Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭slingerz

Peter Kelleher is an out and out midfielder and he has to be out there the next day. He is certainly not a full forward anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭wackokid

slingerz wrote: »
    Peter Kelleher is an out and out midfielder and he has to be out there the next day. He is certainly not a full forward anyway

Agree with you there slingerz, but unless he has improved dramatically from his minor days he won't do long term at midfield. Might fill a gap next week against Kerry if he has a strong grafter with him. Being on the senior hurling panel is no help to his football either and Aidan Walsh is the best example we have to highlight this dual impossibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)

3. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)

4. William Kearney (Sarsfields)

5. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)

6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)

7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)

9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)

11. Seamus Harnedy (St.Ita’s)

12. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)

13. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)

14. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)

15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Subs:

16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

17. Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields)

18. Luke Farrell (Midleton)

19. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)

20. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)

21. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)

22. Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy)

23. Killian Burke (Midleton)

24. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)

25. Andy Walsh (Killeagh)

26. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)

Note: Jamie Coughlan, Bill Cooper, Damien Cahalane, Patrick Cronin along with Christopher Joyce were not considered for this game due to injury.

O'Farrell very unlucky but when is JBM going to get a chance to look at other options.

1. Michael Martin (Nemo Rangers)

2. James Loughrey (Mallow)

3. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s)

4. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)

5. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)

6. Stephen O’Donoghue (Ballincollig)

7. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)

8. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)

9. Fintan Goold (Macroom)

10. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

11. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)

12. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)

14. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)

15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

Subs:

16. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)

17. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)

18. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)

19. Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond)

20. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)

21. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)

22. Donal Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa)

23. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)

24. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)

Note: Ian Maguire, Brian O'Driscoll, Ruairi Deane, Patrick Kelly and Kevin Crowley were not considered due injury and U21 football commitments.

O'Hallorans mistake last week for Donaghy's goal along with longstanding kickout issues meant it would be very hard start him this weekend. will be interesting to see how we do against Tyrone's 15 behind the ball

The Cork Senior Football team to play Tyrone in Healy Park, Omagh, Sunday 15th March at 2:30pm is announced as follows:
    1. Michael Martin (Nemo Rangers)

2. James Loughrey (Mallow)

3. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s)

4. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)

5. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)

6. Stephen O’Donoghue (Ballincollig)

7. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)

8. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)

9. Fintan Goold (Macroom)

10. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

11. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)

12. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)

14. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)

15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

Subs:

16. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)

17. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)

18. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)

19. Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond)

20. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)

21. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)

22. Donal Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa)

23. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)

24. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)

Note: Ian Maguire, Brian O'Driscoll, Ruairi Deane, Patrick Kelly and Kevin Crowley were not considered due injury and U21 football commitments.

Selectors: Brian Cuthbert (Bishopstown) - Manager, Don Davis (O’Donovan Rossa), Owen Sexton (Kilbrittain), Ciaran O’Sullivan (Urhan), Ronan McCarthy (Douglas).

Good thinking to give Martin exposure to high octane stuff without the added pressure of TV cameras. He's had a busy 7 days, so here's wishing the young man lots of luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

Galway senior hurling team named:

1. Colm Callanan,

2. Padraig Mannion, 3. John Hansbury, 4. Johnny Coen,

5. David Collins, 6. Greg Lally, 7. Gearoid McInerney,

8. Iarlaith Tannian, 9. Joseph Cooney,

10. Andrew Smith, 11. Jonathan Glynn, 12. Joe Canning,

13. James Regan, 14. Cathal Mannion and 15. Jason Flynn

Some unfamiliar names in that squad. That's a very strong half forward line, has pace and strength and of course all three have bag loads of hurling. This is probably the biggest test for our half backs so far in the league.
    A very strong mid field also, Walsh will have his work cut out for him with Tannion.

Looks like this could be a tough game in galway and hard to call given both teams are on
    equal points. Galway with the home advantage could shade it. lets hope cork pick up from where they left off last weekend.

football on before the hurling in Galway so the pitch will be in some state I'd say, big change from Croke Park last week anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

football on before the hurling in Galway so the pitch will be in some state I'd say, big change from Croke Park last week anyway

The pitch in Pearse Stadium was relaid over the winter and it hasn't bedded down and knitted together properly yet. It's not good for football at the moment let alone hurling. At least the weather seems to be OK for the weekend. Any rain would make it a swamp.

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Rega

Two great results. Fair play to both the hurlers and the footballers.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Great win for both teams, in particular the comeback for the footballers !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭n32

serious win by the footballers considering the start they had and where they were playing. fine result by hurlers as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

Great results for hurlers & footballers. Back to back away wins for both teams. Great to have gaa back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Cracking results. Sounded like both teams really had to fight for the result, especially the footballers. Mighty stuff.

great results to have both clear of relegation with games to play. footballers particularly have finished strongly in every game so far. Paudie O'Sullivan has put it up to Luke O'Farrell now, great to have real competition for places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Well done to the players and management of both squads today. Two great wins. The footballers being a particularly impressive win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Pearse Park surface looks dreadful. Not at all suitable to hurling.

eigrod wrote: »
    Pearse Park surface looks dreadful. Not at all suitable to hurling.

Football played before the hurling today, pitch not up to standard for intercounty hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭MfMan

Football played before the hurling today, pitch not up to standard for intercounty hurling

As I advised the KK supporters last week, please complain willfully to the Galway Co. board about this. About the only party at this stage that seemingly are not aware that the pitch is not conducive to inter-county fare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭roshje

Shame they did not show Tyrone v Cork tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Cu Baire

Delighted for the Cork football players and management who have been abused and disrespected by so many keyboard "experts". In the toughest division 1 for years and a difficult draw they are deservedly top of the table with only 2 rounds to go.
    It shows the calibre of some people posting on here that there is so little comment on yesterdays game but we would have pages of nonsense if they had lost.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

Cu Baire wrote: »
    Delighted for the Cork football players and management who have been abused and disrespected by so many keyboard "experts". In the toughest division 1 for years and a difficult draw they are deservedly top of the table with only 2 rounds to go.
    It shows the calibre of some people posting on here that there is so little comment on yesterdays game but we would have pages of nonsense if they had lost.

Never truer words spoken! Some superb talent on that Football team. If they get balance between holding a solid defensive base & getting quick ball into Hurley & O' Neill then they can rattle a good few cages in the summer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Is there little comment possibly because the match recieved no coverage, even by the cork gaa twitter. So no one can comment. I said to a friend that I thought they could go seven from seven in the league but I dont rate cuthbert. My point is cork are not a bad team , just whether the management is good enough when the pressure comes on.

Keyboard warrior signing off.

The people you speak of Cu Baire have long memories. Best not to get carried away with false dawns like last year. Have to admit that there's a POSSIBILITY that Cubby and Co. have served their apprenticeship and MAY have learned from mistakes. Billy Morgan is still the benchmark when it comes to eye balling Kerry on big days. Let's wait a while before dishing out the lolly pops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

People were getting excited this time last year too after the Kerry win. Look how it turned out in the Summer.

Hopefully the form continues right through to September but I'd be skeptical how this team will do in championship with problems at midfield and a real sense that nobody (Cubby, or us for that matter) knows what the best team is or where players should be playing in the Summer.

Regarding the lack of comment, the game was in Omagh with virtually no coverage. Hard to comment on what you can't see.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Lets hope your still as smug when we go to Killarney this year. While to date things have gone well and I congratulate Cuthbert on taking up tony leens advice with regards to pat Flanagan we had this type of form last year also.

Number of Comments post-Donegal game : 7 (and thats including a few looking forward to Kerry game) pages of nonsense no doubt :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

And so Rochestown's epic adventure finally came to an end on Saturday last. Hardly unexpected given the exertions of the last 3 weeks. As you'd expect from this group they went down fighting. Took the game to Kierans and had they taken two goal chances would have been ahead at half time. They finally seemed to run out of steam on the home straight and let Kierans in for a softish goal with 6 minutes to go which finally killed them off. Everybody associated with this group deserve huge congratulations. They will have great memories in years to come of two epic campaigns. However being so close to both Munster hurling and football crowns and ending up with nothing begs the obvious question. Would they be better focusing on one code?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

You are fast becoming a keyboard warrior yourself!!!

We've been over this enough times for you to know how it goes. Everybody is delighted Cork are winning but everybody is not sold on the managers ability when the cut and thrust of championship comes around. This group of players have the ability to win all Irelands but with him in charge, I believe it will never happen.

So..... Win lose or draw the next game, can we leave the rather repetitive posts aside, its gets a bit boring to be honest, long season fella !!

And so Rochestown's epic adventure finally came to an end on Saturday last. Hardly unexpected given the exertions of the last 3 weeks. As you'd expect from this group they went down fighting. Took the game to Kierans and had they taken two goal chances would have been ahead at half time. They finally seemed to run out of steam on the home straight and let Kierans in for a softish goal with 6 minutes to go which finally killed them off. Everybody associated with this group deserve huge congratulations. They will have great memories in years to come of two epic campaigns. However being so close to both Munster hurling and football crowns and ending up with nothing begs the obvious question. Would they be better focusing on one code?

A great run and a great experience for them. At that age playing both codes shouldn't be an issue.
    They are a credit to their school and management !

I'd be interested to see if Cuthbert and Co, learned a lesson from the Donegal game, in that they played first half against a strong wind and in second half with the wind Donncha was withdrawn having been ran into submission. Having been in Tyrone previously they'd know there is always a strong breeze in that pitch too, so were the workhorses wheeled out for the first half and fresh attacking forwards brought on to take advantage of the wind and tired legs? I'm hoping it didnt just pan out this way and that it was part of the plan to contain against the wind before going on the offence with it.

Actually, i may be open to correction on the Donegal game, i think they played against the wind first half anyway/

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

I haven't seen much, if any, negative comments about the players, on here. IMO the players are very highly rated by posters here.

I think the criticism of management last season was fully justified - don't you ?

Cuthbert learned nothing from the defeat by Dublin or the Tipp game and went into the Kerry game with a wide open set-up in spite of seeing where that got us in Killarney, the previous season.

Gavin got it wrong too but came out and fully accepted the responsibility - Cutbert laid it firmly on the players' shoulders and almost lost the dressing-room. Luckily the players decided to make the best of things and give it a go.

Management have responded well - bringing in the excellent Flanagan, Kay Kirby and getting Ronan Mac back quickly.

It's early days yet and we still don't know if Cuthbert can go head to head against the likes of FitzMaurice in c/ship.

The signs are encouraging and Cuthbert could make of fist of this yet - Mayo are also struggling a bit with an inexperienced management team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Deco99 wrote:
    Actually, i may be open to correction on the Donegal game, i think they played against the wind first half anyway/

No, ye had the wind in the first half.

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    No, ye had the wind in the first half.

Hard to tell twas such a bad day ;) The point i suppose remains, do this management think tactically about games and set up accordingly or do we pick the team and "hopefully we'll be good enough?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Regarding the football, we are winning (besides Donegal game) so there isn't much more you can ask of Cuthbert as this stage.I wonder if he has 'it' for the latter stages of the championship but Cork are top of the league.

I think we all just want Cork to play better in the Championship and not collapse against Kerry or whoever! Shame nothing shown on TV for the Tyrone game.

As for the hurling, does anyone know what players were hitting all the wides? I read that Cork had a load of them and just wondering was it a few players or one in particular having an off day.Not to scapegoat the player or players who missed just curious! Maybe someone who was at it might know.

The pitch was terrible but it was the same for both teams.There seems to be good competition for places developing in some areas which is always good.

Cormac Murphy looks like a great player.Very impressed with him!

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭pluszap

It was the goal near the salthill promenade that both teams had problems with scoring points from.

ShamoBuc wrote:
    A great run and a great experience for them. At that age playing both codes shouldn't be an issue. They are a credit to their school and management !

Well if you believe 6 days was sufficient time to prepare for Kierans College in an AI quarter final, then playing both codes isn't an issue!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Well if you believe 6 days was sufficient time to prepare for Kierans College in an AI quarter final, then playing both codes isn't an issue!!!!

Exactly. You can also add in the fact there's the little distraction of the leaving cert they're meant to be studying for...

It was unfortunate that maybe they didn't have longer but to think of dropping one sport in case they go all the way in both is just ridiculous in the extreme! How often is it going to happen that a school has the opportunities afforded to them like this year?
    Its the price you pay for success! They came very close to doing the double - it will be a long while before another team comes that close again.

I suppose they had the 'misfortune' to be good enough to do both:rolleyes:

ShamoBuc wrote:
    It was unfortunate that maybe they didn't have longer but to think of dropping one sport in case they go all the way in both is just ridiculous in the extreme! How often is it going to happen that a school has the opportunities afforded to them like this year? Its the price you pay for success! They came very close to doing the double - it will be a long while before another team comes that close again.

ShamoBuc wrote:
    I suppose they had the 'misfortune' to be good enough to do both

What success??? They lost both Munster finals. And yes, while they came very close to doing the double that is ultimately what cost them in my view. I'm a hurling man first but would think that if they were focussing on one or other code their chances of success would improve hugely. And I don't think it will be that long before another team come that close again as a big number of this Rochestown group are eligible again next year. If the school decide to give equal focus to both they will be there or thereabouts in both. But in huge danger of coming up short again. I wonder how the players who lost two Munster finals this year would feel if they lost two more next year. It's too great a risk. Focus on one or risk being remembered for all the wrong reasons.

Success in measured in many ways, not just trophies. Concentrating on one code is putting all their eggs in one basket, what about the players that only play one code, tough?? Would going with one code have made a difference? Who knows!! Maybe the bond of playing and winning both codes got them to the finals in the first place.

'It's too great a risk to lose 2 finals again next year 'can be argued another way. You gotta lose 2 to win 2 !! I wonder how the players who lost 2 finals this year would feel in winning 2 finals next year???? Crystal balls would help of course !!

ShamoBuc wrote:
    Success in measured in many ways, not just trophies. Concentrating on one code is putting all their eggs in one basket, what about the players that only play one code, tough?? Would going with one code have made a difference? Who knows!! Maybe the bond of playing and winning both codes got them to the finals in the first place.

Yeah, was waiting for the "success is measured in many ways" argument to be rolled out. Tell that to the Roco players after the last 3 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

ShamoBuc wrote: »

'It's too great a risk to lose 2 finals again next year 'can be argued another way. You gotta lose 2 to win 2 !! I wonder how the players who lost 2 finals this year would feel in winning 2 finals next year???? Crystal balls would help of course !!

There year isn't over yet, there Simcox on thursday yet

Personally speaking harty loss was huge and I think it knocked spirit out of them they fought hard since cos that's all they know how to do but they were very flat in football finals

You can get a losing habit as well as a winnning one

Now way enough time between the matchs and no way could any team do it unless theres a huge panel I feared this happening all along

There a great bunch and came so close but history will show they won nothing in munster

IMO harty is the one to win and they won't do it next year either they choose one code

I wasnt at kilkenny game but heard those lads touch was way better than rochestown - Whatya expect with Rochestown dropping hurls every second week you just cantcompete with specialists - kingston Cormack Powter Cashman didn't feature to same extent as early R games - all those lads on cork panels as well and another 5 or 6 doing leaving cert, and involved with club at minor 21 - way too much going on to win a harty or corn Ui Mhuiri

Unbeleviable year for them but bubble well burst now and CCRI will be trying rub salt into wound Thursday night - I hope Rochestown have one last go in them

Yeah, was waiting for the "success is measured in many ways" argument to be rolled out. Tell that to the Roco players after the last 3 weeks.

You are clearly only interested in hurling and feel football was only a hindrance to them. I disagree. My old Alma Mater did the double ! Some of the teachers that taught me were on those teams. They will never forget those matches or the bond the team had, born out of both codes !!
    The lads came very close, losses in either final were not as a result of going so far in both. In truth, the drawn football final was the bridge too far, but either way ask those players which run in the competitions would they give up for ' the possible slenderest of differences - if any ' in winning the other??

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Lads what chance our u21s tomorrow night against Kerry....no doubt Ian Maguire is a huge loss.

Big loss but I reckon Cork will win. Some fine minor wins are the backbone of the team, used to beating Kerry aswell!

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    You are clearly only interested in hurling and feel football was only a hindrance to them. I disagree. My old Alma Mater did the double ! Some of the teachers that taught me were on those teams. They will never forget those matches or the bond the team had, born out of both codes !!
    The lads came very close, losses in either final were not as a result of going so far in both. In truth, the drawn football final was the bridge too far, but either way ask those players which run in the competitions would they give up for ' the possible slenderest of differences - if any ' in winning the other??

What year wasthat Shambuc, wasn't recent was it ?

ShamoBuc wrote:
    You are clearly only interested in hurling and feel football was only a hindrance to them. I disagree. My old Alma Mater did the double ! Some of the teachers that taught me were on those teams. They will never forget those matches or the bond the team had, born out of both codes !! The lads came very close, losses in either final were not as a result of going so far in both. In truth, the drawn football final was the bridge too far, but either way ask those players which run in the competitions would they give up for ' the possible slenderest of differences - if any ' in winning the other??

Your Alme Mater was either sullivans quay in '75 or chriost ri in '68. Either way it can't compare with 2015. Back then it probably required 3 games, 4 max to win either munster title. Roco played 7 harty games alone this year. A further 7 in corn ui mhuri. Throw in o'callaghan cup and simcox and they will have played 22 (yes 22) c'ship games this year. Too many me thinks. We'll have to agree to disagree. I just don't think both can be done in the modern era. By the way, while I said I was a hurling man I didn't express a view on which one they should focus on. My point is you can't do both. My preference if they did decide to focus would obviously be hurling.