Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pulling a trailer, part time jeep?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Sometimes a big engine taking it handy can be every bit as economical as a small engine under pressure.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,483 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

greysides wrote: »
    Sometimes a big engine taking it handy can be every bit as economical as a small engine under pressure.
    ha, you must be listening to my oh, he does 55mph max in his lorry....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

whelan2 wrote: »

It's more a case of the bigger engine does the same work easier and therefore easier on juice. :)

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭smokey-fitz

greysides wrote: »

True.. I had a 4ltr 6 cyl petrol ford when in oz and wasnt bad at all on juice. Around 25mpg and that was mostly city driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

That's because he is hitting the speed limiter......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,483 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    That's because he is hitting the speed limiter......:D
    ah i'm not that thick, he's always saying there's lads flying past him and sure they all meet at the next traffic lights, no point bulling along

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

ah i'm not that thick, he's always saying there's lads flying past him and sure they all meet at the next traffic lights, no point bulling along

He's correct too. I often see that on the N59 between Clifden and Galway, drivers doing stupid overtaking and tailgating yet they're nearly always in view when you reach the traffic lights in Newcastle in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

AP2014 wrote: »
    Rightly so, no need for cowboys like this to be putting innocent road users lives at risk.

in fairness id say he probably couldn't top 5 or 10 mph in a seat inca with that load behind him:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,572 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Con, think carefully about buying a jeep as they cost a few quid to run.
    Example - I have a 98 Pajero 2.8. Occasionally I do runs for OH picking up calves with his trailer. I think it is 10'x5' Ifor Williams with decks. The Pajero does 16mpg pulling the trailer with FR calves onboard.
    Without the trailer it does about 24mpg on a long run i.e. Longford to Dublin.
    I parked it up in the yard a few months ago and signed it "off the road" for road tax. I bought a cheap 02 Ford courier van as a run around and it is doing 59mpg :). I will put the Pajero back on the road if the weather turns bad during the winter.
    If your insurance company is prepared to insure you driving a "crew cab" and you inform them that the vehicle is used both for farming and pleasure purposes (which FBD covers on its "Farmers Policy") then as far as I know, if stopped by the Garda you could receive a FCPN but you could dispute same in court once you can prove your insurance is in order.

Someone mentioned doing the "C" licence. I did my C theory test earlier this year and passed first time. As some of ye know, I am no spring chicken. I do have the benefit of been able to drive OH's lorry and getting plenty of practice in while accompanied by him.
    I hope to do the driving test next summer but have already been advised to do a few driving lessons with a driving school to familiarise myself with the test route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

He's correct too. I often see that on the N59 between Clifden and Galway, drivers doing stupid overtaking and tailgating yet they're nearly always in view when you reach the traffic lights in Newcastle in the city.

I've done that trip a fair bit over the last couple of months and had a fair few brown trouser moments . The continuous white line means nothing to some lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Has anyone on here done a test for a rigid truck? I'm getting an awful lot of work hauling cattle with the jeep and box lately and had half a notion of trying to get a truck licence, might not be used for a few years or maybe ever but I'm fairly young all the time and probably find it easier to do the test now than in a few years time. Is there much more to it than the car test?

If you picked up another few runs , a small truck might pay you . Could be lighter on juice than the jeep and trailer too . A mate of mine got a merc truck a couple of years ago , I think the body is about 18' , he reckons it is going on way less diesel than the jeep and trailer was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

What about these yokes? Supposed to be very good off road. Not sure how they are for towing but 390 tax.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/land-rover-range-rover-evoque-range-evo/7813969

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

Pacoa wrote: »
    What about these yokes? Supposed to be very good off road. Not sure how they are for towing but 390 tax.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/land-rover-range-rover-evoque-range-evo/7813969

Cheaper tax for someone who can afford a new car is a fcuking joke :angry: . They use the roads as much as someone with a 10 year old car....

It's all based on co2 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

It's all based on co2 now.

It's still unfair though as some of the older cars have the same co2 emissions as post 2008 but hey this is Ireland, we'll soon be paying through the nose for sewer water in places lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

kay 9 wrote: »
    It's still unfair though as some of the older cars have the same co2 emissions as post 2008 but hey this is Ireland, we'll soon be paying through the nose for sewer water in places lol

+100 on thus. The person who had the foresight to buy a greener car in 2007 or earlier is punished while their richer newly green neighbour gets to tax his BMW 325 for half the price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Farrell wrote: »
    once you've a herd number or vat number you can register as commercial.
    Would a caddy not be sufficient for the weight your pulling

To get commercial tax now if farming you need a tax clearance cert as a sole trader. Herd Number will suffice no longer.

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Jeep, end of story.... On my fourth Landcruiser , almost live in it, go anywhere, do anything machine.
    Mine would be like a dog kennel inside, rarely washed but not thrashed and properly serviced so I can honestly say I have never had one bit of trouble with any of them.
    To me a van would be as much use as a one legged man at an arse kicking contest, no grip no ground clearance ..my place is sloping, if I see trouble up the fields I can be up the top in a jiffy.
    I think it's interesting to look around the car park in the local mart, 98% trailers have a jeep in front...says it all IMHO...

It is all down to economics. Running a jeep such as a LC day to day if doing average milage will cost you over 100/week on fuel. You really need to have use for them. Loads of lads that have Jeeps are starting to have run arounds as well if doing any milage,

Con it may be practical to buy one between youself and father however they can costs. CVRT will be 150/year( odd repeat), tax 333 insurance less than 500 maybe as low as 350. There are some insurers that will insure vans and jeeps as discounted prices if you have a car on the road as well. However maitenance and diesel are the killer. If anything needs to be done to it you will be parting with 500 euro a lot of the time. Tyres etc are not cheap either.

However if you are happy with a suv that is legal at 2 tons it open up Hyundai santa Fe, Toyota Rav etc. Often car ones of these can be picked up handy at 10+ years old with little done. Another option is a VW transporter van 4WD rated to pull over 2 ton.

A VW caddy might be an option older ones are rated to pull 1.6 ton's a bit low some may be higher look at load rating at door. Berlingo's are greaty pullers however low rating 1.15 tons and axle will go fairy fast.

If you go to the UK uoy may come across a 2008 Ford Kuga these are rated to pull 2 ton and do 40MPG running around without a trailer. Not sure of there tax but not hugely expensive I think. However again these are syncro based like Santa Fe and VW transporter.

I usually use fellas that haul.Haulage costs me about 700/year for cattle and I have a berlingo for running around for ration etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Pudsey, I'd like to highlight the relevant parts of your thread but unfortunately too stupid..:o just to say I registered the new jeep last Tuesday , filled out form RF111A in garda station with herd number and presented it at tax office, absolutely no problem and to be sure to be sure I pointed out to the girl that it was a herd number and she said perfectly acceptable once you enter your profession as a framer..
    Yes, it's all about economies and what your prepared to live with, I'm getting 28-30mpg a good bit less towing..sometimes it costs an arm and a leg and for that again I'd go weeks without visiting the pumps. All I can say I wouldn't be without a jeep of some description..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

rangler1 wrote: »
    If you're covered, why should it matter whether you lose or not, they're covering farmers and telling them to do the test......do you think every farmer pulling a trailer has a trailer license

I wonder are they aware they're risking their farm if they haven't organised insurance:eek:

What is the point paying out for insurance if its found invalid because you dont have a licence, if people are pulling double axle or tri axle boxes with cars, vans or 4x4s and over the weight and have no licence then they are responsible for their actions.
    Laws are there whether we like them or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I have a transporter here and could still do with a jeep now and then, they aren't a cheap van to buy but they can pull a decent load. The 4 wheel drive ( t30s) have far too soft of a clutch for heavy towing and at 180 brake you'll be tempted to let them on a bit so pulls the clutch aswell. An old land cruiser is the pick of the jeeps but aren't there to be picked up handy. I know a lot of lads that have the 3 litre isuzus for dog work and they seem to be happy but it wouldn't really suit as a run-around.

epfff wrote: »
    Overpaying your haulier now seems cheep imo

You're not wrong.

Question, with the vintage, or classic or whatever it's called, how many miles/km per year can a person do? What age does the veeee hik illl need to be?

Additional question how would one know what they were rated to pull, legally, if at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Farmer wrote: »

"Family forces sale"

That or they commit him to an institution :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Pudsey, I'd like to highlight the relevant parts of your thread but unfortunately too stupid..:o just to say I registered the new jeep last Tuesday , filled out form RF111A in garda station with herd number and presented it at tax office, absolutely no problem and to be sure to be sure I pointed out to the girl that it was a herd number and she said perfectly acceptable once you enter your profession as a framer..
    Yes, it's all about economies and what your prepared to live with, I'm getting 28-30mpg a good bit less towing..sometimes it costs an arm and a leg and for that again I'd go weeks without visiting the pumps. All I can say I wouldn't be without a jeep of some description..

Last 2 time I did it tax office for a commercial vehicule going into my name insisted a tax clearance cert as a sole trader. Herd No was no good. A heavy jeep is ok of low milage but if you are doing 400 kilometre/week about 250 miles that 60 yoyo/week and no towing. If you are doing a bit of milage then maintenance costs climb. The fuel alone could cost you 25/week.

You really only need a LC if you are pulling a 12' box and it is only barely legal. It amazing the amount that are on about a van being over the limit towing and forget that a 12' box with 6X650kg bullocks is over the limit before you count the weight of box at all.

Most jeeps are lifestyle choices. Then lads complain they are losing money at farming. But then I am stupid.

have four landcruisers here, 2 pajeros, l200, santa fe, Hyundai Tucson

pajeros are ok but only the ones older than 1998

the landcruisers are exceptional, have old and new model and have to say the last of the old shape as in the 2002 and older jeeps are the best ever made,
    drive one myself day In day out and cannot fault it, will tow almost anything and is comfortable on the road. have a 1999 with 340000 hard miles up, the other 2 have about 150000 up and the new model has just under 100000 up.

the new model landcruiser is good too, just not as good as the old one

never liked troopers, they a bit boaty on the road, some of them are hard started. lads take the engines out of the dmax crewcabs and put them into troopers

landcruiser gets full votes here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭arctictree

I pull an 8x4 sheep trailer with an 05 SWB landcruiser on a B licence. From reading the regulations I think I am OK if the combined weight is under 3500 kgs. Am I legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

arctictree wrote: »
    I pull an 8x4 sheep trailer with an 05 SWB landcruiser on a B licence. From reading the regulations I think I am OK if the combined weight is under 3500 kgs. Am I legal?

I'd be inclined to say no, not really..

What is the design gross laden weight of the cruiser ? Probably 2100-2200 kg
    Then an 8x4 twin axle trailer will most probably be plated for min 1500kg

So your total design gross laden weight of the combination is most likely exceeding your 3500kg..
    Its the designed gross vehicle weight, not the actual gross vehicle weight that is counted.

Most likely under the bonnet of the jeep there is a stamped plate with your designed gross laden weight.. As for the trailer, if its a brand name then the company will be able to supply you with its design weight, if its home made then id imagine your into a grey area at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

have four landcruisers here, 2 pajeros, l200, santa fe, Hyundai Tucson

pajeros are ok but only the ones older than 1998

the landcruisers are exceptional, have old and new model and have to say the last of the old shape as in the 2002 and older jeeps are the best ever made,
    drive one myself day In day out and cannot fault it, will tow almost anything and is comfortable on the road. have a 1999 with 340000 hard miles up, the other 2 have about 150000 up and the new model has just under 100000 up.

the new model landcruiser is good too, just not as good as the old one

never liked troopers, they a bit boaty on the road, some of them are hard started. lads take the engines out of the dmax crewcabs and put them into troopers

landcruiser gets full votes here
    Why so many 4x4s? Just curious. :). Have a 2005 3.2 auto pajero here myself and can't fault it tbh. I use it primarily for tools but it also pulls well when I need to do so. The dmfs are a nightmare in the manuals though. Them pre 98 ones were great machines.

kay 9 wrote: »
    Why so many 4x4s? Just curious. :). Have a 2005 3.2 auto pajero here myself and can't fault it tbh. I use it primarily for tools but it also pulls well when I need to do so. The dmfs are a nightmare in the manuals though. Them pre 98 ones were great machines.

building and civil contracting, the newer jeeps are focked already, landcruisers still in good fettle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

In my opinion the toyota landcruiser must be the best farmers jeep on the road. They just go and go forever. Down side it as with all jeeps the diesel doesn't go very far.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

In my opinion the toyota landcruiser must be the best farmers jeep on the road. They just go and go forever. Down side it as with all jeeps the diesel doesn't go very far.

The cruiser is a good jeep but does have its problems, newer ones with injectors and other electrical sensors.
    The older ones then gave gearbox and transfer box trouble, other than that they were reliable but a plain jane jeep.

Maybe, I'm not saying their perfect but it's hard to beat them. we've got one and even after 10 years she still drives well and doesn't have rattles, feels tight. The clutch was replaced at stage , but other then that their a good reliable workhorse.

The cruiser is a good jeep but does have its problems, newer ones with injectors and other electrical sensors.
    The older ones then gave gearbox and transfer box trouble, other than that they were reliable but a plain jane jeep.

my mechanic reckons its lack of proper oil and servicing that lets them down

most lads think a service is change oil filter fuel filter and oil and bobs your uncle

but you need to change gear oil, oil in axles, 5w30 oil in engine and fuel and air filters and some other vitals

and lads using 10w40 oil of the cheapest of the cheap deserve to learn the hard way as its asking for trouble

all jeeps full service every 5-7 thousand miles, the benefits show in the fuel consumption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Miname wrote: »
    I have a transporter here and could still do with a jeep now and then, they aren't a cheap van to buy but they can pull a decent load. The 4 wheel drive ( t30s) have far too soft of a clutch for heavy towing and at 180 brake you'll be tempted to let them on a bit so pulls the clutch aswell. An old land cruiser is the pick of the jeeps but aren't there to be picked up handy. I know a lot of lads that have the 3 litre isuzus for dog work and they seem to be happy but it wouldn't really suit as a run-around.

Had a red di 4 motion for a while, lovely machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Last 2 time I did it tax office for a commercial vehicule going into my name insisted a tax clearance cert as a sole trader. Herd No was no good. A heavy jeep is ok of low milage but if you are doing 400 kilometre/week about 250 miles that 60 yoyo/week and no towing. If you are doing a bit of milage then maintenance costs climb. The fuel alone could cost you 25/week.

You really only need a LC if you are pulling a 12' box and it is only barely legal. It amazing the amount that are on about a van being over the limit towing and forget that a 12' box with 6X650kg bullocks is over the limit before you count the weight of box at all.

Most jeeps are lifestyle choices. Then lads complain they are losing money at farming. But then I am stupid.

Think the 12 ft ifor williams is about 1150 kgs empty(thats with decks) and the 3 axle 14ft. is about 1450 kgs empty(also including decks).
    Land cruiser is rated to pull 3 ton whilst the lwb pajero,discovery and trooper are rated for 3.5 ton. Think the gross train weight is about 5.5 ton for the landcruiser.
    No factory made trailer as far as I know is plated for more than 3.5 ton.Some of the plant trailers are only plated to 2.7 ton.

Have a diesel guzzler here and will admit to using 50 to 80 a week in white wine but then its prob. hauling 4 or 5 days a week including across fields.
    28mpg on motorway driving and 15mpg or a little better with a fully loaded trailer.That said couldn't really do without it as would be quiet difficult to move sheep with a van,plus tractor ,even with 40k box,would take forever to haul to factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭The Letheram

Loads of lads here writing off crew cabs very quick. Have a d-max here with 338k kms on her. She has given me nothing but her best every day and I have not returned the love to her. She does around 33 mpg driven handy and about 16mpg with a fully loaded 12 x 6 IW trailer behind her.
    She is a bit hoppy on the road ut if I ever manage to kill her before she kills me I will be backfor another instantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

my mechanic reckons its lack of proper oil and servicing that lets them down

most lads think a service is change oil filter fuel filter and oil and bobs your uncle

but you need to change gear oil, oil in axles, 5w30 oil in engine and fuel and air filters and some other vitals

and lads using 10w40 oil of the cheapest of the cheap deserve to learn the hard way as its asking for trouble

all jeeps full service every 5-7 thousand miles, the benefits show in the fuel consumption

+1 most turbo issues in newer cars or jeeps are from using oil that isn't good annof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭skoger

arctictree wrote: »

No, definitely not. It doesn't matter what the vehicle can pull, if you only have a B licence the max you can tow (combined) is 750kgs. If you get your EB licence you can pull up to 3500kgs assuming vehicle is rated to that weight.

skoger wrote: »
    No, definitely not. It doesn't matter what the vehicle can pull, if you only have a B licence the max you can tow (combined) is 750kgs. If you get your EB licence you can pull up to 3500kgs assuming vehicle is rated to that weight.

Close but not completely right.
    You can pull a trailer above 750kg providing the combined design weight doesn't cross 3500kg.

My tow vehicle is designed to 2000kg, I regularly pull our single axle breaked caravan with a designed gross weight of 1440kg giving a combined design gross vehicle weight of 3440kg.

_Brian wrote: »
    You can pull a trailer above 750kg providing the combined design weight doesn't cross 3500kg.

My tow vehicle is designed to 2000kg, I regularly pull our single axle breaked caravan with a designed gross weight of 1440kg giving a combined design gross vehicle weight of 3440kg.

That's correct. Only thing is your restricted to a single axel trailer. The minute you go to a double axel trailer your over the limit. Cannt do much livestock towing on a single axel, as their usually about 7x4 max. I looked into every way of getting around test such as seeing could I get twin axel trailers re plated etc, and staying under weights.in the end it's easier just to do the test and have peace of mind.

Agree.
    I just play the odds now.

Use the single axle trailer as much as possible. Carries a bulk bag of meal no problems.

I do pull the 8x5 twin Westwood but keep it to a minimum. Same for builders trailer.

I only know of three lads stopped with trailer. One had twin wheel behind an inca which wasn't fit to stop it, the other two had huge tri axle trailers loaded to the knackers, and one of those lads drives like he's stolen the whole rig, draws cattle into the mart for others ,he was singled out at local mart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Cran

Agree.
    I just play the odds now.

Use the single axle trailer as much as possible. Carries a bulk bag of meal no problems.

I do pull the 8x5 twin Westwood but keep it to a minimum. Same for builders trailer.

I only know of three lads stopped with trailer. One had twin wheel behind an inca which wasn't fit to stop it, the other two had huge tri axle trailers loaded to the knackers, and one of those lads drives like he's stolen the whole rig, draws cattle into the mart for others ,he was singled out at local mart.

I got stopped about 5 years ago, got the test since great piece of mind and not much to it and tester was a sound fella (was before recent changes though such as lesson requirements etc)
    Was told at the time by the Gardii have at least a provisional it shows an attempt. I'm always amazed how few people have towing licence yet lads still fly down the motorway with 3 axle full of cattle.....

Reasonably Low risk of getting pulled by guards for no licence. However if you had an accident and didn't have a licence, that's when the crap would hit the fan. It's easier to get the licence and have peace of mind.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/driver_licensing/categories_of_motor_vehicles_and_minimum_age_of_drivers_in_ireland.html

Vehicles with seats for a maximum of 8 passengers and a maximum weight of 3,500kg (can tow a trailer where the maximum weight of the trailer when fully loaded is 750kg or less)

skoger wrote: »

Yes. That is specifically for vehicles where the design laden weight is 3500kg.
    But if the design laden weight is 2000kg, it allows for a trailer with DGVW of 1500kg.

Anyone gaining their first b licence after jan 13, is restricted to 750kg.those who had a licence before that can go above 750kg. Those who had a b licence before 1992 automatically have a EB licence thrown in. With recent posts,it demonstrates the confusion out there around licences. Can you imagine debating the issues with a cop at the side of the road ? Even if your in the right ? It was twisting my brain, so I begrudgingly went and got the test. Life's too short !!!

Yes. That is specifically for vehicles where the design laden weight is 3500kg.
    But if the design laden weight is 2000kg, it allows for a trailer with DGVW 1500kg.

I was going to argue with you but I just found this pdf on the RSA website.
    Anyone gaining their first b licence after jan 13, is restricted to 750kg.those who had a licence before that can go above 750kg. Those who had a b licence before 1992 automatically have a EB licence thrown in. With recent posts,it demonstrates the confusion out there around licences. Can you imagine debating the issues with a cop at the side of the road ? Even if your in the right ? It was twisting my brain, so I begrudgingly went and got the test. Life's too short !!!

The whole thing just makes you want to say fcuk it and tow anything and everything until you get stopped

One of these with a big cattle trailer on the back and no eb licence required. Sorted.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=4cPSsP256ww

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,572 ✭✭✭✭Base price

One of these with a big cattle trailer on the back and no eb licence required. Sorted.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=4cPSsP256ww
    How much is the road tax on that bit of kit??