Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    The 96fm report at 4.30 went as follows.....

...in the Harty cup today the score was Are Scoil Rís one hundred and sixteen Hamilton one one nine...

Jesus wept !!

same thing used to happen years ago on bbc final score from northeren ireland but that time it was most likely presented by some good old fashioned prod who had no time for our reckless republican past time!!!

but for a local station and especially in cork to get it wrong like that is laughable

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭rughug

same thing used to happen years ago on bbc final score from northeren ireland but that time it was most likely presented by some good old fashioned prod who had no time for our reckless republican past time!!!

but for a local station and especially in cork to get it wrong like that is laughable

Anyone for cricket boys......ffs some of those radio presenters especially on red fm are a bunch of soccer loving nitwits ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭shockframe

Yesterday one point play was disgrace no matter when was as this was a division four team
    Great comeback wait til kerry
    Seriously we got take another hammering in kerry and relegated be division two which will in two years be harder get promoted from but likes yourself say wait til damage I'd done that imo will be irreversible to cork football
    Just cause you fail to see or simply don't want to don't expect grass roots knowledge fans do same with respect.

I wouldnt be at all surprised if the next Cork Kerry meeting was close.

Why? Kerry would have been anxious about Corks underage success and their lack of talent compared to the noughties. Now that Cork look to be in such a heap Kerry know that keeping Cuthbert in as manager is the worst thing for Cork and a good thing for Kerry.

If Cork are beaten out the gate in championship or suffer a few beatings then calls for change grow but if their close it will be another term.

Kerry are fully aware of whats going on with their neighbours and not likely to be pulling all the stops to hammer Cork.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

shockframe wrote: »
    I wouldnt be at all surprised if the next Cork Kerry meeting was close.

I would be totally shocked if it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Lehane should be back in action next week after having his laser eye surgery. He's vital to both Cork and UCC.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Last week Cuthbert told the Southern Star that the team was close to where it wants to be ....yesterday 7 days later he tells the press we have a long way to go ....this is a bluffer of the highest .....look at his record ....last year the biggest defeat to Kerry in a Munster final since 1977....yesterday the first loss to Waterford footballers since 1957 ....he should be very very proud of himself .....our only hope now is a players strike ...i mean it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

whatever about Cuthbert, his selectors are destroying their reputations as fine footballers the longer they stay onboard. surely the penny has dropped with one or more of them?

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Last week Cuthbert told the Southern Star that the team was close to where it wants to be ....yesterday 7 days later he tells the press we have a long way to go ....this is a bluffer of the highest .....look at his record ....last year the biggest defeat to Kerry in a Munster final since 1977....yesterday the first loss to Waterford footballers since 1957 ....he should be very very proud of himself .....our only hope now is a players strike ...i mean it.

And he will be breaking another record in 2 weeks - if/when Dublin beat cork it will be the first time since 1983 that the dubs have beaten cork in cork..........we really are in some ****ing heap

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

whatever about Cuthbert, his selectors are destroying their reputations as fine footballers the longer they stay onboard. surely the penny has dropped with one or more of them?

Cant understand this, Ciaran o Sullivan was a hero to me as a player, what is he doing with this set up? as for davis seems to wear his skib hat a lot with cork, while sexton always gave everything when he played and surely he knows having been with larry the damage a bad manager does to a squad?

Cork v Clare fixed for Sat 24th at 1pm in Mallow

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Cork v Clare fixed for Sat 24th at 1pm in Mallow

I thought it would be mallow alright said last night
    I heard it on grape vine

sean mac wrote: »
    Cant understand this, Ciaran o Sullivan was a hero to me as a player, what is he doing with this set up? as for davis seems to wear his skib hat a lot with cork, while sexton always gave everything when he played and surely he knows having been with larry the damage a bad manager does to a squad?
    Sean sullivan was my hero too great minds think alike

What an elegant footballee, awesome technical ability some mover on the ball and what a football brain
    Nearest cork half back to paid o se (rip) and tomas o se

But he's never managed senior or minors club team even

They were asked so they accepted
    I don't blame them in few kook gift horse in mouth

I blame Cuthbhert for picking them and I blame ccb for picking Cuthbhert

Sullivan should know about playing lads out position at least in he was played centre forward by Tompkins and made look average when he was impressive half back of sustainable elegance, guile, poise poetry in motion

Sullivan could been goods coach if developed but he ran before he walked

Sexton good football man but no coaching expierence but eoin imo would been good development squads but not rushed to senior

Davis is poor he's interview even last year after a mcgrath cup game was uninspiring
    Tactical mastermind I doubt it
    Very passionate yes no doubt bout game and a gentle man absolutely but no coaching expierence

I have never seen such an inept performance in management selection and when five were announced last year they were being labelled the famous five all they were short was timmy the dog

It reminds me fai telling Irish soccer nation we will deliver a world class management
    Steve Staunton and bobby Robson (rip)
    Moral victory loss Germany ist game but was it draw or late win faore islands being rock bottom Irish soccer

Cork football reminds me similar scenario

However in Irish soccer at least ex pundit and media didn't go along with the trail for long they soon began question results and criticism results

No such thing exists in cork senior football

Just watched donal og and Valerie mulchay on documentary

Brilliant piece so proud of them both cork truly blessed have such wonderful ambassador for cork gaa and indeed cork sport in general
    Both are inspirational people

• Registered Users Posts: 10 ANNONCORK

Smith614 wrote: »
    Lets worry about who we have and not worry about those that aren't there. A good intermediate final in Cork doesn't make any player the answer to Cork troubles. I would like to see him involved to see what he could achieve.

Think he may have proved himself on other occasions than just that intermediate final with all respects!. Just asked incase anyone knew they reason why??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭lukin

Just watched donal og and Valerie mulchay on documentary

Brilliant piece so proud of them both cork truly blessed have such wonderful ambassador for cork gaa and indeed cork sport in general
    Both are inspirational people

Yeah I agree. Cork have the first openly gay male sportsperson and the first openly gay female sportsperson. Fair play to both Donal Og and Valerie Mulcahy.At least we are first at something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

ANNONCORK wrote: »
    Think he may have proved himself on other occasions than just that intermediate final with all respects!. Just asked incase anyone knew they reason why??

And when exactly were those occasions?

TTM... Just a query. You posted at half time of harty match in Charleville yesterday , you mentioned the cold etc . 5 mins later you had a big article about Cork hurling. Half hour later u gave us the result of harty match. I wonder were u at the match at all?
    By the way gallant performance from Hammies but lacked the bit of physical presence of ASR. They found it hard to get past ASR half back line in 2nd half. Horrid cold for young lads to hurl in but credit both teams for great contest.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

TTM... Just a query. You posted at half time of harty match in Charleville yesterday , you mentioned the cold etc . 5 mins later you had a big article about Cork hurling. Half hour later u gave us the result of harty match. I wonder were u at the match at all?
    By the way gallant performance from Hammies but lacked the bit of physical presence of ASR. They found it hard to get past ASR half back line in 2nd half. Horrid cold for young lads to hurl in but credit both teams for great contest.

twas bitter cold alright, and fair play to Hammies they fought hard but short a bit of punch up front

Ardscoil impressive but notes strong as last year id say - bit of bust up early on before dey settled and up totime of lynchs goal Hammies were with them although under a bit of pressue goalie made some fabolous saves

ASC will be hard to stop

Yes I was smith replied poster, wasn't that long really article and belive not in actually while spelling never great fast enough type as seem I do lot posting then posted it as half time you know there's break in play and by way was in stand for match seen as you asked
    You look at my posts this is not first time do that

Just prove see long article preview I done match
    I didn't do that half time

If time do them on spot

Has done week in advance
    Saved draft then posted yesterday hardly done it one day
    Think it well know I go harty cup matches by post here
    As you'll see posted bout two player performance half time did I or I did not and not just cold so yes I was there smith

Yes smith I posted results full time
    Brief report I'd day took me less two minutes if even

Why sudden interest smith all sudden recently bout me which with respect isn't first time

This is twice now within week you're making incorrect assumption me at matches

Just cause what you didn't see me typing it at match, you looking for someone In crowd typing ?

Last week you said I was at half time left ptich do report

I never leave ptich half time do game

This is not the ist time with respect you made assumption on me incorrectly

Bitterly cold charville so cold barely type
    Half time 8ard scoil to hammies seven

Epic game cracker

Nothing in it Hamilton can win this started well

Luke meade and Chris o leary having awesome games

They can win it

Full back line holding well and puck outs good also

)

Fao smith

Didn't be fair just mention cold

If you can do better update half time smith fair enough you do it

Ah man, calm down. With the cold yesterday typing a h/t report takes some dedication. OI hopped it to filling station for a cuppa tea instead, should have brought u back 1. How many of hammies lads would make cork minor team?
    ASR not as strong as last yr and themselves and Rochestown should be a cracker. Rocco have a right chance. Rocco forwards will be better than hammies. Unfortunately for hammies the postponememt from last week allowed Lybch enough time to recover from injury picked up over xmas.

Smith I have huge time for your posts we have had many a run in but as you know we often shared info here and info got you regards clem smith I greatly appreciated
    But I'll disappointed by your last few posts

Others I'd expected of not you

You say calm down
    Im perfect calm
    But did or did you not ask me a question!?? Be fair now please
    Now I had two choices ignore your post!! Or reply

You know when you asked me questions regards club involvement bout weeks back I didn't answer and you asked same questions three times at least that I actually had to answer as said it would just go on and on
    You then made false perception I had no involvement club
    In that post and last week and now today called me out by name Thinkstoomuch with direct posts

So I can't win in I don't answer you persist with?? I give you answer you don't like I'm said calm down
    You asked?? Gave you answer nothing more or less

If I ignored your quest today you either keep asking or else think I was avoid question
    I answered a to clarify and b out courtesy

You wanted an answer so I gave you one, I'm sorry not answer you wanted

I can't win either way
    You have made incorrectly assumption on me which your fast to do and I proves you at game
    Were you at the game???
    Why didn't you post half time I could ask but I didn't

Do or have I made same assumption towards you
    No I have not or would have common courtesy and respect not to
    You seem more interest in my posts than talking gaa by trend your posts last while imo

I challenge your views as you do mine and we actually agree good bit time but there difference then in making personal assumptions

Look at my posts most matches again I many times done half time and after match. You say it's dedicated, I'll be honest I don't expect thank here, as said before never here make friends or enemies
    My agenda is gaa nothing more nothing less

I post straight away when can as simply huge huge love gaa and particularly cork school games and know from experience not going games how hard it get update or report straight away so I just post it as for genuine fans who huge interested school hurling etc
    School hurling imo more profile gets better
    You should know by now my posts huge advocacte harty cup and I have huge interest in them so shouldn't be a surprise

In case you may want know as you seem have particular interest, im unsure can make school games tommottow bit if can I'm undecided football or youghal game
    I hope go mallow Saturday though

As you will know from going matches quite common occurrence as many here will agree in sure that at half time or full you have not one bit many fans texting close relations or friends match updates that couldn't make it or do other stuff half time at match on phones and some even ring
    Yes some even ring people
    There's dedication there also not just me
    I post here as I have interest cork gaa
    Look at my history here I don't post any other single thread bar gaa
    Shows my interest gaa thread here

I feel for any lad seen on phone after match or half time posting as thry will be thought of as Thinkstoomuch
    By that logic must be quite few thinks around

Thanks but no thanks for offer tea smith
    I had bottle water with me yesterday so I was fine and if needed tea one lad with me could whipped over road petrol station get me cup tea

In relation to your post regards gaa match itself

Hammies will bar of leary be imo only minor cork

Reilly I think under age I'm not sure but despite brilliant game yesterday and glad played large parts full forward hard see him make panel ahead other cork lads

Meade over age

Kelleher under age but huge competition ahead him

Mackey, grimes casey will start limerick imo

Lynch Gillane are over age
    Houinhan will but where half back or half forward

I agree richedtown can win and I belive they will win
    And I agree lynch being fit had huge bearing on game and if it was last week hammies would won

Just prove many posters who seem quick to point out when I'm wrong I'll take lead role

I got yesterday match wrong in my prediction, yes THINKS WAS WRONG AND I'M NOT ALWAYS RIGHT with match predictione but I'd love meet some one that is

twas bitter cold alright, and fair play to Hammies they fought hard but short a bit of punch up front

Ardscoil impressive but notes strong as last year id say - bit of bust up early on before dey settled and up totime of lynchs goal Hammies were with them although under a bit of pressue goalie made some fabolous saves

ASC will be hard to stop
    Richedtown will win it

I noticed huge difference in Ard scoil this year to last not same invincibility about them

Meaney will start imo as richedtown gave him half last week clearly in mind two weeks time

I belive they have challenge lined up so he'll get game time

If he starts midfield break even and I think richedtown stronger physical wise with lot cork hurling and imo will win and I see one richedtown selectors there game yesterday so he'll have home work on Ard scoil done
    Be close but I think they will win it

TTM anynews on what you said last week re good news on the way for Cork GAA.....we could do with some ..more so in football !!

The 2 boylans playing for ASR in harty this yr are sons of Dave Boylan who played for the successful Midleton teams in the 80s.
    OK TTM ....truce. Wont be at hurling tomorrow but hope top get to mallow Saturday at 1.

The 2 boylans playing for ASR in harty this yr are sons of Dave Boylan who played for the successful Midleton teams in the 80s.
    OK TTM ....truce. Wont be at hurling tomorrow but hope top get to mallow Saturday at 1.
    Fair enough thanks
    I was never at war with you ist place lad

We challenge each other views we opposite sides with Cusack fair enough but we're right side most time same side

Clare will be great test cork

As regards football fall out from Sunday or lack attention in media doesn't suprise me imo

Waterford deserve immense credit but cork should be more focused on cork not Waterford and all I saw today lauding Waterford but no real criticism cork performance which he deserves be fair

Journalists entitled their opinion fair enough
    I would have disagree with headline today though mcgrath defeat no biggie

I think if you look at team picked, complete playing out position least three quarters team in not one game but last two games, the non fixing midfield and the no defined state play and no coach then huge huge concerns
    Also factor in held score less from play one half football last week
    Once is accident twice is a trend in new Zealand rubgy
    Imagine day all black beat ireland in Rubgy
    They though Dougie howlett after french defeat world cup was bad in airport incident, thry will be an outcry in national media as no all black wants record ist team beaten by ireland in test rubgy
    They have standards they set
    Cork attitude defeat is okay don't read much in it
    Imo it'd acceptance cork can be beaten by lower division teams
    This is with respect Waterford football
    If ucc go for it they will destroy Waterford but judging by fact ucc due play cork final tonight and Waterford wouldn't agree to it I say ucc may not take it seriously and that's Waterford only hope

Cork had no excuse as training last twelve weeks
    And lads fighting for places
    Has anyone yet criticism management does anyone know have they read in media??!
    Why can't cork football be judged on results and defeats are ignored yet victory lauded to no extreme
    I was talking ex kerry under age player today and said attitude cork football is problem and unless it changes cork football will always be poor relation.
    The lad said kerry won't say public but most kerry fans think cork senior football is a joke at moment

A very valid points was made though cork won you're expected to you loose it'd crisis and no win situation

My counter debate is while valid points the fact is this was Waterford div four team, new coach and cork training last three months approx and one point play is appalling as fact certain players are being played with no real justifications on performance

Also huge worry I's Cuthbhert saying last week cork close be where wanted be but now yesterday long way off

Dublin are coming and coming and there going give cork harsh lesson

There's comparison to kerry last year
    There way off imo
    Kerry had proven all ireland winning coach ciwn o Neill and fitzmaurice learned great jack
    They turned it around but they older team
    Cork have no one in management capable turning it around imo
    Cork struggle break down blanked defence again and have always done

.Cork coming in under radar won't work as kerry strive for perfection and won't let cork do number them

No kerry team wants be one looses record in killrney and fitzmaurice doesn't want be that manager
    A mention was made cork die hard had bonus of kerry looking like they were not going well
    Talking few cork men grass roots never ever beloved kerry were gone
    I said kerry would beat cork and beat mayo
    Many other cork lads same as o niell top top coach

If cork are beaten to Dublin will that be time worry!!

If not then when????
    Monaghan??
    Tyrone etc

Moral has be low after Sunday
    Players are not fools either
    Likes Clancy dorman,o dridcoll maguire coming from brilliant professional set up under Morgan at ucc must see huge drop standards when come cork set up

Course players won't say it publicly but thry must know standard are not what expected

A year has passes with numerous mistake by management and yet rarely it's questioned.

This result could I agree be blessing in disguise if lessons were learned from it

Nothing has shown me though management learn from mistakes

Example one
    Midfield being awful every game last year despite not playing leary or dinnen

Playing corner backs half and half backs full or corner

Here we are in no defined system play
    Are we wearing a blanket or football going to be nakedly exposed in white heat championship by being too attack minded??

Have management learned from player management??

Judging by reference to o Connor missed free seems my view blaming him
    Mentioned players made mistakes
    But who picked the players???
    Two taken off showed nothing suggest merit chance

Why wasn't o rourke played earlier and why when team craved creativity
    Why are we hearing two different tunes regards dualism!!

Management said thry ended it
    They did really!!???
    Jbm Walsh said players ended it
    So who do we belive

I watched charlie other night TV
    The one theme he was even open questions yet he though he had power of untouchable and end he was forced resign

Bertie after him and many more politicians from all parties

Cork senior football management imo on the contrary has luxury no other team in sport seems have, a total immunity to valid criticism on performance alone

Fair enough thanks
    I was never at war with you ist place lad

We challenge each other views we opposite sides with Cusack fair enough but we're right side most time same side

Clare will be great test cork

If we agreed on everything we might as well not even log on or express opinions.

Munster GAA Post Primary Schools Dr. Harty Cup Senior A Hurling

Quarter-Final Castletroy CC V Pobalscoil Na Tríonóide
    When – Wednesday January 21st at 1:30pm
    Where – Cahir
    Referee – Noel Cosgrove (Tipperary)

Munster GAA Post Primary Schools Corn Uí Mhuirí Senior A Football

Quarter-Final Clonakilty CC V IS Killorglin
    Where – Clondroihid
    Referee – Richard Moloney

Quarter-Final St Francis Col Rochestown V Colaiste Na Sceilge
    Where – Knocknagree
    Referee – Derek O’Mahoney

Munster GAA Post Primary Schools Dr. Harty Cup Senior A Hurling

Quarter-Final Castletroy CC V Pobalscoil Na Tríonóide
    Where – Cahir
    Referee – Noel Cosgrove (Tipperary)

Quarter-Final Clonakilty CC V IS Killorglin
    Where – Clondroihid
    Referee – Richard Moloney

Quarter-Final St Francis Col Rochestown V Colaiste Na Sceilge
    Where – Knocknagree
    Referee – Derek O’Mahoney
    Good luck to all Cork Schools and hopefully Youghall can join Rochestown in Harty semis - weather could be problem again

don't know how Clonakilty are but surely a fighting chance against Killorglin do I think there a repeat schools so would have a lot on the age

Some acheivemen if Richestown get to S/f but I think twill spoil them for hurling if it hey do but the lads have to have theire chance at football too - Tis hurling will suffer the lovngerthere at the football
    There record at football last few years desperate apart from Frewen last year but it's a talented group of lads so they could do to again tomorrow

Anyone at them might put up a write up

Good luck to all Cork Schools and hopefully Youghall can join Rochestown in Harty semis - weather could be problem again

don't know how Clonakilty are but surely a fighting chance against Killorglin do I think there a repeat schools so would have a lot on the age

Some acheivemen if Richestown get to S/f but I think twill spoil them for hurling if it hey do but the lads have to have theire chance at football too - Tis hurling will suffer the lovngerthere at the football
    There record at football last few years desperate apart from Frewen last year but it's a talented group of lads so they could do to again tomorrow

Anyone at them might put up a write up

Rocjestown lads any injury worries regards football lads involved hurling from last Thursday ?I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭rebelomar

TTM any update on the good news you alluded to for Cork football last week?

Rocjestown lads any injury worries regards football lads involved hurling from last Thursday ?I

Not that I know

Rochestown has enough bad luck last year losing key players before Doon game , at least this year they have Meaney coming back after horrific ankle break and fair play to him showing great hunger

There due a rub if the green after last year

Not that I know

Rochestown has enough bad luck last year losing key players before Doon game , at least this year they have Meaney coming back after horrific ankle break and fair play to him showing great hunger

There due a rub if the green after last year

Sound for that

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/alan-quinlan-crushing-defeat-shows-the-huge-task-now-facing-munster-1.2072906

Now this is rubgy article but no I did not get thread mixed up I deliberately posted here as show remarkable honesty and courage and openness call a spade a spade from an ex munster hero
    Ovivously munster problems different to cork but concept of though remains same, but munster will admit problems thry have in cork football just denys it has problems and even not just since Sunday loss but go back munster final nightmare not dicky bird bout it from ex cork greats

See way quinny said munster probably so sick this week result they don't need ex players coming in criticism but at same time he feels the pain of loss and feels no easy way say it but things must be said

I guarantee you Paul O Connell etc won't feel one bit despise for quinny saying harsh truth they expect honesty within and as quinny said munster way mot feel sorry but rather be criticism

Munster huge problems quinny identified a range of problems in levels, cork football has also problems imo in two levels but yet no former great will say harsh truths
    None this nonsense from munster foley was year one either as excuse, was said munster problems ground level up
    The honesty to say no way will munster get a championd cup win was honesty within munster

Some belive cork that they could win all ireland this year

Clear difference in munster reaction to defeats as here said not acceptable and munster demand more, whether they have. The recourses remain be seen but they won't hide behind such excuses

Cork football on complete contrast has resources only second to Dublin imo but simply attitude is all wrong towards cork football and where failure is despised in munster rubgy cork football accepts it as it is what it is without actually trying change from what it is to what cork football could be

There is a huge lessons cork football could learn from munster attitude to disaster defeats imo

Youghal I feel can win today beat castletroy last year under sixteen

Darragh o brien as centre back has mark Barry Nash and man marker him all the match
    He can hold him
    Rest half back line cathal deane should be able Ian Coates
    Deane under age next year just sixteen fine player and Coates tough but deane good hurlers and can score half back

Fine half back line and cork under seventeen Kevin Murphy terrific hurler I praises many tome here and this fine unit and he has tough ask in marking Nicholas but he can do it

Midfield lorchan lyons last year minor and o meara on Limerick current minor panel is some unit but midfield with farell should be okay but imo Waterford minor hurler lucey or other minor Waterford last year o Hallorhan may need drop from forwards to help stem tide as lyons was brilliant this year for them

They have changed forwards a bit and interesting who starts

Only man half back line worry about is Andrew la touched Cosgrove imo so Dalton if he's on him even Dalton held once keeps Cosgrove dominate then lucey etc can benefit

I think they will play a sweeper with lucey helping midfield and likes Hallorhan who play midfield dripping back half forward pick up breaks and run at castletroy
    Ag could beaten the Limerick side, and doon did by playing a sweeper and Colmans apparently had them in bother with a sweeper so if lotty ex cork footballer plays sweeper and imo he's good coach thry can win this

Full back youghal are fine with Mccarthy and should take Conor Nicholas as main man in the forwards and he's brother half forward will look feed him with good ball

Close to call but I think youghal can win this, certainly, I think Thurles beat either team but that for another day, if youghal can spread scoring aside from Dalton and keep this low scoring tight game they can win
    If it becomes a shootout only one winner in castletroy

Did this earlier never got chance post it

[ote="Smith614;9"]And when exactly were thccasions?[thote]

Without meaning to sound like his biggest fan considering i only know his hurling credibility maybe it's comments like that that turns hurlers off inter county hurling do you actually know his hurler career up to now? I'll say the following and I'll say no more about him. I care about cork hurling in general not just aspects of it.
    He's been player with cork underage since he was 14 winning the all Ireland with the under 16s scoring something like 4 29 in 2 games ( feel free to correct me if I'm wrong) below in tipp. he was starting on the minor team by the age of 16 and by 17 basically carried them through alot of the games (my nephew played with him for minors saw most games ). With his club after being held up neck by his minor trainer at the time (can't remember his name retired this year thank god) he continked to play minor with him above him. he managed to play through the whole intermediate championship with a broken toe (ballyhea back room team source confirmed this) and yes he only showed a fraction of what he's made of for the championship but delivered the goods in the pairc in the final when he was needed most. Still only showing a fraction of what he is made of. Now if u know any other hurler who'll continue hurler with a broken toe name them.people question his commitment and ambition what more proof can you need if he is willing to play through it. If anyone who sees him play regular you might notice he is actually more suited to centre back! Anyone see him play with an interferm team can't remember who the name of team was but saw one match in limerick and by god he was a rock cleaning up. I can't speak of what he is like off the pitch but on the field i believe he has done nothing but show serious potential. Isn't he just 19? He has the build the hands the head he always can make his own scores! Him and lehand together would be gold dust or even better have him as our centre back!!! There are serious young players in Cork but i have to stand by my beliefs and say he hands down has the most potential and talent.
    Why do none of care he could win matches for us lads! I'd say it's because he's from a country club and ye don't see any of it only believe what whispers ye hear maybe?? If he was from city club playing regularly with the likes of Sars, Blackrock, would ye care more? Possibly yes! Now I've enough said let the after math begin.

Without meaning to sound like his biggest fan considering i only know his hurling credibility maybe it's comments like that that turns hurlers off inter county hurling do you actually know his hurler career up to now? I'll say the following and I'll say no more about him. I care about cork hurling in general not just aspects of it.
    He's been player with cork underage since he was 14 winning the all Ireland with the under 16s scoring something like 4 29 in 2 games ( feel free to correct me if I'm wrong) below in tipp. he was starting on the minor team by the age of 16 and by 17 basically carried them through alot of the games (my nephew played with him for minors saw most games ). With his club after being held up neck by his minor trainer at the time (can't remember his name retired this year thank god) he continked to play minor with him above him. he managed to play through the whole intermediate championship with a broken toe (ballyhea back room team source confirmed this) and yes he only showed a fraction of what he's made of for the championship but delivered the goods in the pairc in the final when he was needed most. Still only showing a fraction of what he is made of. Now if u know any other hurler who'll continue hurler with a broken toe name them.people question his commitment and ambition what more proof can you need if he is willing to play through it. If anyone who sees him play regular you might notice he is actually more suited to centre back! Anyone see him play with an interferm team can't remember who the name of team was but saw one match in limerick and by god he was a rock cleaning up. I can't speak of what he is like off the pitch but on the field i believe he has done nothing but show serious potential. Isn't he just 19? He has the build the hands the head he always can make his own scores! Him and lehand together would be gold dust or even better have him as our centre back!!! There are serious young players in Cork but i have to stand by my beliefs and say he hands down has the most potential and talent.
    Why do none of care he could win matches for us lads! I'd say it's because he's from a country club and ye don't see any of it only believe what whispers ye hear maybe?? If he was from city club playing regularly with the likes of Sars, Blackrock, would ye care more? Possibly yes! Now I've enough said let the after math begin.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

ANNONCORK wrote: »

I wouldn't be despairing just yet - As you say he is turning 20 this year and hopefully plenty of time for him ina cork Jersey

Beautiful striker of ball, for sure, great wrists

He can't be picked if he doesn't make himself available - fellas that age can get distracted but hopefully that will change

being from a city club would make no difference whatsoever

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭wackokid

St Francis Rochestown 1-9 Col.Na Sceilge 2-5 Result
    I might be 1 point out but Rochestown won it anyway.............blame the pig ignorant Kerry supporters ( happy couple) who stood in front of my car and wouldn't budge so I might have missed a wide or a point.
    Good conditions and perfect sod which is a credit to the Knocknagree Club.
    H.T score St.Francis led 1-5 to 2-1 having lorded possession but full back line caught for cuteness and failed to deal with
    No 13 Darren Casey who is a little bullet with a scorching turn of pace and full of Kerry tricks. The two goals were well worked but against the run of play and against a slight breeze. NO 8 Mark Sugrue for Scellig is a giant who can also play football and he won everything that came in his direction.
    2nd half Daniel Meaney came on at M.F and Sugrue was no longer the boss in that area. St.Francis also moved No 7 Sean Powter closer to goal and he gave an exhibition of of defensive play as well neutralising No 13 Casey. He's not tall, but he is a gifted operator and I remember seeing him last year in Thurles v Dublin minors where he almost turned back the blue tide on his own.
    Shane Kingston (Capt) wore No 11 and was influential without being dominant. He's a class act and as well as scoring two or three points from play he converted all his frees bar one late in the game. He it was that laid it on a plate for No 12 Evan Ryle to score his goal mid way through the 1st half.
    Nice to see a Cork team beat a Kerry team for a change but they will have to tighten up at the back if they are to go any further IMHO.
    Ref.Derek O Mahony ( Tipp) seemed to be on top of his job and apart from the usual missed jersey pulls he dealt with all transgressions fairly and it wasn't a free ridden game by any means. He flashed the Yellow card at three Kerry lads, 7, 9 and 12 while Cork's 4 and 6 have Yellow on their CVs after today.

Clonakilty won today also and the Cork teams are on opposite sides of the draw with Clon playing Chorca Dhuibhne and Rochestown playing St. Brendans. well done to both today

Well done to Rochestown and Clon today tough luck on Youghal ....cruel way to lose ....will Rochestown fall between two stools ? a bit like Cratloe in the Munster club....hopefully they can win one title...

wackokid wrote: »
    St Francis Rochestown 1-9 Col.Na Sceilge 2-5 Result
    I might be 1 point out but Rochestown won it anyway.............blame the pig ignorant Kerry supporters ( happy couple) who stood in front of my car and wouldn't budge so I might have missed a wide or a point.
    Good conditions and perfect sod which is a credit to the Knocknagree Club.
    H.T score St.Francis led 1-5 to 2-1 having lorded possession but full back line caught for cuteness and failed to deal with
    No 13 Darren Casey who is a little bullet with a scorching turn of pace and full of Kerry tricks. The two goals were well worked but against the run of play and against a slight breeze. NO 8 Mark Sugrue for Scellig is a giant who can also play football and he won everything that came in his direction.
    2nd half Daniel Meaney came on at M.F and Sugrue was no longer the boss in that area. St.Francis also moved No 7 Sean Powter closer to goal and he gave an exhibition of of defensive play as well neutralising No 13 Casey. He's not tall, but he is a gifted operator and I remember seeing him last year in Thurles v Dublin minors where he almost turned back the blue tide on his own.
    Shane Kingston (Capt) wore No 11 and was influential without being dominant. He's a class act and as well as scoring two or three points from play he converted all his frees bar one late in the game. He it was that laid it on a plate for No 12 Evan Ryle to score his goal mid way through the 1st half.
    Nice to see a Cork team beat a Kerry team for a change but they will have to tighten up at the back if they are to go any further IMHO.
    Ref.Derek O Mahony ( Tipp) seemed to be on top of his job and apart from the usual missed jersey pulls he dealt with all transgressions fairly and it wasn't a free ridden game by any means. He flashed the Yellow card at three Kerry lads, 7, 9 and 12 while Cork's 4 and 6 have Yellow on their CVs after today.
    Some achievement for Rochestown to be in both semis

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/2015/01/16/mcdonnell-is-bamboozled-by-corks-stagnation/

I totally agree totally one hundred in ten per cent that talent I'd in cork football but it'd nothing at all do with believe to significant it'd portrayed as here imo that Mcdonall blamed lack success on imo and I maybes just me but I can't for life me see how it's mystery cork haven't won since 2010 much
    Mcdonall was a fine footballer I was huge fan of him.

Under couinhan cork lads had huge belief, main reason bear limerick extra time, came back v Dublin and scrapes over poor poor down
    Also reason why cork always came back v kerry been down huge leads and be fair couinhan cork football teams died with their boots on for him

Belief wasn't the problem and I said this before communication and belief work ethic under conor was second to none and equal to most. Managers
    Without it cork wouldn't won all Ireland

Reason cork didn't push on after that win was you look couinhan record big games most them tactically he was miles off what required, peadesr healy imo tremendous football man huge passion as will be proven with crokes good coach but tactical nous imo is off the mark and he's record skib etc proves this point this year
    Imo crokes won't do much this year

Kerry under jack out witted conor time again big games
    Couinhan side should walked all Ireland but scramble home against limited limerick a poor down and Dublin team that I'll discipline saved cork

Couinhan faults were ruthless executions as coach in first two years immense credo for building he's team and dropping cussen,Hayes and outstanding masters but poor work rate he didn't hold these values dear when he was imo far too loyal to the team won him all Ireland and despite glaring weakness in games like three I mentioned he had not Brian cody shrewd thought to forget bout won in new year and evolve make ruthless changes team
    He also tries copy cat kerry by playing Walsh and nick as full forwards in Donagh role
    He continued play kissable despite clare exposing he's lack pace and he's poor one one defending

Cork tactical wise were a nightmare in couinhan last year in 2013 playing Walsh as a centre forward, a man with clear clear as day weakness in kicking yet asked play creative midfielder v Galway
    He said cork game v kerry they needed play what front them
    Fair enough but as a manager he had a duty to he's teams to see what in front him and he imo didn't with some strange selection calls biggest of course playing john miskrlla best attacking half back country that time corner back against kerry and starting kireran o Connor I'n the ist place

Now moving along cuthbhert
    I would love to know why Mcdonall think this manager is thoughtful and shrewd when imo nothing so far has proved so
    Bixzare team selection, players leaving panel, humiliation to kerry, yes article done before Waterford fair enough, uninspiring interview, no coach and a coach who actually only imo lad knew what he was doing last year left,I can't see how faith In this manager

He mentioned belief players would have as cuthbhert could install it
    Imo how can cuthbhert instil belief with no proven manager in he's set up and with all going on last year and blaming players with no accept the management made most mistakes
    Imo this set up lacks many things and therefore I find hard belive players truly belive in this set up and Sunday certainly imo didn't help

I often wondered how these guys are ex picked to give one view it

How is it always we get side pro management, why doesn't anyone just speak realism on performance so far or I'n this case gave clear examples why such faith in management

Imo blaming players as of they have mental block, or lack big stage temperament imo Is wrong

My view is tactically cork way off under couinhan but now under new set up tactically there way off, but it's much much worse as we have no coach , spirt, moral and team work rate is imo open to questionable

Mcdonall raised some good points but he's actually way way off in reason why cork flatter to deceive imo
    He's convinced cuthbhert and Co turn it around????
    Davis, sexton, sullivan young in management with little I'f any club experience
    Cuthbhert has won nothing at all at club even and success st minor was down to gene getting all Ireland final imo
    I still am just confused how the current management with some are praised despite woeful results and nothing back up this belief cork have competent coaching set up imo

This article was before Sunday night mare
    Since that night mare all I read since is articles in cork don't worry , don't read too much it,nothing worry bout imo which I think even most optimist fans surely got have grave concerns regards season ahead

Read Donal lenihan in examiner today, and such honesty and open calling spade a spade in regards munster rugby
    He said munster rugby needs long hard look at itself
    He also questions one decision by management he's words were baffling
    Lenihan huge fan of flannery, micro, foley, cork man Brian Walsh but it didn't stop him highlighting a mistake they made
    See its nothing personal all he's doing is judging what he saw before him

Anyone does that cork football they will be accused of having an agenda or getting carried away
    One huge defeat munster yet players or ex pundits will call it as it is
    Munster cultural attitude was always stand out
    They may have difficulty but attitude by some is not accept where they are

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭wackokid

McDonnell is very unlikely to cut the socks off anything Cork while doing an interview for a Cork paper.

BTW..........Kissane was the quickest player on that Cork panel, and if some lad from Clare was faster in one moment in time, so be it.

wackokid wrote: »
    McDonnell is very unlikely to cut the socks off anything Cork while doing an interview for a Cork paper.

BTW..........Kissane was the quickest player on that Cork panel, and if some lad from Clare was faster in one moment in time, so be it.

Totally agree regards Mcdonall
    Imo he was hand picked play optimist card

Kisswne was good at a time but time I reference he clearly lacked pace and should not started nor should be brought on v Dublin as game changer when he in goal missed chance

Commitment passion drive hunger want desire one hundred ten lee cent

But he imo was poor one v one defender even I'm all star year imo lucky get it where cork got more defenders imo as based on that when forward should got one he had be subbed v down as was been given a tough time

Granted he'd one superb outing v kerry kicking brilliant scores I felt he's time passes cork had better after 2010

He was good footballer nothing special but will be great manager absolutely imo top class

Brilliant report match earlier

Will rochedtowm beat breadan??
    Beat them last year frewn cup

http://www.the42.ie/cork-camogie-1894958-Jan2015/
    Great read
    Shows huge difference women have in fund raise trip abroad all Ireland champion
    Hopefully new ladies player association help them going forward

They train hard men less reward imo

Didn't make game yesterday, talking few today who did though
    Yoghal no surprise at all ran castletroy close I expected they would and thought they would win but didn't but my concern all year was lacked scoring power up front bar Dalton and the half back line was meant been very good but rock they perishes on was no forwards bar Dalton
    Dalton scored almost everything from dead balls apparently with he's trade mark side line balls
    He's brilliant at those, I saw him score one in earlier group game he's terrific at them
    I'd certainly have him taking one with cork late in games if needed be despite being in goal

Dalton got nothing from play so definitely this year didn't score much from play so imo has be cork goalie won't be half forward based in harty cup performances

They led all match mostly.
    After half time went five point no reply , well control and then Nash like lynch was other day difference in a goal and gave them momentum late game

Cathal deane and Kevin Murphy two under seventeen this year with another year left school next year definitely ones watch as they have had outstanding season at half back for youghal and club killeagh all year

Youghal lacked scoring forward all year from play but they had any one of gunning, o reilly, looney, Kingston any one them that score from play they would been better this year
    Youghal can't be faulted they have given terrific performance as a team all year and they really punching above their weight

They will improve next year but must add two forwards but with deane and Murphy half back they will have strong half back line

I have felt since start  castletroy despite being favoured to win harty, I don't think they can win it and this team is beatable and Thurles imo will beat them as Thurles while dint have great forward have better than yoghal and Butler is one for example
    There hanging on in games great sign spirt and fight but shows they have struggled in games and can't see them winning it outright
    A well coached but limited doon team relied too much Barry Murphy beat them, Colmans width crossbar apparently prevented a draw, beat ag point despite ag making poor side line call and they just left it later yesterday
    There never beaten attitude must be hugely complimented as great have but at latter stages of competition they will need more
    They are fine team up to forwards but here they are in trouble as seen by majority scores from frees once Nash is held
    Nash has been good this year but by he's own high standard bit below what you would expect
    He's a terrific hurler imo

One fix is Andrew La touch moving up half forward like earlier games but they loose hugely at half back then also
    Young Nicholas is terrific talent but he's very young so it's unfair to expect him to be main man yet outside Nash but in time he will be

The results this week show two things
    Gap changed considerably between cork limerick school last two days compared to last year while cork minors have more talent this year with much better management imo

Is there physiological advantage to limerick over cork now at minor over this week's results ?!
    Imo no in hammies beaten have just one cork minor Chris o leary, ard scoil could have four

Yoghal have two,Dalton be In goal, and o brien
    O brien meant have had brilliant game on Nash bar the goal
    Nash corner back and Nicholas may make limerick set up but you add in experience Barry Nash lorcan Lyons and Cosgrove yet team struggle long periods, think nothing from that team from limerick view that worries me
    All those three like lynch game breakers are over age and those four were pivots I'n their terms victory last two days

Yes mackey and grimes ard scoil outstanding but they face likes Kingston and possibly csshman two qualities players inter county standard they didn't face v hammies in those lads with hammies not cork minors
    Peter casey will need watching yes but smith can do a man marking job no bother
    Flanagan may not be involved but if he does join cork have plenty mark him

I just feel cork have better forwards and more depth this panel and ring was alway going be judged year two

Also shows difference in poor management and astute management
    Yoghal fine team but ag better forwards yer couldn't beat limerick team and much more experience also but yoghal came so close despite having no scoring potency from play

Colmans young team ran them close

Good coaching got every last inch out yoghal this year they done everything they could and deserve immense credit like hsmmies and rochedtowm who prove that but poor coaching cost ag against tburles and castletroy, like it cost very very talented midelton team also

There is a few of youghal team that eligible next year

Cork minor hurling have great chance beat them twice if needs be as what harty cup has proved all teams left is good coaching is king
    And cork minor hurling imo has best coaching set up this year bar even par with tippereaty than limerick
    April can't come fast enough

So just one cork team left but all three other teams could won bar hsmmies who better team won with ard scoil but Thurles ag game while Thurles played better ag selection was all over shop lads out position and lost by point
    Yoghal lost but firm control game
    Credit castletroy  they never gave up immense credit due
    Normally limerick teams beaten such ways but credit due they done youghal what other limerick teams suffered in past in terms come backs

School hurling in cork this year improved
    Cork cleaned up munster under sixteen all three grades bar d grade won by crescent limerick in munster school this year
    Midelton got all Ireland final beaten extra time of the dean Ryan by exceptional good counsel with brilliant coach kilkenny declan wall

In the harty cup grade cork have team in semi final
    Limerick have two yes but two cork teams lost by a point
    In b grade spipraid naoimh or clonakilty who meet quatre final will make one semi final all cork affair as play old christian cork in semi final with Michael o hallorhan and Billy hennessehy

Chriost ri play cause way other semi so good chance cork will win b grade
    Limerick teams are all out this competition

In c grade blarney and kinsale are opposite side of semi final draw and could have cork team I'n the final
    What hugely significant is mtichestown a notorious football school ran borreslogh tippereary all the way to three points last week
    They won munster under sixteen this year and making huge strides hurling under Anthony Nash and noel Crowley was meant be going do some work school also

Harty cup win is pinnacle cork must strive get but huge improvement at all levels this year school but one year no good must be sustainable improvements make long term gains and not one step forward ten steps back as been previously sad story cork schools
    A lot done but plenty plenty more to do
    The work is paying off this year but still it needs more resources and more money imo and more gdos
    All work done this year, still shows how far cork hurling fell in there's still work to do

Rochedtowm imo can make the final and I'd certainly not fear the teams on other side, imo Thurles have better chance on that side but I don't see them winning it
    Ard scoil imo would beat castletroy and Thurles as niall moran such astute coach he'll learned from the ist game and ronan lynch will not be forward but will be midfield or half back

Hugely disappointed youghal loose by point but not huge huge setback either in terms yoghal over achieved getting this far
    Major disappointed imo has be midelton and ag who didn't fulfil potential on playing field imo over being led by poor management

I'f what I'm hearing is true that will change in midelton for the better next year I'n terms harty cup school management

Wacko brilliant report tremendous win for the rochedtowm football team and congrats to them and clonakilty great win also. Two cork teams left in it is good news for cork schools in beat two kerry schools
    Cork minor football has an abundance talent but imo poor management this year will fail this group as it's miles behind what jack is doing with kerry
    Kerry embracing innovation cork set imo gone too old school in its ways

Hope no injuries from yesterday
    Great news is win but fact meaney got half football again today huge huge bonus to hurling fitness wise and fact he curved the kerry giant will add confidence In last week as sub made huge impact in hurling
    Yes hurling sharpness different football but he's fitness I think he'll be fine and well and we'll able to for least one half against ronan lynch ard scoil
    Even they got one half out meaney huge bonus and I think signs are good as time hurling now
    Huge win
    That power wacko agree he have given huge display v Dublin but was also brilliant v kerry as was Kevin flahive who imo gave exhibition full back play v callaghan Dublin and Spillane kerry and imo cuthbhert should Brough him training panel like jbm done with minors and given him run out v trench cup opposite Mary I and he wouldn't start this year but id given him game time
    Much better play him corner back then likes o donoughge who out position and much better give him time than likes hazel etc
    I said this before but cork football is actually in the next three years going to suffer like hurling from no full back coming through like when rock left unless they get ready for the future today
    Cadogan and shields imo have bout two years tops imo at full back left in games so faster and cork need groom a future full back
    They at least need cover
    Any good manager would realise this and have flahive outstanding talent training senior team imo if he's available of course to train

Joe kavnagh joined senior panel nineteen and rock in hurling as did the great great I mean really really great now Brian cococran

The downside is if joined current set up he'd make no improvement as no coach work with
    Flahive imo won't develop at senior Douglas team under tony leen as a manager kerry fans I ask don't rate him
    The good news is the awesome awesome coaching of gene o driscoll and the brilliant Sean Hayes will improve him imo

Confidence dual stars have will be good for rochedtowm to take hurling but I fear as the season goes on the dualism will catch up with them sooner or later

As for annon post regards pa callaghan I agree most it in he's awesome hurler five county final points proved that and the stats from under age career than annon said shows he great talent
    Yes it was just intermediate but it was more nature of the scores rather than the scores themselves in winning ball out air over wing launch sublime points
    He's discipline is something he needs work on at times but shows he has real bite and cut to he's hurling unlike cork hurlers in the past

He won't play cork this year and said before by poster the time to stop asking him has passed and I agree
    I don't blame pa as he's decision but jbm can't be asking or begging him again and again, he asked him many times last year and this year but declined so be fair jbm so much only he can do
    I wouldn't ask him again I'll let him make first move

As for inter firm?? he plays with response engineering company that clare man tony considne is with or was as in some management role I think or director role
    I'm not sure but he was involved with them in some role in the past

Same company that noel hickey, quaid two mulchay played for and few ballyhea lads also this year
    They lost cork final cork guards
    Pa callaghan indeed played centre back and was outstanding at centre back and then moved up chasing game to centre forward for the second half where he was marked by Ray Ryan
    Pa callaghan would be brilliant centre back but no way cork need him as senior one in loads lads like Joyce,Barry, Murphy. Ellis all fine there but huge addition as ball winning half forward who can score and run, has pace , tough inside take give hits, he's great striking and elusive and, great hand, and proper coaching he'd be awesome imo as he'd be much better than current options in lawton, cian mac, kelleher, Andy Walsh, frahill o Connor put together
    They can or have been cork panel for while and bar kelleher scope for improvement is imo not as much as callaghan has
    And while kelleher Coul if hurling alone be very good hurler callaghan is just different class altogether to most imo bar Lehane

One year imo at senior this Lad would just go to another level, absolutely no doubt I have imo
    I always believed that
    He so good if he was on the panel I said in October I'd have no problem starting him v kilkenny in the league

He won't play under twenty one hurling but I wouldn't rule out just totally,unlikely but you never know in Liam Hayes may have huge bearing in he may join that set up as Hayes would be just over road from him In dromina and local man and huge respect Hayes has he may be persuaded to commit to a shorter season

If cork had pa callaghan and sorted full back I'd think have huge chance all Ireland this year as even if did not start he's hugely strengthen the cork bench and would be real real possible game changed

Very good read imo

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/2015/01/21/hurlers-showing-the-appetite-for-the-hard-yards/

I think yes he's right most team player tippereary will start in summer but I'd sincerely hope that tactical mess and playing players out of positions is not replicated any time soon

From that game imo Nash will start
    O Neill
    Cahalane or Joyce
    Mcdonall
    Murphy Ellis and lorcan

Kearney Walsh
    Lehane only as a ten if not might well stay at home
    Management fault playing him in full forward

Copper
    Harnedy
    Cardogan
    Spillane could be like cadogan last year get start year one
    I said cadogan last year had start even in February
    I am the same opinion with Anthony Spillane in the future imo is made for this stage

The final place imo would be
    Luke o farell or paudie unless horgan wakes up and actually delivers from play
    So like I said last August possible two new faces three at most but crucial will be solving full back
    Cahalane is front runner but Joyce showed enough the last day and actually very strong air, robust and aggressive and play standing tall than leaving forward clean him out to really be looked at this year and no way he's corner back but centre or full he's really option imo
    Another man played wrong position at start and like wise at club level and deserve immense credit bouncing back as two years ago he was  played as midfielder for cork when he has neither pace or guile for it but is outstanding half or possible full back
    Dabbled bit boxing under age so has toughness within
    Pat mulchay gave interview before where he said rated him highly. That's good enough for me
    I have always been terrjfic fan this player as he's a hurler but a warrior within imo

http://www.the42.ie/darren-sweetnam-cork-munster-1894335-Jan2015/
    No great surprise
    It'd been know for at least year he had only interest to rugby, even not stayed I'n munster he'd went some club In England

Some loss to cork hurling yes had rough edges but he's ability to break tackle, run hard and direct in to contact and come out other side , athleticism and pace hed been brilliant
    Remember watching him on junior rugby world cup and against Fiji and a black, tough physical opponent ability break tackle was very good
    Where would cork play imo
    Half back
    If cork had him hed be unreal as jbm would develop him but landers specific type new power training he doing with cork would be ideal for him, landers all about power and pace and break the ist tackle
    League will tell if it's working

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/2015/01/16/radical-rules-in-the-lord-mayors-cup/

Great idea I said before and imo hugely welcome but for something that was apparently planned in last spring imo the launch timing was the running of was incorrect and myself and any one talked to felt bit De ja vu in it didn't really hit ground running it just clashes so much else it didn't get attention it deserves imo

Concept should be kept absolutely imo with but imo need have it better time as clashes lot school games harty cup etc but that also devalues imo interest in fans points view as can't go all

Also other schools pull put out it as they did this year as when told bout it was way too late they had training structures already planned

Also idea former players is great do coaching but imo it can't be just any players, in players select few should be imo be coached to coached as cian o Neill article I posted last week said too many coached in gaa that are actually poor coaches and coaching bad habits despite being good players them selves
    There would be imo two out list in article just my opinion but coaching records I wouldn't have have them coaching young cork hurling yes talent imo as I don't imo think there good coaches

Also the picking of the best team scenario imo is brilliant at the end pick best fifteen hurlers imo to play cork minor trial so it may unearth player or players I think is great and I welcome it

If unearthed just one imo then it's a success

Problem however is by time game played minor cut off panel due next week or two will be made so unlikely any lad will be thrown in and rightly so as there's going be some really really close calls this year some won't make final panel despite training since October etc so you can't just add a player plays few good games in competitions lower standard

What you can do on the contrary is however spot player you say may have scope for potential that isn't playing harty cup or b and c munster grades etc and bring him in few months training under top cork set up and you may find you have a player or two

Now imo while the idea is right and should be applauded the timing imo is wrong
    Also the picking best fifteen players as best take on cork minors, some coaching there re I rate but there's few here purely coaching records imo perception of judging talent is actually imo poor in looking at record picking players on various teams who there is better available and imo leaving better players off various team panel they have been involved in before

In essence good idea, commitment and passion do this must be applauded but the actual imo rushing through launch with out proper planning and wrong timing and few coaching there with no success at coaching imo should be kept next year absolutely but it does needs to be fine tuned imo to actual be a success and not just another date in the cork hurling under age calendar year
    Solutions great to cork hurling problems but only true value is if viable solution imo has reasonable chance to actually help solve the problems to begin with

Well done to all the winners of competition Saturday
    Many fans didn't make finals as clashes in hub school level hurling and football activity this week
    Cork senior hurling team is to be announced tonight
    Im hearing if true clare will field a strong enough team for the game