Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, not getting a male pup or a collie for my next dog was a *great* success!

• 22-10-2014 8:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭

Here is Un-named Puppy. Formerly going by Joey in his foster home, we're still trying to think of a name that suits this absolute nutcase.

d183b184-6877-4d38-8807-bd1f925491f9.jpg

Few questions, for all that I claim to know on here, I feel like a new parent again :P
    First, he's three months old - how long should he be able to hold it? He went from 12 last night till 7.30 this morning (I did get up at 3am to take him out but he was *literally* out cold).
    Second, any tips for better introducing himself and my foster girl, Lindy? She had seemed to be so good with other dogs, but for some odd reason she doesn't seem to like this lad much. Not gone to fighting yet, but she does growl in certain instances when he gets too close to her and has snapped twice when he ran past her. We've made sure to give Lindy space for peace and quiet from him but don't want her totally stressed out by him in her final weeks here :o
    Lastly, how long can his walks be? 15 mins for 3 months, is that right? And can I do that twice a day or should it only be once?

We've been playing with Socks, Steve and Beans at the minute for names, but I'm sure more will come to us :pac:

c0e4c5e0-68a4-4104-898c-4493ed0b8d1e.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

ahhhh he is just gorgeous! his adorable face just made my day brighter ;)

5 mins for each month he is alive so yeah 15 mins should be ok for now.

Hes great to be able to hold it that long at 3 months, my sisters cocker was the same (luckily for her).

with regard to the two dogs getting along, give it time, pups can be very annoying for adult / older dogs. I know my cocker (who's 9.5) can only tolerate my sisters cocker (6 months) for a limited time, then we keep them apart, they are in the same room etc but we stop the puppy for jumping up on him etc... so try little meetings and often give them time to adjust to eachother.

Best of luck with your new beauty :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

cocker5 wrote: »
    ahhhh he is just gorgeous! his adorable face just made my day brighter ;)

5 mins for each month he is alive so yeah 15 mins should be ok for now.

Hes great to be able to hold it that long at 3 months, my sisters cocker was the same (luckily for her).

with regard to the two dogs getting along, give it time, pups can be very annoying for adult / older dogs. I know my cocker (who's 9.5) can only tolerate my sisters cocker (6 months) for a limited time, then we keep them apart, they are in the same room etc but we stop the puppy for jumping up on him etc... so try little meetings and often give them time to adjust to eachother.

Best of luck with your new beauty :)

When she told us he was housetrained, I was really skeptical but not one accident in 24 hours. Granted I am letting him out every 20 minutes while I'm awake just to be sure! :o
    Yeah I don't think its an inherent dislike of him, because sometimes she will touch noses with him and there is tailwagging - we usually tell her she is good and pet her for this (firstly to distract her and secondly to reward her). Only seems to be when he startles her or gets too close when she is resting on the armchair :p

I'm so in love with him, and I was so worried that he would be too much like Shadow and I would regret it, but I've burst into tears a few times from utter joy :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Bailey was the same with Lucy for a few weeks - wouldn't let her near him. Although she did try to get milk off him the first day which made matters worse lol!! :p When I was training her I'd treat him for sitting beside us so he got a bit more comfortable around her that way. One day she went behind the shed when he was distracted and once he realised she was missing he started looking for her, then got zoomies when she appeared again - after that they started to play together every day :pac:

tk123 wrote: »
    Bailey was the same with Lucy for a few weeks - wouldn't let her near him. Although she did try to get milk off him the first day which made matters worse lol!! :p When I was training her I'd treat him for sitting beside us so he got a bit more comfortable around her that way. One day she went behind the shed when he was distracted and once he realised she was missing he started looking for her, then got zoomies when she appeared again - after that they started to play together every day :pac:

Well he's learned to keep his distance funny enough - lying on the floor chewing a massive rawhide thing and Lindy is chilling on the armchair - tolerance is all I ask for :p
    He's going to meet the in-laws family dog on Sunday (who absolutely ADORES other dogs) so I'm looking forward to that! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I was at a training thing just before we got Lucy and the trainer/behaviourist (Nicole Wilde) told us the best thing you can do for your pup is get it around an adult female - to teach it some manners. My friend has a 9 year female retriever and was delighted to have the pup in her house for play dates lol!! Poppy (the dog) was NOT impressed with this imposter running wild around the house lol! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭iPink

OMG he is just so gorgeous!! I LOVE collies & collie crosses... he looks so like my Buddy it brought years to my eyes to see him... Buddy is still alive by the way, I just love him to bits lol

He will be a bit mental for the first year or so but bear with him :)
    wow that's brilliant that he goes tyre while night without any accidents!! I remember reading somewhere that toy sould expect them to hold it for 1 hour for each month approx. so that it really good!!

love him, you are so lucky (& so is he by the sounds of it!) :)

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭iPink

tears not years... brought tears to my eyes lol
    not sure why the middle bit ended up in quotes either! !

It's been 11 years since I had to deal with a collie pup, amazing how I convinced myself that Shadow was never that much of a lunatic (neighbours once had to call to my mothers to tell us that Shadow was stuck halfway up the local grounds football goal, tangled in the net after he escaped to chase a cat, so I have no idea why I thought he was smart :pac: )

Currently doing laps of the house and back garden, seems to be getting a kick out of sliding across the kitchen floor with wet paws.
    Whoever said that collies were smart dogs were obviously comparing their intelligence to a newt :o

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,281 Mod ✭✭✭✭angeldaisy

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    It's been 11 years since I had to deal with a collie pup, amazing how I convinced myself that Shadow was never that much of a lunatic (neighbours once had to call to my mothers to tell us that Shadow was stuck halfway up the local grounds football goal, tangled in the net after he escaped to chase a cat, so I have no idea why I thought he was smart :pac: )

Currently doing laps of the house and back garden, seems to be getting a kick out of sliding across the kitchen floor with wet paws.
    Whoever said that collies were smart dogs were obviously comparing their intelligence to a newt :o

Sha Sha, i'm in exactly the same boat as you, just a couple of months in front. Your pup is the spit of Elly. I have to say you are in for a fun, tough, crazy time ahead, if he is anything like Elly!

She is nuts, she sleeps from around 11.30 to 7am ish in her crate no problems. We are having huge problems toilet training her though, she was 4 months when we got her and I don't think she ever lived in a house before. so she wees and poos wherever she wants! this is improving but very very slowly.

This morning, in between letting her out to do her wees and me getting up to get their food ready before letting them in, she dug her way out of the fence, managed to shock herself on the wire for the cattle. I could hear her squeals from inside the house! I only left them for max 10 mins, and a perimeter check is done regularly!!

Good luck - you'll need it!! but when she cuddles up next to me on the couch and gives kisses - its worth all the trouble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

He is absolutely georgous!!!! I am the biggest collie fan, actually I dont think I could live without a collie in my life! Ive never had one from puppyhood though, always older rescues, best of luck with puppy energy you'll be very busy:-)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Sweet jehovah, would you look at the cuteness :o
    I can see why you're in love with him shasha, he's a handsome chap!
    No harm at all Lindy giving him the odd warning, he needs to experience these things in a not-too-threatening way, and to continue to do so regularly for the next few months. As you know, early exposure to other dogs of different shapes and sizes is really important, but people tend to underestimate the importance of continuing the socialising skills well beyond puppyhood, it's in the year after the vital foundations are laid down when dogs really get down to the nitty-gritty of learning how to communicate with other dogs :)
    Also, noise. This will be easy in a home with a baby, but start to make sudden quiet crashes (lol... Quiet crashes indeed!), and gradually make them louder. Also traffic, fireworks, gunshot, make it all fun and lighthearted! There may be a bit of an inherited tendency in collies to develop noise sensitivity, but this can be offset now, whilst he's still a pup :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

He is goooooorgeous!!!

Please call him Steve, I always think dogs should have proper names anyway and Steve really suits him (or Dave?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

Tranceypoo wrote: »
    He is goooooorgeous!!!

Please call him Steve, I always think dogs should have proper names anyway and Steve really suits him (or Dave?)

Steve is deadly... or Murphy would be cool too :)

Kenneth !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭SingItOut

He is so cute! Collie puppies are the cutest, boldest little things! I'm a first time collie crossbreed mammy so I don't have to much advice to give :D you're really lucky that he's so well house trained, Alli was 5 months old when we got her in January and it's only in the last two months that she's holding it in. She never pooed inside thank god!

She has so much energy! She goes for two hour long runs per day and she's still ready to go straight away when she gets home! I have to agree with what you said about collies not being the brightest, Alli currently has an on going barking and paw slapping "battle" with the Halloween pumpkin at the door, she manages to trip over at least 5 times a day, just now she was getting into her bed and tripped over the side into it :pac:

Also Steve is such a cool name! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I have a Vince and have just taken a dog back in called Doug. He was called Bolt before he was adopted 4 years ago, I can't get my head around Doug at all.

13926ce2-34c3-47b8-9777-5bcaa0a573c2.jpg

20 minute walk (given I walked slower with the buggy) and little Mister is all tuckered out!
    Two main things I've learned today that we will need to address - how to combat food aggression with other dogs and how to stop him jumping on people when we are out for a walk? He's given Lindy a growl when she approached him while he was eating, even though she didn't touch his food. The girl who was fostering him said he had been around other dogs (I know her personally so I know the dogs in question) and she has no dogs of her own so I'm not sure where he's picked this up. The jumping I know is normal and I'm working on sit and lie down at the minute so reckoning when he has that fully we'll get somewhere :)

Well, not sure how it happened, but we just stumbled upon his name - Opie :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Steve is great. I also like Kevin or Trevor. I love 'ironic' names!

Ha! Trevor is brilliant!

maggiepip wrote: »
    Ha! Trevor is brilliant!

I also imagine Trevor to be like a border terrier gent or something like that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,942 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Fenton! :D

If you call it Steve then you have to get an Alan

Definitely Opie, he's responding well to it and it just suits him somehow. Also avid SoA fans :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭jimf

hes a beauty ssb jaysus don't call him enda whatever you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

Awww look at his little pinky paw pads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

He is gorgeous!
    Will that pink pad (including 'frekle') stay pink - very cute!
    Our collie (PTS November) was the most stupid collie ever born, was also afraid of cattle and sheep :cool:, but the most gentle and loyal dog you could ask for.
    Best of luck with Opie - hes a beaut.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    how to combat food aggression with other dogs

Most dogs don't pick up resource guarding from other dogs, as such. It's a perfectly natural behaviour, and can be the difference between a puppy getting enough to eat, or not... if the person who bred them isn't keeping a close eye on things.
    In my experience at least, the behaviour often arises in pups who were fed from the one dish when really young... we've all seen the pics of multiple puppy bums circled around a shallow food bowl.
    This is not a good idea, and it is a message that needs to get out to breeders. It teaches pups to bully one another, to learn that growling is an effective way of getting the pup beside you to back off, leaving more food for you. Instant gratification!
    Breeders would be much better off providing a bowl for each pup, and supervising every mealtime to stop pups bullying each other away from their bowls.
    To help him with this, one of you should stand next to him while he's eating a small amount of his food from a bowl. He should be on a slack lead, to stop him moving away. You should have the rest of the meal portion in a bowl in your hands. At first, I'd have some really tasty bits of chicken or ham or the like mixed in amongst the dry food, just to act as a jackpot treat.
    The other one of you walks Lindy into the room. As soon as Lindy appears in the room, you pour a small portion of the food you have into Opie's bowl. Then Lindy leaves.
    Then she comes in again. Food into Opie's bowl. Lindy leaves.
    Repeat this at every mealtime. Never let the two dogs have access to one another at mealtimes unless you can do this. IF you don't have time, feed them separately.
    You're looking for a happy response from Opie... this will take a few days, but when he's looking up, waiting for Lindy to appear, you know he's made the connection between Lindy and food. Now, Lindy can be brought a little further into the room. Gradually, Opie should build up a better, happier response to other dogs being near-ish him whilst he eats.
    and how to stop him jumping on people when we are out for a walk?

You're heading in the right direction, but remember that you need to not just teach him to sit, but teach him int he context of people walking towards him. This means practising in set-up trials, so once Opie is sitting beside you (not in front of you) on cue, start getting your OP to walk towards you, followed by you cueing Opie to sit beside you. Practise and practise and practise, until his automatic response when he sees a person walking towards him is to park his butt. Then get other people to practise with before doing it with strangers on the street.
    I also like to teach pups to sit when people are doing mad things. So, teach him to sit. When he's good, start doing something a bit odd, like throwing your arms up in the air, before asking him to sit. Then do a little shuffle, before asking him to sit. Then make silly noises, before asking him to sit. Eventually, I like to be able to shriek, act horrified, wave my arms around, and recoil in horror, with the dog automatically sitting when I do so, because that's what people do when they're not happy about dogs approaching them!
    I also teach them to sit despite me doing my best to encourage them to jump up on me... coz that's what people do too!
    I'm a big fan of real-life training, using your basic obedience cues in ways that are useful in real-life scenarios, not just in an obedience competition!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭ferretone

Opie is just utterly gorgeous, Shashabear! And wow, you were so lucky with the housetraining. Our Nyssa came from dogs trust at 15 weeks, so had never been in a house til then. We had it all to do, but were lucky too, as she took to it very easily. She will still do the odd leak when meeting a new or fairly new person: we try to do that outside where possible, but of course it isn't quite always.

And as for smart, well collies are definitely among the very smartest, but they are also courageous and tenacious. Which means young ones often jumping into things before stopping to think, and coming off looking a little silly!

Our girl is a mixed breed, not sure entirely what, although the mother was a gsd cross, and she seems to have a fair measure of her temperament from there. As in she will generally take a while to sum up new situations before wading in. But she is looking more and more collie-like in her general physique as she grows, and definitely shows the collie tenacity once she feels a bit secure in a given situation! With typically hilarious results too.

I wasn't that tempted to get a dog like Lola again, well I was tempted, but it would have cost a fortune to get one I'd be comfortable about owning, after running the gauntlet of having a rescued Dobie for the last 8 years. It's fantastic for you that you were able to get another lovely border collie boy, and I'm thrilled you are so happy you did. I'm delighting in owning a mysterious and beautiful mixed breed too, and hope we both get many happy years with our new pals :)

And DBB, that is really interesting stuff about the pup litter feeding issue, I had no idea that was such an issue, but it makes perfect sense when you explain it. I'm guessing in Dogs Trust they know all about it, as Nyssa has never had an issue with anyone approaching her bowl, including my mother's saluki-cross, any of us, and also my mother-in-law's wee kitten, who is rather a brazen little chap :P

ETA: Oh and Opie is a lovely name, totally get the SOA ref, although we haven't watched the last couple of seasons! (Maybe cos Opie wasn't in them, I dunno ;) )

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭Blogger50

Opie is genius! Love it. Opie was a great character and this fella looks the same.

Hes a dote. Ooh the excitement of a puppy. What a lovely (if tiring) time :)

Well things have improved drastically with the Lindy-Opie Relationship. She growls much, much less (actually only once in the past 24 hours). They even shared a cuddle on the bed this morning for a few minutes before Opie decided that he needed to play with EVERYTHING, NOW!
    :P

He's currently spazzing around the house with about three different toys (there's a few of those bones that come stuffed that I'll have to get rid of for my hearing's sake :P ). Must break out the Kong and get some frozen dog food into it!

And now he's crying as he has bitten his own tail too hard. Dogs... :rolleyes:

Curious question. Is there any way to tell if his ears will go up or stay down at this stage? Entirely curious as Shadow had permanent Dobbie ears!