Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking to get an iOS Dev job

Options
  • 16-10-2014 1:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4

Hi guys,

I want to make a switch to developing apps for iOS devices, and later other platforms. Anyone got any advice?

I have a few small apps on the App Store that I am updating as I complete several online courses but all job postings are looking for seasoned professionals with a minimum of 3 years experience.

I've got two years support and operations experience which unfortunately didn't involve any development work so my knowledge comes from what I teach myself.

Can anyone suggest a list of companies in Ireland that develop for iOS. I'm applying directly to different companies but I may have missed a few. I don't care what part of the country they are located in, I'm more interested in the opportunity.

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 21,256 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

There are a few directories of app development agencies in Ireland, but those lists wouldn't take into account the companies who develop their own apps that they release themselves (e.g. a companion app for an existing product they develop), or even companies who develop apps for their own staff to use.

Anyway - build up your portfolio and have free, fully functional apps available on the iTunes store that anyone looking at your CV can play around with. Write a blog that describes each app - the problem it's solving, the functionality, libraries used and all that stuff.