Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

What year wasthat Shambuc, wasn't recent was it ?

God no...'75

Last year, I was talking to one of the players who became a teacher in the school later, he remembers it like it was yesterday. They stopped Brendan's doing the 4 in a row, something that was never done I believe until this year!

The best schools team I remember was the Críost Rí team of the mid to late 80's. They were nothing short of brilliance personified. 6 or 7 finals in a row I think - the backbone of the Nemo team of the 90's.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Your Alme Mater was either sullivans quay in '75 or chriost ri in '68. Either way it can't compare with 2015. Back then it probably required 3 games, 4 max to win either munster title. Roco played 7 harty games alone this year. A further 7 in corn ui mhuri. Throw in o'callaghan cup and simcox and they will have played 22 (yes 22) c'ship games this year. Too many me thinks. We'll have to agree to disagree. I just don't think both can be done in the modern era. By the way, while I said I was a hurling man I didn't express a view on which one they should focus on. My point is you can't do both. My preference if they did decide to focus would obviously be hurling.

I see you've been googling :pac:

Sullivan's Quay was the primary school, since closed. Coláiste Iognáid Rís is the name, otherwise known as Deerpark CBS.
    And yes, things have changed - kids are much fitter these days;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Deco99 wrote: »
    I'd be interested to see if Cuthbert and Co, learned a lesson from the Donegal game, in that they played first half against a strong wind and in second half with the wind Donncha was withdrawn having been ran into submission. Having been in Tyrone previously they'd know there is always a strong breeze in that pitch too, so were the workhorses wheeled out for the first half and fresh attacking forwards brought on to take advantage of the wind and tired legs? I'm hoping it didnt just pan out this way and that it was part of the plan to contain against the wind before going on the offence with it.

Actually, i may be open to correction on the Donegal game, i think they played against the wind first half anyway/

I'd imagine they have an overall game plan but obviously they can't predict the coin toss for wind advantage.

I'd imagine there's a plan within an overall plan for being both against wind and with it.

Let's be fair the management seem to have upped their game so far this season. We live in hope...we have the talent though something 95% of of teams don't have.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I see you've been googling :pac:

Sullivan's Quay was the primary school, since closed. Coláiste Iognáid Rís is the name, otherwise known as Deerpark CBS.
    And yes, things have changed - kids are much fitter these days;)

no offence but I'm sideing with commonscence on this one - i think those kids would choose a munster medal over none - great experien ce and all

Anyway movin on, good luck to 21s I hope we win well tonite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

commentary on 103fm tonight, best of luck to the u-21s

no offence but I'm sideing with commonscence on this one - i think those kids would choose a munster medal over none - great experien ce and all

Anyway movin on, good luck to 21s I hope we win well tonite

If a medal were Guaranteed, I might agree. But by the same token of reasoning, you have twice the chance of winning a medal, by getting to 2 finals - maybe even winning 2 !

About 30 gone cork lead by a point 1-4 v 1-2 , we were 1-2 to no score up after 7 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

rebelomar wrote: »
    I'd imagine they have an overall game plan but obviously they can't predict the coin toss for wind advantage.

I'd imagine there's a plan within an overall plan for being both against wind and with it.

Let's be fair the management seem to have upped their game so far this season. We live in hope...we have the talent though something 95% of of teams don't have.

Agree with you, what i am wondering is how in depth their planning goes? Mayo and Donegal, to my eyes anyway, last year had a game plan based on quarters almost, especially in croker where wind wouldnt be as much an issue.
    1st quarter - contain, let the other team attack and tire themselves a bit, dont commit too many forward,
    2nd quarter or maybe last 15 of first half, attack, backs have freedom to go upfield, create overlaps and get scores and a team that is lulled into a false sense of security.
    3rd Quarter - ATTACK - all out go for the kill at this stage, after half time is a great time to catch a team unawares.
    4th quarter - contain and hold onto the lead built up, give nothing away and have lots of bodies behind the ball, breaking down the other end when the opportunity presents to keep scoreboard ticking over.

It really seemed to me that both teams were tuned into when they were all defending and when they went to blitz the opposition. I'm sure most will agree that individually both teams havent the same talent as the other top tier sides but they really put in a good team performance together.

cork 1-8 Kerry 1-7 45min

feckin radio bingo, Jesus Christ!

Cork 1-10 Kerry 1-8 50min

1-11 to 1-9 into injury time

Winner!!!!!
    1-12 v1-09

1-12 to 1-9 FT. well done

Tipp 15 Clare 7 FT

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Well done to Sean Hayes and the lads a sweet sweet win ....make no mistake Sean Hayes won the sideline battle with yer man tonight the great Dara ....hopefully the injurys can clear up a little for the final Tipp will start as favourites .

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Huge win, certainly not the best squad over the last 5 years and missing Crowley and Maguire huge losses. Bigger test against tipp awaits but beating Kerry is certainly a good start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Well done to Sean Hayes and the lads a sweet sweet win ....make no mistake Sean Hayes won the sideline battle with yer man tonight the great Dara ....hopefully the injurys can clear up a little for the final Tipp will start as favourites .

I wouldn't hail him as too much of a genius for out- foxing Darragh.
    Even in Kerry we knew that he wasn't upto it- his team selection was very poor and tactics were non- existent.

Gary o Sullivan, who starts midfield for UCC can't even get a run but darraghs club mate who can't get near game time for UCC comes on!

The game was over as a contest once Savage was (incorrectly black carded)- to be honest all that kept us in the game was Corks poor shooting and it was a well deserved victory.

Good luck in the final- we'll catch ye next year!

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Even in Kerry we knew that he wasn't upto it- his team selection was very poor and tactics were non- existent.

Gary o Sullivan, who starts midfield for UCC can't even get a run but darraghs club mate who can't get near game time for UCC comes on!

The game was over as a contest once Savage was (incorrectly black carded)- to be honest all that kept us in the game was Corks poor shooting and it was a well deserved victory.

Theres always next year thank god, perhaps jack to move up to u21 next year for Kerry??
    Either way tonight despite perhaps the quality was an excellent win for a cork team missing a few vital players to injury. Don't know if Maguire will be back in 2 weeks, Crowley is absolutely crocked with injury unfortunately. Well done to all concerned

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Enterntaining game last night and good to beat kerry

taught alan o donovan done very well worked really hard and created the goal chances and kellehers first point. pity his last efford for a point went wide - serious hard worker

faded a bit in middle of game but started and finished very strong

no point haveing peter kellher in at 14 with no ball going in first half, he done well when he came out - fierce awkard looking but effective

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭pluszap

The Cork Senior Hurling team lines out as follows:1.  Anthony Nash (Kanturk)2.  Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)3.  Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)4.  Damien Cahalane

(St. Finbarr’s)5.  Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)6.  Mark Ellis (Millstreet)7.  Cormac Murphy (Mallow)8.  Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)9.  Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)10. Conor

Lehane (Midleton)11. Seamus Harnedy (St.Ita’s)12. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)14. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)15. Patrick Horgan (Glen

Rovers)
    Subs:16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)17. William Kearney (Sarsfields)18. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)19. Killian Burke (Midleton)20. Andy Walsh (Killeagh)21. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)22. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)23. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)24. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)25. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)26. Bill Cooper (Youghal)

strong team, thought JBM might rest a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Cian Mc has left the panel due to work commitments. Just posted on Cork GAA's twitter.

Best of luck to him. Must be very hard to give the commitment needed when you are on the fringes of the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Looks like it's going to be a very tight call between Luke O' Farrell and Paudie O' Sullivan for the no. 14 shirt all year. Will be a lot of pressure on the man in possession of the shirt to perform each game, with the other breathing heavily down his neck.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭wackokid

Why do you say 'incorrectly black carded'?
    Isn't that why they introduced the bloody thing, to stop the deliberate grounding of the player in possession. Savage and Kerry ( Weeshie) can have no complaints unless Kerry want their own rules again.

wackokid wrote: »
    Isn't that why they introduced the bloody thing, to stop the deliberate grounding of the player in possession. Savage and Kerry ( Weeshie) can have no complaints unless Kerry want their own rules again.

I would be of the opinion that he feels it wasnt "deliberate grounding of the player" therefore "incorrectly black carded" in the posters "opinion". No real need to have a pop after, plenty of time for that in July.

It wasnt a malicious or cynical tackle- the guy ducked into his challenge and made a meal out of it.
    The majority of fouls end up in a player being grounded- are they all black cards? Did you see it?

Kerry want their own rules again? Thats it, good man yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭wackokid

It wasnt a malicious or cynical tackle- the guy ducked into his challenge and made a meal out of it.
    The majority of fouls end up in a player being grounded- are they all black cards? Did you see it?

Kerry want their own rules again? That's it, good man yourself

FYI....The Gaelic Football Rule changes which become operative on 1st January 2014 are as follows.....there are 6 changes
    1...Introduction of a BLACK CARD for Cynical Behaviour Fouls and there are 5 of them fouls listed. We need only concern ourselves with No1 here.

1 Deliberately pull down an opponent.

Obviously the Rules people regard that as cynical behaviour no matter what the circumstances and we can argue all day and all night about the rights and wrongs of Savage's black card. The ref thought he deliberately pulled down an opponent, and I did too.
    Yes I was there and these things happen quickly etc. etc. and we are all colour blind in these matters.
    To answer you on Kerry's rules it's obvious that Kerry take scoring frees from the wrong and obviously more favourable positions and get away with it time after time. The seniors have it perfected and now the U21s are at it too. Several instances on Wed. night and the reaction of the Cork supporters tells it's own story.

FYI....The Gaelic Football Rule changes which become operative on 1st January 2014 are as follows.....there are 6 changes
    1...Introduction of a BLACK CARD for Cynical Behaviour Fouls and there are 5 of them fouls listed. We need only concern ourselves with No1 here.

Obviously the Rules people regard that as cynical behaviour no matter what the circumstances and we can argue all day and all night about the rights and wrongs of Savage's black card. The ref thought he deliberately pulled down an opponent, and I did too.
    Yes I was there and these things happen quickly etc. etc. and we are all colour blind in these matters.
    To answer you on Kerry's rules it's obvious that Kerry take scoring frees from the wrong and obviously more favourable positions and get away with it time after time. The seniors have it perfected and now the U21s are at it too. Several instances on Wed. night and the reaction of the Cork supporters tells it's own story.

Would you stop, you're making the rest of us look bad.

Have TG4 showed Cork hurlers live at all ? Apparently they're showing Clare v KK tomorrow when the Cork v Tipp game is really the game of the day. Very disappointing to those of us not living in Cork.

eigrod wrote: »
    Have TG4 showed Cork hurlers live at all ? Apparently they're showing Clare v KK tomorrow when the Cork v Tipp game is really the game of the day. Very disappointing to those of us not living in Cork.

TG4 no, but we have only played Galway and now Tipp on a Sunday. KK, Clare and Dublin games all on Saturday evenings

not just a Kerry thing, I have long argued that attempts at scoring from frees should be taken from the ground

Well thats exactly the point we are debating- I dont think it warranted a black card as he didnt set out to intentionally pull him to the ground- most fouls (as i stated before) end up with a guy being grounded but they arent all black cards and I really felt this one wasnt either. I dont think its a big conspiracy, just a poor decision and I felt sorry for the lad.

Cork were the better team with or without Savage and with better shooting would have had us out the gate at half time.

On the frees thing- I reckon (and hope) you're at the wind-up so I wont bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

TG4 no, but we have only played Galway and now Tipp on a Sunday. KK, Clare and Dublin games all on Saturday evenings

Have posted on another thread. The KK/CL game is practically meaningless - Cl need to win. TG4 should be showing Wd/Wx game. This is the only game with something at stake. In reality there's nothing at stake in Ck/Tp other than just bragging rights. Some might argue neither will want to show their full hand before the real fun starts. I'd be surprised if both don't win their their QFs so we'll see them in the semis in technicolour.

Very disappointing last 10 or 15 minutes, Tipp upped the play and it looked like we had no response. We just stopped playing after going 12 up. Daniel Kearney was Cork's best I thought. Callnan had Cahalane in all sorts of trouble but Damien not helped when management didn't try and switch him with someone else.

Good to see us go for goal and get them but not much use if we still mange to lose.

Wexford next should be an interesting test, toss for venue according to the radio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Still don't think Cahalane is an intercounty level full back. Never saw the appeal in him.

Don't mean to single him out but i would agree. We are kind of fecked with Joyce's injury though.

Hard to know what to think after that. Some excellent stuff but that last 15 minutes was horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Don't mean to single him out but i would agree. We are kind of fecked with Joyce's injury though.

Time for a new young fella to step up I'd say. Cahalane will continue to be a liability. It's the quality around him that has saved him in the past but if we're looking to win all irelands we need a proper reliable three.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭North Cork Star

Well we let that one behind us today. We were terrible in the last 15 minutes. As someone said earlier, once we went up the 12 points we didn't hurl at all and Tipp got totally on top of us. Daniel Kearney and Mark Ellis going off didn't help us either. A few players I felt were shown up today and need to up their games come championship.

Anthony Nash was solid and how did he make those saves. A leader.
    Shane O Neill did well but Bonner Maher caused him a spot of bother late on.
    Damien Cahalane started well but Callinan can be unmarkable at times as shown at times today. Lacks big time hurling wise.
    Stephen McDonnell did well and notably kept Bubbles quiet.
    Lorcan McLoughlin doing well again and nailing down a wing back spot for championship.
    Mark Ellis holding centre well. Hopefully injury not too serious.
    Cormac Murphy's hurled well but way too loose altogether. Noel McGrath had a field day as a result.
    Daniel Kearney again Mr. Consistent, hurling fierce well and fighting for the breaks also.
    Aidan Walsh got shown up at times hurling wise but in fairness got into it well and his direct running in great to see. Let's hope he sharpens up for the summer.
    Conor Lehane great to get the scores and delivered in every game scoring wise in the league but he went a hide in those crucial last 10 minutes.
    Seamus Harnedy with another brilliant performance at centre forward scoring 5 points and winning primary possession and making good runs too. He could have got the equaliser.
    Rob O Shea played well at times but still not convinced that he will be starting come the summer. Has the hurling but maybe impact sub he could be more effective at this moment in time.
    Alan Cadogan was lively but he is still green. His touch was off and his decision making was off but then again not many corner backs like marking him do if he can sharpen up he will do a job.
    Luke O Farrell was very quiet and found it hard to find possession. He was still making those runs but high balls coming into him only suited the defender. Paudie putting him under pressure for a place.
    Patrick Horgan should his full potential today I thought. We saw him getting the ball into his hand and taking on his man all the time which is encouraging. He had to work for the goals today and by God he took them well.
    Subs: Conor O Sullivan good hurler but let his man turn him twice today when we were under pressure.
    Bill Cooper didn't get much game time and needs to be hurling at pace as often as he can as he needs it.
    Paudie O' Sullivan is a great goal poacher. He is dangerous and fighting for a place in the forwards.
    Andy Walsh got involved around midfield. A pity he didn't get more game time throughout the league.
    Stephen Moylan also came on late on.

I saw Jamie Coughlan pucking around before the game so it is good to see him back also.

Wexford next week in the League Quarter Final!

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭homeofhurling

when was the last time cork lost a game with a 4 goal lead with 15 minutes left some come back from tipp.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭Steven81

when was the last time cork lost a game with a 4 goal lead with 15 minutes left some come back from tipp.

Lots of quotes in the uibhfhaili (offaly forum) website as to what happened to Cork today.
    http://www.uibhfhaili.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6850

Pity we didn't get one of the stronger teams in the quarter final :

Well done on that, Cork mustn't have fancied their chances against us.
    Fair point allstar2010. Id say its the draw both tipp and cork feared.. Little bit of a step up on antrim for our boys I would say.
    :D Just a little bit alright. Shur if we get a home draw might be a chance to try out a few young lads

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭homeofhurling

lads taking the piss i would say.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

the coin toss has been done and cork are at home v Wexford.

Should have enough to see them through to the semis even if the 3 lads are injured.
    The nature of the lack of fight or drive in the last 20mis was very disheartening. the subs coming on seemed to weaken the team instead of strengthening it. Why hasn't Jamie Caughlan seen more game time? Didn't he come on as a late sub v Galway?
    he never seems to shy away from the physical stuff and can score from distance, he might of done better than Moylan in the last few mins.

What do people think the team v wexford will be? if they going to keep playing calahane at FB then MacDonald could be worth a look at CB for this game since Ellis is out?

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭banger01

the coin toss has been done and cork are at home v Wexford.

What do people think the team v wexford will be? if they going to keep playing calahane at FB then MacDonald could be worth a look at CB for this game since Ellis is out?

Anthony Nash
    Shane O'N Damian C Conor OS
    Stephen McD Lorcan McL Cormac M
    Adian W Conor Lehane
    Jamie C Bill C Seamus H
    Paudi O'S Anothony S Luke O'F

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Eoin Cadogan proving to be massive loss for the hurlers with Joyce gone for the year. Best hurling club defender in Cork by a mile. Hard to know what they'll do for fullback. Probably stick McDonnell in there and cover your eyes at this stage.

A bit of a mirror image of the All Ire semi final the last day in the last quarter. Once Tipp defence upped the physical stakes, Harnedy aside, the other forwards were too physically weak to compete. Same old story. Aiden Walsh's physically and athleticism badly needed in the half forward line as well as midfield.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭seventh7

Eoin Cadogan proving to be massive loss for the hurlers with Joyce gone for the year. Best hurling club defender in Cork by a mile. Hard to know what they'll do for fullback. Probably stick McDonnell in there and cover your eyes at this stage.

A bit of a mirror image of the All Ire semi final the last day in the last quarter. Once Tipp defence upped the physical stakes, Harnedy aside, the other forwards were too physically weak to compete. Same old story. Aiden Walsh's physically and athleticism badly needed in the half forward line as well as midfield.

Truest post on the thread, simply put and on the money. We have lovely wristy forwards bright as buttons and mobile to a fault apart from Harnedy they are light and when it gets physical they go missing. Once the possesion is lost in an intercounty game the first line of defence has to be the forwards pressing the ball. Watch Kilkenny they have made it an art form. If we persist with this type of hurling we will get exactly what we deserve, not a lot. Joyce is a huge loss he has potential and was looking very comfortable in the full back slot. He aslo plays with an edge to his game which one would expect from a Na Parsaigh player. Given the calibre of player in Cork we will always be competitive, getting back to the top of the pile where we belong that will be another story. Unless we change the mindset a little and start looking for the Bonnar Mahers and the Richie Hogans in the cork hurling squads then a return to past glories may be nothing but a pipe dream.

banger01 wrote: »
    Anthony Nash
    Adian W Conor Lehane
    Jamie C Bill C Seamus H

I cant see them playing Lehane midfield, its too important and he can be so hot and cold at times. he doesn't have the same fight as Kearny. I think they will put O'shea in there as any game he started/came on he was playing in the middle anyway. Id like to see Jamie Caughlan get a run either midfield or on the wing. Its a great chance for a couple of players to stake a claim on a jersey. these injuries will tell us a lot more about the bench and who could make it and who's not up to the required standard.

Have to agree with the second paragraph, but I think Cadogan proved consistently when he played for Cork first time round that he was a liability in full back.

I don't like McDonnell in there either, he's a terrific corner back not a full back but I'd have a lot more faith in him. It also fits Conor O'Sullivan into the team which is handy against the likes of Waterford who don't play 3 in the full forward line as he's a fantastic sweeper.

Figsy32 wrote: »
    Have to agree with the second paragraph, but I think Cadogan proved consistently when he played for Cork first time round that he was a liability in full back.

I don't like McDonnell in there either, he's a terrific corner back not a full back but I'd have a lot more faith in him. It also fits Conor O'Sullivan into the team which is handy against the likes of Waterford who don't play 3 in the full forward line as he's a fantastic sweeper.

I think MacDonad is the best option for FB now. if Wexford start their own Macdonald FF he would be a handful for any FB and I think Stephen MacD would be best suited to him. fast, intelligent, better in the air and better stick man than Calahane. Podge Doran is likely to be corner forward for wexford too, although his hurling isn't top class he would have a serious height advantage over, conor o Sullivan who could struggle with high ball on top of him. because of that I think JBM will persist with Calahane.

its looking like Daniel Kearny is in a race to be fit for Sunday but Ellis and Cads are ruled out.

Anthony Nash
    Adian W Conor Lehane
    Jamie C Bill C Seamus H

No Horgan ? Can't see that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Anthony Nash