Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donore Harriers Jingle Bells 5k 06/12/2014

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

National novice the next day this year :(

edit: due to this the boards beers should be the following or previous week :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

National novice the next day this year :(

edit: due to this the boards beers should be the following or previous week :)

Aw, but I only like going to Dublin once a year. :(

Anyway, back to the race!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

pconn062 wrote: »

Thought it was the 7th the 5k was on?

Nope it's on the Saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I was planning on doing this but is it ok for slow runners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

I was planning on doing this but is it ok for slow runners?

I did it as my first race ever a few years ago and came in around 38 mins or so and there were plenty behind me too. A lot of people seemed to walk/jog it.
    You'll do great. No bother to ya!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hoping to do this also, super fast course, now all that's left to do is get the finger out and be in PB shape for it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

I'm doing this one to see if I can do the whole running on my own thing. There's a crew of us in work doing the run in the dark on 12th Nov. We've been training together - but this one is just for me. I think I like running - I'm hoping this will prove it. See you all there.

Just officially signed up for this! Bring it on!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

We tied it in last year with the A/R Xmas meet-up which we might do again this year.

What's the craic with this?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

I'm in, PB City I hope.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    What's the craic with this?

Will put something up on the main forum about it now, think there is a slight issue in that Waterford 1/2 is on the same day and a lot are doing that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Just officially signed up for this! Bring it on!
    Me too, see you there :)

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

should be good

• Registered Users Posts: 15 watch the hop

Are numbers being posted out for this race or do you have to collect from Donore race HQ on the day/the evening before?

Just in relation to this, if you enter before this Sunday the 30th you can get your race number posted out to you. If not, you will have to pick up your number on the Friday or the morning of the race.

http://www.donoreharriers.com/jingle-bells-5k/

So we should expect these in the post this week?

Yup, if you enter before tomorrow.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Number arrived in the post this morning, great service and makes the morning of the race a little less stressful.

Got my pack yesterday for this also, so all set to go.

Got my race number yesterday. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Got my number and chip Monday, more importantly got the go ahead from my physio today so happy out :-)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Is there somewhere to leave a bag near the start finish area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

adrian522 wrote: »
    Is there somewhere to leave a bag near the start finish area?

They had a van last year which took bags to the finish

Just got email about parking. Is there no where to park at all?

Must be the first race I ran where there no providing parking?

Think i might pull out as looking like too much hassle

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

nowhere to park at the clubhouse, plenty of space in the park itself

RayCun wrote: »
    nowhere to park at the clubhouse, plenty of space in the park itself

Was kinda wanting to make a quick visit to club house afterwards, so if i park up on chesterfield rd i wont be going back as have to go to santa world at 12.30:rolleyes:

You should be able to park on Chapelizod road.

Is there not parking in Garda boat club?

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Donore Harriers

Please visit our website for Race Day Information and Info on Number Collection.
    (Apologies cannot post urls at the minute).

www(dot)donoreharriers(dot)com/jingle-bells-5k/jingle-bells-5k-important-race-day-information

With regard to parking we have to follow the directions of the Gardai and the OPW. Due to the fact that we are at the start of the Christmas season there can be more traffic on the roads and markets are open in Farmleigh. There is no parking along the course but there is parking in the many car parks within the Phoenix Park. There is also parking along the Chesterfield avenue from just past the The Phoenix Monument down to the roundabout at Wellington Road. The Garda Boat Club is available to us for parking too. It is 1KM from our Clubhouse and a 20 min walk approximately from the race start via Chapelizod Gate. Along as people allow plenty of time and read the info in the link above it should be smooth enough.

Looking forward to seeing you all there. I think the weather is to be favourable.