guys but that's absolutely useless imo if guys can't pick teams coach implement game plans
    I'm sorry now work ethic is not just enough

You must offer more.
    Find them others role in county but coaching must be questioned
    Watched apprentice last night, bbc version, Alan Sugar was down to last three had pick two final candidates.
    One guy he admired work ethic, passion, and said he'd work night and day for him but at end day he wanted business partner with realistic chance making money.

The ruthless call had to be made, work ethic admirable as it is not just good enough.
    Emotional side these things must be separated reality
    Karen Brady lord sugars advisor ruthless woman doesn't show emotional sense in business, that's why he is person she Is.
    She sold her husband to be from Birmingham soccer years ago she was director club, she wasn't married him then but ruthless to sell him as he just wasn't what was required.
    He obviously didn't take it personally as history shows.
    Purely football decision nothing more or less.

Imo mcgrath simply going for sympathy vote and talk bout leave Waterford better place is just imo spin doctoring by say he's bring in young players
    Any coach can bring in young lads it's actually development of these players to the next level, giving them direction leadership and fulfilling potential is key and lot managers miss this

I would not be surprised to see some similar article now defending Brian cuthbhert now in media due soon.
    But like other examples I mentioned if so it's opinion fair enough but just look at reality year results you cant hide away from the harsh facts imo.

Very worrying trend this week from cork. Limerick and Waterford in despite reason to question and debate things some want adapt dare not question motto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Seats from Pairc Ui Chaoimh for sale for €5 each, "perfect condition" according to Bob Ryan, never mind that the tops are cut off the back of the seats.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Any comment on how our two teams left in the Corn Ui Mhuiri will do and players to watch out for etc...anyone ...cheers in advance .

Seats from Pairc Ui Chaoimh for sale for €5 each, "perfect condition" according to Bob Ryan, never mind that the tops are cut off the back of the seats.

Your joking me

Is this real!??
    Are they selling them have you link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Horse84

Your joking me

Is this real!??
    Are they selling them have you link

http://t.co/1aOQ1M0O2Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

TTM.. Why do u think Donal Og is such an authority on Gaa and cork Gaa. He has a platform and it gains him publicity. Would like to see him involved at minor or u21 but has he really any interest in that?

As for corn mhuire rochestown have fine players and a good team but the dual players going to be struggle imo.
    Hurling the week of the eleventh then week later the football.
    It's hard to train for both and such is intensity of both in imo there minor standard very hard for rochestown beat kerry team.

They have fine footballer, core group last year under sixteen won munster in thriller beating Brendan in Mallow and loosing the all ireland to very good counsel, same school some hurling beat midelton a few weeks ago in all ireland final.

But to go two weeks on trot. Train for both imo football could suffer.
    I'd love they won both but imo time come dual players to stick one code in at school it's hard now to successful in both

David Griffin outstanding season carriglaine won county, darragh Kelleher, ciaran Cormack, Ryan cantwell, Sean Powter plays wing back in football, paddy lynch, James Holland fifteen played sub hurling v our lady's templnore harty cup, Kevin o Donovan, liam dinnen are all either starting both or starting one code both on both panels.
    Evan Ryle and coakley are good footballers also.

If they had just football they be tough opponents for anyone imo.

Clonakilty imo better chance go through and imo will have a real chance beat killorgin

Daniel o brien a fine corner back imo better half back in loves attack , midfield dynamic of Sean Ryan and mark white where Ryan can win high ball and half forward line of cork dual minor David lowney and highely talented Ross cashman they have a strong middle third with Thomas and Dylan scannell fine forward if they get fast quality ball.
    Out of the only two cork teams imo they have a better chance but kerry team imo will win it.

Cork ist hurling game in competition is ul waterford crystal on eleventh of January in cork but meant be playing limerick challenge match on the 3rd or around that I'm not sure exactly nothing confirmed yet I think.

Closer to it when known for sure I'll post it, likely be limerick or north cork venue I'd guess.

Smith I see your grievance with cusack in I'll admit and said before he is a bit of a self publist at times no doubt and no angel but I admire him in coaching cloyne. Played game. Not afraid be open bold in views and tbh he's great with gpa said doesn't want game go professional and be fair worked on various board, irish sport campus in abbaotown, and hurling committee etc and ran projects such hurling free style and done lot coaching up north etc

He's hurling man through and through and he's worked many projects
    Would go management with right opportunity and was going to with ger cunningham at limerick til they done a u turn

He's never put himself forward for any cork coaching job as look it's like me asking santa clause for millions dollars just waste time with current cork county board in he'd never get moments though for the job

He's played the game. Coached, worked various challenge in and out hurling and whether you agree with views I admire he's bravery. Courage. Conviction to challenge established views and not go with status quo.

Clem smith you mentioned with ballyhea if true be bettee than one name mentioned imo
    He coaches Ballybrown and ahane before.
    I don't much bout he's coaching tbh but imo he what hear is okay

What do you make him????

Eoin brislane gone to Ballybrown

Glesson tippeary gone I think to south liberties

Doon meant be getting waterford coach

Charville good win in the limerick ist year school final replay v Ard scoil recently.

Waterford got new chairman hurling tonight be interesting to watch how things unfold next two months or so if results stay the same.

TTM.. Clem Smith will be grand, he has a lot of experience but Ballyhea have tough yr ahead and he is going to need all things going their way. They have tough draw V Rockies, won't win that, then they face losers of Barrs & Douglas.

Cork minors have match tomorrow night, I presume they must have panel at this stage if c/ship is April.

http://m.limerickleader.ie/sport/limerick-sport/ties-collars-and-pin-stripped-suits-at-limerick-gaa-s-annual-convention-1-6480725

Limerick related but I must admit I'm humbledand admire this man attuide

That's what you want kind attuide in all gaa county boards.
    I'd love cork had more these guys
    To be fair cork has some great board people like ger lane and Tracey Kennedy etc
    Hopefully Tracy will be chair in three years
    What a wonderful moment it would be for cork gaa.

Smith614 wrote: »
    TTM.. Clem Smith will be grand, he has a lot of experience but Ballyhea have tough yr ahead and he is going to need all things going their way. They have tough draw V Rockies, won't win that, then they face losers of Barrs & Douglas.

Cork minors have match tomorrow night, I presume they must have panel at this stage if c/ship is April.
    Is he confirmed smith??

What time minors on at??thought was Saturday

Panel around thirty or so id imagine for championship

I'd say won't be set stone yet in hartnett have say I'd think

John sullivan imo has get trials
    So young but brilliant season
    Very much old style cork midfielder and very similar pat hartnett

I said wouldn't make it this year bit he's form been nothing short phenomenonal

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

O’Callaghan Cup Final:

Great game last night between two well-balanced teams. Wasn’t a classic in the hurling sense but I absolutely loved the competitive nature of it from start to finish. Both teams went at each other from the off and the pace never let up. Great start for AG and R’town looked in real trouble. But they settled and were deserving of going in level at h/t. R’town continued to show the greater momentum in the second half with the crucial and probably match winning score coming from the brilliant Pouter 10 minutes in. AG didn’t give up and when they got it back to a 3 point game it looked like we might get a really close finish. But R’town showed that little bit of class and closed it out with some beautiful points. Credit to both teams for an enthralling hour with the laurels resting where they belong on this occasion. However I think this was closer than a final score of 2—9 to 1—6 might suggest. Missed chances in both halves for either team could have resulted in a really tight game. Not a betting man but if I was and they met again while I’d expect R’town to win I wouldn’t be putting the house on them.
    I’ve seen R’town 3 times this year (and AG twice) and the thing about R’town is they know and trust their players. They don’t overdo the tactics as they seem to know their players best positions and what they are capable of. That’s not to say they don’t react to what’s happening in front of them but in my experience if you over do the tactical stuff with kids they just end up confused. R’town seem to understand this. Hurling is a simple game and young players like it kept RELATIVELY simple. Loads of time for KK like tactics in later hurling life. This is a settled team and injuries aside the dog in the street could have told you how R’town were going to line out last night. And they lined out exactly as they did in previous O’Callaghan Cup and Harty rounds. Same full back line, same half back line, same mid field, Liam O’Sullivan coming out as third mid fielder, Cormack alternating between full and half forward line, Kingston operating mainly from the half forward line, Pouter close to goal. In short, predictable in the good sense of the word. As I said trusting their players. Griffin was outstanding at full back after an uncertain early few minutes. Apart from being caught by one blinding piece of skill from Danny which led to the AG goal he dominated him for the rest of the game. On paper you’d expect Danny to take David Griffin for a few scoresbut there was only one winner here. Young Gunning is a smashing player, with a great touch but R’town trusted their man and it worked. No score from play from the AG danger man tells the story. Same story at centre back with John Cashman holding the centre at all times, reads the game brilliantly and always seems to be in the right place at the right time. The two midfielders for R’town did what they have been doing all season – trying to win their individual battles, reading the breaking ball and moving it on. Similarly with the R’town forwards - nothing fancy with each one understanding his role and playing accordingly. Some might have thought that AG had the greater scoring threat but 2 - 6 versus 1 - 2 from play suggests otherwise. Pouter was a revelation in the full forward line. Any match report that fails to mention his threatening runs on goals last night must have been making it up. AG opted to put Eddie Gunning on him and I don’t think he’s had a more difficult hour in a long time. Eddie had the better of the opening exchanges but after 10/15 minutes Pouter tormented him for the rest of the game. Not bad for a lad who reputedly is a reluctant hurler.
    A little bit the opposite of R’town, AG were very tactical in their approach, especially in the first half. They played with a sweeper and at times seemed to have two spare men around half back/mid field. That approach probably part explains the low scoring first half - 1 - 3 each at half time a fair reflection of the defences being on top up to a point. And this goes back to my original point about tactics and man marking etc. Kids like to play uninhibited hurling and at this age they don’t do reputations. Any of the better players on the AG team would fancy their chances against any of the better R’town players. And vise versa. So why confuse them by overdoing the tactics etc. The thing about AG is that on the night their big names underperformed and I think it can be somewhat explained by playing to a script a bit too much. Eddie Gunning should have been moved out to the half back line. Dayne Lee apart from the goal (great finish) won’t have fond memories of the night. Danny who often operates best as a free spirit ghosting all over the place never really moved far from full forward all night as far as I could see. Kids love to hurl unencumbered, AG need to let their team approach games in this manner. And I’m not saying for a second that tactics etc have no part to play. Of course they do but anybody who has played our game at a meaningful level will understand the point I’m making.
    I’ll say it again, this was a great game with two teams who really wanted to win a first title, both playing with the type of spirit and comradery only school teams can have. On another night the result easily could have been different. Congratulations to Rochestown on a maiden victory - a great achievement. And congratulations to both teams on serving up a really entertaining hour.
    Best of luck to both teams on 14th Jan.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭seventh7

brilliant post, hit the nail on the head re overcomplication. well done

• Registered Users Posts: 10 ANNONCORK

Pa O Callaghan won't be playing with Cork this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Lads I'm reading the schools games here awhile and no one is giving Rochestown real credit for their fine team and players - there are reports where other schools and players are getting huge I mean huge praise and write ups and at the end of the day Rochestown are senior schools A champions yet it's because they are a reasonable team who work hard but mostly because the other teams are badly managed. That's Crap

I enjoying watching this Rochestown team and its better they're getting - I know a few of the families and there is a great buzz around with them
    A load of those lads eligible again next year so it's better they are going to get

I didn't. Get to all the games but was cit last night and it was brilliant - schols hurling is kinda special

The first half was nip and tuck and even to the end it could have gone either way but it was a fair result as Rochestown over all are stronger - Jaysus if they met again in HartyCup Twould be great but that would have to be final and I don't know if they will but I'm keeping my fingers crossed

Some of the shoulders they put in and took were incredible - that Eoin o Brien in midfield Is a horse of a young fella shane kingston and poulter are two major assets and Douglas must net know their luck with these two kids. Poulter was approached by minor selectors last night for the hurling, he was minor football last year already

They got off to a bad start but Twas some touch for the younger gunning kid to control the ball and lay it off to Lee who finished it well. Gunning (ff) has a real sense of danger about him everytime he got on the ball he creates panic, but the backs got on top in second half and they just about managed to close the space and shut him down, with odd exceptions David Griffin did a superb job

Cormack goal just before half time was crucial as it meant level at half time which was a blow to Mon going in. He took it well he has to sprint to get there and finished one handed to the net as goalie was rushing out- he had tried to set up an identical one himself earlier on but I think it was o sullivan was just robbed by mon goalie who read it well,and got there first. Cormack has clocked up a rake of scores in all the matches, I'd love to know his tally TTM your the man for the stats you surely know. - who are the top scorers in schools games to date

I think this fella has huge potential he got a peach of a point at a tight angle toward the end as well and when he was running toward goal he was fouled several times and converted his own frees He controlled the ball in the air in first half and if it had fallen for him he got in for a score and it would have been incredible. He's well able to win ball and hard to stop when he's up and running

Kingstons movement and strength is u believe able for a 17 yr old, he takes it on and goes past, around and through fellas, taking hits and giving hits, his touch his control are flawless and pace to burn. he only scored one point last night but one or two tremendous efforts just fell wide - he created Cormacks goal and I expect his tally to date is very impressive as well and he will add to it further Hes captainOf the minors this year so they can see his potential and he's a joy to watching when he's ona run with football as well. Poulter doesn't even play that much hurling but the lads were saying his confidence and belief and skill is getting better each game Eddie gunning was not able for him last night and that's saying something. Same as Kinston he has pace and strength to burn and now he's taking it on going for his own scores for well - he took two shoulders going through for his goal last night and it only steadied him up for the finish. I think the mon backs didn't know who to mark for a finish between kingston Cormack and pouter - and in fairness the other forwards were working hard too incl o Mahony who got the first point when they needed to settle after a Bad start

Eric o Keefe is badly missed in mon defence he done his cruciate this year not completely but enough to rule him out for their matches to date but he's a big loss to them I've seen him play against douglas before and he tough out with plenty of ability to hold up attackers and clear ball

Lee had an off night but Cashman and griffin were towers of strength in Rochestown defence - I know im biased but this team have rally come together and its great to see it - the school has lost games before they should've won but they seem to have turned it around now.

John Cashman is a chip off the old block, his positioning is super and he's afraid of nothing- he wins the dirty ball and drives it up the field, not the fastest but he compensates by reading the game so well. and whereas Griffin got caught that first time with the younger gunning lad he recovered supremely well and gunning was well marshalled afterwards Evan Sheehan youngest kid who started had a got the first score for mon and went out of afterwards, a huge talent he was plenty of time - last night when the Rochestown backs got on top gunning was really the only threat

early In second half as Rochestown were getting in top gunning had a shot scorched past the post -!if it had gone in the whole match was back in melting pot - now Rochestown had at least another 3 goal denied by good saves from mon goalie but that goal would have brought mon back to within one and could have shifted momentum back with them again

o Sullivans workrate around midfield, his skill and bravery despite not being the biggest young fella, he's tough out with a great engine he just doesn't stop - his sidelines are awesome and it's only amatterof time before he starts splitting the posts - the mons o leary is very athletic and apparently a great soccer player but his touch wasn't a patch on o sullivan last night, in fairness Coughlan in midfield was good but to be honest with the rate Eoghan OBrien were blowing them out of it in mid field they couldn't live with them - the crowd was gasping with hits going in

There was a great atmosphere there with a good numbers - how better could you spend a mild night in December

The AG are a good team,a nd I hope they go well in Harty. I think they were slight favorites last night,and If those teams played again tomorrow it could be a different result

Twas a great result for Rochestown and I'm delighted for them and they will be as good at the football but it'll be hard to keep em both going

I think it's time someone gave them a bit of credit on a par with what's been said about others

Brilliant post no doubt that Rochestown are a very accomplished side and great credit is due to them and their parents. This is what sport and hurling is all about. It adds an essence and spark to our daily lives it galvanises us and stirs the passions. It is so intrinsically embeded in us, its fantastic. I agree that as a team Rochestown are a very solid and cohesive unit and personally knowing some of the kids I can affirm that they are a great bunch of kids. They will be a force this year and thereafter thats for sure. Nothing can take away from their victory on wednesday night they won all the duels and their mentors out thought the Mon's mentors on all levels. They fully deserve the accolades.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Cu Baire

hurleratheart that was a great I mean great post. mesomeric even I would say

in fairness a different poster on here called thinkstoomuch1 regularly praises rochestown and others have given them credit too.
    I look forward to some interesting discussions between you and TTM1, I have a feeling ye would agree on most things.

I think it's unfair to say that rochestown are not getting credit In thread , they got huge credit here by many, myself said they done brilliantly but even in limerick thread I said they have seriously chance beat Ard scoil should they they have best side line in management imo of. All cork teams left

No body taking away them in fact I'm advocately sullivan gets called up cork panel, unlikely to start but worth panel place

My own report I congratulations them, gave them huge credit mentioned second year in harty quatre final ever, won hurling b under sixteen and also football last year doing brilliantly.
    In your own words you say post purely your words, your biased, but it's imo wrong, to suggest they haven't got creadit here or to suggest with respect others are having views leaning one side just cause you have leanings to one side and talk like that where it's been evident with some here in the past imo only recently I must add never here before In thread that there talk bias towards certain clubs in particular with some will create huge strong opinion against it and as I said before  cork gaa can ill afford to have any sort of like views in cork gaa is never imo bout any one club Player etc    cork as a whole is cork gaa.
    Rochestown will get support many cork and accolades like many.
    Speaking from my view I would hold no bias towards cork teams. When I advocately strong support or huge critism is based on my opinion what's good cork hurling overall

Speaking  from my view from reading my post mine I didn't mind who won, slightly went ag in important them I   worry about them loosing dean Ryan cup final and now this core group players loosing this final unlike rochestown have lost two finals.
    This is set back more to rochestown loosing imo

Rochestown are fine school.
    It's  callaghan cup,great with hammies we had two new winners last few years and as good as it is very important with harty around corner not get carried away but huge chance in this, in football post I said fine team but dual is problem and they find hard to do both consider football have beat kerry teams in three games imo win it plus limerick Ard scoil hurling so four elite elite games too much of an ask as these games intercounty imo.

It's going imo be one or the other.
    Hurling is best chance in Ard scoil only huge danger, where in football have three.

I totally agree regards Kingston post as said myself brilliant he played and imo must start full forward v nenagh as goals v that full back line
    Kingston is definitely one of  , not imo the best but one of best forwards cork at moment.

Griffin on hayden and cashman v cahalan and results take care itself

I think on paper it's fair to say with gunning, sheehan, lee, aherne,connell over age minors etc have more cork hurling potential in douglas but douglas have sullivan,Griffin, cashman, Kingston, Cormack, etc it's merely the opinion is ag mhuire so much is expected of them in core these lads were dean Ryan cup finalists two years ago and in Thurles they have improve hugely where having seen nenagh Sunday v limerick minor rochestowm nothing to worry about

Rochestown second season in this done brilliantly   it's nothing against them to suggest hope was ag had cork best chance in easier side of the draw in harty cup.

I can understand that view is which is fair is over all critism of ag it seems no body giving rochestowm credit, in ag lost more than rochestown won.

I don't mean that view just I'm critising ag purely tactically wise in they had three games now imo been out thought where rochestown have no such worries.

Rochestown if play Ard scoil have chance in full back is soild and imo better chance than hammies as rochestown have magnificent full back in Griffin in I said this last year even, cashman I have always huge fan centre, sullivan midfield, then meaney back if he makes it, with Kingston and Cormack and power could cause Ard scoil problem
    Hammies don't have a full back and imo they have everything else close to rochestown bar Kingston and Cormack to degree but reilly and dinneen are scoring hugely also but lack full back could be serious trouble v Ard scoil.

Very tough problem for brilliant aidan o donuughe to solve their coach.
    It's tough tough huge huge risk but I'd nearly drop Chris o leary to full back and put luke meade centre back with purely packed middle third
    Huge call in you loose o leary at centre back and yes you play game in Ard scoil terms in your worry bout them too much, but I don't think they have better choice in this full back line is weak and guaranteed niall moran knows this.
    Remember game v midelton, was over until hammies dropped sweeper back.
    If they start bad v Ard scoil unlike ronan dwayne, anything hammies do counter attacking problems in game moran won't twiddle he's thumbs he'll react fast two.

Hammies got to have a plan from start to finish and pray to god if there's wind in Mallow they have it for the ist half as won't real in lead to Ard scoil.
    Only way to beat them is take them out of their comfort zone to do that you must panic them, to do that you must take the lead and cling on for dear life in the last ten minutes imo.

Key with rochestown for me I's every single get management have got match up spots on brilliantly.
    You need that against Ard scoil with crowe and moran

Cormack has been brilliant absolutely.
    Scoring wise in the harty cup is best competition imo to judge as it's elite and callaghan cup it's hard know to what teams in some games not all early games take it seriously.
    That's great questions to ask hurling sense in fairness and now is time to see who is stand out in the scoring charts.

Cormack has v charville got nine points 7f one 65
    V csoimhins six points frees
    Thirteen v youghal. Most frees
    Our lady's 2-6   3f

2-34 scored in four games total forty outstanding and most those from free bar last game biggest play

Shane kingston in three harty cup games

2-4 play v charville
    Six play v csoimhins
    One goal two v youghal play

3-12 all from play practically so from play he's more threat than Cormack scoring wise however Cormack wins so much ball in half forward line is awesome player.

Eoin o reilly

Hammies 2-6 dungarvan 4f
    Around 2-4 v clonmel or more
    1-6 v nenagh 3 f
    Midelton 6 4f

5-22 in four games
    Thirty seven points

Reilly behind Cormack by three but most reilly scores from play in goal machine really

Declan Dalton cork keeper
    1-14 v our lady's all but four points from placed ball

11 v charville 2 from play

Against caoimhins 11 point

Got those games 1-36 so hes total is 39

V rochestown I'm not sure but id almost bank out youghal scores he got at minimum score more two points being ace free taker to over take Cormack

Hes finished ahead

Seamus flanganan

West limerick got eleven v flannans
    Ard scoil five points

V blackwater 5-6 highest in game so far this year peters clonmel got 3-8 in a game

Up to Thurles games he's got five -22

So brings him total thirty seven

He got goal v Thurles so brings him to 6-22 at least which equals Cormack forty

I don't know how many points got v Thurles but out ninescores being free taker id bank got least one over take him

In nutshell harty Cormack definetly close to top with Dalton ahead of him like Dalton majority there's are frees

Flanagan has been ahead of him on phenomenonal scoring in one game however Flanagan has been on beaten team but hard know had blackwater any interest last game but five six some scoring be fair for a man not renowned limerick minors Scoring proflic wise
    Cork have players to mark him
    More on that in due course.

Eoin reilly imo just three points behind and not cork minor been phenomenonal in most he's from play and free better balance
    La touché cosgrave and Nash and Murphy sheehan and lee and gunning got scores teams but not no where near top.
    Ronan lynch like wise

I think if Rochestown get to final even Cormack will be likely leading scorer às west limerick are out.

In gunning case he's not chief free taker but he's different type player to Cormack plays inside and is goal getter

This shows that Kingston and Cormack hugely important to rochestown, good news is hurling is ist up but vital there kept injury free and not get injured down the Line.

I like you hurling at heart praised cashman. Kingston. Cormack, sullivan who's phenomenonal, many times
    Poulter is good but huge fan football and imo cork starter like last year corner back.
    He wouldn't be hurling cork standard in he's very good but simply is bettee than him in huge depth this year

The forwards this year cork minors when you look and see eoin reilly for example won't be there. Landers, gosnell. Andy leahy , power etc

I've never been so confident cork minors than this year and justified confidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

ANNONCORK wrote: »
    Pa O Callaghan won't be playing with Cork this year.

Why is this ANNONCORK ? what ever he does has to be respected .....but what a shame he looks/is thev real deal ....

Management
    Diarmuid fahy
    Michael Cullen
    Humprey canty
    Aidan longergan

Rochestown
    Andrew Cullihane Douglas
    Donnach Murphy Douglas
    David griifin carriglaine captain
    Ross coleman Cobh
    Darragh kelleher Cobh
    John cashman rockies
    Cathal sheehan Douglas
    Eoin o brien douglas
    John o sullivan rockies
    Ciaran cormack rockies
    Diarmuid o mahony Douglas
    Shane kingston Douglas
    Paddy lynch rockies
    Sean powter Douglas
    Subs
    Ryan Cantwell rockies sub used

Panel
    Rory crowley rockies
    John Cantwell Douglas
    James Holland Douglas
    David stack carriglaine
    Kevin o Donovan Nemo
    Sam mcgrath Douglas
    Brian turnbull Douglas
    Barry grainger rockies
    Luke dunlea Ballygarvan
    Philip buckley rockies
    Ronan buckley rockies
    Liam dinneen Douglas
    Jason Murray Douglas
    Nathan walsh douglas
    Brian o connor Douglas
    Cormack kiely tracton

Caoimhins
    Paul kinnerks clare coach manager

Jack o connor
    Ciaran o connor
    Cathal lynch
    Liam o connor
    Pa mulready
    Colin guilfoyle
    Dean devenney
    Jack cunningham brother aron
    Rory Hayes played as sweeper
    Ben Gorman
    Darragh mcmahon
    Eoin flynn
    Aron Shanagher
    Cathal Agnew

A great dry day,after all rain charville in immaculate condition with clear winter sun, crisp cold air. No wind, beautiful day fot hurling

Full time

Rochestown 0-16 caoimhins 0-13

Half time rochestown 0-5 caoimhins o-7

Great game, caoimhins set up clare way, sweeper with Rory Hayes who got terrific score playing deep and cleaning up ocean ball and cresting so much and with lynch,o connor and Colin guilfoyle were immense in defence in which rochestown couldnt break down sweeper in ist half and kingston in full forward line didn't help

Credit due management they Brought kingston out in second half centre forward and Daniel o mahony helped midfield more and the the magnificent young john O sullivan eligble harty next year were awesome at midfield in both attacking and defending and griifin had terrific game holding Shanagher clare minor point play with john cashman having imperious game at centre back won the second half

John was immense under the high ball and sweeping ball and crisp deliveries to kingston six from play and brilliant powter two crucial points from play, with cormack impressive from frees in around six frees chipping in with vital point from play but huge workrate and won lots of ball in the half forward line

They two down at half time never panicked, had beaten two cork teams so far so today was the ist real test outside cork, they answered it impeccably against a fine well coached csoimhins Paul kinnerks team

Rory Hayes. Ben o Gorman, jack cunnigham and defenders I mentioned all had fine games for them
    Clare minor aron Shanagher tried hard, good from frees but griffin a minor cork hurler and footballer this year and next year played captains part outstanding solid no nonsense full back display easy see why he played 21for club this year for carriglaine.

Great results rochestown are now qualified for Quater Final for the second year in a row

Splendid day all round for cork teams in youghal as I expected won a close game their hunger I say won it for them as charville were out but good charville were competive also
    Youghal through and brillant for them with Kevin Murphy, Cathal deane, eligble next year but also means cork minors Darragh o brien and Declan dalton who will be cork goal keeper but playing as a forward get more games

Great win for colmans I thought they would win but not by that much
    Huge win they beat Castletroy they may go through in the last game
    Good for cork they won

Midelton v hammies I though be close but I though midelton win but delighted hammies small school big heart the true success harty cup and cork hurling in second year in a row in Quater finals now, and their third year back since a gap of almost seventeenth years approx being out of the Harty

Delighted for them but disappointed for midelton like torn between two lover's I feel
    Midelton will never ever meet a team as much heart as hammies in or put og cork, and midelton with game left will qualify
    We have three cork teams imo will have four

Now Ag beat doon winner take all, they can win we could have five and maybee Colmans if results go way qualify also which would mean six out of possible seven cork teams in last 8,in truth I'd be happy with five cork teams in Quater finals and with midelton all ireland final u16 v good counsel in two weeks cork hurling is flying at schools so far and met all my expectations so far and once landers loss Doran have huge effect cork minors cork minors will have huge chance despite very very tough munster draw of getting to a munster final
    Great day for cork teams and ard scoil as I thought beat west limerick but west limerick will improve in the future, ard scoil have huge experience and it is only he wears the shoe knows exactly how it fits

West limerick should be proud what they achieved in year one and look at hamilton in cork, role model for all keep work up in football aera yes you can survive

Magical magical Is this wonderful harty cup and credit caoimhins and rochestown for an epic high intensity top class hurling game today
    Thank you both schools for doing hurling proud today.

I post this old post to show accloades and attention I gave rochestown before in there that great I mean really really great cork school and geuinely have huge admiration and respect for them.

Old post regards rochestown in harty cup I done. Bout month ago
    Most it I dedicated to them huge praise their, now mentioned other schools purely as their games going ahead that day and I tend not to pick and choose in cork teams same day. I want them to win, and like wise classic example I never choose where possible one cork team over another was I went doon over castetroy in limerick derbyto win simply so not one cork team could go through if castetroy won but both cork teams in one group had a chance to go through if doon won,thankfully they did and yes colmans beaten but at least they got the chance of a cup final so it will stand to their very young team imo next year.
    If castetroy won they would never got that expierence.
    Colmans are going to be far better next year because of that and saich, for example will be hugely improved over that expierence where in knock out game he stood toe to toe with awesome lorchan lyons and was still standing by all accounts.

. I included other teams in same post cause well other teams playing that day and no point in multiple posts.

Wasn't at Last harty cup game or youghal game as clashes others game so this only harty cup rochestowm recently I went to and I did go to charville game in ist game and gave them huge praise also

Point is rochestown my view point got equal share accolades.

Now midelton got huge post in all ireland final preview in it was all ireland final and deserved it
    Should rochestowm do same a
    Absolutely humbled honoured priveledge do like wise or indeed at harty cup final

I also done huge post preview v doon last year semi final obivously new guys understandsbly won't be aware this.

Hammies won callaghan cup last year and same length in my post regards these winners, in callaghan fine but limit expectations in I see demands hunger within me to see bigger picture cork hurling in harty cup is the great I mean great really great competition

I think I also posted link of Rochestown b munster win, didn't go only as clashed with harty cup that day
    But I glorified that triumph

In my eyes all cork teams get equal recognition.
    Powter I even said post was brilliant, but is he better than Cormack, looney , o mahony , Kingston, beausang ,Michael o halloran, Dan gunning, scoring wise he's scoring doesn't prove that imo.

Powter is essentially inside forward and cork have better players than him.

Robbie Flynn isn't harty cup but he's grafter ball winner your looking for and some hand in the air so you want target man he's forward full or half.

Benny dunne who form has dipped imo but on form better imo than powter
    Powter to me one best corner back in munster football minors if not best and imo he was excellent last year cork v kerry and dublin and Im sure I gave him greatest accolade corner back could get in I said he's display was like great I mean great Anthony lynch in he's great days, and I indeed lavished huge huge praise simply as it's justified.

He's not imo hurling intercounty standard and think fact he's dual players fact better forwards around I wouldn't have him cork panel
    In my eyes all things in cork are bright and beautiful when deserved they get credit accolades where due.
    Credit where due and criticise where due. Not enjoy critise anything cork but simply for anything to improve you simply must show no emotions and call spade a spade whether you like club or player or not.

Like I used lord sugars apprentice advisor Karen Brady selling her future husband to be Paul pescholdo from brimminghsm when she was director at just twenty three.
    He obivously had good sense not to take it personally in he married her shorty after wards.
    Purely football decision nothing more nothing less.
    Cork gaa craves such people, no emotions judge purely what you see.
    Emotion has a place in sport absolutely but must be in right time and place and imo managers must not show it.
    When Galway beaten tipp in 2010 john mclyntre showed he's emotions, imo in defeat I just knew hadn't management temperament for great great manager.
    The great great I mean great chess players or poker players imo never show emotions, and impossible to read, poor ones like an open book.
    Shut mouth catches no flies in that retrospect management is same.
    You never know what fitzmaurice or Cody gavin , mcginuess is thinking.
    Davy speaks lot but that just spin in you never know what's he's going to do.
    Other managers so predictable normally when they talk they do like wise on the ptich.
    I love chess, brilliant game mind, really gets brain working, game ruthless execution in you end it fast but great great games you have be patient and react not to one scenario but multiple scenario when you play the great great players.
    Good players think a move in advance the great really really great think bout five moves ahead.
    Every possibility is thought out in advance of a move.
    Imo great chess players would make great managers as ability to read,adapt to different scenario and mind used to thinking different scenarios.
    Great chess players like managers never know enough, every game they learn something knew bout themselves and the game itself.
    Passion for playing it isn't enough, real intelligent understanding game comes in to play.
    I'd hate to play Cody. Fitzmaurice, Davy in chess.
    They would be awesome chess players, grand masters imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 SchoolsFan

Didn't get to the O'Callaghan cup game on Wednesday, thanks for the excellent posts. I did see the AG play the Cork minors this morning:

AG 5-8 Cork 2-10

The AG minus O'Callaghan, Braham, O Meara, what a performance this morning with 3 fifteen year olds, Meara, Sheehan, Morrissey, Best minor game I saw all year. Kingston was brilliant for Cork super movement and heart. Danny Gunning was awesome three of the five goals. Sheehan and Aherne got the 2 other goals. Aherne what a warrior at 16 took and gave huge hits. Won a huge amount of dirty ball and scored with super run through the heart of the defence. Gunning was on fire unplayable. Cork were wasteful and whilst they are fluid and neat could not match the Ag for intensity. The northside school have great heart and this will be a huge boost to them going in to the christmas break. If this was the full minor team then Ring and Hartnett have plenty to ponder over the festive season. Gunning must be a starter and Aherne must come in to the reckoning.

Cuthbert on red fm now. Absolute waffle

best of luck to Breige Corkery, Eamonn Ryan and the Ladies football and Camogie teams at the sports awards tonight on RTE 1 at 9:30

Review of the year 2014 Cork GAA

When I done this I thought strongly about just doing a high lights, pick all the good stuff and forget about the rest but then I thought no if I'm going to put time and effort in to a review I must be honest and frank when required as it's a review of cork gaa 2014   I'm reviewing all truth be told.

A bit like the end of the year balance sheet   the income and outgoings must be added so a profit or loss can be accurately calculated.
    To get imo an overall balanced view of cork gaa I felt it imperative to judge things imo how I saw them in good or bad   or awesome or dire for example

Apologies for the long post in advance I tried to put it all in and actually this was originally longer but I managed to eventually shorten it by a great deal from the initial draft I done a few days ago.

Senior hurling
    Expectation was division one promotion,and a munster title but making the all ireland final at least this year,to develop more tactical nous and possesion game also and solve the full back calamity it became.

League was a poor return, yes got promoted but more what limerick failed to do v offaly than cork actually did.
    Limerick, Laois and offaly games às I said here were stale, flat performance and like I feared these replicated to the league knock out v tipp where it took us an age to get in to the game.

League overall was a mixed bag.
    Yes cadogan, Ellis were two huge additions and Cahalane to an extent was.
    Walsh was a huge addition to the hurling.

Winning a munster title was good in the ist trophy in eight years for cork senior hurling but the semi final was a tactical meltdown, complete dissaster and some awful decision in playing Joyce at three, not playing lorchan the one time midfield actually suited him, playing cahalan at five, it was a shambles.
    I remember doing the match ups, the do and don't and cork done a lot of don't which imo hugely contributed to the defeat and the manner of the defeat.

Full back still wasn't solved playing Shane o Neill so much offer cork at full was a down right blatant disgrace imo In it showed ignorance to what full back position is and also three years in management still played corner backs full backs.
    We owe jbm huge credit for coming back for a new term for changing he's mind on leaving and he's legend in cork gaa and always will be but on results he'll still and rightly so be judged as no one immune or should be from valid critism.

Intermediate hurling was absolutely phenomenonal and I mean a inspiration to cork hurling in a mix of young hurlers and expierenced hurlers , the wisdom and acceptance to play a sweeper when required, the awesome astute tactical reading of the game by liam Hayes, and the awesome season by Cormac Murphy my player of the year but a close second peter o brien who's scoring was phenomenonal.

Cork beat waterford, young team lot under twenty ones and minors previous years etc, young clare team who played the clare way, tipp yes with new team, but Galway with about twelve under twenty one team and then wexford.

This was the best imo ever all ireland intermediate win and gave huge confidence to young potential senior in awesome colm Barry, Alan dennehy, colm and Anthony Spillane. Cormac Murphy, john cronin,.

Guys like Casey. Mannix. Drake,Micheal sullivan all had brilliant games at times.

Mick Walsh and Peter o brien unlikely be senior now, even though bar final game walsh imo showed enough recall to call, all had huge year for cork

There was not a club game, or under twenty one game that managers didn't scout players, work went on was phenomenonal.
    Derek mcgrath Waterford spoke in my opinion bit exaggeration in he's doing sixty hours week in management, I can guarantee cork set up wouldn't done sixty hours but Christ they put in some work all the same and unlike mcgrath didn't boast about it as no need to. Results speak volumes in essence.

The day of the replay cork v Waterford in senior, these lads were playing a challenge v wexford.
    You couldn't define the outstanding work management put In.
    Liam Hayes deserved huge credit with all he's selectors.

The awful tragedy of Jamie wall illness, Cormack Murphy suspension for the final,The absence of o tuama to personal commitment, the retirement of Ross cashman showed this team didn't do excuses any challenge they got they over came in every way when they arose in various games throughout this season m

Without a doubt cork male team of the year at intercounty.

Cork minor hurling.
    It was Always an impossible task going to limerick without any warm up game. Like kerry was a dead runner in that was a walk in the park , had play munster champions with best imo ever minor limerick team in gaelic ground's and limerick who had a perfect preparation with no club games to the lead up to the game. On the contrary Cork lads had games Thursday. Friday. Saturday. Sunday and even Monday before plus Shane o brien and Casey were huge losses In game so in year one, to come within once score was progress not a moral victory but it was the ist time in six years progress was made and this year we will see further progress.

Ring and landers done a huge amount work, couldn't be faulted at all at all. They took over a poor set up imo from pat kenneally so they done well.

Kingston, lee, Hayes. Walsh. Callaghan, meade had huge seasons and others like gunning and luttrrel, milner and lepold bar injury would have been having huge parts to play.

It was taking everything in to consideration good year.
    If cork dont get munster final this year it will be a dissaster.

Cork under twenty one hurling.
    What a shambles complete and utter shambles of a set up like I said it would be.
    Poor tactical management, poor team picked it was a disaster.
    Waterford was a win but look it's more what they didn't do and the messomric display Patrick Collins four outstanding saves won cork that game.

I remember watching cork beat tipp in fermoy in challenge two week before opener in a challenge, and I posted here despite some saying cork looked good,it  was a false dawn win. In tippeary clearly had the clare game in mind but even in narrow defeat had picked Cork off at will when they had to.
    Tippeary I said it then would test clare but feared cork wouldn't learn mistakes that game even in a win and I was correct

Cork got hammered by clare. It was a disaster, a shambles of appalling appalling utterly disgraceful new low for cork under twenty one hurling that didn't get questioned at all at all.
    Cork had no plan b, and we're outhought.

The interview with kenneally on tg4 was poor In imo was like we not sure how things work out, we just have to see etc
    What an attitude facing the greatest ever under twenty one team in their lions den.

Just watch the clare manager. He said before the match ,  We know what cork will do in they will Play  Michael Collins as a sweeper and number ten who was Shane o keoffe will be their target man on puckouts.

What did cork do??

Exactly that.
    Under twenty. Defeat one was humiliating and imo I don't blame the players. I blame management and board putting in this  manager in charge of cork with a poor record.
    Our  county board chairman bob Ryan was there in ennis but no comment on this nightmare in ennis.
    Thankfully purely in management sense kenneally is gone as manager.
    But it took four years be  poor results in minors. Intermediate and under twenty one before he left.

Club hurling was a truly awful year in munster.

Sarsfields were absolutely shocking in munster for a team of their expierence, with the cork players they had, that in four years in seven failed make a munster final, and they couldn't beat an average Kilmallock who will be absolutely destroyed by ballyhale in Shefflin fare well on paddy's day imo.

They won a poor  county, beaten by douglas , beat average teams and glen had their third game in three games so they were wrecked

Ballyhea done great in year one win the county under genius jimmy quilty but lixnsw was an awful day but be fair ronan and callaghan were huge losses but still a dire result.

Castlemstyr won cork junior ist time in fifty years,immense credit due but they had golden opportunity with soft run to the munster final but suffered humiliating defeat in cork where they we're not even competitive

Fermoy charville had epic intermediate final and two great teams with brilliant ring doing he's magic again

Cork football

Cork senior expectation was munster final win, all ireland semi final
    What a shambles on off the field and I refuse to belive bob Ryan illogical unfactable view it was a success.
    I'm sorry now but I refute that  as utter utter rubbish.

From the dual disaster to the recalling of Andrew sullivan John Hayes who to be fair are brilliant club players no doubt, the illogical persistence playing john mclougin a fine club player in league despite failing under counihan,the playing of half backs like dorman and Loughrey at corner back , the miss management of midfield selection , the  interviews blaming players ,  The awful treatment of Michael Laoire, Sean dinneen , Andrew o sullivan, pa Kelly, the public media critism of mayo and the referee.

Then The reference to sligo was cork footballs all ireland, sweet jesus how far cork fell , the nightmare in the pairc to an old kerry team missing the Gooch suffered worst defeat thirty years, bar aidan walsh inspiration would lost to tipp at home, the woeful display for fifty minutes v mayo, imo this was a disaster of a year for cork senior football.

The loss of ronan Mccarthy and antrim strength conditions coach, ed coughlan correctly imo declined to join set up if true , this was the worst cork football year imo in the talent was there for so much more.
    The shambles in league to Dublin was bad day.

Minors football was poor be honest in talent was there, they got soft run to munster final but poor selection in games as I feared cost them . Out of date old school football views they were outwitted like I said in my previews v kerry and dublin

They had luck playing poor limerick and waterford teams that they beat but in the two real test they faced v kerry and dublin they were way off  not for lack of talent though.

Very poor year in truth

Stand out perferormance had be Kevin flahive senior intercounty full back written all over him, held Spillane kerry and dublin callaghan and powter corner back. With awesome late call up Micheal Desmond, Damien buckley wrongly not starting v dublin and Cian kiely some fine individuals displays

Junior football I discount as a bran new team and fact in playing in kerry they never had chance over winning the year before and that kerry team were all under twenty ones and minors that ran cork under twenty ones close or beaten cork minors down the years so they were talented.

Under twenty one football brilliant year would been in all ireland final
    Bar disgraceful refereeing of wicklow referee v roscommon.
    Roscommon were good side but out depth v dublin, cork would been competive.

Superb year one under management, winning in kerry munster final, Without Vaughan,Brian o driscoll who had injury in the lead up to the game wasn't fully fit and sam oakes who got injured the Thursday in training, they had superb win beating sixteen men kerry in like I said before in preview Derek o brien gave every call to kerry.
    If cork play kerry again I say it now must simply object this man refeeing as in the year before he's appalling appalling refeeing game that cork went extra time won v kerry.

He done everything he could to beat cork, icing on the cake so comical you couldn't make it up, sending off wrong cork man. Had be told that  then he changed he's mind.

They trained brilliant all year. Saw them v Galway challenge, v dublin in Mallow, tralee it in challenge games, passion. Pride,the innovative drills by Sean Hayes. They were coached by the w onderful gene o driscoll , was a joy to behold and cork under twenty one football again done cork proud

Alan cadogan The munster under twenty player of the year, mark sugrue dan maceoin, Sean white. Brian o driscoll , Kevin crowley , Sean kiely all had blinding years.

Ucc awesome sigereson cup beating Jordanstown and dublin college up the north with dorman, cronin , o driscoll,maguire, kiely, connelly, etc led by Sir king billy Morgan had a wonderful year in college football.

Cork ladies football imo overall team of the year for cork, wonderful victory in the league and all ireland championship and brilliant display to win it without Juliet Murphy the talismanic figure.
    Some team led by awesome eammon Ryan and back room team of he's son and ronayne also and captained by briege corkery
    Angela walsh , Brid stack, Valerie mulchay, Geraldine o Flynn superb years with doireann o sullivan, but in truth all of the cork panel are legends.
    Mournebbey winning the cork and munster club only to loose the all ireland by individual brilliance of the unmarkable Geraldine mclougin with 3-8 , had a fine season.
    Mcloughin had been scoring those returns in not just one game but indeed many games.
    Mournebbey had the misfortune of facing her.

The cork Ladies minors played outstanding in the all ireland minor final to loose to an exceptional Galway team in watching it on tg4 I remarked at the time was one of the greatest games of football I'd ever seen by both teams in a seven goal thriller.
    The cork ladies under sixteen had a successful year also too winning the all ireland.

In The underage and the schools games

Superb for scoil ghobthan and colaiste choilm winning all ireland b and c football titles especially the wonderful I mean wonderful ballincollg captain by current cork senior hurling panelists Sean o Donughe and dual players. Beating exceptional dublin team in crokes park with five intercounty county players at various level.

Cian kiely.,mike lordan, fintan o toole the journalist brother all outstanding performance all year.
    Cork under seventeenth football won jeriamh kerins tournament in kerry.

Three quarter finals they got to the final of the corn u mhuire in facthnas, Macroom and colaiste ri taking the kerry lads to a replay.
    Macroom lost the munster final.
    This year rochestown and clonakilty made it out of their group and deserve credit for that.

Carriglaine with Evan Ryle, Brian coakley David Griffin won the county minor football title with ballincollg winning the under sixteen title.

The under twenty one county football was won by nemo when they beat ballincollg with conor horgan, cronin and cork minor panelists chizendee obizgrbde to the fore front.

Ballincollg won their ist ever county senior led by Michael o brien in coach and Liam jennings, Stephen o donuughe, teenage sensational Cian kiely, Sean kiely, pa and john Kelly, legend john miskella all had brilliant season, and pushed Austin stacks all the way to extra time in their ist county munster claim

Milstreet had the brillant county win and pushed brosna all the way in brosna with out the brilliant Kevin crowley who was injured.

Eire og won the premier with Kevin hallisey, Goulding, cork minor john mullins having big years and valley rovers moving to senior after superb win in Sean og halpin last ever gaa game in the county final where Alan quirke now sports coach with ucc, fictra lynch. Kevin canty all having big years but canty injury didn't help them in their loss to Ardfert.

In the hurling schools, the harty cup quarter final was in January.
    Charville went down to doon. But hammies had superb surprise to many,Not me, I said in preview they would won   beat dungarvan in Mallow where a breathtaking messomric awesome sublime side line by Michael Cahalane against the wind forty five yards out, with awesome late hook by full back Michael sweeney , and luke meade covered acres ground it was a sensational win for cork school with small resources but a huge heart.

Rochestown had brilliant win v Thurles and I said they would win, tried hard v doon, buy year one ist time in it it was outstanding achievement for dual school to make the semi final.

In those games outstanding players were Tim o mahony, Darren Casey. Paddy loughin limerick, Kingston. Meaney, niall cashman   luke meade, Chris o leary. Michael Cahalane. Trevor horgan, Michael macsweenry and eoin reilly.

Midelton dean Ryan cup team beat athenry in the all ireland semi final and lost to brilliant kilkenny cbs in the final but john looney, seadna smith. Cathal martin. Butty Mccarthy,josh beusang were awesome divine inspiration.

Rochestown won the munster b under sixteen trophy in Mallow in football breaking kerry dominance and kingston, Ryle  , Donnacha Murphy captain fantastic, o brien, john cashman etc had brillant season in winning the frewn cup for their ist time since 1949, ist non kerry school since 2002 to win it.
    Messomric, awesome Inspired, epically great, wonderfully . Splendid win they done cork football proud and themselves and every man woman and child in gaa should be delighted this awesome win.
    Rochestown are a wonderful school and mathuna their coach deserves immense credit for coaching them
    To glory.

They got to an all ireland final No shame in loosing to brilliant good counsel where the core of their team beat midelton in the all ireland mclirney cup in the hurling equivalent.

No doubt in my mind the dual school of the year is this school this year in Won munster under sixteen football,Won munster b under sixteen hurling title this year, got quatre finals harty cup unbeaten in their group , won ist ever callaghan cup got to the final of the ist time ever the under fifteen inaugural corn an bhrathair Choilm taft competition football beaten by a point in was to meant to be a pulsating memorable game against wonderful flannans side. .

Rory Doyle douglas, dual star conor Russell douglas mentioned before last year, he could make a fine hurler in under fourteen game last year I saw him score points from sixty yards if he's not lost to soccer in he's a centre half of high promise, dual Jason kabia like Russell a cork player but also brilliant soccer player, Shane Downey of shamrock,keeper douglas Alan kelleher, nemo promising Daniel quinlan a towering midfielder in shea fahy mode im told all had fine seasons for that side

In the munster b competition in under sixteen hurling you had the captain fantastic Nathan walsh at centre back from douglas , Sean o callaghan rockiees. Douglas Matthew mcauliffe and James Holland dual players douglas played harty cup , rockiees liam grainger and john sullivan harty cup starter rockies, with tracton Cormack kiely all fine players.

There is no doubt that the grassroots    so to speak from ground level up is being done in douglas at all levels in rochestown.

Midelton cbs dean Ryan winners this year and all ireland finalist in the same same year in they moved forward this time the all ireland series at the request from schools from next spring.

They Had Sean o leary Hayes,   ed leahy   jack mcdonnell   Ryan mvconville, Chris power , yellow helmet joe deane look a like liam gosnell and coughlan who played in the all ireland final who father played na piarssigh and Adam daly all having brilliant moments in THEIR retention of the cup throughout the campaign and loosing the all ireland final to an exceptional team coached by the exceptional coach declan wall,a kilkenny man, coach of good counsel a truly exceptional team that won out in extra time and salvaged in normal time the draw with an outrageous superb long distance point.

Let's not forget the wonderful triumph this may of The under fourteen rice cup heroes midelton cbs wonderful coaches in alwuin kearney , Tim Collins, the brilliant display In charville to beat Ard scoil and captained by awesome aron walsh barry carrigtohill finest at centre back  , brilliant Alan power midelton corner back , kiltha og imperious wing back joe stack who can hurl both sides with his club men midfield dynamic darragh moran , fast corner forward Cian Murphy, combined with goal scoring heroes awesome kitian oke carrigtohill, full forward fr o Neill Arthur nganou all among the heroes

The outstanding charville team won this year white cup ist time ever beating superb flannans team this spring captained by newton finest cork under fifteen john geary , brilliant David Jones unlucky miss dean Ryan semi over injury, the brilliant jack meade, effin pj herr limerick who played harty cup , James Fitzgerald limerick, charville jack callaghan all been great players in their season.

Let's not forget munster c under sixteen champions few week ago the brilliant mticheetown cbs coached by the brilliant  Anthony Nash winning ist ever hurling title munster and led by skeemarinrky Adrian English, towering cork under fourteen mark Keane ballygIblin, kildorrey awesome centre back James keating and Ballygublin wonderful centre forward George pendle who that day I was privileged to watch him grace the game along with blarney outstanding cork player Michael john shine who on beaten team gave exhibition of midfield dominace.

Let's not forget charville cbs ist year Panel where they beat powerhouse limerick hurling Ard scoil in limerick school ist year A final replay captained by promising Newtown player Cormac o brien who got one goal seven out of teams two goal and seven in the drawn game , other only scorer drawn game conor Griffin between two games got two goal and six , the safe keeper gearoid o shea, the colouss at full back cathal bowles with Sam connelly and Jamie o reagon having good campaigns where all the panel deserve huge credit for the win.

This year the harty cup that started in autumn and tremendous credit to hammies and rochestown making the last eight two years running, youghal making the break through and ag mhuire also while colmans with young team going down to the wire in the last game.
    Key players in all schools were the likes of eoin reilly , luke meade, Jonathan mulchay, Chris o leary. Dinnen for hammies , for youghal darragh o brien , clashmore o halloran, brilliant Kevin Murphy and cathal deane and the iconic declan Dalton.
    Fot rochestown captain David griifin, Shane kingston, John o sullivan,   Donnach Murphy,Sean powter, ciaran Cormack all were brilliant.
    For ag you had connell in goal ,the wonderful eddie gunning , Brian callaghan , liam coughlan , scintillating dan gunning, Evan sheehan just fifteen, and hugely talented cork senior panelists dayne lee with very promising killian aherne having their moments.

We had the wonderful blackrock under twenty one coached by the astute fergel Ryan winning the county with Shane and Kevin o keoffes and Alan callaghan. Joe loughe , niall cashman   Stephen Murphy , Smyth all leading the way

The wonderful sarsfields team winning the minor county coaches by , with star perfermonce by donal English. Luke Hackett, eoghhan Murphy, killian Doyle, Edward gaffney and Paul lepold the captain and Cian daly and Liam English having fine seasons.

They won the replay by point with brillant game where killeagh gave as good as they got with a young team. They won the under sixteen beating na piarssigh with na piarsigh winning the under fifteen county final.
    Killeagh won the under sixteen premier two county with jack o rourke   deane. Kevin Murphy and killian Tracey all in form and won league as well beating Newtown in Mallow.

Killeagh won the under twenty one b under mark landers.

Cork under seventeenth hurlers won all ireland title beating good teams where cork a and b team drew the final.
    Dean linehan. Michael o halloran, Sean Howard   declan Dalton  , Robbie Flynn, billly dunne all having good games.
    Cork under fifteen won the only trophy available to them in the munster title under expert guidance of ger cunningham captained by James keating kildorrey who munster munster b under sixteen with mticheetown school.
    Cork beat highely rated limerick team that done lot work under jerry Wallis in the lead up to it   and Liam gosnell , Brian buckley playing harty cup west college's limerick, Ben keohane, goal aces David Jones and Liam gosnell and also won b competition where Sean walsh was the leading light.

Cork camoige beat wexford and then the unbeatable kilkenny, well not in my eyes I said cork would win , under awesome guidance of great paudie Murray led by the brilliant Anna geary.
    Her club Millford won The all ireland senior camoige title for the second year in a row captained by Elaine o roirdan where Aisling Thompson got player of the match and add that to being brilliant for cork camoige winning the all ireland it's been wonderful story for Thompson in she suffered serious injury fr an accident years ago but fought through it.
    That's a tremendous achievement that Millford deserve immense credit for.

The all ireland final cork v the cats where I said it then the memorising half back display of player of the match in eimear o sullivan who I said gave display like wayne sherlock or tommy Walsh, Anna geary, bridge corkery , imperious Gemma o connor, rena buckley, aisling Thompson. Orla cotter and Jennifer o leary Had outstanding campaign for cork.

Off the field a mixed bag in the over priced pairc got the go ahead with its centre of mediocrity as cusack called it frank Murphy getting extension upon extension that even president ireland or America don't get in there's limit to their term, but bob Ryan going to central council but at least we have new hope with ger lane and Tracey Kennedy ground breaking awesome appointment as the ist cork woman vice chair in cork history.

The refusal to debate cusack comments or shamrocks delegate issues or refusal to debate cork under twenty one shambles abs senior football shambles leaves imo a bad taste as cork gaa far from democratic paradise It's meant to be.
    Of course the usual words of wisdom like strength of unity is preached in come together, sing the same voice, be positive but they really imo want one voice and if not what they don't want to hear, then anything else is wrongly seen as agenda and negative driven.

The frank Murphy critism ably support by  bob Ryan on refeeing v mayo was totally imo wrong yet right under their nose cork football refereeing and hurling is poor in the cork club standard yet it is ignored.

Cork club hurling was put in to the news imo by off field  behaviour In glen rovers and bishopstown having a free for all, worse again was the mediocrity of the fines. Glen got two thousand fine,the town got a fifteen hundred despite the glen second offence in the last few years

Their Should been a statement made from top down.
    Pat hor gan then got match suspension over turned.

Clyda rovers bowed out of the all ireland intermediate in February but up against a club just down from senior they done cork proud.
    Youghal came undown against Brian molloy inspired Galway team.

In the media imo we had wonderful coverage by Mary white an inspirational journalist and barry o Donovan, Derek daly and Sarah o Donovan imo for their interesting, realistic open honest bold assements not afraid to tackle important unpopular issues like Sarah o Donovan going against dualism when others  campaigned for it.
    Eammon Murphy wrote great pieces, don't always agree with he's teams selection or view but huge respect admiration às he does challenge important issues

We had wonderful school coverage by Denis hurley who wrote excellent school reports in football and hurling and feile and really imo does harty cup in particular proud.
    He also wrote brilliant piece I thoroughly enjoyed in he's piece regards being I think twas in cloughduv covering a game and on weekend had to rush back to the city to have he's report in by the he deadline showing the other tough demands of a sports journalists life.
    He gave a brilliant article on aghada and many other underage teams.

And He brought the cork thread here the news first regards the under twenty hurling appointment and is always on the ball if you need a fixture or venue for any under age game. 103 fm sports Sunday done great work for those not able to go to games or at one wanting updates of others , to all involved and he's style of commentating is open to question in my opinion in not at times staying with the action on the match , paudie palmer commitment or passion isn't in doubt , credit due to him and all the other commentators .

Tg4 brought us cork ladies minors senior football and the under twenty one hurling and leave mens games etc with rte and sky and they done well bringing cork games for cork fans unable to attend the games.

Donal og cusack brought he's articulate knowledge and bold open straight view to the Sunday game and deserves to be acknowledged às does donal og grady for he's articles in the examiner like cusack every Friday
    Cork gaa twitter was brilliant also with updates and the echo gave brilliant reports at times but especially the harty cup and school gaa coverage

All these things imo deserve to be mentioned in cork gaa review as imo there all part of the year in cork gaa in one form or another imo.

I must say  meeting brilliant  fans etc clubs, counties during the year is a special feeling and we as fans deserve immense credit too for supporting or beloved teams.
    I think ccb should remember that at times when they harshly critise the grassroots fans imo for simply on field play critising perferormance. We had wonderful referring In conor lane in the inter county scene, the side line all ireland hurling officials in mcsllister and lyons.
    The referees of a high quality are there but a new protocol from the cork ccb in the club scene should be mandated to allow tougher hurling refeeing at all levels in cork hurling.

We had coaching wise jerry Wallis spreading the gospel in limerick, welcome back to leeside Mr Wallace we missed you a lot.
    We had ed Coughlan doing brilliantly with mayo senior footballers and now with dublin hurling alongside the wonderful ger cunningham who both should be with cork teams if right was right.
    We have pat hartnett in minors, eddie Murphy joining the rockies.
    We had frank flannery in waterford.
    Not he's fault waterford are in dissary , you can't blame the Co pilot if you have a poor captain.
    We had paudie kissane doing wonderfully job with clare, ephie Fitzgerald winning in limerick club football and Peter creedon making great progress with tippeary football.

We had the announcement  of ephie joining clare football and tom mccglichey to Waterford.

I'm sure I left out something or someone here to be praised or mentioned but the year so long it's heard to get it all in and I dont want to break the word post count record here either so I if I missed anyone or a team that deserves mention for whatever reason in a sports review year  posters should  add to it here and in my post if I left anything out its geuine, I'm not trying to praise some and not others etc etc and apologies if I left anybody or anything out.

Overall I've had tears of Joys, tears of sorrow, days of pain days of glory, days in the rain, days in the sunshine, moments magic I'll never hope to forget, days of nightmare I truly hope to forget but in essence above the roller coaster cork gaa is imo it's truly magical the gaa world, one I geuinely thank god every day for giving us this great game of our wonderful country, I must say I would not miss the gaa for the world.,its just magical something I greatly enjoy following and writing about.

And the greatest fairy tale this Xmas imo is not the great song the fairy tale of new York, but the unbelievable come back from three cruciate in colm o Neill who had a fine year
    On and off the field and Jamie wall fight against severe illness to me are the stories of the season inspirational along with conor cusack inspiration in fight and help for people with depression.

Let's not forget the unfortunate Michael Cahalane, Shane o brien who are unlikely to play intercounty again for cork who are lost to the game but these are two fine young men and I'm sure they will do well In life and I sincerely wish them all the best as in their short careers they graced cork jeresy with pride, passion. Honour,dignity, skill  and they owe cork gaa nothing but cork gaa owes them immense gratitude and respect imo.

To the likes of Kevin crowley, colm Spillane many more, best luck in their recovery from injury.
    Cork gaa lost a good man. Great gaa man canon Micheal o brien, rip,  he will never be forgotten, he's legacy will always live on in the heart and soul of cork gaa people and indeed any gaa fan.
    Fitting when new season starts we have the canon Michael o brien cup. May you rest in peace with many others former cork gaa people that sadly passed away this year.

My cork team overall in both codes of the year is cork ladies football team with Eammon Ryan manager of the year. All cork ladies imo players of the year

Male team of the year cork intermediate Hurling

Club team of the year overall has to be Mournebbey ladies for winning the munster and getting to the final in ballincollg yes won senior football but Mournebbey had to fund raise for their trip to London off the field

Schools teams of the year overall imo is colaiste choilm for winnig the all ireland b title in croke park
    But rochestown deserve mention for dual success in both.

Cork hurler of the year imo has to be mark Ellis
    Cork footballer of the year has to be colm o Neill in what was a scare list but colm just back from injury had a brilliant year imo.

Cork minor hurler of the year Alan o callaghan
    Cork schools hurler of the year from January to now imo is Chris o leary hammies for last year closing games in harty in the spring and this year opening group games with Kingston and john looney in strong contention.
    Cork intermediate hurler Cormac Murphy
    Cork under twenty one. Hurler Patrick Collins.
    Cork minor football Kevin flahive
    Cork under twenty one football Alan cadogan
    Cork junior footballer mark sugrue
    Cork schools footballer of the year Cian kiely
    Cork senior club footballer of the year paddy Kelly
    Cork hurler of the year club Daniel kearney

Anyone I critised here is purely in gaa sense nothing more or less and on that note I wish everyone involved in cork gaa a wonderful peaceful harmonic Christmas both in those I critised those along with I praised in gaa terms only all have great season of festive cheers and my hope is cork gaa in 2015 in every team is the best they can be.

If I don't get a chance between now and the hustle and bustle of the final countdown to Xmas I wish and I geuinely mean everyone on the cork thread a very very happy Xmas this year and I look forward to talking about all things men and women in cork gaa in 2015.
    Rebel abu

irish by birth cork by the grace of God.

I didn't make the cork minors I went to my last game of the year watched minor limerick final see some lads play cork in the minor next year. Great to hear ag bounced back but I'd imagine schools fan it was an experiential cork team???

Absorbing contest ahane beat na piarssigh by a point, worth the journey.
    Ronan lynch had a good game in midfield but Casey and houihlan had quiet games so lynch went in to full and bar a point didn't impress me in their.
    You want to see real quaillty fill forward play watch the awesome tom morrisey four from play.
    Thank god he's not minors next year cork avoid him as he's real potent forward but he imo will be serious at under twenty one and if I was tj Ryan I'd have him training with the senior team.
    To hear limerick talk about forwards they need.,look no farther, tom is the man.
    O meara at half back impressed and he impressed me v nenagh last week if it's the same guy
    Peadar Collins limerick minor this year and ard scoil fine defender but morrisey had him huge trouble and not many get the better of Collins.
    Cork have plenty of forwards like morrisey in the minors.
    What a year in Cork Gaa.

seventh7 wrote: »
    The AG minus O'Callaghan, Braham, O Meara, what a performance this morning with 3 fifteen year olds, Meara, Sheehan, Morrissey, Best minor game I saw all year. Kingston was brilliant for Cork super movement and heart. Danny Gunning was awesome three of the five goals. Sheehan and Aherne got the 2 other goals. Aherne what a warrior at 16 took and gave huge hits. Won a huge amount of dirty ball and scored with super run through the heart of the defence. Gunning was on fire unplayable. Cork were wasteful and whilst they are fluid and neat could not match the Ag for intensity. The northside school have great heart and this will be a huge boost to them going in to the christmas break. If this was the full minor team then Ring and Hartnett have plenty to ponder over the festive season. Gunning must be a starter and Aherne must come in to the reckoning.

Great to hear seventh

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

SchoolsFan wrote: »
    Didn't get to the O'Callaghan cup game on Wednesday, thanks for the excellent posts. I did see the AG play the Cork minors this morning:

AG 5-8 Cork 2-10

I hope to God Cork minors were seriously understrength.

Cork ladies football team of the year brilliant

At long long long last inspiration unbelievable.

So modest all of them

I thought should interviewed eammon Ryan also not I'm sure he's bothered but he's man behind it.

Great to see the ladies get some recognition nationally. Well deserved and long overdue

Speaking to some one involved with the Cork development squads today and he said that Deccie Fitz(Drom and Inch) is over the Cork U14 side.

Great to see the ladies get some recognition nationally. Well deserved and long overdue

Totally agree shame rte didn't give them more time barely few seconds limelight
    Surely Ryan deserved interview

What's great about this award is pundits didn't vote but public vote so won hearts nation in winning it
    Unbelievable for woman team and this journey all began when the panel fourteen years ago had the courage and conviction to separate friendship from reality and ask change manager for cork team
    As they say the rest is history

Speaking to some one involved with the Cork development squads today and he said that Deccie Fitz(Drom and Inch) is over the Cork U14 side.

Yeah he's with them last year too the sixteens
    Top top coach I done piece limerick thread last week mentioned him
    He's cork Buttevant originally
    Schools limerick minors ul, castetroy harty cup limerick under twenty one worked with best coaches In the game
    With kilrewune in tippeary before I think
    Went coaching limerick minors around twenty five years age in 2005 got all ireland final

What was cork minor team today strong or expiermental?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Delighted for the ladies, been saying it for years, best Cork team I have ever seen!!
    A joy to watch !!

What was cork minor team today strong or expiermental?

They looked fairly strong to me. They had Dalton in goal(replaced at half time), Griffin Rochestown/Carrigaline full back, Cashman Rochestown/Rockies wing back, Chris O Leary Hammies/ Valleys midfield, Kingston Rochestown/Douglas Centre Forward, Mike O Halloran CBC/Rockies full forward, Ciaráin Cirmack Rochestown/Rockies wing Forward., John Looney MidletonCBS/??? Corner forward.Those were the lads I knew that started.

Ian Cahill and Billy Dunne came on as did Cahalane.

Seems core bunch of the lads alright

Thanks school fan
    Gunning goals decided it it seems so I wouldn't be unduly worried

So far what I seen this year cork minors with full strength team I'd go with
    Dalton has to be in goal
    David Griffin, Ian cahill, smith

Half back line
    Darragh o brien , Chris o leary cashman

Brendan Mccarthy donal English

O mahony kingston Flynn

Looney halloran gunning

Some tough tough calls but that team would take some stopping.
    If they get to munster final, I'd nearly prefer a loss as these guys need games and they will improve with games.
    They will need a run and croke park would bring out of them
    Only this year with talent available and management proven if cork dont make munster final I'll only then say yes cork talent is overrated and not there as I firmly believe it's there just we hadn't management to utile it

This minors team has huge hope next year
    The problem limerick have hold not one but all six forwards.
    You hold three even, cork have Cormack, beausang, dunne to spring from the bench, kenneally fine sub keeper, add in conor Cahalane huge depth in defenders
    Shane Walsh and landers not on the panel it tells it own story, huge depth, real real depth this team imo in the panel. .

It's going to be very hard to pick that final team

What be your team school fan??

I listened to two interviews cuthbhert one horse mentioned and criticised and jbm on red fm
    I'd recommend anyone listen to both and compare and contrast with the two imo there a million miles apart.
    I have confidence in the hurling but I have huge huge huge fears for our wonderful talent in football due to poor poor management.

Ist of all lisa lawlor very good interviewer.
    Shes worked in clare and limerick fm before and shes very good.

She asks good questions imo.

Good interview by Jbm, spoke lot values I admire and advocate here.
    Spoke how strength in depth panel crucial, he repeated this again and again and how kilkenny and tipp were the blue print, spoke of how huge lesson learned from tipp game, spoke how cork jeresy must mean something in every game and how hurling, nutrition etc must be spot on and how each player must be on top game no matter who he is as cork demands perfection.
    I expect him to be ruthless next year

One worry I'd have is panel he picked few I wouldn't have on it buy crucially I believe in jbm

He spoke correctly about underage famine but said work is been done and progress being made and he won't be around see it.
    He really showed anyone hear or anyone with any views of hint club biaswhat they can do with it in he rightfully said he didn't give a damn about junior a b or c hurlers what club represent if he's sees potential they will get a chance to develop and just as not under age panel won't mean he won't pick them.

Take a bow thank you jbm

He said  contrary to what was posted here. Cork are training ball work since December and it's said here no work done hurling til January is incorrect in gym work being done since November, but there training hurling wise and challenge games lined up in January as well as waterford crystal cup but taking league seriously in ist two games clare v kilkenny.
    Amen.

It's great cork doing hurling as if weren't then they were goosed

Clare played waterford and beat lit in lit yesterday in challenge. They are gearing up for the league and apparently have challenge match few days after Xmas.

He spoke about the new players be added to the panel and all get games

He splendidly had the balls and conviction to not go with the flow and say cork club hurling standard is not where he like would be but it needs to improve and far from perfect

Well said jbm , in call a spade a spade
    Next step jbm you should ask the ccb board review refeeing in the cork club scene imo.
    Great interview and I have confidence from it

Like I said here dual players ended the farce it became and not cuthbhert ending it
    Players jbm said ended it.

It interesting as he would went with it though it worked but course he would às hAve as he said himself the hurling got more of hurlers so no need from him to call to a halt to it but cuthbhert who lost out imo hadn't the conviction to end it like I said last year as many know.

I listened to cuthbhert interview and it imo he was very mellow and subdued, seemed to lack confidence and I'm totally deluded and no confidence in him and that gave me no hope

He yes said lesson were learned like jbm but I got confidence from jbm tone but cuthbhert imo  was like a bad singer miming the words badly out of tune where jbm was conductor of cork orchestra.

He said that defeat was one of those things and it's sport usual etc etc and teams can turn things around like history shows but he seemed thing it once off and imo doesn't understand the complex of the reality of the situation.

Judging by he's pre panel he assembled, some greatest respect to them who fine club footballer but some shouldn't be near senior panel and imo wouldn't make the junior cork team I'd pick, things are going from bad to worse imo and it's a really really tough road ahead with league going expose the frailties and serious inept football management we have next year
    I'd love to be wrong but cork football imo is in for a tough year next year starting with tough league in the spring.

He didn't mention pat flanganan at all all and imo I find that odd as pat is gone from Laois in they got a major coup with new coach in a waterford man that could be announced soon

Jbm mentioned Matthews and the cork goal keeper coach and all selection by name.
    Cuthbhert didn't give me the same confidence regards talking bout it not talking bout management.

Cuthbhert due a more imo bubbling enthusiastic interview after cork destroy Mary I ist game of the new season in Mallow after Xmas but imo I won't be buying it, win the ist three league games with away trip up the north a draw or a win then I will only begin to say yes management are learning, we have learned from mistakes and we have some confidence based on reality than any false dawns against mickey mouse opposition with the greatest respect to some of the opponents cork will face in the mcgrath cup.
    I'm geuinely looking for inspiration for next year under current football management and imo they have given me none yet.
    When they do I'll start to belive.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

TTM, I also listened to the interview and first off fair play to lisa lawlor it was a good interview and no shirking og hard questions - obviously you can tell she isn't from cork!! Cuthbert sounded very very subdued and no wonder after a horrendous first year and no signs of better to come. He has upto 8 collig players on the squad which is a knee jerk reaction to their win of the county, again he shows really poor judgement in the fundamentals of management - picking the right players.
    I am amazed he didn't mention Flanagan, seeing as he is a great coup apparnently, whats going on with this?? I notice Flanagan hasn't changed his biography on his gym site to mention he is over cork either, just loads about Kerry............
    Cuthbert is intelligent enough to know he is in big trouble in the league, the hardest game imo will be the dubs as they will be gunning hard to make a statement. The dubs have always felt cork are soft and outside of when counihan and billy were in charge they are correct, cork are soft, at least Cuthbert said we must be harder to beat but again he doesn't have the ability to get us there imo.
    2015 will be a very difficult year, league relegation and a munster final hammering in Killarney are almost definates, he said they all sat down and had an honest conversation, not from what I heard. He also said everyone is back although I also don't think that is accurate -sean dineen is he back?
    The man is out of his depth, hopefully we will be at least competitive and he is replaced at the end of 2015, but on both counts I don't think it will happen

sean mac wrote: »
    TTM, I also listened to the interview and first off fair play to lisa lawlor it was a good interview and no shirking og hard questions - obviously you can tell she isn't from cork!! Cuthbert sounded very very subdued and no wonder after a horrendous first year and no signs of better to come. He has upto 8 collig players on the squad which is a knee jerk reaction to their win of the county, again he shows really poor judgement in the fundamentals of management - picking the right players.
    I am amazed he didn't mention Flanagan, seeing as he is a great coup apparnently, whats going on with this?? I notice Flanagan hasn't changed his biography on his gym site to mention he is over cork either, just loads about Kerry............
    Cuthbert is intelligent enough to know he is in big trouble in the league, the hardest game imo will be the dubs as they will be gunning hard to make a statement. The dubs have always felt cork are soft and outside of when counihan and billy were in charge they are correct, cork are soft, at least Cuthbert said we must be harder to beat but again he doesn't have the ability to get us there imo.
    2015 will be a very difficult year, league relegation and a munster final hammering in Killarney are almost definates, he said they all sat down and had an honest conversation, not from what I heard. He also said everyone is back although I also don't think that is accurate -sean dineen is he back?
    The man is out of his depth, hopefully we will be at least competitive and he is replaced at the end of 2015, but on both counts I don't think it will happen

Sadly with great regret Sean I have agree with all and you have nailed it on the head
    Dinnen I dint think is back

You should listen to jbm interview very good

Lawlor is as you say non cork so he she won't like some in cork bot all just go with popular easy questions

Top top journalist be fair she knows her sport and very shrewd judge teams or coaches

I think you were right schools fan. It looked very like the full strenght side. Whilst they were very mobile they hit a lot of wides and in all honesty I would worry about that. True if Gunning had been on the other side they would have reversed the result. Could not be relying on one player even Danny Gunning to win games. Considering the mon had a make shift back line with two fifteen years olds either side of Eddie Gunning then the return from the minor forwards was poor. The mon played without O' Callaghan centre back, O meara, Hanafin, Braham, and O' Donovan Half back and beat the Cork minors. Something wrong here, either the Mon have better players sitting on their benches or the Cork minors are shocking. TTM you know that all the kids I have named are part of the starting 15 for the AG and if they can be sidelined and a reserve side can outmuscle a Cork minor 15 then there may be problems ahead.

Can anybody tell me what the CCB are really about? It's certainly doesn’t seem to be interested in the development of our games in any meaningful way. I was chatting recently with a couple of teachers involved with one of our very prominent GAA schools, a school fielding somewhere in the region of 8 teams. Their total financial assistance from CCB this year is the grand total is zero, nothing, nil, zilch. Not even a fcuking football or sliotar. Jaysus I knew things were bad in this regard but I was flabbergasted that they don't even get a sausage. No wonder we have no minor AI title since 2001 or U21 title since God knows when.
    To put this in contest, 3 limerick hurling schools (Castletroy,Doon,ASR) have received €40,000 each this year to help their cause. Yes, €40,000. I know this is facilitated via JP but that's beside the point. I heard about this €40,000 a few months back but was disinclined to believe it despite my source being very good. However my teacher acquaintances confirmed it.
    Now while any individual school wouldn't need anything like €40,000 (though it would be nice), to get nothing from CCB is disgusting. How do They (He) get away with it???

It actually sickens me to hear about this carry on.To answer your question I think it's mainly cause the schools know no better in that it's always been like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭dcrosskid

Can anybody tell me what the CCB are really about? It's certainly doesn’t seem to be interested in the development of our games in any meaningful way. I was chatting recently with a couple of teachers involved with one of our very prominent GAA schools, a school fielding somewhere in the region of 8 teams. Their total financial assistance from CCB this year is the grand total is zero, nothing, nil, zilch. Not even a fcuking football or sliotar. Jaysus I knew things were bad in this regard but I was flabbergasted that they don't even get a sausage. No wonder we have no minor AI title since 2001 or U21 title since God knows when.
    To put this in contest, 3 limerick hurling schools (Castletroy,Doon,ASR) have received €40,000 each this year to help their cause. Yes, €40,000. I know this is facilitated via JP but that's beside the point. I heard about this €40,000 a few months back but was disinclined to believe it despite my source being very good. However my teacher acquaintances confirmed it.
    Now while any individual school wouldn't need anything like €40,000 (though it would be nice), to get nothing from CCB is disgusting. How do They (He) get away with it???

40,000?? That would cover absolutely everything for the year. New jerseys, togs, socks, training tops and meals, transport to & from games & possibly a few days away for the senior team for a training camp. That is some head start they are getting in fairness.

I agree though, county boards should definitely be targeting the schools through funding. I might look into the Tipp schools & see are they getting anything from the county board.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Cu Baire

dcrosskid wrote: »
    40,000?? That would cover absolutely everything for the year. New jerseys, togs, socks, training tops and meals, transport to & from games & possibly a few days away for the senior team for a training camp. That is some head start they are getting in fairness.

I agree though, county boards should definitely be targeting the schools through funding. I might look into the Tipp schools & see are they getting anything from the county board.

Lads are ye really going to believe that €120000 was give to 3 secondary schools to spend on their hurling teams??????????????????

Cu Baire wrote: »
    Lads are ye really going to believe that €120000 was give to 3 secondary schools to spend on their hurling teams??????????????????
    Rubbish talk. Some counties have budgets less than €120000.

The 40000/120000 is largely irrelevant here. The point is that CCB are doing practically nothing for our GAA schools.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 Scarecrow 2

Well it is a well known fact at this stage that the CCB couldnt care less about the development of players. But the €40,000 if true. (I would strongly doubt it) comes from a wealthy man that unfortunately we don't have on cork that is interested in our games..

I know a buisness man that's involved in a limerick supporters club up the country and he was telling me before that they contributed to Ard Scoil Ris buses when they won the Harty a few years ago because they had no money.. So either the 40 grand they got/get was being mispent or is a fiction story. What limerick do seem to have is good personal in there main schools.

I believe more can be done with our schools but where does one start. do the CCB give money or gear to let's say Rochestown, Ag, youghal and Hammies in hurling and fachtnas, macroom, Christ ri and rochestown again in football and **** the rest??

I don't know the answers of solution but pls god Ger lane and our new board might have a plan to put something in motion. In saying all that it is promising to see our schools showing a big improvement accross the county in past 2 years. Goes to show with right attitude from teachers and students what can be done. It is a pity our board doesn't drive it on another notch now that we are back up and running.

Seems core bunch of the lads alright

Thanks school fan
    Gunning goals decided it it seems so I wouldn't be unduly worried

So far what I seen this year cork minors with full strength team I'd go with
    Dalton has to be in goal
    David Griffin, Ian cahill, smith

Half back line
    Darragh o brien , Chris o leary cashman

Brendan Mccarthy donal English

O mahony kingston Flynn

Looney halloran gunning

Some tough tough calls but that team would take some stopping.
    If they get to munster final, I'd nearly prefer a loss as these guys need games and they will improve with games.
    They will need a run and croke park would bring out of them
    Only this year with talent available and management proven if cork dont make munster final I'll only then say yes cork talent is overrated and not there as I firmly believe it's there just we hadn't management to utile it

This minors team has huge hope next year
    The problem limerick have hold not one but all six forwards.
    You hold three even, cork have Cormack, beausang, dunne to spring from the bench, kenneally fine sub keeper, add in conor Cahalane huge depth in defenders
    Shane Walsh and landers not on the panel it tells it own story, huge depth, real real depth this team imo in the panel. .

It's going to be very hard to pick that final team

What be your team school fan??

Just on the AG the coaching ticket has gotten some unfair criticism on here. IMO Spoke with a respected ex-Cork hurler about the O'Callaghan Cup final who was also at the minor game last Sunday. He made a great point that the only difference was that the AG players work rate was phenomenal last Sunday where as against Rochestown they didn't match them in that department. There wasn't any over complication of tactics, it was just simply the players left Rochestown win the rucks to easy and didn't work as they did in the Doon game in particular. He said Doon are a better team than Rochestown, but for some reason the AG didn't bring the same work rate. Very hard for management to set attitudes once the white line is crossed, great article by Noel Sheedy on this a few years ago.

My Cork Minor Team: one point I think is very important, after watching the Harty Schools, CBC and Criost Ri in the O'Callaghan and a lot if club games there is no doubt that there are the hurlers in Cork to win the minor All Ireland, very important that the positioning, man management are correct and also that Cork bring a tactical game plan to each game and importantly can adapt during games, something they did not do against the AG. The more I reflect Cork left a possible Munster and All Ireland behind them in 2013 when they should have beaten Waterford in Pairc Ui Rinn and showed none of the above planning or ability on the line.

Goal. Decie Dalton, excellent puck out, the trajectory is a forwards dream, secure under high ball, decent shot stopper, long range free taker extraordinaire

Full Back Line.
    2S. smith. Great man marker, can play in front or behind, good in the air, great tackler and importantly holds a half Hurley when doing this, versatile can go Half Back
    3Griffin. Strong, great man marker, a forwards nightmare if he is static, possible weakness if moved laterally, see Rochestown game plan if you want to prevent this
    4 ??????? Not Ian Cahill
    5Darragh O'Brien, physical under the puck out, great positional sense and a platform for attacks, he delivers lovely ball
    6Chris O'Leary tentative vote here. He tends to stand up on his man and gets dragged high leaving space inside, minor inter county space in front of the full back line can be so dangerous
    On the plus, great ball winner, combative but could use the ball better.
    7 not Niall Cashman, hasn't got the legs for the wing so maybe 6. So I'm going to have to look again
    8Liam Coughlan. Work horse, unsung hero of the AG. Drops deep and sweeps behind the half back line, outlet for the half back line, delivery is top notch., plus his footwork and ability to get out if 2/3V1 is special. He blocks and hooks all day and runs ball at half back lines and wins a lot of frees. Negative, his shooting needs to improve.
    9.Butty McCarthy was the man for this position but I think that Eoin O Brien is in pole position, gave my view on him already.
    10???? No one nailing this down for me at the moment
    11???? No one nailing this down for me either not Kingston
    12 Shane Kingston thrives on the looser role and shouldn't be placed at 11 and made the focal point of the attach. Picks up great loose ball on the wing and his pace down the wing will get him in great positions, thus guy is the real deal
    13 Dan Gunning. On the right to allow him to cut in, not great off his right but lethal on his left. His touch is phenomenal, he can finish so well, can take punishment and keep going. Gave the Cork minor full back line a roasting last Sunday. His style is unorthodox which makes him very hard to manage. This lad is so brave and is not afraid to run at bigger men. IMO the next Joe Deane
    14. O Halloran. Great touch, lightning pace and an eye for goal. Well able to mix it physically and can play it high or low. He is a lovely striker and his technique is tight to his body, elbows up, great shoulders and wrists. Plus a great free taker.
    15. John Looney. Accurate, accurate, accurate. Lively touch and his foot work is incredible. But can be physically bossed and needs to get ruthless and start running the ball at goal aka Gunning.

In the mix
    Tim O Mahony Newtown 11??? First name might be wrong
    Ciarain Cormack look at how Rochestown use him. He was poor last Sunday. Eoin O Leary played him hurling wise and physically off the park. P
    John O'Sullivan, should be on the extended panel
    Eric O'Keeffe but needs a lot if work and must prove himself. Personally I think he could be the left half back. Has it all for that position

feel free to criticise and debate.

I would like to add that I have not seen Clonakilty CC or Colaiste Treasa Kanturk, so please excuse if I've overlooked anyone here.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

seventh7 wrote: »
    I think you were right schools fan. It looked very like the full strenght side. Whilst they were very mobile they hit a lot of wides and in all honesty I would worry about that. True if Gunning had been on the other side they would have reversed the result. Could not be relying on one player even Danny Gunning to win games. Considering the mon had a make shift back line with two fifteen years olds either side of Eddie Gunning then the return from the minor forwards was poor. The mon played without O' Callaghan centre back, O meara, Hanafin, Braham, and O' Donovan Half back and beat the Cork minors. Something wrong here, either the Mon have better players sitting on their benches or the Cork minors are shocking. TTM you know that all the kids I have named are part of the starting 15 for the AG and if they can be sidelined and a reserve side can outmuscle a Cork minor 15 then there may be problems ahead.

Lads, a challenge game at 9oc in Dec, some of those kids had 3 matches in 5 days, tired legs on heavy ground.

AG had a point to prove after wed, and came out second half with a mission i was told, the minors had made a few changes and gunning got in behiind the defence - fair play to them they needed the win, but wouldt be reading too much into it. the hurling and the sod will be different by championship comes around

TTM you are some man for the stats, the the way you trotted out those numbers. thanks for that interesting reading. you forgot a few of your favorites, looney and o mahogany, and what about ronan lynch, although hes seems to have a more defensive roll this year
    i dont agree about daniel meaney, with the injury he had and seven month lay off, he wouldnt have a snowballs chance at all at all against ronan lynch no matter how much experience he has, id be throwing him in corner forward for 15mins tis as much as you could ask of him if he even get to that - anyway Rochestown have to get over Nenagh first, one match at a time sweet jesus

na piarsaigh in limerick were beaten by ahane minor championship at the weekend, Tom Morrissey got 10 of ahanes 11 points - a load of piarssaighs players with ASr and there good, but no way as good as last year. its hard to know how good thurles are too as they both came out of same group. the cork teams will be giving them a serious run for there money

TTM you praised Rochestown all right in some of your posts fair dues but if you honest, i mean really honest you havent rated them or there players as much as you did the other cork teams but thats your view thats grand. The school gave the Rochestown lads the day off on Friday after the historic win. well done to them again

Theres a lot to look forward to for 2015. Happy Christmas to ye all.

Dara Fitzgibbon from Charleville should be a starter for Cork minors 2015. Class act with very few weaknesses. Himself and O Mahony carried Charleville CBS this yr ( even tho they had poor campaign these 2 looked the part).