Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Eircom to roll out 1Gb/s FTTH to 66 towns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Below ~30ms ping really doesnt matter as its faster than your own reaction times.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

damienirel wrote: »
    I guess that's the question that hasn't been answered when do they start work on those blue lines? I'm sick of waiting. As people already stated here it's those people who don't have > 10/20mb that really want the upgrade at the moment.

this is why I dont get why they are starting to roll out to areas that are already up to their necks in choice of fast fibre from Eir, UPC etc. Those areas will see only very small uptake of FTTH for now as most customers are happy with what they have and don't wish to spent extra on getting FTTH when they are already perfectly happy with UPC/FTTC from Eircom.
    The blue lines are full of people who are just begging for decent broadband, they should really start those soon rather than waiting another 2 years. The blue lines will be very successful for Eir once they start rolling it out.

Gonzo wrote: »
    this is why I dont get why they are starting to roll out to areas that are already up to their necks in choice of fast fibre from Eir, UPC etc. Those areas will see only very small uptake of FTTH for now as most customers are happy with what they have and don't wish to spent extra on getting FTTH when they are already perfectly happy with UPC/FTTC from Eircom.
    The blue lines are full of people who are just begging for decent broadband, they should really start those soon rather than waiting another 2 years. The blue lines will be very successful for Eir once they start rolling it out.

Just a few posts back
    ED E wrote: »
    Why would they do it now when the government will pay for it in just over a year ;)

They're taking the easy stuff now before the ESB gets it, its a race to get the most profitable areas. Then the NBP money will provide for the sticks where they make a loss(the cities are already subsidising your broadband even if its sh1tty).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭rob808

markmurphy wrote: »
    4864598103.png

ping 8ms! Can FTTH do better?

I see its 17 euro more a month...for 1 GIG ! ya be mad not to get it!

Can't see the pings getting much better though.

Have to put up with my crap connection till then! lol!

M.
    I think your grand there for awhile with your 40mb broadband the blue are mainly for people out in stick stuck on adsl broadband ,fixed wireless because people in FTTC areas kinda have fibre. I think eir did blue line through FTTC areas because they use the exchange as backbone for the FTTH to the rural homes.
    I say more than likely you will get FTTH because siro in phase 2 targeting 320 towns and villages and eir more than likely will try match them it just probably won't start till 2018.
    Then NBP start mainly in early 2017 and if eir and siro win good bit of that could slow down any plans for FTTC areas to upgrade to FTTH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭chris_ie

Ah now, some of you lads don't know how good yous have it!!

4865687630.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,500 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

chris_ie wrote: »

4865687630.png

I have never noticed that before but speed test say you are slower than 77%, normally they would say you are "faster" than 23% of the population. Is it rubbing salt the wound, bastards...:(.

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

ECO_Mental wrote: »
    I have never noticed that before but speed test say you are slower than 77%, normally they would say you are "faster" than 23% of the population. Is it rubbing salt the wound, bastards...:(.
    It probably because of upload being higher than most adsl doh that download man that bad I have 4mb myself feel sorry for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭chris_ie

Its just been like that today. Usually around 1-3mb, not that long ago 10-15mb was the norm, service has gone way downhill. Anyways dont wanna derail the thread!

FTTH seems so far away at the moment. Hope things get moving sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭markmurphy

chris_ie wrote: »

4865687630.png

Plan a: insure house....burn house down! move house to faster area ! hahah!

funny thing is the next door neighbour only can get 18 meg! hee hee! but I share mine to anyone wants it. I just have torrents and porn blocked. Course ya could go vpn. But have VPN installed on router anyway for extra safety.

mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭damienirel

Just a few posts back

They're taking the easy stuff now before the ESB gets it, its a race to get the most profitable areas. Then the NBP money will provide for the sticks where they make a loss(the cities are already subsidising your broadband even if its sh1tty).

Yeah they aren't interested in providing a service they're interested in collecting the cash - that backfires you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

@damienirel There is no company in the world that only goes after unprofitable customers. The reality is all companies need profitable customers in order to pay for unprofitable ones. eir and Virgin and Siro are right to target areas where they can make a profit before they build network in unprofitable areas. It's the customers in the urban areas that enable rural customers to pay the same price for broadband even though it so much more expensive to serve them.

If eir don't build network in the urban areas then SIRO and Virgin will and are. This would leave eir completely uncompetitive and unprofitable and therefore they'd have to even stop serving rural areas completely as they'd have gone bust. There is a reason why when given a blank canvass both SIRO and Virgin started in urban areas

joe_99 wrote: »
    @damienirel There is no company in the world that only goes after unprofitable customers. The reality is all companies need profitable customers in order to pay for unprofitable ones. eir and Virgin and Siro are right to target areas where they can make a profit before they build network in unprofitable areas. It's the customers in the urban areas that enable rural customers to pay the same price for broadband even though it so much more expensive to serve them.

If eir don't build network in the urban areas then SIRO and Virgin will and are. This would leave eir completely uncompetitive and unprofitable and therefore they'd have to even stop serving rural areas completely as they'd have gone bust. There is a reason why when given a blank canvass both SIRO and Virgin started in urban areas
    I don't know about unprofitable I'm on 4mb with eir paying same money as someone on FTTC.It mainly the shareholders they want money back fast so they want eir to target urban areas.
    I'm glad they are doing rural areas with there 300,000 homes and hope they win a good bit of NBP because FTTH way better than any fixed wireless can offer.

rob808 wrote: »
    I don't know about unprofitable I'm on 4mb with eir paying same money as someone on FTTC.It mainly the shareholders they want money back fast so they want eir to target urban areas.
    I'm glad they are doing rural areas with there 300,000 homes and hope they win a good bit of NBP because FTTH way better than any fixed wireless can offer.

Its cheaper to provide 100Mb or even gigabit in Castleknock that it is to provide 1Mb in Termonfeckin. Thats life.

well that true but don't think anybody need 1Gb but nice to get it if you can sure beat my Stone Age 4mb:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Your 4 Meg line costs more to maintain than a short, modern ducted urban 100 Meg line. That's just the reality of rural telecommunications.

murphaph wrote: »
    Your 4 Meg line costs more to maintain than a short, modern ducted urban 100 Meg line. That's just the reality of rural telecommunications.
    I have underground ducting but I get what your saying.

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭seaniefr

murphaph wrote: »
    I have underground ducting but I get what your saying.
    So even it does cost more as per above posts I'll bet they still make a profit at the end of the year on them and given that the lines around my neck of the woods have been around for the best part of 30 years I am sure they have made money off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,529 ✭✭✭irishgeo

just wondering about the entry point to the house, how eir get the fibre ? i got a wood floor in the hallway at present, will they need to get through that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,115 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

irishgeo wrote: »
    just wondering about the entry point to the house, how eir get the fibre ? i got a wood floor in the hallway at present, will they need to get through that?

how does your existing phoneline get in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,529 ✭✭✭irishgeo

loyatemu wrote: »
    how does your existing phoneline get in?

certain it comes up through the floor. ill have to check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

irishgeo wrote: »
    certain it comes up through the floor. ill have to check

Sorry but your floor is going to look like an earthquake struck the Jenga World Championships by the time Eir are done with it..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭BandMember

Mango Joe wrote: »
    Sorry but your floor is going to look like an earthquake struck the Jenga World Championships by the time Eir are done with it..... :D

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Quick update lads, here is the fastest i've got it yet, mostly its around the 700-750 Mb/s. I was hoping is was going to be in the 900's maybe its because I am using cat5e cables, also I have eVision and I know the Eir partition off a chunk for the TV but not 100Mb:confused: . I am testing this on a decent i7 laptop just over a year old so it should take it no problem. The 5e lead is only a short 1.5 meter patch lead so I though that wouldn't make too much of a diff or would it? I think I will get a Cat6 anyway just to be sure.

The xbox one is still around the 600-700 range but that's also on 5e so I probably change that out also to CAT6. Downloaded a game over the weekend 8.47GB on XBox live and it took 7mins flat to download it. I worked it out and that averages about 150Mb/s over the duration of the file download. I will download a larger game tomorrow around the 20GB range to see how that gets on. The XBone is only giving me 350Mb at the moment as I presume the Yanks are flat out at the moment and the xbox tests to Seattle

4882589250.png

135396107.png

• Registered Users Posts: 478 ✭✭sibergoth

try the Dublin, Eir speedtest hub instead of whatever speedtest chooses... i don't know if the other test sites are even capable of 1Gbps...

i always get a better result on the Dub servers anyway..

edit - i don't think the cat5/cat6 will make any difference. do you have a local switch/hub on your LAN ? or direct into the router?

Consumer grade cabling rarely goes above 95% efficiency, you're at 79% so not THAT far off. Cabling does make a big difference also at these speeds the F2000 may be doing its best.

Test off Wexford, thats an international interconnect so there's rakes of bandwidth there.

sibergoth wrote: »
    try the Dublin, Eir speedtest hub instead of whatever speedtest chooses... i don't know if the other test sites are even capable of 1Gbps...

i always get a better result on the Dub servers anyway..

edit - i don't think the cat5/cat6 will make any difference. do you have a local switch/hub on your LAN ? or direct into the router?

Yeah I tried all the Dublin servers but still this was the best, that test was done straight off the Eir F2000, the xbone goes through a gigabit switch though. ED E recommended that I go to the Wexford server so I'll give that a hop this evening. Also I may as well get a CAT6 cable no point in not having the infrastructure right although I though the 5e could hold it as they are rated to 1000 (but only just I suppose:rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Deagol

wrote:
    the xbone goes through a gigabit switch though.

If it's a cheapee switch like my TP-Link that might be where you're losing some anyway. I had mine tested once and it's throughput was rather disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭pegasus1

dont know if this has been posted...€87 a month :eek:

https://www.eir.ie/extreme/

dont know if this has been posted...€87 a month

Has been posted before. I'm not sure how much some people expected to pay for a 1gb connection :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Liamario

pegasus1 wrote: »
    dont know if this has been posted...€87 a month :eek:

https://www.eir.ie/extreme/

Way too expensive. They should take 20€ off that

Liamario wrote: »

So you think €67 a month is the correct amount to pay for a landline with anytime telephone calls and 1Gb/s? Does the term ROI mean anything?

You sound angry. 67€ for just the broadband sounds reasonable. I couldn't care less about the landline. Unfortunately, they only seem to sell bundles.

I'm not angry, I'm just tired of people who say things without thinking fully about it. Why not just say €20 sounds reasonable? Reasonable is defined by your means no?

Why would anyone sell 1Gb/s BB package for almost the same price as their competitors sell 24mb/s?

And if you'd been following the thread you'd see they do do BB without a bundle, but it's easier to jump in and make comments :rolleyes:

Deagol wrote: »
    I'm not angry, I'm just tired of people who say things without thinking fully about it. Why not just say €20 sounds reasonable? Reasonable is defined by your means no?

Why would anyone sell 1Gb/s BB package for almost the same price as their competitors sell 24mb/s?

And if you'd been following the thread you'd see they do do BB without a bundle, but it's easier to jump in and make comments :rolleyes:

You're not angry, no. I pay €50 for my efibre, do you think €90 is an intelligent price point? I couldn't afford it at €67, but to me that seems like a more reasonable price point, at which point your average joe would consider upgrading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

You're not angry, no. I pay €50 for my efibre, do you think €90 is an intelligent price point? I couldn't afford it at €67, but to me that seems like a more reasonable price point, at which point your average joe would consider upgrading.

A 1 Gbps connection isn't for your average joe, so they're not going to consider upgrading.

Deagol wrote: »

Why would anyone sell 24Mb/s BB package for the same price as their 3Mb/s?

A 1 Gbps connection isn't for your average joe, so they're not going to consider upgrading.

Well thats the plan fooked then...cause 99% of the pop is the average joe...

For now, yes, but as more people sign up and more competitors come online the price will come down.

I appreciate that, but that price is still quite high even for those who appreciate the benefit of it. Your suggesting that they've invested millions into a niche product.

Well at the moment, I would consider it niche (and they have spent millions on it), and I'm sure plenty of others in this forum would too. The absolute majority of internet users in Ireland have absolutely no reason to want/need a connection speed of more than 100 Mbps, so why would they pay extra to have one? In a year or two, that will probably be different, when internet demands increase further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭ItHurtsWhenIP

If you check this post above you will see you can get 150/30Mbps FTTH for €50 and 300/50Mbps for €58, without phoneline. That'd fit your price bracket. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

Why would anyone sell 24Mb/s BB package for the same price as their 3Mb/s?

Because it's the same line and same technology. ADSL and FTTH are not.

When ADSL2 started in Ireland started, they had different prices depending on Speeds though

MMFITWGDV wrote: »
    If you check this post above you will see you can get 150/30Mbps FTTH for €50 and 300/50Mbps for €58, without phoneline. That'd fit your price bracket. :rolleyes:

Nothing to do with my price bracket. To do with what people reasonably expect to pay for broadband of any speed. €87 is too high if they want any sort of decent numbers to upgrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭digiman

ECO_Mental wrote: »
    Yeah I tried all the Dublin servers but still this was the best, that test was done straight off the Eir F2000, the xbone goes through a gigabit switch though. ED E recommended that I go to the Wexford server so I'll give that a hop this evening. Also I may as well get a CAT6 cable no point in not having the infrastructure right although I though the 5e could hold it as they are rated to 1000 (but only just I suppose:rolleyes:)

What browser are you using? Also if you have a macbook, try that instead, results will be much better

Nothing to do with my price bracket. To do with what people reasonably expect to pay for broadband of any speed. €87 is too high if they want any sort of decent numbers to upgrade.
    well 1Gb there premium pack so €87 the price you have to pay or look at what the other ISP charge don't expect them to be much cheaper premium product premium price eir said that when they were announcing 1Gb.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,008 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

People need to stop thinking broadband prices are based on speed. Eir charge much the same for a 3Mb/s ADSL, 15Mb/s ADSL2+ and a 100Mb/s VDSL2+ line.

There is almost no cost difference for Eir in delivering 150Mb/s or 1Gb/s over a FTTH line.

There is however a cost difference between a FTTH line and a copper line.

However it is also true that the vast majority of people have a price point above which they won't pay more no mater how much faster it is. I'd say that is around €50 to €60. ADSL only took off in Ireland once Eircom dropped the price from €120 to €55 all those years ago.

Thing is, there is no point in Eir investing tens or even hundreds if millions in rolling out FTTH, if joe average finds it too expensive to upgrade too. They are just pissing money away then.

Specially when you consider that it actually costs Eir considerably less to maintain and operate a FTTH network versus the copper network. In the medium to long term, FTTH is actually cheaper for Eir then copper! So it is definitely in Eir's financial interest to get most people on FTTH in the long term.

What I expect is happening at the moment, is that they are purposefully keeping prices high so that too many people don't sign up for it and instead they can gain more experience and train up more staff with the smaller number of early adopters. Once they have gained this experience and importantly once Comreg give them permission to start decommission the copper network, then I think they will drop the price closer to the VDSL prices and drive take up then.

Spot on BK.

1. They're still doing their big recruitment drive. More staff a comin'.

2. The copper network costs dont really disappear until everyone in a locality transitions over to FTTH. It makes sense for them to get ready then entice full areas over at once. If regional pricing was approved this could be a big thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,034 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

Spot on BK.

1. They're still doing their big recruitment drive. More staff a comin'.

2. The copper network costs dont really disappear until everyone in a locality transitions over to FTTH. It makes sense for them to get ready then entice full areas over at once. If regional pricing was approved this could be a big thing.

Hopefully never!

The whole country is small enough to be one 'region'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I think people already on FTTH should try download Fedora Linux as its from the Heanet servers; that would give them a good indication of the pipes speed test capability, preferably using Internet Download Manager IDM

Stinicker wrote: »
    I think people already on FTTH should try download Fedora Linux as its from the Heanet servers; that would give them a good indication of the pipes speed test capability, preferably using Internet Download Manager IDM

I will try that tomorrow, at the inlaws for the weekend :(