Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

As mentioned a few days ago.it looks likely that both Sligo and queens will be in trouble over unregistered players but further info will be available soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

As mentioned a few days ago.it looks likely that both Sligo and queens will be in trouble over unregistered players but further info will be available soon.

Thanks for that

I'd agree that Donal Og was only average today but I think he might make the grade, in time.

I agree that Hayes brings something as a last quarter sub - good vision and will take a score.

We are obviously badly caught for corner backs - Galvin is probably an option - we may have to use BOD there. Jamie was OK. It's not Cuthbert's fault - the lads are not there.

Loughrey is a problem - great ahtlete but poor vision - modern game requires wing backs to be able to link play.

Ken O Halloran is a very good shot stopper and is hard to beat but we won't beat a top side unless we can mix kick-outs - long and short - he can't kick long with the required accuracy and our MF'ers need an edge - by placing the ball to where they run. Bastick outfielded them with ease today. KOH is a luxury we can't afford IMO.

A vital win today and maybe we can win our 2 other home games and sneak an away win (Tyrone are our best chance) 4 wins might give a semi slot.
    Sorry now Gary but you were saying opposite if I remember just while back be fair

Is it case we loose next week we get different opinions

You were one critise Hayes last year

What did he score today????
    Loughrey is not the problem
    Rewind ti mayo and watch that game
    He's never a defender's and he was exposed today
    Mallow don't even rate him as a defender and playing him half forward and midfield

You were in awe of he's attacking vision two goals last time v mayo create two goals last year
    Loughrey is good half back but never played corner for club well
    Don't judge a lad played out of positions imo

Who starts instead of ken??????

Cuthbhert picked the panel
    Did you not say recently that cronin you liked on the panel
    There good players and Alan was dripped last year
    I'm sorry now Gary but he picked no special corner back today and there available in cork
    He knew Galvin had injury concerns

You blame loughrey yet you want bod there are you actually for real

Corner back is a specialist position required a special focus and concentration

Brian o driscoll is a brilliant half back or half forward
    He is NOT A MAN MARKERS
    It would be an insult to he's terrific talent to waste him at corner back
    He likes the freedom of attack and movement
    It's a bit like having a greyhound and not walking him regularly
    The dog looses he's natural instinct
    Driscoll is not a corner back
    Dorman wasn't and proved today be excellent half back
    Remember dorman was destroyed at corner last year
    Do you want the same with driscoll
    I doubt it

Crowley when fit is the only half back that can play corner back imo

Cadogan and Sullivan have be in the full back line with Galvin
    Shields automatic when he comes back
    One of the cronin has to be called up

The positives today was dorman is outstanding half back
    Halloron best shot stopper cork have
    O driscoll at just twenty one long career ahead of him
    Cork have abundance half backs but we can't convert them to corner backs just facilities them all

Maguire is fine prospect but needs a partner

Collins was brilliant and proved is brilliant link man
    O rourke had fine game and is tough and can score as two points

Hurley and colm with ball will score

Problems that will define cork season are getting cover in full back line, coherent efficient stable midfield and cover also and getting a settled half back line with perfect balance out of crowley Clancy boys loughrey dorman and Brian o driscoll

But Brian could be played as a ten

Also cork scoring from play in forwards were poor with just six from play and they need to do more

Half back unit imo can be fixed fast enough
    Corner back cover the same
    High in the list imo is midfield and I worry in February with panel named our options are limited and pray god maguire doesn't get injured

Will be like shea fahy in time for cork

leaf123 wrote: »
    Great win for Roco yesterday, well deserved .Kingston and Cormack didnt have their best game but were always a threat.John o Sullivan from blackrock was outstanding and the point when he picked pocketed the ASR player along the sideline was simply unreal.he was my motm. Powter was frighting , his pace and unbelievable is amazing ,his was a threat through out and last week he kept Roco in the Corn Ni mhuiri with a last minute block. Eoghan O Brien did ok on Lynch however it is hard to keep such a player quiet.Putting lynch in full forward didnt work and they soon realised it was a terrible decision as roco went 0-6 0-1 up.Overall it is great achievement for roco for getting this far only in their second year playing Harty and i hope they go all the way

I agree and suprised moran put lynch full forward after same mistake v thurles

I notice one key themes every post here is everyone totally agreed o sullivan man of the match
    Has to be on cork minor panel this year
    Age didn't stop paddy o loughin outstanding last year or Casey
    Sullivan has the temperament to play cork minors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭HighKing33

Duller than last year but possibly more efficient. Controlled the tempo well. Reminded me a bit of Counihan's Cork team.

The goal was a peach.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

I'd like to see the Cronins - they could mark small nippy corner forwards like Kevin McM and Stephen O Brien.

I'm aware BOD would be wasted in the corner but we may not have better options - Crowley would be better option but it's a problem that we must address.

I think Ken O H is a great keeper but he simply is poor on kick-outs and I don't think we can afford this - however, we may not have a better option but we have got to see. Maybe Martin.

I'm not a big Hayes fan but I think he has something to offer as a sub - however I'd agree with trying Vaughan and maybe the likes of Sam Oakes - I was surprised that Desmond was deemed good enough to try but u can't complain about trying guys in the McGrath.

I'd also be concerned as to whether our coaching is good enough - but as least if we fix on a system and work at it, we should improve.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

I'd totally agree flangan top shape fitness wise

What did you make cork tactically
    What did you make of subs the tactically changing three aera to solve one
    Full back line???
    What you think we're strongest aera and weakest

Have we turned a corner!???

Or is it too early with Dublin missing around five key regular today

Tactically they are looking at being defensive but adopting the best of the Donegal system i.e. breaking at pace when the ball is won. With players/athletes like dorman, Clancy, bodriscoll,cadogan around the half back line added to the class of Collins and orourke this system should suit cork down to the ground. However it needs a playmaker/quarter back type player around the middle like donncha (at this stage will he last 70 minutes?).
    However the full back line is a huge issue with ONE caveat - cadogan seemed to go strsaight to full back? and obviously noel galvin when fit will slot inthere, its the other corner position and again I think when shields is back will do fine, but we have NO cover.
    Have to also addd why is cussen on the bench and lauded by management who then refuse to bring him on even do we are getting beaten in midfield??
    Have we turned a corner - NO too early to say that, however credit to all for the levels of energy & fitness impressive.
    If ohallorhan has a longer kick he needs to change things up and use it, when paddy Kelly and mark Collins are playing in the half forward line they are obvious kickout targets away from the centre of the field.
    Our strongest area is our half back line - we have some superb potential wing backs with power, pace and football, our inside line once fed QUICKLY is lethal but our midfield is not at the races and its difficult to see a solution with the players available - Maguire is a fine player and does a huge amount of work, fintan is not a midfielder at this level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

first look at cork today , they look restricted playing a short passing game , it dosent seem to suite the players , we would give ye a game should we beat limerick come championship but we would'nt beat ye , in saying that kerry are probably getting stronger with the inclusion of minors and the return of tommy walsh and i am sure gooch will be back aswell come july , out of interest was the cork goal a squre ball?

I'd like to see the Cronins - they could mark small nippy corner forwards like Kevin McM and Stephen O Brien.

I'm aware BOD would be wasted in the corner but we may not have better options - Crowley would be better option but it's a problem that we must address.

I think Ken O H is a great keeper but he simply is poor on kick-outs and I don't think we can afford this - however, we may not have a better option but we have got to see. Maybe Martin.

I'm not a big Hayes fan but I think he has something to offer as a sub - however I'd agree with trying Vaughan and maybe the likes of Sam Oakes - I was surprised that Desmond was deemed good enough to try but u can't complain about trying guys in the McGrath.

I'd also be concerned as to whether our coaching is good enough - but as least if we fix on a system and work at it, we should improve.

I think at times cork loose the run of themselves

Martin is a fine keepee but he's under twenty one
    Now jusr suppose we start him and he has to go long and he's kick outs are cleaned out that will destroy he's confidence as he has no midfield aim at
    People critise ken fair point if they can give us better option
    But nobody can say with conviction that we have better option
    I noticed no one here actually bar yourself and myself said great saves he made
    Cork would have lost today without him yet we drop him for a problem that's half he's problem

Your aware he's wasted in corner but o driscoll is best option
    No he's not absolutely not
    Were putting square pegs in hold
    In maths when you solve a complex equations you don't just throw random numbers in to see if it works
    You must think out the problem logically

You call up the cronin
    All it takes is a phone call
    Connolly was called in out of the blue
    If not you call up colm tucker o brien

The mcgrsth cup is for trying out players yes

But calling up durrant Hodnett and Desmond to just make up the numbers was wrong

Why wasn't Paul flynn after a call up given a game
    Cork have abundance of forwards
    Mac eoin after injury was available but dropped ruthlessly yet other like Hayes get unlimited game time

Who has potential to be a better player
    Mac eoin or Hayes
    Mac eoin has in all Ireland minor and under twenty one always perform for cork I'n big games and unlike Hayes like rough and tumble has bullish attuide and drive to come on and change a game v Kerry Hayes doesn't

What has he done in eight years in big games????
    Surely mac eoin has more potential

Yes we can complain if players they try in league don't deserve a call up on performance and there better players available
    Why wasn't leary given a chance and can actually play half forward or midfield who has much better under age record than Desmond who has none
    So imo it's plausible to say it was a poor call

I'm not being flippant geuinely not but your either a fan of Hayes or your not

Sugrue deserved a call as done well last year in mcgrath cup

I agree fixing on a system is imperative but clear today hurley needs coaching or imo as said before be wasted talent

The link play of defence and attack is not great in colm driscoll for all he's effort slows down the tempo of the attack

It won't work
    Remind munster trying play high octane fast play width ptich last year under penny and it broke down as he could not pass or offload and when tackled he slowed down the attack as brought ball in to contact without off loading at pace

Cork team my worry is the team was picked on mayo last year and today it struggled against strong to a degree but under strength Dublin missing threw at least key players and but for brilliant o Halloron saves would lost

Bit like cork v Waterford under twenty one last year lot said great display by management
    I said hold off til clare as patrick Collins five saves of brilliant saves cork
    Against clare thry got a rude awakening

The danger is same team be picked v monaghan while Dublin had three goals chances today and if one them went in cork would been in trouble

Monaghan will go for the win Sunday as want four points now

Best thing is kerry loose next week so have play to win in cork and we get no false dawn but a real real test

sean mac wrote: »
    Tactically they are looking at being defensive but adopting the best of the Donegal system i.e. breaking at pace when the ball is won. With players/athletes like dorman, Clancy, bodriscoll,cadogan around the half back line added to the class of Collins and orourke this system should suit cork down to the ground. However it needs a playmaker/quarter back type player around the middle like donncha (at this stage will he last 70 minutes?).
    However the full back line is a huge issue with ONE caveat - cadogan seemed to go strsaight to full back? and obviously noel galvin when fit will slot inthere, its the other corner position and again I think when shields is back will do fine, but we have NO cover.
    Have to also addd why is cussen on the bench and lauded by management who then refuse to bring him on even do we are getting beaten in midfield??
    Have we turned a corner - NO too early to say that, however credit to all for the levels of energy & fitness impressive.
    If ohallorhan has a longer kick he needs to change things up and use it, when paddy Kelly and mark Collins are playing in the half forward line they are obvious kickout targets away from the centre of the field.
    Our strongest area is our half back line - we have some superb potential wing backs with power, pace and football, our inside line once fed QUICKLY is lethal but our midfield is not at the races and its difficult to see a solution with the players available - Maguire is a fine player and does a huge amount of work, fintan is not a midfielder at this level.

I'd agree with that

What's best option for midfield you think now as imo we have left ourselves limited options

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Very happy to win its always a good feeling ! but nobody should get carried away ....no doubt its a tough leauge so to start with these two points is very good .....i must confess but i heard Cuthbert on redfm and i think it was maybe his best interview yet ! Mark Collins my MOTM also gave a very good interview going on about that himself and others must now show leadership ....While i think John O Rourke is sheer class and was today i must say that Colm O Driscoll worked hard today gave his all for a small man hit hard as well the kind of thankless work for the team ...something like the performance that gave him motm in the 2009 All-Ireland u21 final...

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

I'd agree with that

What's best option for midfield you think now as imo we have left ourselves limited options

Quite simply TTM, its ian Maguire and a.n other for me at this stage. Playing monaghan away next weekend against the very shrewd malachy o rourke. They will have 2 very big physical aggressive midfielders, so with what we have I think he has to go with fintan again. Further down the line I would have hope a recuperated ruairi deane with his work and aggression could prove a good foil to Maguire. Add in a half forward line of Kelly/Collins/orourke to win ball and use it intelligently and this area could improve for cork big time. Having paddy Kelly centre forward would help as a further kick out option.
    Management themselves only see fintan as a stop gap at midfield as witnessed by their dropping of him after the Kerry game. And of course forgot sean kiely, however I would see him at this young stage of his career of having a huge impact off the bench with 20 minutes to go, his pace, power and energy would be well suited to croke park.
    There are options if somewhat limited but management need to arrange a system to get the best out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭wackokid

I'd agree that Donal Og was only average today but I think he might make the grade, in time.

I agree that Hayes brings something as a last quarter sub - good vision and will take a score.

We are obviously badly caught for corner backs - Galvin is probably an option - we may have to use BOD there. Jamie was OK. It's not Cuthbert's fault - the lads are not there.

Loughrey is a problem - great ahtlete but poor vision - modern game requires wing backs to be able to link play.

Ken O Halloran is a very good shot stopper and is hard to beat but we won't beat a top side unless we can mix kick-outs - long and short - he can't kick long with the required accuracy and our MF'ers need an edge - by placing the ball to where they run. Bastick outfielded them with ease today. KOH is a luxury we can't afford IMO.

A vital win today and maybe we can win our 2 other home games and sneak an away win (Tyrone are our best chance) 4 wins might give a semi slot.

Thanks Garry. I was beginning to wonder if my football brain was gone soggy as TTM has a bit of a soft spot, or is it hard spot for the Ross man, and continues to call him school yard names. Pity, as TTM seems like a decent skin otherwise.
    I haven't had a chance to look at the game again ( yet ) but I liked Cadogan's sortes upfield and his leadership is required if we are to progress.
    Mark needs to speed up his actions but apart from that he's one cool dude and will get better when the swallows come.
    I think we will beat Tyrone and Derry but not Monaghan who were very impressive last night and are a good league team.
    Kerry will be beatable too if we keep this defensive system in place and hockey into them like Mayo did today.
    All in all, a good day at the races.

wackokid wrote: »
    Thanks Garry. I was beginning to wonder if my football brain was gone soggy as TTM has a bit of a soft spot, or is it hard spot for the Ross man, and continues to call him school yard names. Pity, as TTM seems like a decent skin otherwise.
    I haven't had a chance to look at the game again ( yet ) but I liked Cadogan's sortes upfield and his leadership is required if we are to progress.
    Mark needs to speed up his actions but apart from that he's one cool dude and will get better when the swallows come.
    I think we will beat Tyrone and Derry but not Monaghan who were very impressive last night and are a good league team.
    Kerry will be beatable too if we keep this defensive system in place and hockey into them like Mayo did today.
    All in all, a good day at the races.

Fair point wackokid but look I was trying be sacrestic and surely you wouldn't begrudge me that seen as you do it you self, I thought you like my new found witt

Holloywood Hayes wasn't a slur more imo he'd fine fancy tricks and flashy scores but he won't perform big games

I said before he would make a terrific coach and hope he goes in ti that

We'll agree disagree on Hayes

I agree with your other points

Kerry today would not take ounce of reality from it always going loose that no interest ist game

Games threw four you see reality of kerry

Derry won't be easy or Tyrone of need win back to the wall

Monaghan good test last week

sean mac wrote: »
    Quite simply TTM, its ian Maguire and a.n other for me at this stage. Playing monaghan away next weekend against the very shrewd malachy o rourke. They will have 2 very big physical aggressive midfielders, so with what we have I think he has to go with fintan again. Further down the line I would have hope a recuperated ruairi deane with his work and aggression could prove a good foil to Maguire. Add in a half forward line of Kelly/Collins/orourke to win ball and use it intelligently and this area could improve for cork big time. Having paddy Kelly centre forward would help as a further kick out option.
    Management themselves only see fintan as a stop gap at midfield as witnessed by their dropping of him after the Kerry game. And of course forgot sean kiely, however I would see him at this young stage of his career of having a huge impact off the bench with 20 minutes to go, his pace, power and energy would be well suited to croke park.
    There are options if somewhat limited but management need to arrange a system to get the best out of it.
    I'd agree bit seems that Kiely isn't on the panel judging by thirty last week

Terrific player but need coaching in decision making and kicking as Austin stacks game showed

Cussen scenario I agree why on panel if can't be used
    Cork have huge worries here

I watched game again moment there cork were hanging on for dear life and it remains be seen how we react if team gets run four or five points on us

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Stephen Cronin and Kiely were both subs today

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭homeofhurling

Sunshine practice what you preach please before your kind enough to pass judgement I'n future

You change views games on games fair play you belive In that
    I like have a constant view
    Long way go before we say cork turned a corner

as i said it looks like the waterford result was the kick up the arse cork need and todays result prove it, because i'd say waterford wouldn't be 10 points near that Dublin team today

Stephen Cronin and Kiely were both subs today

Thanks Denis weren't named twenty six originally though

We're they late call up?

Are cork carry league panel 32 or so and are Desmond Hodnett and mac eoin dropped of it please,,,,????

Good news is cronin was called up

Down side imo is why wasn't he used when Sullivan went off?
    Natural corner back placement and why was three position changes to solve one problem imo

Also loughrey was in trouble on mcnameon but he left on him
    Cronin should be used and loughrey put outfield

Imo o rourke would been better at midfield than Collins
    Collins had terrific game but is centre forward quatre back imo

Where is harty cup final Denis please?

What's the all Ireland series draw for this format?

Is it open draw that the loosing finalist play ulster and Galway and I presume finalist can't meet again each other til the final?? Or how does it work please

Two good performance today by ephie Fitzgerald some win for clare

Tipp apparently hard done by in armagh against the much lauded mcgeeney armagh and lost by a point
    Creedon doing good job there

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Thanks Denis weren't named twenty six originally though

We're they late call up?

Are cork carry league panel 32 or so and are Desmond Hodnett and mac eoin dropped of it please,,,,????

They were added instead of Tomás Clancy and Donncha O'Connor. I don't think an official league panel has been announced.
    Where is harty cup final Denis please?

What's the all Ireland series draw for this format?

Is it open draw that the loosing finalist play ulster and Galway and I presume finalist can't meet again each other til the final?? Or how does it work please

Cashel or Cahir is what I'm hearing, likely to clash with Sigerson Cup final. I'll check All-Ireland draw

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Lads can anyone explain Corks performance yesterday in light of everything that was said on this forum about cutbert. Cards on the table here, i'm a hurling man but i had to wade through mounds of what now appears to have been serious ****e in light of y'days performance in an attempt to find the hurling commentary. If a complete newcomer to football was reading this thread he would think that ccb had appointed an alien to run the team. It's a good job nobody of note takes these forums seriously and pays any attention to whats being said. Suggestion: if the standard of football analysis dosen't seriously improve we will have to have separate threads for football and hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Two good performance today by ephie Fitzgerald some win for clare

Tipp apparently hard done by in armagh against the much lauded mcgeeney armagh and lost by a point
    Creedon doing good job there

i cant put it in to words how bad wexford were today and lenister football in general is so bad its laughable at the moment for example out of the 11 counties from that province 9 lost the only winner's this weekend??? offaly beat london by a whoping 4 points in division 4 while westhmeath beat fellow leinster men laois .....who nither are great shakes to be fair in division 2 all other 9 counties lost , munster is very strong in both codes at the moment not much between cork and tipp at the moment i also think tipp could worry kerry big time come championship , they will go close in the next few years for division 1 status they have a great forward line

Lads can anyone explain Corks performance yesterday in light of everything that was said on this forum about cutbert. Cards on the table here, i'm a hurling man but i had to wade through mounds of what now appears to have been serious ****e in light of y'days performance in an attempt to find the hurling commentary. If a complete newcomer to football was reading this thread he would think that ccb had appointed an alien to run the team. It's a good job nobody of note takes these forums seriously and pays any attention to whats being said. Suggestion: if the standard of football analysis dosen't seriously improve we will have to have separate threads for football and hurling.
    Look when you add insight to debate cork football you will be taken seriously
    One swallow never made a summer
    If you had parftipate in debate past when results were poor you view would have more value
    Imo your more interest in critise view many fans here regards football who after shambles killarney and Dublin had every right to question things
    Today was great two points but don't think the winter has ended just cause you get one bright ray sunshine
    Could easily rain next week

You don't speak for forum and you with respect just in short time so you'll have earn bit mileage before you suggest divide forum imo

Cork gaa thread hurling and football

No divide necessary and such divide of threads would be insult cork gaa as cork gaa isn't bout hurling but all matters

You admit your not football fan yet one win you disregard others views that were valid
    One win against under strength team have you learned anything from past year???

Have a bit common sense just one game yet you regards talk as monense

Key issues still haven't been solved team

I'll tell you what utter nonsense though some wise man telling all ans sundry that wealthy limerick man gave forty thousands each to three limerick schools for support yer when numerous posters agrees what was a load of bull thar wise man didn't back thread

Forum is cork gaa thar means women ladies football camoige hurling and football

You want to label yourself as hurling man only your choice don't expect many long term posters long before your time do same who seem happy forum way it is

This is cork gaa thread no other forums like Dublin or Galway do it no need to do same

Setting up divide is not good imo

I'f football and hurling had two separate boards fighting own corners maybe but not way it is

Christ football is already fighting poor relation with dual status last year and football always second best at least get good coverage here
    I for one have no interest skipping between cork football and hurling threads

If majority here want that fair enough
    That happens imo sad for cork gaa here as football thread will get barely a following and if that happens it saddens me to say I'll retire my posting on this thread and gaa forum and I think geuinely cork thread is great thread as this forum is a great forum

Next that happens people will say cork ladies get separate threads and what you end up with is sparsely population threads where they forgotten bout

Here at least everything is together and nobody is forgotten

Cork gaa was never one commodity but imo has two precious commodity hurling and football both men and women

They were added instead of Tomás Clancy and Donncha O'Connor. I don't think an official league panel has been announced.

Cashel or Cahir is what I'm hearing, likely to clash with Sigerson Cup final. I'll check All-Ireland draw

Thanks Denis much appreciated that be awful choose between football in cork and biggest day hurling under age senior cork in few years

http://m.rte.ie/sport/gaa/ladies/2015/0201/677110-ladies-football/

Brilliant win for them today

Unfortunately milford lost camoige all Ireland semi

One note of significant I feel tomas o se brilliant judge game today on Sunday sport said cork attacks needed faster ball
    We all agree that

Red alert for me was he said cork defensively were good
    I think bit yrrra talk and I'd taken it pinch salt

Defence at times was good but still concede twelve points from play and three goal chances two clear ones it was pretty loose imo against a strong but certainly not best Dublin forwards I'd worry

Yes galvin and shield were missing but interest who dropped when they come back

Clancy wasn't a loss imo as not a corner back

Players are in cork squad bar midfield

Kiely ball winner but imo can't start two new players in coal face modern elite championship against moran Buckley etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

There is nothing surprising, we had a much stronger team out than Dublin, and it was very much a most win game. We still have the talent of a top three team imo, beating a weak Dublin side at home isn't some kind of miracle.

Remember we had a great league last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Whilst your criticism of the football analysis on here is unfair, IMO - your point suggesting that in light of this good performance, the criticism of Cuthbert may have been OTT, deserves consideration.

Cuthbert presented himself (via a slick power point show) as having the nous to manage Cork and persuaded a selection committee to appoint him in preference to John Cleary (a man with a far more impressive CV)

He failed to implement effective tactics and the players were deeply unhappy with many aspects of his management.

Many feared that morale in the camp was still very low but hoped that the fact that all of last year's panel (bar Walsh, Cahalane, Butcher and Dineen) returned, was evidence that the players were determined to get on with things and hope that Cuthbert would learn.
    He has brought in an excellent S & C man and a very highly rated sports psychologist so there are some positive signs.

This was a must win game but Dublin had 1/3 of their c/ship side and we had 2/3 of ours so a 1 pt win was the minimum required.

Cork were very open in the 1st half and wasted a lot of scoring opportunities so there is still cause for concern over the coaching but the 2nd half was much better and the team will travel to Monaghan in a good frame of mind.

It's also to put this win into context - Dublin came to Cork with a reserve team and were pushing hard for a win late on having missed a number of reasonable goal chances - when Cork put out a reserve side against a Div 4 side -Waterford - we lost by a point.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Great news for richestown is good counsel play Kieran the all Ireland champions next week in a semi and one those will be knocked out of the all Ireland series

Carlow and st Peter Wexford other semi

If rochestown win munster likely play Galway team or looses of leinster so seem be winner of carlow team or peters Wexford and It would seem imo there beatable

Obviously thurles if loose are in the back door still

But rochestown imo if win munster huge huge chance to make the all Ireland final

Rochestown won't and shouldn't be lookin past there next game

That the ****e other counties go on. About, on Limk forum it says Ard Scoil had themselves down as a Croke Cup team and where are they now?

Rochestown won't be lookin past Harty final

In fairness TTM your thrown your full support behind Rochestown now, every game they won, your supporting them more and more, you can't be accused otherwise welcome aboard

The thinking here before was they were behind other teams in Cork, but there is some charachter in this team, leaders all over pitch really talented hurlers incredible spirit and workrate and they earned the right to fight for Harty now- only cork team left standing now and fair f**ks to them

aidan lonegan on red FM said they werent respected - well I think they have respect finally and there putting there school on the map

fantastic day yesterday I was worried Rochestown hadn't enough hurling dine with football between games and even tough they started well, some of the shooting was poor and there were a lot of wides- they will have extra few days to sharpen up after next weekend if they avoid injuries

Injuries and strains are part of any squad but the lads are getting litle chance to rest up
    2 or 3 of them have niggles and if you lose a player or two your screwed

Roll on 21st Feb and hoping for Harty history for Rochestown. Was talk of Mallow after game for final, or fermoy another good option - don't think Cahir good enough for a Harty Final

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Cu Baire

Cu Baire wrote: »
    That's a good team to counteract Dublin's strengths.
    Should be a very interesting game with Cork to shade it by 2 points.

You heard it here first lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Look when you add insight to debate cork football you will be taken seriously
    One swallow never made a summer
    If you had parftipate in debate past when results were poor you view would have more value
    Imo your more interest in critise view many fans here regards football who after shambles killarney and Dublin had every right to question things
    Today was great two points but don't think the winter has ended just cause you get one bright ray sunshine
    Could easily rain next week

You don't speak for forum and you with respect just in short time so you'll have earn bit mileage before you suggest divide forum imo

Cork gaa thread hurling and football

No divide necessary and such divide of threads would be insult cork gaa as cork gaa isn't bout hurling but all matters

You admit your not football fan yet one win you disregard others views that were valid
    One win against under strength team have you learned anything from past year???

Have a bit common sense just one game yet you regards talk as monense

Key issues still haven't been solved team

I'll tell you what utter nonsense though some wise man telling all ans sundry that wealthy limerick man gave forty thousands each to three limerick schools for support yer when numerous posters agrees what was a load of bull thar wise man didn't back thread

Forum is cork gaa thar means women ladies football camoige hurling and football

You want to label yourself as hurling man only your choice don't expect many long term posters long before your time do same who seem happy forum way it is

This is cork gaa thread no other forums like Dublin or Galway do it no need to do same

Setting up divide is not good imo

I'f football and hurling had two separate boards fighting own corners maybe but not way it is

Christ football is already fighting poor relation with dual status last year and football always second best at least get good coverage here
    I for one have no interest skipping between cork football and hurling threads

If majority here want that fair enough
    That happens imo sad for cork gaa here as football thread will get barely a following and if that happens it saddens me to say I'll retire my posting on this thread and gaa forum and I think geuinely cork thread is great thread as this forum is a great forum

Next that happens people will say cork ladies get separate threads and what you end up with is sparsely population threads where they forgotten bout

Here at least everything is together and nobody is forgotten

Cork gaa was never one commodity but imo has two precious commodity hurling and football both men and women

In the interest of completeness should handball and rounders be included as well ?

Irish Language Music and Dance a consideration also.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

😃😃😃

Rochestown won't and shouldn't be lookin past there next game

That the ****e other counties go on. About, on Limk forum it says Ard Scoil had themselves down as a Croke Cup team and where are they now?

Rochestown won't be lookin past Harty final

In fairness TTM your thrown your full support behind Rochestown now, every game they won, your supporting them more and more, you can't be accused otherwise welcome aboard

The thinking here before was they were behind other teams in Cork, but there is some charachter in this team, leaders all over pitch really talented hurlers incredible spirit and workrate and they earned the right to fight for Harty now- only cork team left standing now and fair f**ks to them

aidan lonegan on red FM said they werent respected - well I think they have respect finally and there putting there school on the map

fantastic day yesterday I was worried Rochestown hadn't enough hurling dine with football between games and even tough they started well, some of the shooting was poor and there were a lot of wides- they will have extra few days to sharpen up after next weekend if they avoid injuries

Injuries and strains are part of any squad but the lads are getting litle chance to rest up
    2 or 3 of them have niggles and if you lose a player or two your screwed

Roll on 21st Feb and hoping for Harty history for Rochestown. Was talk of Mallow after game for final, or fermoy another good option - don't think Cahir good enough for a Harty Final

I think any cork school in any competition deserves huge support now
    I was always on board with rochestown like any cork school in I support every school as there cork
    I would done preview for rochestown in football all Ireland last year and indeed doon harty cup game
    To say welcome aboard thanks but I was always on board as you look posts last year you'll find that

Same with mtichewltown charville big games Hamilton etc
    If I critize teams it want better from them
    Ag for example had more them like mideton also but coaching let them down
    Fair point and think you look Midleton on paper and ag definitely equal to richestown big game players but poor coaching let them down

We still have christ ri and course old christian left munster b also and cork team munster c

I must add I wouldn't started cormac cork minor in December as said wasn't scoring enough from play as good as he was but he's now adding goals game imo has start and like I said form will change and players will be picked that imo closer time but if picked team today he's has start

I totally agree let's not become limerick equivalent that's a sad day when cork become pro type them
    I wouldn't just my opinion take what they say over there with any great dose reality bar few exceptions as they if you look barely talk about school games or under age til big games or after it and majority jusr focus on senior hurling side but you can't go against views really and truly are there really entrained I'm the Limerick way thinking, see criticism as the enemy rather look valid points within
    Some convinced there close to all Ireland but fail to see its not just about passion and pride
    I read piece on match paper yesterday reporter said he was suprised and awe at great aggression and passion thry had hurling
    He must never seen limerick play before so
    Credit due they always bring huge passion and fire and fury and live by theory hit everything moves or of not make it moves
    That will never be down fall of them
    Tactically evolution will unfortunately be their problems and unfortunately as they have some amazing young talent coming up
    Interestingly heard other day daly is being lined up senior job down line that's why brought in minors
    Yes tj has threw years contract but like Newcastle eight years with psrdew means nothing
    If he's doesn't deliver two years very interesting see what happens
    Daly knows clare job Davy as long wants with old man in charge
    He wants limerick job apparently
    I don't rate him as coach but he'd be like said before terrific manager for limerick

However my view is richestown they have great chance winning harty and all Ireland series is realistic chance get final I'm Kieran or Goold counsel gone this weekend and rest draw is nothing to hugely fear

Avoiding Kieran will be key get final

Not sure how draw works but Denis is going to inform us of it and he's harty cup school's hurling munster and indeed leinster is top top class
    I say you must be delighted with young Sullivan display
    He'll run minors close you would think

Football is going take toll as we'll only worry

I agree loose player is awful but depends once not key key game changer either

Longeran I said before December even further back I'm huge huge fan of top top top coach

Hurling senior panel being cut tonight for the league
    I'd say Andy walsh Killeagh made it

You heard it here first lads.

Seen as your great tell us you're right sorry bust your bubble but YOU WERE WRONG REGARDS ARD SCOIL V ROCHESTOWN
    You said ard scoil win
    Just be fair and equal seen as your fast pull others

Seen as your great tell us you're right sorry bust your bubble but YOU WERE WRONG REGARDS ARD SCOIL V ROCHESTOWN
    You said ard scoil win
    Just be fair and equal seen as your fast pull others

Originally Posted by Cu Baire viewpost.gif
    Quarter finals all went as predicted although Castletroy left it late today.
    Rochestown could cause upset in semi but I expect Thurles to win it out.

Yes. I was way off there....

Whilst your criticism of the football analysis on here is unfair, IMO - your point suggesting that in light of this good performance, the criticism of Cuthbert may have been OTT, deserves consideration.

Cuthbert presented himself (via a slick power point show) as having the nous to manage Cork and persuaded a selection committee to appoint him in preference to John Cleary (a man with a far more impressive CV)

He failed to implement effective tactics and the players were deeply unhappy with many aspects of his management.

Many feared that morale in the camp was still very low but hoped that the fact that all of last year's panel (bar Walsh, Cahalane, Butcher and Dineen) returned, was evidence that the players were determined to get on with things and hope that Cuthbert would learn.
    He has brought in an excellent S & C man and a very highly rated sports psychologist so there are some positive signs.

This was a must win game but Dublin had 1/3 of their c/ship side and we had 2/3 of ours so a 1 pt win was the minimum required.

Cork were very open in the 1st half and wasted a lot of scoring opportunities so there is still cause for concern over the coaching but the 2nd half was much better and the team will travel to Monaghan in a good frame of mind.

It's also to put this win into context - Dublin came to Cork with a reserve team and were pushing hard for a win late on having missed a number of reasonable goal chances - when Cork put out a reserve side against a Div 4 side -Waterford - we lost by a point.
    Gary you will find there's few usual suspects here just more interested in winding people up than anything else as rarely will they debate points

The critise of cuthbhert be fair now has been fully justified

Your a man United fan you know complete difference with moyles and van gal
    United fans didn't wait all day for moyles correctly so

Night mare in kilkenny two heavy defeats mayo Dublin in league, treatment paddy Kelly and course leaving Andrew Sullivan mid summer, the treatment of dinnen

The repeated failure solve midfield every game last year
    The attacking of referrs and mayo
    The refusals accept blame games
    All that was full justified

Once mistake learned and progress made cork should back cuthbhert fully
    However let's as Orizio said not get carried away and say all problems sorted

One game in yet still midfield issue and huge tactic worry to solve one problem made three position changes

As for gould turning corner
    Against Tyrone last year he was awesome and cuthbert said cork fans too criticism
    Yer championship he was average enough

Look at big names Dublin missed yet cork had eleven team v mayo and struggled
    Midfield when it solved more so results will for me show progress being made

Long way to go yet and credit due yesterday interview by cuthbhert acknowledged it was under strength Dublin and they were st times lucky huge work be done
    That may be sign lessons have been learned
    But let's not forget we bear Dublin in croke park last year early on and then collapsed after

Huge concerns regarding playing loughrey at corner back and midfield and cadogan way too attack minded for a six he will be taken for scores against good opponent
    You can't have dorman cadogan and driscoll in same unit even in blanket as too attack minded no balance there
    Dublin opened us up scoring twelve point play threw goal chances with out key forwards
    That's the warning sign
    Time will tell if cork heed it
    If lessons learned were good place but nothing so far based team selection bar dorman at half not corner shows that

Originally Posted by Cu Baire viewpost.gif
    Quarter finals all went as predicted although Castletroy left it late today.
    Rochestown could cause upset in semi but I expect Thurles to win it out.

Yes. I was way off there....

You edited what you wanted you said ard scoil to win sorry now

A Hamilton High School Bandon V Ardscoil Rís
    B Rochestown College V Nenagh CBS
    C Castletroy CC V Pobalscoil na Tríonóide Youghal
    D Thurles CBS V Gaelcolaiste Mhuire AG

Predictions:
    A ASR
    B RoCo
    C Castletroy
    D Thurles

A v B ASR

C v D Thurles

Final
    There you go

Just for record anybody can get predictions wring school very hard predictable

But seen as your fast repeatedly to question others without debating points and then proclaim your right always predictions just little refresher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭HighKing33

Common sense indeed.

Talk is cork will have big guns out for Wexford game challenge weekend
    There taking it more seriously that waterford crystal cup
    Cork were not he'll bent on winning it as jbm made commitment players new guys he'd stick with them up last game when ever were beaten

You edited what you wanted you said ard scoil to win sorry now

Actually I edited nothing.
    I quoted a post that I put up on 21st January and said Rochestown could win. This opinion was based on the form and circumstances of the 2 teams since the original post on 18th of December.
    Also as you are very good at tracking other peoples posts please put up one where I claimed to be always right in predictions or even where I proclaimed my right always predictions as you put it.

HighKing33 wrote: »
    Common sense indeed.

I couldn't read most of it but it was just a few lads with agendas forecasting doom and gloom in the hope that it would come through.
    We all know the barroom experts who can tell you everything that is wrong and nobody knows anything but them. When proved wrong then they have a thousand excuses and just wait like the stopped clock for that one moment when they are right and start with the I told you so rants.

Actually I edited nothing.
    I quoted a post that I put up on 21st January and said Rochestown could win. This opinion was based on the form and circumstances of the 2 teams since the original post on 18th of December.
    Also as you are very good at tracking other peoples posts please put up one where I claimed to be always right in predictions or even where I proclaimed my right always predictions as you put it.

My point was twice you posted threads where your predictions were right
    You reqoutes yourself

My point I saud clearly I'm not saying everyone is right with predictions but you seem to show when you are and jusr be fair and equal I pointed it out you are wrong also

You saud ard scoil win they didn't
    No big deal I got many game wrong myself
    Accept it and move on

I don't track posts but as any neutral poster will see you have particularly be fair devalues my posting on not this thread alone but numerous threads in the past with short sniping statement's you accused me trolling on limerick thread, you called me biased before yet you don't like it when your just questioned on valid point
    I ignored those posts as you clearly wanted a reaction

You have be fair now follows most my posts with huge attention at times
    Just look at them be fair now please

I have no interest as you will know I ignored you last while going tit tat as I'm here talk gaa you are you look at majority your posts alway reply to mine with snipes trying devalue them and seem particular interest my posts than topics on hand

I just saw post and said provide clarity on it seen as you were and I'm sure in future be fast enough to question me but I'm well used to you at this stage
    Back to gaa talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

To be fair I'm much more hurling too and I wouldn't know the ins and outs of the football set up and Cuthbert's quality or lack there of, but to suggest that beating what was in essence Dublin's second team is enough to say he's good enough for the job is extremely premature.

The concerns over tactical awareness, player positioning and player treatment all seem pretty fair from what I've seen in the last 18 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Orizio wrote: »
    There is nothing surprising, we had a much stronger team out than Dublin, and it was very much a most win game. We still have the talent of a top three team imo, beating a weak Dublin side at home isn't some kind of miracle.

Remember we had a great league last year.

Valid points lads and well made. My comments were a little tongue in cheek, but it's just cuthbert was practically being vilified here in the last few weeks. As i said above hurling is my game (played both but gravitated towards the small ball over the years) and I will bow to yer superior knowledge as I don't claim any great knowledge on football nowadays. But He can't be that bad can he. He made his pitch for the job and rightly or wrongly the ccb picked him. Any man doing his best thereafter dosen't deserve to be crucified in my view.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

Valid points lads and well made. My comments were a little tongue in cheek, but it's just cuthbert was practically being vilified here in the last few weeks. As i said above hurling is my game (played both but gravitated towards the small ball over the years) and I will bow to yer superior knowledge as I don't claim any great knowledge on football nowadays. But He can't be that bad can he. He made his pitch for the job and rightly or wrongly the ccb picked him. Any man doing his best thereafter dosen't deserve to be crucified in my view.
    As an outsider looking in and in the limerick thread, I think certain posters should be aware that players, managers etc. and their families may be reading these forums...we all have the advantage of anonymity so if it's not something you'd say to their face then I think you should tone down your comments, some of the comments against the football manager, players and coaches is beyond the pale, they are all volunteers...

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

My point was twice you posted threads where your predictions were right
    You reqoutes yourself

My point I saud clearly I'm not saying everyone is right with predictions but you seem to show when you are and jusr be fair and equal I pointed it out you are wrong also

You saud ard scoil win they didn't
    No big deal I got many game wrong myself
    Accept it and move on

I don't track posts but as any neutral poster will see you have particularly be fair devalues my posting on not this thread alone but numerous threads in the past with short sniping statement's you accused me trolling on limerick thread, you called me biased before yet you don't like it when your just questioned on valid point
    I ignored those posts as you clearly wanted a reaction

You have be fair now follows most my posts with huge attention at times
    Just look at them be fair now please

I have no interest as you will know I ignored you last while going tit tat as I'm here talk gaa you are you look at majority your posts alway reply to mine with snipes trying devalue them and seem particular interest my posts than topics on hand

I just saw post and said provide clarity on it seen as you were and I'm sure in future be fast enough to question me but I'm well used to you at this stage
    Back to gaa talk

in fariness, i think your being petty here TTM

Youself couldn't see midleton being beaten by Nenagh, no excuses you said - Midleton players were goingto light up Harty,

you talked up AG management in one post and then blamed them in next ones ,

its hard to miss your posts there so many of them, thats why you get so much response

pot callin kettle black i think and of course things can change and posters change there minds about things

I think Denis Hurley in the Examiner said today anyone who follows underage hurling wouldn't be surprised by Rochestonw win and how well there doing

Myself Im expecting another big performance in final and if there right with no injuries they will win